paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
KoRo5u5oo Saturday, March 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
Freak barrel kit w/ All American front
Vlocity loader w/ virtue vlocity chip
Redz Cam lock feedneck
Hybrid On/Off ASA
New Designz Slik Roller Trigger
Virtue Lite Microswitch
68ci 4500PSI Crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck
On/off ASA
Strengths: Price
Air efficiency
Weaknesses: Bit loud
Has a decent kick to it
Review: The SLG is a very nice gun for it's price tag.

It shoots fast. (settings go as far as 30 bps, and i believe the gun is capable of cycling at 30bps, but when you try shooting that fast, you get a lot of chops, probably due to cheap eyes/board), but it can do 20/25 bps easy without chops, and nobody really needs more than that.

Air efficiency, the 145 psi operating pressure is a nice feature. You can get 1500 shots off a 68ci 4500 psi fill, but the low operating pressure lets you shoot even if your tank is really low. One game I was confused as to why my marker was shooting lousy, the first shot was fine, but when i shot ropes, I would get drop off. After the game I noticed my tank's pressure was down to about 150 psi.

As long as the eyes are on, and your rate of fire is reasonable, this gun doesn't chop.

The stock feedneck is useless. If you take the top o-ring out, and use some tape, you can get your loader to fit, but it's better to just spend 20$ for a new feedneck.

The trigger is not bad, after some adjustments with the screws, it shoots ok, but it's a bit stiff. If you take the trigger spring out, it's too light. I recommend getting the Virtue microswitch.

The stock barrel isn't bad, but if you want ball on ball accuracy you should upgrade, autococker threads are easy to find.
Conclusion: For those without unlimited funds, this marker is more than adequate. Even as a pro player, this marker has all the features a reasonable player needs.

The marker has all the same basic features as any high end gun, so high end upgrades are easily achieved.

A nice beginners marker that can be upgraded as time passes.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bologna Ninja Wednesday, March 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
14" Progressive
CCM Feedneck
Evolution 2
68ci/4500psi Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel (if u want)
Strengths: Price
Fast
Tournament Ready
Light
Air-efficient
Eyes
Easy to clean
Tons more
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: This guns price is what I first noticed seeing as how I'm on a short budget. For the price it's at this is an amazing gun. When I got it I went straight into a game and owned every one. The feedneck is a big problem though but i fixed that with a ccm feedneck. The stock barrel does do well but doesn't do the gun justice.
Conclusion: This is a great buy if your on a budget. I have no problems with it at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tcheno Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months68 of 68 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Tac5
Spyder MR2
Spyder VS2
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix SLG (Black) with Dye UL barrel and Kila magnetic detents
VLocity Jr with Gangastar Chip
Dye Throtle tank with Centerflag 420 preset
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Fedneck
Strengths: Check Review
Weaknesses: ASA
ASA Macroline Fitting
Feedneck
Trigger Spring
Review: I'm a proud owner of an SLG for about 3 months now.
My SLG is one of the very first to hit the market and for that reason I came across almost every issue ever reported on this marker.
From short bolt, to weak detents and weak macro fitting, (wrong reg shim setup has also been reported in some cases but mine was fine) I've been there and that helped me learned how to fix and troubleshoot my marker.

Bolt and detent issues have been solved by Dye so only a few SLGs out there should have these issues. In case you are presented with one other early batches, don't be alarmed. Dye has awesome CS so just contact them and they should get you up and running in no time. I did and my SLG has been just perfect ever since.



OK, now to a list and description on all the SLG issues reported to date and fixes:



Short Bolt
A usual syndrome is the marker will tend do stop shooting from time to time, usually happens when shooting ropes of paint to a target far a way.
This is caused by defect during the milling process of the tip of the bolt with has rendered the bolt about 1mm shorter then what it should be.
Since the bolt is shorten then the expected design, the ball rolls back, away from the eyes, in a way that the marker's eye don't read the ball in the chamber.
The only fix to date to this issue is to contact dye and ask for a replacement.

Weak Ball Detents
A usual syndrome of this issue is you tend to chop paint. You tend to chop more often as you use the marker and wear the rubber detents.
Rubber detents have proven to be too weak as the bolt wears them out quite easily.
Dye has addressed this issue by including new spring detens on the SLGs.
For those with first batch SLGs you can use Matrix spring detents or get Killa Magnetic Spring Detents.

Weak ASA Macro fitting
Usually hat happens is that the macroline just bursts out of the ASA fitting when you attach your air tank.
Some have reported this issue, in my opinion this is due to bad planing on part of Dye since the stock macro fitting for the ASA is really lame.
Simple fix, just get to you Proshop or local hardware shop and get a decent macro fitting.

Hyper 3 Shim setup
Usual syndrome is high drop-off.
Shim stack has been wrongly setup inside your reg.
Only a few cases have been reported. But its an easy fix.
To fix this issue just open up your reg and setup the shim stack in the following manner:
])()()()()... (and so on)
^Large side of the reg's poppet


These are basically all the major issues reported by SLG users.

Now on to the the review it self.


A part of the above, the SLG is a really great marker for the money packed with high end performance and simple maintenance.

Once again, as you can see above, all reported issues are caused due some issue on the production or planing stage on the marker with means there are really not much of an issue with the more recent batches.

Maintenance is easy as pie, just get you Allen wrench, pull the bolt out back, lube the 3 bolt o-rings plus plunger o-ring, put it back in and your done.
Shoots as fast as other high ends (30bps are advertised but u can go up to 25).
Is actually very silent once you actually shoot it with paint, plus is you use a nice aftermarket barrel you'll be amazed on how quiet it is.
It's efficiency (1500 shots) and robust aluminium body is perfect for me as I play from Speedball to Rec/Scenario paintball.
With only 2.2 Lbs is one really light marker.

The only downsides I can find on the SLG are the ASA (would prefer an ON/Off), Feedneck (a clamping one would be in order although I use the stock one with my Vlocity Jr just by removing the top o-ring) and the stock trigger.

Concerning the trigger, you will find it a bit too hard to walk mostly due to the trigger spring but even this can be easily fixed if you don't wanna spend the extra buck on a new trigger.
Just take of the trigger and trigger spring and start cutting the trigger spring in quarter turn increments in order to lighten it to your liking.


Bottom-line, the SLG is really a great marker, light, fast, reliable and consistent.

I highly recommend it to everyone out there looking for a good price/quality/performance marker capable of withstanding the beat of recball, the endurance of scenario and the demand of speedball. And best of all, all that on a small and easy maintenance package.


Edit: 03-19-2008

Manual Typo
I forgot to mention that the early manuals have typos on how to configure the boards settings and the order of the firing modes.

Modes are:
1 Semi
2 PSP
3 Millennium
4 NXL

And to configure it you have to:
1 With gun off set both dip switches up
2 turn gun on
3 adjust setting to your liking
4 set dip switch 2 down
5 your set!
(lowering dip switch 1 will reset all settings to factory default)


EDIT: 04-14-2008

Full-Auto Issues
Besides the already reported "full-auto issues" like using whisper training barrels, dry-firing with a squeegee on the barrel and too high/low reg pressure, I came to find that by not screwing in the back cap properly (by hand), the full-auto issue tends to happen as you enter high high rates o fire or even as you single shot for the first time, so always use a tool to help you screw the back-cap properly.

O-Ring Wear/Leak down the barrel
Some have reported leaks down the barrel which are generally caused by wear on the plunger o-ring.

This is generally caused by wear/tear due lack of lube as this specific o-ring is "blown" by venting air every time you shoot and has to pass across the small bolt vent hole.
For those of you that have been getting this sort of issues and for those of you wanting to prevent this, I recommend that you apply a generous amount of lube on the bolt's Soft Rubber Cushion in order to enable the plunger to hit the cushion's lube and lube the o-ring every time you shoot.
This should enable you to reduce wear on this specific o-ring, reducing o-ring changes to a minimum and keep you SLG working hassle free.
Conclusion: The SLG is really a great marker, light, fast, reliable and consistent.

I highly recommend it to everyone out there looking for a good price/quality/performance marker capable of withstanding the beat of recball, the endurance of scenario and the demand of speedball. And best of all, all that on a small and easy maintenance package.

Buy it! You won't regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 14th, 2008 at 6:12 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Bountyhunter23 Saturday, February 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Spyder Imagine
Prostock Autococker
Marker Setup: Stock Proto Matrix SLG
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck, New Trigger
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Well I love this gun for the price. The only down sides are the feed neck which nothing fits in it, and the plastic trigger. Two minor things that makes me wonder why proto didnt fix these things in the first place. The buttons are kinda small and hard to hit sometimes. In order to change the modes u have to open it up and move some dip switches. Other than that its a great gun. I think it beats an ION any day. Plus im a big fan of DYE.
Conclusion: This is a great entry gun from Proto, Recommended to anybody.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theprey Tuesday, February 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, SP Shocker, Automag, AutoCocker, Spyder, Tippman...
Marker Setup: Proto SLG with Kingman Fasta and Pure Energy Nitro Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro Tank and Electro Hopper
Strengths: Anti-Chop Eye, Light-Weight, Design Simplicity, Nice-Looking
Weaknesses: If I had to complain........Not the lightest trigger in the world, but not bad.
Review: I just got my SLG a few weeks ago. So far, I like it better than any marker I have owned. My Angel was way too bulky and terribly expensive. The features on it were so unnecessary. The 03 Shocker was really nice, but had a few issues whereby the marker would not fire (not my loader). My 68 Automag wasmy baby, but was moody. I wouldn't mind having another 68, though I didn't care too much my RT. The Autococker is accurate, but required a little maintenance. It also wasn't the fastest marker to shoot. Spyders are Spyders. Simple little creatures that work, but nothing fancy. My Tippman was a workhorse. Reliable and accurrate, but slow and difficult to disassemble (rarely needed to dissamble). Now to my Proto SLG. This little effer works! I was kickin ass with a gravity hopper in a game over the weekend. The marker is fast (could be a little bit faster), antichop is flawless, accuracy is more than acceptable, reliable, and its design is sleek. I wish the frame and trigger was aluminum, just for asthetic reasons. The gun comes with a set of wrenches, o-rings, barrel plug..I mean bag. This is a whole-lotta marker for the price. I feel ill paying what I did for the Angel and Shocker.
Conclusion: There are many great paintball guns on the market, but for the low price of $200, you will not be dissatisfied.....I promise!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chevelle77 Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck
Strengths: -Very light
-Low price
-User friendly
-Low maintinence
-Easy to work
Extremely reliable
Weaknesses: -Very small feedneck.
Review: I saw this gun online and was going back and forth between this and the Spyder VS2. I went up to the proshop and held the gun, compared to the VS2. I was amazed at the wieght and I liked the feel. I bought the gun took it home and started it up immediatly and went out and within a minute of getting it out of the box I was firing off shots! i was amazed at how easy it was to work straight out of the box. I read the manual and was also amazed at how easy it was to adjust and get to your liking and how custamizable it was (as far as the settings). I went and played with it with my friend and I found that he had gotten the VS2 and after comparing them I was really glad I had chosen the SLG over the VS2. I was hitting people like crazy which (even at long range) which surprised me considering it only has an 11" barrel. I would recommend this gun to anyone!
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who wants to have an amazing gun you don't have to put hundreds of dollars of upgrades into to be competitive. For 199.99 (I think they just lowered the price) this gun is amazing and I would not hesitate to get another one!! The SLG is an extremely reliable gun and it's a steal at 199.99 (again I think that is the new price) Get this gun!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Master_x Saturday, January 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
Marker Setup: Proto Slg
Cp Barrel (1 piece)
Halo B Hopper w/ rip drive+ v35 board
Hyper 3 reg
Stock Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a new barrel (1piece cp at least) stock barrel is horrible.
Strengths: Very reliable, good for the weekend paintballer, easy to take apart.
Weaknesses: Very tempermental when it comes to air pressure, asa comes loose occasionally
Review: I bought this gun in place of a tippmann a-5 because it is so much better than a vibe lol. It is just a little worse than a PMR. Very light, I came to like that being a front snake player it is a hell of a lot easier to lug around than any tippmann. Definately would get a better barrel though (proto stock barrels lack lots). Feed neck also needs to be replace because the o-ring secure thing is'nt workin out at all. The gun also tends to leak frequently, small but they go away fast (but could also be one of my o-rings). Also comes with a great board. Board Settings- Rof cap 15-30 bps, Dwell (dont set on 1 the gun will start to shoot automatically without pulling the trigger) Fire mode- semi, psp ramp, millenium ramp, nxpl tourny/auto matic.
Conclusion: An 8 becaus of the stock parts of the gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fs Phoenix Saturday, January 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All PM's and DM's
Marker Setup: EGO 8,Proto SLG, PE 68/4500, Vlocity Jr, 14 Inch Stiffi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, Trigger, and ASA
Strengths: Very light, Shoots Fast, Great Price
Weaknesses: Trigger, ASA, Feedneck, Eye's don't read very well
Review: Well I just bought this gun the other day and when I first opened it I was shocked at how small the gun actually was. It was a lot smaller and lighter then a lot of the other Proto guns there. I went home and started to set the gun up to my settings and I started to notice some problems: The trigger is very stiff, the feedneck is very small, because of the orings, and the ASA could be replaced. These are small little problems that can be fixed with simple upgrades. The stock trigger can be fixed by taking out the spring, it makes the pull a bit more easier. I brought it outside and started to fire the gun and I noticed that the eyes weren't reading the paintballs very well, but I guess its a combination of the cold weather and bad paint that I was shooting that lead to the miss reading of paint, I'm going to try shooting with better paint and on a nicer day. But when I looked into the breach I noticed that the bolt was sitting further back and the ball was rolling back away from the eyes, I'm not quite sure how to fix this, but its not a big problem it only stopped reading the paint once out of a case of paint. Other thant that this gun is great and shot like a dream Out of a case I only broke one ball, but that was a barrel break. This is a great gun and I would recommend this gun to anyone! Great value at a great price.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone just starting paintball, or seasoned players looking for a good backup gun. I would replace the Trigger, ASA, and Feedneck, then this gun would be good to go!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 12th, 2008 at 9:05 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

SplatZoneBorneo Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion (it was made to counter the ion domination of cheap high end marker, at least that was we're told by the DYE rep)
Spyder (cant compare)
Marker Setup: Dye DM7
Proto SLG
SP Ion
Epiphany
Electra
MR2
VS1
VS2
VS3
Tippmann 98, A5, eXT, XT, XL
Halo B w Rip Drive w V35
Empire B2
Empire Reloader 2 w sound activated
some Cheap HPA tank 45/3000
Pure energy Fiber HPA 4500/68cu
Pure Energy co2 20z
New Boss Barrel
M16 Barrel and complete kit (A5)



Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck is a MUST! (whats the point of creating a neck which could not fit almost a lot of loader?)
Barrel
Board
better hosing system (2 of our SLG blew off)
Strengths: It appear to be a strong competitor for Ion in term of perfomance
Weaknesses: Please refer to the comment
Review: being on of the first person in Asean to own SLG, we were very excited when the rep from Dye international told us it appear to be one of the best cheap-high-end marker availabe to counter the long-domination by Ion.

I tried the 1st marker and shoot about 1000 pallet ( tournament grade), 1 ball break. suspect it was the eye problem. clean it up and shot another 500, turn out to be fine. the accuracy can compete with Ion.

for a beginner, im sure this is one of the best marker available in the market as its ready to use without having to put too much mod.

but the neck is a total disappointment. the o-ring is to hard and i have to take it off and change it with the paper tape.

barrel sock? yes it suck. i know its a cheap marker but hey common, Dye can you at least print your brand to make it look better?

another 2 of our marker blew off the hose when we install the tank. so those who wanna buy this marker please get ready with this sort of problem.

trigger is also not comfortable to use, but if you know how to change the spring into something smoother, then it fixed the prob.

its a good marker though
Conclusion: Please get it, you'll not gonna regret it. but at the same time please get ready for the prob may occur but its common for every first badge product. overall i give out 7.6 cause of the few prob we experienced
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FFXGuitar Tuesday, January 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot-Cant even compare.
Spyder VS1- A little closer, but still, uncomparable
Tippmann 98 Custom-...Dont even go there...
Proto Matrix Rail- Same, but too many orings to take care of.
Marker Setup: Proto SLG-Blue
Pure Energy 48/3000
Halo B V35 W/RipDrive
Recommended
Upgrades:
I dont care what most people say-Stock feedneck IS usable, but a new one is recommended
Same deal with the trigger, its fine! If you do want to upgrade, just cause "you just cant rip on it", then get a CP Sling.
Maybe a new barrel (Stock barrel is a bit short 11 inches)
Strengths: Efficient
Hyper3 Regulator
Bolt Kit
Grip-Frame
Stock Board
Price
Weight
Size-2.2lbs
Weaknesses: I dont see any weaknesses. Possibly lots of hate from the PMR users.
Review: I recently got this gun from paintball-online
It was perfect out of the box, went to go gas it up everything was fine.
I was shooting ropes, it is a pretty accurate gun
I first noticed how light and compact it was!
My only problem may have been the trigger.
That night, I started tweaking with it, and I got it so that the trigger was clearly walkable!
Next morning, I went out to shoot, and not only was it faster, but the shots were more consistent (probably my regulator breaking in) :)

Conclusion: I am extremely satisfied with this product, it comes stock with everything you need, and even so, upgrades and aftermarket products are being produced, making the upgradability higher. This gun was extremely light and small, and accurate. It is reliable, and needs minimum maintenance, compared to the PMR( with all the O-Rings)
I highly recommend this product for anyone new to paintball, or those who want to break that nasty Spyder habit.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 8th, 2008 at 3:07 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media