paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
themccannman Sunday, July 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmanA5A2
etek ego8
bob long rapper
Marker Setup: proto slg
eVLution 3 motorized hopper
56/4500 invert tank with cover
bob long barrel kit
cp clamping feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feed neck (definetley)
new barrel
new trigger
Strengths: Comfortable
Accurate
High bps
one of the smallest markers on the market
Weaknesses: Feedneck
new barrel
Review: this is a dye product so it is high quality but that also means it has about 10 billion o-rings in it so it needs regular maintenance. I ordered this gun off a website that was offering it for only $200.00 and with a free olive green switch EL mask(which i am very pleased with). I spent more than 2 months researching it and after a long time finally bought it. when i first pulled it out of the box i loved it. I didn't get to use it until that weekend because my air tank wasn't pressurized. when i first gassed it up it shot amazingly well. every shot was dead on target and the paint was flying perfectly straight and flat. i have been using using this marker for some time now and had some memorable moments that might not have happened with a different marker such as a beutiful run-through to win a game. I suggest this marker to anyone on a tight budget looking for a tournament grade marker.
Conclusion: This is an excellent marker that comes with a good mask. you can now buy it for almost $100.00 less than the rail and with $100.00 worth of upgrades it will be better than a rail. it needs maintenance becauses of being made by dye.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 27th, 2008 at 5:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stan1234655 Thursday, July 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto matrix rail- just a little bettr
spyder vs3- doesnt compare
spyder rsx- doesnt come close
Marker Setup: proto matrix rail (olive)
proto 2 piece
eggy 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
just a new barrel
Strengths: Light
Fast
Accurate
Easy to remove bolt
Weaknesses: None
Review: this gun is probably THE BEST gun you can get for $200
it is light, fast, great modes, i have no problems
i have had no problems with it
the only setback is that you have to remove the grip to change modes, but that doesnt bother me
i have a proto one piece barrel for it and an eggy 3
if you are on a budget get the proto slg but if you have an extra $50 or so dollars get the rail
no drawbacks to this gun!!!

Conclusion: This gun is awsm!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zacapawned Sunday, June 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion Epiphany i prefere SLG
Tippman 98 custom cant really compare tippmann is mainly meant for woods ball
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
Lapco Feed neck
14" Smart parts progressive barrel
View loader force hopper
Pure energy HPA Tank
Redz tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck
Barrel
Mabey a On/off ASA
And if you preffer a metal trigger
Strengths: Weight
Consistincey
Easy to maintain
Regulator
Looks nice
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: This gun is a great gun for begginers. it is the best gun you can buy for the price. There are not many upgrades out at the monment but i hear there will be alot coming soon. Proto is a good brand and i have not had many problems. I just have to suggest get a hopper that can do atleast 18bps or the gun will be going faster than the hopper by alot.
Overall it is a great gun.
Conclusion: If you are new to the sport please consider this gun. I own this paintball gun and i am extremly pleased with it. It is light accurate, connsistant and a great purchase. i expect a gun of this quality should be 300 dollars. The price has droped i got mine for only $200
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Carroll3301 Friday, June 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Epihany, Bob long 2k2, Ion.
Marker Setup: Proto SLG w/ Stiffi barrel, new feed neck, eVLution2 hopper, Catalina 47/3000 steel tank.
Epiphany w/ Virtue Board & eyes, Virtue easy-on button, new feed neck, Dye Hyper3 Reg., Carleton 68/4500 Carbon Fiber tank, eVLution 3 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, Barrel
Strengths: Stock board is awesome, marker is easy to use, very durable, hyper3 reg
Weaknesses: Remember to turn eyes on or balls will get stuck
Review: The Proto SLG is one of the best markers I have every owned. ( I have owned alot of Markers ) For $200 you get a really light gun with a great board and a Hyper 3 reg. on it. What more do I have to say!!!! I would recomend this gun to everyone looking to buy a marker in this price range.
Conclusion: Definately worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Habibidrees Friday, June 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PM5-Not Comparable On Weight or Performance
SPyder Pilot-No even
Ion Xe-SLg will blow this out of the water
Marker Setup: 2008 Proto SLG ,
UL trigger ,
14inch Proto 1 Piece Barrel ,
Maddog Clamping feedneck ,
Hyper 3 Regulator ,
48ci/3000 psi Pure Energy Tank ,
Evo 3 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel ,
trigger ,
Feed neck
Strengths: Accuracy ,From 50 feet ,
Speed i put mine @ 20Bps ,

Weaknesses: Stock feed neck ,
and trigger
Review: Excellent for $200 , with upgrade for trigger($30) , barrel ($40) , Feed neck ($25) , This gun kills the ion and competes with $400-$500 guns ,You cant go wrong with these , 1st day i tried it out it was getting people out on the break , excellent front player gun, @ 1.1442 lbs , Good for a beginner or a pro
Conclusion: Best gun i Bought so Far , Excellent paintball gun you wont be dissapointed, Awsome back up gun when you get a better one ,
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Protolover123 Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any half decent tourment gun
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Blackheart Board
New Designz Roller Blade Trigger
Eggy 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck (eggys don't fit well)
Maybe a st!ffi... not much is wrong with the stock gun
Strengths: PRICE!!!
Trigger (is sexy)
Design
Modes
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: SOLID gun! It's $200 and it feels like you're paying for a Dangerous Power G3 (G3 is a little better.) Proto has made what has to be THE best tournament grade gun for under $300!

The only problems are the trigger is a little stiff (that is easily fixed after about an entire day of ripping on it down at the beach)

and the feed neck didn't fit my friends eggy 2 very well... Clamping feed neck takes care of that problem.

The modes are excellent and PSP ramping is the one you probably want to go with what with its three ball sexyness :).
Conclusion: Proto has made an excellent, sexy, affordable gun that is tournament grade :)

This gun is why I call myself Protolover

A+ PROTO ^.^
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 18th, 2008 at 10:20 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jjaameskenny Saturday, June 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Um ive used a ION which is supposed to be like it XD
all ive used are mechs which are the following:
98 custom with 20 inch tactical
98 with pen spring and 14 inch progressive
Spyder XTRA with smart parts freak ( sold, kept freak for slg)
Spyder TL-X with 14 inch progressive
Brass eagle liberator (omg)
Brass eagle talon (omg again)
Viewloader prodigy (not too bad) ( its electric but nothing like a ion or slg)
Marker Setup: Camo 98 Custom with 20 inch Tactical barrel (woodball)
black 98 Custom 14 inch Progressive and pen spring mod (lender gun)
blue Proto SLG with 14 freak kit ( blue freak front)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definatly a feed neck and a barre; etc all the usual stuff
Strengths: Very very nice light and tight
I personally like the trigger some people dont
Weaknesses: Nothing except chopping which was my fault for wrong bore
Feed neck too
Review: Well i ordered this from buy pbl and on the exact date it said it would be in it was in ^^ i rushed to to the post office to pick up my precious and got home tore open the box which contained my very very tiny blue slg, evlution 3, freak back ( already had a freak for my spyder) , case of triumph paint, 3 shirts, my, 45, 3000 tank and proto tank cover
So well when i got to (finnnalllllly) shoot it it was kinda chopping but it wasnt the gun it was the barrel (me being dumb with bores) so i put it away till the next day which was sunny ( forgot the first day was really bad day) and when i found the right bore and started shooting againsht my friends ion with upgrades ^^ it was tearing it apart XD jkjk i thought they were about even but all my friends that seen thought it was better and they even thought it was better than my friends epihhany (cant spell) i also for some reason cant seem to get it on different modes ( i am also dumb) so if ANYONE can help please leave a message on how to .
Conclusion: Personally i think its the same as a kinda upped ion but a stock ion would prolbly have little chance againsht this in the right hands. This gun is GREAT for snapping im a front player and since its light i wont be getting my ass shot off lugging around a bulky gun (well i wont be gettng shot TOO fast XD) all in all this gun is worth buying
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 14th, 2008 at 10:14 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

BruceBruce Thursday, June 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothin really, well i used a Viewloader Prodigy e-grip
Marker Setup: Red SLG
Low rise clamping reedneck
dye barrel set
normal steel HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd suggest a new trigger, and unless you have a Halo then u need a clamping feedneck, the feedneck doesnt fit the EVO 2
Strengths: Speed, very fast at 20 bps stock
the metal body
very accurate
SUPER LIGHT
Weaknesses: The feedneck,
i hate opening the grip just to change the modes
Review: Truthfully, this is a great gun. Great for woodsball, especially because of how light it is, you can go for long games, without tiring. Almost never chops paint. The regulator is great and the stock barrel is pretty accurate. for 200$ i can honestly say this is the best gun you can get at that price.
Conclusion: Great gun for an amazing price! 200$
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

krnlsandrs Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra, low pressure valve, upgraded springs, trinity drop forward, hybrid on/off, dye sticky grips, trinity low rise feed neck, stock board but have planes for virtue with eyes.
Marker Setup: hybrid on/off
trinity feed neck
empire reloader b
stock board
proto 14 inch barrel
Dye throttle 70ci 4500 peanut.
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue board w/ laser beam eyes
Detents
regulator
and bolt when they come out with one better. and oh yeah barrel, preferably SLY kit.
Strengths: Quite
fast
light
tight
Weaknesses: Changing modes on the marker, thats the only weakness i can think of. Little kick.
Review: My buddy had been talking about this gun since it came out, so i was going to play at my local field, one weekend, and all i had was my spyder electra, which i wanted something with eyes, so that i can rail paint, so i was at my local paint shop, and saw the SLG on the wall in olive color, and said huh that gun looks nice, once i held it i said DAM that is light, only 2lbs 2 oz, pretty light, and i heard that they weren't all that bad of a marker, plus i didnt have alot of money to dump on a marker, plus i was going to put the virtue board on my spyder, but that was 130 bucks, so i just said aw what the hell i need to get a gun that is updated. so bought it and took it out to break it in, first time shooting it, i was busting balls every hopper fill, could not figure it out, i thought i had a lemon, so took it to the shop i got it from, and they checked the reg, and noticed that the factory settings was at 330 fps, so after the turned it down to about 275 fps. I was as good as gold, took it out to field of fire in Valencia, CA, and played 2 games of rec ball, first game i got 3 people out, not bad second game got 2 people out, only got shot 3 times, so 2 weeks later, went out to paintball usa in Acton, CA, first played hyper ball, gun did great, that weekend the gun did great except 2 times, first it happened in the dunes field, the gun pinched the bottom of the ball, before it entered the chamber, so then i was on the hyper ball field then again, pinched another ball, but other than that it did pretty good, first hyper ball game it was 7 vs 7, i got about 5 people out from back right, then hit snake and then bunkered guy at back center, it was a good weekend for me, and gun did pretty good.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to any person getting into speed or hyper for there first time, light, fast, and consistent, and good quality good for good price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 20th, 2008 at 8:49 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cowpow16 Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm 07
Pmr
Pm 06
Marker Setup: 48/3000 pure energy tank (steely)
Freak kit
Evo 3 hopper
dye clamping feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feed since the evo 3 dont fit in stock neck
barrel ur choice i like a freak barrel (just me that dosnt me you have to have have one but it saves money and head aches in the long run
And probobly an on/off just kuz it makes geting the bottle of easier
Strengths: Small
light
fast
inexpensive
see review for more
Weaknesses: Cant adjust the spring for triger push is toohar
Review: Im gonna be honest this is not my gun its my brothers he's just way too lazy to write this review so im doing it i have used this gun a bit too and i love it on to the review

This gun has an awsome price my brother is only 13 so he dosnt have a part time job cuz he's too yung so he does od jobs and saves all the money he can to get this and some other paintball stuff. People said that oh i breakes down and itl be broken or leak when you get it it dose not leak it works great out of the box. so he cleaned it and lubed it after he read the manual witch is extremely helpful and descriptive then we went to test it and brake it in we used zap vapor balls (low grade walmart ones) this gun did an awsome job we only broke one out of the case and that was in the barrel for some reason btw we were using the stock barrel testing guns with low grade paint usualy gives the gist of the gun if it works well with lowgrade paint than it usually dose amazing with good paint. the firing modes are easy to change and the manual describes it very well so evan my mom would be able to change em thats a complement shes not that great with this kind of stuff but the manual is awsome

the down side of this gun is if you consider it a down side is that the feed neck kinda realy sucks it wont fit an evo 3 so he got a clamp for it ( he got one any ways but we just wanted to see if it worked without it it didnt so no big deal) . the grips kinda need a tiny bit of sanding so paint wont come between them and ya. oh and the trigger is adjustable but the stiffness of it isnt bummer but eh
Conclusion: This gun is an awsome price it has the hyper 3 reg decant barrel Light and eassy to take apart and the manual is awsome this is a gun for anyone that dosnt want to spend a lot but wans quality id sugest it to those people
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media