paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
tumtum241 Monday, May 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pm6(good)
ion(good)
spyders(cant compare)
Marker Setup: proto slg
VL Evo 3
Pure energy 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Trigger
Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Light
Good looking
Small
Weaknesses: Barrel is kinda small
Confusing to program
Review: I got this gun 2 days ago and when i first used it it worked great for me.Before i tested it
i put it on psp at 22bps(i couldnt put it higher caus my hopper cant feed faster than 23)
It shot really smoothly with almost no kick at all.Since it has the hyper 3 it is very consistent with velocity.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good gun at a goodprice,this is the one to get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bassistcg Sunday, April 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c
spdyer pilot acs
Diablo Wrath LTD
Timmy
ICD Lasoya Promaster
DM4
PM6
Ego5
Invert Mini
Various Cockers
Marker Setup: Primary:
SLG
14" Tribal Styx
CP on/off
Warrior Low-Rise feedneck
Warrior Rollerbearing trigger
Virture Feather light microswitch
Pure Energy 68/45
Stock Vlocity

Backup:
ICD Lasoya Promaster
Springless ram Mod
Custom Ported LPR
Dye on/of
CP HPR
Q-Lock
Virtue Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
The obvious:
Feed Neck
On/off
Barrel

The Optional:
Trigger
Board
UL frame (whenever it is released)
NDZ Backcap
Killa Magnetic Detents
Strengths: PRICE
Size
Weight
Ease of use / cleaning
Simple design
Average loudness/ "kick"
Fast, Accurate, Reliable
Weaknesses: Plastic Frame
Feed Neck
Barrel
ASA
Stock Trigger
Review: The first thing that catches the eye about the Proto SLG is the price. Hands down it's the best stock marker at $200. Destroys the ion out of box. Now on to the review...

Looks:
Very small and simple styling. The plastic frame and trigger are definitely not the most attractive however they do work and hold up (much better compared to the stock PMR frames). Very clean.

Design:
Interesting design with the combination of a spool valve and a sear. While the clicking of the sear is noticeably louder than other fully EP guns but while shooting with paint, no substantial sound difference can be heard (comparing to most poppet style guns). Sear has been solid and reliable thus far. One screw to remove the back cap and bolt. Very easy to clean and maintain. I love the new Hyper 3 reg due to it's smaller size and added grips. For those of you who stated it has major kick, you are right, when comparing it to a high end DM or PM; however, have you ever shot a real gun? Kick? Get over it. It's minuet at best.

Electronics:
Settings for most players needs. There is no dwell however. 20 bps cap is more than sufficient. I'm not a fan of dipswitches however these are relatively easy to use. The virtue featherlight micro switch (25g) has thouroughly made the SLG faster and more responsive. No chops with eyes on or off.

Overall:
The SLG is small, tight and light. The feedneck, barrel and asa need to be replaced asap. The trigger spring has a pretty hard pull so cutting it is required however I recommend a rollerbearing trigger with magnets to get that smooth pull. The stock microswitch is fine as is, but i prefer very sensitive triggers. Proto claims 1500 shots off of a 68/45 and they aren't kidding. I got 1500 shots from my 68/45 and still had 1k left in the tank and that's before being broken in. The SLG does require more lubing but it's a small price to pay for what performance it has. It has been rumored that a UL frame is in the works for it and I'm sure I'll be picking that up when it is released. No chops and only a few barrel brakes due to poor sizing and white box paint. That being said, it did shoot ropes with year old paint ;-)


Conclusion: I'm sure the SLG gets heat for not being a true EP marker and I will not attempt to say it is just like a high end PM or DM because it's simply not. However, it can definintely hold its own on the field. I would compare it to most guns in the $300 - 500 range. With a few upgrades, this marker is accurate, consistent, efficient, fast and light. All of those plus an extremely low price tag = a major steal. I'm a happy owner of a Proto SLG. Enough said.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

protofreak123 Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, mr2,
Marker Setup: all stock except new feed neck and i used pure energy 500 shot tank halo b hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel trigger and feedneck
Strengths: Reliable acurate fast shooting
Weaknesses: Feedneck, stock barrel
Review: I like the gun alot, but i would upgrade a few things including feed neck, barrel and trigger. And if u have a lot of cash hell by a new board but i woulndt spend ur money on it if u dont absoutuley need it. I prefer it over any spyder the ion, and for the 200$ its a terrific gun. No gun stock thats under 400$ will shoot 30bps besides the protos. Nnd one thing if u gun starts to leak dont panic right away first try tighing ur grip. All out protos are my favs. My dream gun is the m7.
Conclusion: I think the gun is awsome it has some disadvantges but all guns will. i would buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maska99 Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion- Slg is way better
Ion Xe- Slg is better
05 Autococker prostock- comparable
Marker Setup: Spider TL-R- stock
32 degrees icon x- stock- it sucked
slg- Empire hopper, pure energy 48ci/3k psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Neck- it is alright if you take out top o-ring

maybe barrel
Strengths: Light
fast
easy to program
small
Weaknesses: Neck
Review: The slg is a really good gun. I did have one problem with it through, when I got it I went to a local field to play, I screwed in my HPA tank and there was a leak at the top of the regulator, so I changed the o-ring. It still leaked. So I decided not to put tephlon tape on it because it would void the warranty. So I used my spyder. The next day I called proto pissed. The gun tech I talked to was so stupid, he said " did you change the 0-rinfg? "
I replied yes, it didn't work and he said " thats wierd, maybe you should ship it in or take it to a pro shop" I said " I do not have time for that! " and hung up. I tried to call again to talk to another tech. But then I looked at the regulator again and I thought the o-ring at the top looked to small so i put on the next size o-ring #12 on and what do you know no more leak. But other than that it is a great gun. I think it looks great to, but proto didnt have to stamp the gun with there logo so many times, 8 times. And the other thing I liked is that it is really easy to program, the ion is almost impossible to program.
Conclusion: It is a great gun and only $200 on paintball-online.com
This gun is good for beginners.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ninejuanjuan Monday, April 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm7
Marker Setup: E2 Orracle Autococker
Proto SLG
Worrgas
Vlocity
Evolution3

Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck
Drop-forward
Barrel Kit
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Weight
Size
Efficiency
Weaknesses: Noise...I guess
Review: Took my brand new proto slg out to a scenario game this weekend, and was very impressed with it's performance. Only ran into a little problem with the bottomline coming a little loose, but I tightened the screws and it is fine. I was very happy with it's accuracy, as I was able to long-ball quite easily. I was also able to shoot about 1000 rounds with a 50/3000, so the efficiency is good. Speed was nice, I was outshooting most guns I ran into. It is also a tight gun, easy to snapshot with, and quite easy to maneuver with due to its' lightness.
I was able to get my Vlocity in without any o-ring removal, but it is very hard to do and puts stress on the feedneck when mounting, which is why a clamp style would be better.
It was louder than my Autococker, but it wasn't that big of a problem
Conclusion: For the price, I would reccommend this to anyone. Great backup, or starter marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

svd will Sunday, April 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder mr2 ,spyder sonix
Marker Setup: proto slg , halo v35 and smartparts progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
for the slg i recomend a clamping feed neck and to call proto or dye if you have roll back
Strengths: Fast small and light easy to use board
Weaknesses: Rollback ,feedneck
Review: Its a great gun for new and old players and its small light fast really good for small spaces and squezing around bunkers lol buy this gun.

the good:
small light easy to use and fast

the bad:
feed neck [ doesnt fit the halo hopper i recomend cp clamping feedneck]
roll back [ if you have this problem call dye or proto and they will send you a free bolt ]
Conclusion: I reccomend this to everyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Night_Hawk Friday, April 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Indian Creek Promaster
-Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: -Proto SLG
-Torque hopper
-Promaster Barrel
-Shocktech Drop Forward
-Planet Eclipse on/off
-Pure Energy 4500psi 68cu tank
-Black Proto Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Different ball detents
-Other than that its your preference
Strengths: -Fast
-Light
-Cheap
Weaknesses: -It Doesn't have the greatest trigger in the world but its minor
Review: I bought this gun because my Promaster's hoses broke and my warranty was gone. Out of the box the gun did good, yet after about a tree days of play I noticed balls rolling out my barrel. So I opened it up and looked at the detents, they had been worn out bad. So in five minutes I put in the spares it came with and it was shooting again. The gun fires great, ramping and otherwise. Kick if anyone is wondering, is very little yet I don't care about the kick of a gun.
Conclusion: For anyone who is out to have fun this is a great gun, for the more serious players i would say go with a higher grade gun. So i give this gun a 9, nothin's perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SGTDeathStrike Saturday, April 5th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM3, Shockers, Ions, Other Protos
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 6 (Silver Dust)
Tadao M3 Board
Dye UL Barrel Tip (Red)
Painted Eye Covers (Red)
New Designz Raptor Trigger (Red)
DXS 68/4500 LP
Halo w/ Rip (Clear)
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW FEEDNECK!
New Barrel
New Trigger
Strengths: VERY Light Weight
Great Electric Board
Fast? (See Review)
Weaknesses: LOUD!
Bad Plastic Trigger
Bad Feedneck
Speed? (See Review)
Review: I was able to adjust and test this gun for my teammate who wanted me to clear his gun while he was out of town.

To start off the gun isn't that bad looking. Not the most gorgeous thing you've seen but it's not ugly by any means.

I was looking through the firing modes and turned the eyes off to hear the solenoid click, but it doesn't click, it goes BANG! The solenoid makes a loud bang sound like most Spyders do. I know it was intentional because of the design.

I tried to walk the trigger but had SEVERE problems. To start off the trigger is made of plastic, and is flimsy. A new aluminum trigger is recommended. Secondly, the trigger is has a double return, one spring and one magnet. This makes the return on the trigger very slow and stiff. VERY difficult to walk. I solved this problem by taking the trigger spring out and leaving the magnet return in. This helps A LOT!!! However, if you do take your trigger spring out be warned that it does void the warranty.

I gassed up the gun and was going to shoot some re-balls through it, but I had problems with the feed neck. I put a halo in and was turning it so it was facing right. When I was adjusting it I took it back off to try again the o-rings on the inside of the feed neck popped out. THEY ARE IMPOSSIBLE TO PUT BACK IN!!! You can still use a hopper but it is extremely loose and will fall off if you were sliding. Anyway, I gassed it up and ran 3 hoppers of re-balls through it. IT RIPS! Kind of loud, but still fast. Of course if I had not taken the trigger spring out it would have been a completely different story.

Conclusion: All in all this is great gun for the price. Light and fast with some minor adjustments. Needs some things fixed or replaced though. Recommended to those who have a tight budget or are looking for a gun to fool around with.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

MISFIT1313 Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None compare
Marker Setup: I just bought it but coming soon is a DXS tank and an evolutionIII
Recommended
Upgrades:
I reccomend that you keep it STOCK!!
Strengths: Trigger
Modes
Feedneck
Bolt
Barrel
Grip
Foregrip
Battery life
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Nothing I love it
Review: I got this gun a few days ago for free, i won it in the award ceremony at a scenario game i love it and the modes are great semi millenium psp nxl they are great and it can shoot up to 30 BPS w00t!! its a great gun and i suggest you buy it also the trigger is very adjustable
this gun is perfect and i HIGHLY reccomend it
Conclusion: Buy IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sheriff_matt Tuesday, March 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: SLG
Clamping Feedneck
48ci HPA tank
Halo TSA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: Price
Efficiency
Easy Maintenance
High ROF
Easy to Program
Weaknesses: Stock Feedneck
Stock Barrel(Same as any gun)
Review: To start, I'd like to say the SLG has surprised me. It's an extremely nice gun for the price paid. It's amazingly efficient(got about 700 shots off a 50ci 3000psi tank), although not as quiet as I was led to believe.

Before purchasing I was stuck choosing between the SLG and the PMR. The key points that led me to choose the SLG over the PMR were the efficiency, ease of use/maintenance and the body style.

The real world maximum ROF for this gun is around 23BPS. That's tested, and sustainable. I had to borrow a hopper on a game day to test this so please don't ask for a video unless you want to send me your reloader b to make it. Regardless of it's max ROF I will only ever use a max of 15bps, soon to be lowered to around 12. That's just personal preference.

The only thing I noticed about this gun is, the lube that comes with the gun sucks, the regulator was a little loose out of the box(had to tighten it), and the asa rail was also a little loose out of the box. If you get this gun make sure everything is tight. These are definitely not something that would lead me to believe this gun is lesser quality.

The stock barrel is definitely not the greatest. I can't complain though, I've never seen a stock barrel work as one might desire it to. The paint I usually use is a smaller bore paint around the same size as marbalizers. They roll freely out of the barrel when you drop them through. The accuracy/efficiency will be better, I'm sure, when using a quality barrel with a good paint to bore match.

The first thing I upgraded on this gun is the feedneck. The stock feedneck is very tight. I was not able to fit my Halo TSA into it without modifying it.

The stock trigger works just fine. It's made of a plastic composite material. It's pleanty sturdy, and fully adjustable. I don't recommend taking out the trigger spring, but rather that you play with your gun for a while and let the spring get broken in. It will get looser with more use.

I highly recommend that you lube this gun after every time you use it. After using the lube that came with the gun, I had a really bad problem with the bolt sticking. It really sucked having to reset the bolt all the time. I would definitely recommend that you use a high grade oil made for paintball marker use. After cleaning and re-lubing the gun with proper oil, the gun operates as desired. But, this gun does tend to go through lube pretty quickly.
Conclusion: For the money this is a great marker. It's efficient, fast, and light. I would most definitely choose this gun over an Ion or a PMR. It has more pros and less cons than either one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media