paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
greenperson Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none.
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
flatline barrel
eggy 3

Proto SLG all stock
eggy 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
Strengths: Consistent
Easy cleaning
Good price
Light
Pretty gas efficient.
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: I'm new to paintball so i don't know what its like to have a better marker than this. But i can give you a good perspective from a beginners point of view. so far this marker works great for me. i havent had any problems besides the feedneck, and to fix this i just took the o-rings out and put 1 layer of duct tape around the neck of my hopper. thats a simple fix without having to go out and buy a 20-30$ feedneck.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker for anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eagle-eyePB13 Friday, January 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Ion (Similar performance)
-Many Spyders (Can't Compare)
Marker Setup: PRIMARY
-Proto Matrix SLG 2008
-Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi HPA
-Viewloader Evolution 3

BACKUP
-Spyder Imagine LED 2005
-Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi HPA
-14" smart parts progressive barrel
-Viewloader Evolution 3
-Dye sticky 3 grips
-Scenariodreams VerC T-board
-trinity t-lock feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck
Strengths: -Small
-Light
-Cheap
-Consistent
-Accurate
Weaknesses: -Poor feed neck design.
Review: I'd have to say the SLG is the best gun on the market for under $300. When I opened the box the first thing I noticed was how small it is. The SLG is tiny compared to most guns I've seen. It's very compact, easy to use, and light weight. It's listed at 2.2 lbs but I don't think it is even that heavy.

The SLG is very fast as well. The manual says it can reach up to 30bps. It is just as fast as any high-end gun out there and you'll never be out gunned. Another great feature is the new Hyper3 Reg. I've so far put more than 4000 shots through it and every one has been within +/- 5fps of one another.

The one bad thing about the SLG is the stock feed neck. I'm not sure what Dye was thinking when they designed it. You are supposed to push your hopper in and two o-rings hold it in. Well, because it is too small, when I pushed my hopper in it pushed the top o-ring out. By the way it is nearly impossible to get the o-ring back in.

Well back to the good things about the SLG. The stock barrel is surprisingly accurate. After using it I see no reason for replacing it unless you just like a longer barrel. Good player should have no problem gunning down opponents with the stock barrel.

I can't explain quite how the bolt works as well as the manual. Some say it's like a spyder which it is, but it is also somewhat different. It Is made by Dye so I'm sure it is reliable.
Conclusion: I highly recommend the SLG to anyone into paintball at any skill level. The same performance expected from every proto for only $250. Just remember to have about $30 on hand for a new feed neck. I give this gun about a 9.5 which rounds to a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mac75 Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, etek ego, shocker
Marker Setup: proto slg, pure energy hpa tank, pulsed halo, hybrid headloc feedneck, cp on/off,
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck... hybrid or trinity
asa... cp is good
trigger... or adjust
barrel... j&j works well
Strengths: Affordable
Light
Good board
Efficient
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Asa
Trigger
Eats lube... need to relube every three games
Review: The proto slg is a very good gun for the price. It is comparitavley priced with the ion, the epiphany, and the high-end spyders. But it is a better gun thanall of them. It is light and short so you can snap quick and stay tight. It is effficient, it needs to be filled every hopper and 4 pods ish... Which lasts me about two to three games. And it has all of the modes you need to play . The bad is that the feedneck does not it most hoppers and the trigger is very stiff, but if you know how to take the trigger out and how to adjust the trigger it can become a very good trigger. The asa needs to be replaced, i recomend the cp on/off becuase it is easy to turn and it has a self purge( and it will save your tank threads in the long run). And the bolt absolutley dystroys lube... I needed to relube the slg every three games to keep it going with the stock lube, i would reccomend the "slick stuff" lube as the best alternative because it lasts longer in the gun.
Conclusion: The slg is a very good gun for the intermediate or beginer player and a good back up gun for the advanced player.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 30th, 2007 at 11:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brett103092 Thursday, December 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix Rail
Dye DM's
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Proto SLG w/ Dye UL Frame
Hybrid UL Grips
New Designz Slik Trigger
Halo B Hopper w/ Speed Feed and custom Hybrid Backplate
DXS 68/4500psi. HPA Tank


Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger
Feed Neck
Strengths: This is a great gun at a great price, great for new and old players.
Weaknesses: The stock trigger takes away from the performance, the feed neck is too small.
Review: This gun is what many players have been waiting for for along time. An extremely reasonably priced gun with tournament level performance. The SLG, in my opinion is a better gun for the money than the PMR, which was mostly constructed from plastic. The end cap is aluminum unlike the PMR, and the orbiting spool valve system is equally as reliable at keeping a consistent ROF as the PMR.

APPEARANCE: The SLG's aluminum body is nothing short of perfect. This gun has definately got the looks of the $700 markers.

ELECTRONICS: The SLG has the same board as the PMR and is fully configurable to a players custom specs. The board includes SEMI, PSP, MILLENIUM, and NXL modes. The trigger sensitivity, ROF, and modes are configured by two dip switches on the board.

ACE EYES: Comes with IR eyes to prevent chopping paint.

REGULATOR: The SLG includes the new 2008 Hyper 3 reg. It has a higher flow rate than the old Proto reg. and has a 2000 shot break in period.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. It packs that tournament level punch but carries a small price that new players can afford. Buy this gun if you're looking for a low priced reliable marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

tips000 Wednesday, December 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion (slg is way! better)
promaster (slg is still better)
pmr (slg is way! better)
wrath (slg is better)
you get the point!
Marker Setup: SLG
68/3k tank
vlocity jr.
dye ul barrel
SP on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck!
ASA!
trigger (or jut shorten/take out the spring)
Strengths: fast!
Light!
Small!
Not much kick at all!
Quiet!
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck
stock asa
trigger is stiff
barrel can be improved
Review: Ok i got this yesterday and opened it up and it came well organized and it was very beautiful... i put my on/off on and feed neck... i took the bolt out and lubed it up... i screwed in the tank and turned the asa on and it was really loud and i thought wow its either shooting hot or is way too loud...i cronoed and it was really hot from the factory which was weird i thought...it blew an oring out and i had it changed and then it was fine i set it lower and chopped paint...then i realized the eyes were off lol...so i cleaned it once again and it ripped it was quiet and fast and really accurate with my dye ul


great price... get one

i gave it an 8 cuz the stock feedneck sucked really really bad and the asa wasnt great either
Conclusion: Its a geat gun for any level of play shoots just as fast and accurate as shockers and dms
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 26th, 2007 at 6:07 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

WILLEM_SLG Wednesday, December 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS 05 - SLG is way better
Viewloader Orion - U cant compare it to the SLG
Evil Omen 2.0 - very heavy compared to the SLG (tested)
Smart Parts Epiphany - also a light gun - same class as SLG (tested)
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix SLG 08
Viewloader Vlocity Jr.
Pure Energy 48/3000 PSI
Dye Invision 3 Pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK - clamping feedneck would be good!
Strengths: Light - one of the lightest guns i've played with
Consistent
Speed
Weaknesses: Feedneck - my hopper doesn't fit unless i take out the O-rings.
Review: When i girst got this gun i thought WOW! what a small gun, i like it allot.
when i first gassed up the SLG the hosing from the ASA to the regulator blew of.
i had to replace the ASA hose lock.
cost me about 10$
But it's a great gun shoots very straight and its super light and fast!

Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone with some paintball experience.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 16th, 2007 at 7:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nastytyphoon Tuesday, December 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 proto w/virtue,dye ,boblong,angel
Marker Setup: olive green dust system x nme le , ruby red halo-b with ripdrive , empire fuel 72/4500 pis low pressure tank ,12 inch freak barrel stainless steel back 05 all american front, was board included,dye rhino tank cover red/black
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger ,maybe a new board ,barrel kit
Strengths: Dye dependability,price,speed,effiecy
Weaknesses: Trigger,board
Review: I bought the gun about 45 min ago...i went out and shot it the i tweked the gun /board to my liking the shot it again. over all i think many youger players will see the proto slg and be heart set on owning one and the more advaced players will see it as a chance to build up and mode a proto.
Conclusion: If you got 250$ big ones to spare go check out the slg, maybe this gun will slow down the ion fad......
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

whiterasta80 Sunday, December 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months34 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2K5 Black Magic Autococker (own)
Evil Pimp (tested)
Invert Mini (tested several times)
Ion (tested several times)
Various E-spyder clones (owned and tested)
Marker Setup: Primary:
2K5 Black Magic Autococker (Black/Red)
Torque Hopper
Pure Energy 68/3000 Tank
Evil Pipe Kit

Backup:
Proto SLG (Olive)
CP 2 Piece Barrel (black)
PE 48/3000 Tank
VL Evolution II
Empire nano On/Off

Loaner/Backup's Backup:
2K5 Trilogy Competition
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Shocktech Cocking Rod
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
WGP Cam Adjuster
Evil Pipe Kit
16 Oz CO2 with A/S
VL Revvy with Empire Sound Board
CP On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off (see body)
Clamping Feedneck
Barrel/Barrel Kit
Strengths: Weight
Simplicity of design
Backed by a good company
Quiet (though not like Matrixes)
Weaknesses: Barrel (can't expect too much at $250)
Feedneck (see barrel)
Airport/hose
Review: I saw a demo version of this gun at my local store and I decided that I liked it. Normally I don't like to be a guinea pig when new markers come out, but in this case I made an exception. I got my olive SLG last week and had a chance to take it out.

The First Impressions:

This is one SMALL Gun. I actually didn't notice this completely until I had the marker gassed up and ready to play, but there was very little difference in the way of weight compared to a matrix and it is quite noticably lighter than my BM, Trilly, the Pimp or any of the Ions that I've tested. The body is absolutely gorgeous and there were no marks, and the grips are actually quite nice. Its a very simple look, but I like it.

The marker came in an absolutely tiny box, but it is pretty well protected. Its not like the mini's case, but I think I'll still store the marker in it. Inside it comes with a pretty simple Proto barrel, some lube, an extra o-ring kit, extra detents, a battery, and the crappiest barrel sock you've ever seen (seriously Dye can you not even put your name on it?). Curiously, my package was missing an instruction manual. Though I had no trouble finding one on the net, it was a little annoying.

The Good:

Again, this marker is very light, I think it weighs as much with the tank as my friend's pimp does without (that might be a stretch). After gasing up I went to chrono and a few shots later I was getting about +/- 8. Seeing as I haven't broken the reg in yet I was pretty happy. The electronics are very simple and easy to figure out, they have all kinds of modes that I'll never use and the eyes seem to work fairly well. I'd heard of some people having trouble with the eyes when using small bore paint, but my paint sized out at .686 and I had absolutely no trouble. I've also heard of some people having trouble with the detents, but again mine seem fine, even when I ran some reballs through it. Once in the game I was walking the trigger fairly well (bear in mind I can't outshoot a Revvy without ramping). I didn't check the bps I was getting to give you data, but it probably wasn't more than about 10 (human limitation not the gun). The trigger isn't the best in the world, but I haven't really played with it at this point. Besides you can't expect perfection in a value-priced marker. As for accuracy, it was very good for me (I was using a barrel kit so I had a good paint match). I suspect that I will get VERY good accuracy once the reg is broken in- comparable to my autocockers, or the Mini's I've used. Finally, maintenance looks to be a cinch: the bolt is simple to remove (especially with the purge button on the back) and the lubing/regulator disassembly is well outlined in the manual. I didn't have any breaks in my time, but if I did the main body would be very easy to clean.

The Bad:

After about an hour of use, the hosing blew off of the marker while I still had it gassed up. Fortunately I was prepared for this since again, I had heard of some people having this problem. I took this opportunity to put my Empire on/off on the gun, rather than deal with fixing the Airport, but it seems like this may be a problem for the SLG. Hopefully they'll clear it up in the second run of the guns (remember the Mini had all kinds of proplems in its first run too). The only other problem for me is the feedneck which is not very useful at all. Given the price, its probably unfair to expect a clamping feedneck, but the o-ring system is useless. For now I just removed the o-rings and taped the bottom of my hopper until it fit. In the future I'll probably get a new feedneck, but for now my solution works just fine.

The Curious:

The new Hyper 3 Reg will rotate 360 degrees where the hose screws in. I'm sure that they have their reasons for this, but I would prefer them to just lock the position (if there is a way to do this please message me with how).

The Unknown:

At the moment I can't speak to battery life, or efficiency since I've only had about 600 balls through it. I'll try to update as I use it. Also, since I obviously have only had it out once I can't speak to reliability.

Update (Jan 9/08):
I ended up having the detents wear down after about a case and a half, but after calling Dye I have a spring loaded set on the way (apparently the detents are a problem in the first run).
I've now put about 2.5 cases through the gun with the batteries still going strong.
Beyond that no problems with the gun, will update after I get the new detents.

Update (May 21/08)

I've now had the gun for about 6 months and I couldn't be happier. I've actually managed to set the stock trigger such that I'm very happy and won't bother updating it. I've managed 12 bps unaided and hit the 20's with ramping. With the detents replaced I haven't had a single chop with either the eyes on or off. And after having a chance to play around with the modes I can say that the changing of modes is a very simple process, It is NOT DIFFICULT at all. I doubt that I will bother updating the board.

The battery life is very good, I've probably put 4 cases through it and still haven't had any problems. The only problem is that the battery is a relatively tight fit in the grip frame, so sometimes getting that battery out at the end of the day takes a minute.

As for efficiency: On my 48/3000 I get about 600-650 shots off before a refill (which is only slightly worse efficiency then they claim in the advert).

Conclusion: I'm overall very happy with the gun. For the market its geared towards it is a very good deal. There are a few things that could be improved upon (and hopefully that ASA issue can get cleared up). That said I bought this gun for it to be a backup to my Black Magic, and I might end up using it as my primary after a few upgrades. In the end I'm going to give it an 8, with the ASA, the feedneck, and the missing instruction manual keeping it from getting higher marks.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 21st, 2008 at 11:20 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

hempist Thursday, December 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion Black
Marker Setup: Barrel Autococker 16"
UL trigger
Viewloader EVO 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Feedneck
Strengths: Super light - as the name says
Consistent
Air-efficient
Accurate
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger
Review: I got this gun for testing purposes and I fell in love with it instantly. Who needs a marker for €700-€1000 if you can get this one for €250.
At first I was a little dissapointed with the feedneck because it was to narrow for my EVO3. I was able eventually to cramm it in somehow, but I think I will have to buy a new feedneck eventually, because I intend to keep this gun for event playing.
It fires easily 20 balls per second. I was also pleasently surprised by the consistency in ball flight. This marker is very accurate with stock barrel but it gets wildly accurate with a 16" barrel. It's also very easy to dismantle and put it together again.
Conclusion: All in all, I would recommend this marker to everyone, from begginers to more experienced players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gangsteyoda5 Thursday, November 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing i can really think
Marker Setup: proto slg stiffi barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck
new barrel ( personal opinion)
trigger (not necessary)
Strengths: Speed
Low pressure
Easy programming
Small
Weaknesses: trigger
Feedneck
No upgrades that i know of
Review: i wanted to get an slg as my first high end electro. so i went to my pro shop to check it out and maybe try to get a deal. while i was looking for the rail i came across the slg. this first thing that caught my eye was its small body (smaller than the rail) then i saw the price. I was shocked that the gun was only 249.99. so i asked the dude to test out the rail and the slg and i really couldn't see a big difference between the two

i purchased the slg and took it home. i went home and tried to fit my loader into the feed neck. the o ring accidentally fell off so i ended up taping my hopper neck and i just jammed it in there. i gassed it up and took some shots outside. it seemed fast and it was light i really liked it.

this gun does have the sear tripper like a spyder but trust me a spyder or an ion don't even compare. This thing definetly matches the rail.

i recently played with it it on the field this thing doesnt tnot let you down it also impresses alot of players on the field this thing is fantastic


Edit: Gun Has alot of kick and the asa blows the front just blew off on me also it gets loose alot (asa to the rail on the gun)i reccomend getting the rail its the same price now
Conclusion: This gun is great if you want to buy a first electric or switch from an ion or a spyder
but get the rail less kick better quality same pruce
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 24th, 2008 at 12:16 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media