paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Protege / Bob Long Protege / Bob Long Protege / Bob Long Protege

Bob Long Protege Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Protege

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Protege
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $550

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
.Features:

- Electro-pneumatic. Open bolt. Stack tube poppet valve
- No more front mounting block for Gen 5 intimidators
- Inline regulator receptacle has been combined with the grip frame to further simplify the new platform
- Primary air chamber has been incorporated into the forward grip frame region to create the correct volume needed
- Grip frame has shed its clamshell roots to favor a thinner, lighter, less complex design
- Marq Series compatible motherboard and grip panel mounting points
- Gen 5 solenoids are now rigid mounted sporting a manifold configuration for ease of maintenance coupled with enhanced flow characteristics
- Redesigned ram sleeve which doubles as a rigid stop and aids in controlling poppet valve open time
- Slimmer LPR features a new thread less mounting design which more aesthetically completes the front of the Gen 5 models
- Simple collet style clamping feed neck for quick tool less hopper swaps
- Marq inspired spring driven linear travel design ball detents
- Bob Long 12 inch one piece assassin barrel - cocker threads
- Xpress mount standard ASA
- Compressed air or Nitrogen only!
-Inline regulator pressure - 210-230psi
- LPR pressure - 65-75psi
- Estimated shot count - 2000+ shots (factory settings using 68ci 4500psi air source)
- Frenzy 3.0 board
- 4C eye compatible
- Estimated Rate of fire - 26+ bps (4C eye upgrade with board set in ramping mode)
- Trigger activation - micro switch
- Trigger return - spring assist
- Weight without barrel: 2 lbs. 3 oz.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Protege is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
iced out Tuesday, July 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vice- Shoots the same.
Other intimidators- The protege is more efficent and up with the times.
2008 EGO- Same slight kick, sound signature and body design.BL is more efficient.
Marker Setup: Blue BL Protege-Tech PB magnet trigger kit, Lever lock feed neck, LP poppet, 4C eyes, Tribal Stinger Paintball Design Grips, Kila Dirty Bolt, CP Razor Drop, CP dovetail On/Off, Black screw Kit.

Gold BL Protege- 4C eyes, Gold Tribal Stinger Paintball Design Grips, CP Shorty Regulator, Black screw kit, BL leverlock feedneck, CP Razor drop, CP direct mount ON/OFF, Kila VIBE Board, Tech PB magnet trigger kit.

Hopper: Dye Rotor- Anti Jam Shart Fin, FAST FEED system

Tank: Crossfire 68/4500 High Pressure

Barrels: J&J Edge Elite Kit with 12,14,and 16" tips, Hammer Head MOFO 14", Hammer Head Bang Stizz 16" with all 5 Fins for both.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you shoot semi, get the 4C eyes ( makes semi a lot better for you ).
If you disslike dipswitches ( there are quite a few on the stock board.. 6 I think ), get a New board.
If you want a snappy trigger, get the magnet trigger kit ( uses magnets to return your trigger instead of the stock spring for a frictionless and powerfull return ).
If you want to be able to stop you airflow, get an On/Off ( stock is a constant on, screw in type ).
ALL of these upgrades are great, but you dotn NEED any. The Protege, right out the box, is ready for serious play and is an amazing gun! Any upgrades you put on it will only make slightly better what Bob has already made amazing.
Strengths: Efficent.Great Quality.Thin and feels good in the hands.Competes with anything out there.
Weaknesses: If it leaks, it will be because of the solinoid didnt seal right. Eye COVER.
Review: Gun Body- Milling itself ISNT bad at all. It is no better or worse than the Vice.. just different. The finish on the gun is very well done. There may be minor polish marks in your pinish, but they actually give the gun charecter and dont take away from the glorius shine that each Protege has. The Ram sleeve, eye covers, and feecneck accent the body and everything fits together nicly. If you happen to get an eye cover that cracks from normal torque when screwing the eye cover down just call Bob Long Direct and they will get you a new one quick and with no questions asked ( There was a problem with the eye covers being made to thin from the factory and cracking ). The new ones they send you will be thicker and will not crack. The trigger frame feels great in your hands and has plenty of room for your gloves to walk the trigger. The trigger itself is very nicly made. It is slightly hollowed for weigt purposes and has 2 allen adjustment screws for pull and retun lenghts that can both be adjusted through the front of the trigger. The metal that is around where your barrel screws in is quite thin to achieve the "sharp" look the Protege has SO if you dont like dings in your gun BE CAREFUL when screwing in your barrel not to miss and hit the metal because you will ding it with any force.

Shooting charecteristics: The gun has very little kick while shooting. The movement barely moves your shot pattern and is nothing to complain about. The guns sound signature is slightly louder than M7's or M8's with the same barrel. There is very little drop off while shooting, even at high speeds due to the great regulators on this gun, but at the chrono you may see as bad as +/- 15 with a full 68. I havent yet tested the AKA 2 liter + Regulator, but it is said to be the most efficent, fastest recharging, and MOST consistent regulator out there.. I am going to order one soon to put on my guns and see if the fps consistency gets better. shout several dozen cases through these guns and have yet to break a ball. The stock bolt works great and the LP operation pushes balls rather than blows them up. A trend I am seeing is that the bolt will loose its lubrication quite quickly, so be sure to keep a fresh layer on the bolt to prevent it from wearing your breech, detents, and the bolt itself pre maturly.

If you ever happen to get a leak from just above the trigger frame it is likely to be from the bracket and adapter the holds the solinoid in place and provides air. This bracket, held on by two LONG screws needs to be seated perfectly or you may develop a leak as I have in both my guns at one point or anoter after lubing. To fix this just loosen the screws and remove the solinoid. From there just re lube all the orings that seat on the solinoid and even put a thin layer on the solinoid itself to assure correct seal. When re installing your solinoid make sure all the tube under it and the little wire stay are seated correctly in their recesses and that you push the solinoid all the way back and seat it in its recess. From there screw the two long screws down EVENLY. Once the bracket is sitting atop the solinoid slightly snug each screw... this should give you the proper seal. Besides that I have had no leaks even after complete rebuilds ( the gun selas up very easily ).
Conclusion: I highly recommend this marker. Out of the box it is amazing and will perform as well as any gun over 500 out there. The techs at BLD are great and helpful, parts and upgrades arent too costly, and the gun itself is built great and to last. They say that THERE IS ALWAYS BETTER... and there will be in the future, but taking into account this guns build quality and everything about it including it low cost and high worth it deserves a 10. contact info if you want to know more or have questions Ryanburick@yahoo.com or cell 724 714 2536
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 14th, 2009 at 8:23 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

greenmoss Saturday, May 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
08 PMR
TonTon Shocker
NXT shocker
invert mini
Marker Setup: 08 Bob long Protege
Freak kit.
Gangstar Vlocity jr.
Pure energy 68/45 hp.

ANS GX-5 Autococker (mech)
Freak kit
New Designs roller sear.
Evlution 3


Pure Energy 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Doesnt really need any but if I did.....

Pillow bolt
4c eyes
leaver lock feedneck.
on/off asa with purge.
Strengths: Price vs product
Efficiency
maintenance
Weaknesses: Looks......... Not really.
lube with Dow 55 which is expensive and hard to find.
Review: Am I getting out gunned? Yes I am. Time to replace the cocker. These young kids are walking all over me (at least the ones who actually know how to play). I was looking for a new electro. Never had one before. Time to do some research. After looking at all my options and I mean ALL, the Protege was hands down the best option. I had seen Bob Long products in the past and everybody who used them where true followers of his products. Lets face it, Bob long Markers have been around for a while now. How could I possibley buy a marker from a company thats only been around for a year or two.
Protege was the best option.

The key factors that grabbed my attention was what I was getting for the price.
Stack tube poppet valve, with internal low pressure reg. One of the best in-line regs on the market. Efficiencey of (my test was at 3900 psi 1500 shots). as full as I could get it filled. Clamping feed neck , frenzy 3.0 board with Semi, 3 shot burst, Ramping and full auto. backed by Bob Longs tech support at Bob long direct. All at a price of $550. If you need more in a gun, buy the Vice. Its a step up from the Protege.

The only thing I didnt like was the fact that you need to lube the gun with Dow 55 to keep the manufactures warranty. This stuff is hard to find and can be expensive. I know where to get it for under $9 for a small plastic tin. PM me ill let you know.

Conclusion: After a year of playing with this gun, I love it. It has never let me down and will probabley be my last gun. If you are a serious rec player looking to step up his game and get into some tournys, this is the gun for you. Do some research and you will find out that this is the best gun in its price bracket. Get it.

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 18th, 2009 at 7:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tristanot Wednesday, April 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto PM8
Dye DM6
Proto PMR
Marker Setup: Bob Long Protege:
4C Eyes, M8 board, Cam Drive, Marq Barrel, VP Trigger,
Violent Bolt, LP poppit, Vice Feedneck
DXS 48/45k Stubby: Ninja 4500 Reg.
Dye Rotor, Quickfeed
Recommended
Upgrades:
4 Eyes if you shoot semi
Violent bolt
LP Poppit
Vice Feedneck
Tadao M8
All these are niceties /\
Strengths: Light
Fast
SExy
Cheaper than comp.
Durable
GReat Construction
Weaknesses: Maybe the stock stuff
MAybe the manual(online)
Review: Overall, I am sticking with Bob Long from now on. This marker has changed my understanding of what "high-end" really is. I came into the world of paintball with a Tippmann in my hand, but I quickly moved into electros with my PMR. I sold that and got a Dm6, 1.5 years into paintball. That was my first highend, but I saw the cut corners and crap that Dye pulled, I was overall a little unhappy. I then sold that and bought a PM8, 2 years and some technology and I figured it had to have been updated. I saw no true differences, some weight and an eye pipe later and still there was too much crap.

I traded that str8 for the Protege with the ups. I felt kinda bad, almost like my Pm8 was unworthy, I shot em both when I was mid-trade at my house. Wow. Bob Long is a player, as is Zach, and he understands what the player needs in a gun. The Protege is built 10x Better than the Dm6 or PM8, it is true QUALITY!
Here were some of my noticed differences and plusses:
-Weight: Lighter than the Pm8, I hear about the same as and Ego, but either way, this is light!
-Size: I loved the fact that this is a high-end with room to wrap your fingers around the reg! I hated the Dm6 and Pm8 because the Reg rested on the Trigger Frame.
-Looks: Some say Fugly at first, but after I got it, I really like the looks. With the Vice Feedneck, the marq barrel, and a new ASA, it is awesome.
-Price: It is Cheaper than the Etek2, and WAY better, Ive held both and this is better in almost all ways.
Conclusion: OVERALL: Shot it last weekend at a tourney, it is fast, Accurate, and good in the hands. Any better and Id have to start selling these guns myself.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pblwespbl Wednesday, March 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long vice
Marker Setup: Red Bob Long Protoge
+
Silver evil minion
Dye asa
Hybrid bolt guide
WITH
68/45 pure energy
Vlocity loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgraded board
Strengths: Dead Accurate!
Amazing Air Efficientcy
Barely Any Kick
All BL vice work with it.
Weaknesses: Not a fan of the Frenzy board. but it still rips
Review: I seen a team mate using this gun one week and found out that he was selling it. after using my buddy's vice i knew that Its little brother (the protoge) was the gun for me . it was just like the vice and was alot cheaper. After i tried it out that next week i bought it. I soon realized that it was a very easy gun to maintain. I wasn't a huge fan of the Frenzy board but it still does the trick. I am looking into getting a virtue or tadoa board in this as i get more money!
Conclusion: A perfect tournement level gun for ballers on a budget.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

P3rfectRunx24 Wednesday, February 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Ion (stock)
Marker Setup: Completely stock protege, Empire Magna hopper, Pure Energy 3000 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE
Strengths: Its FAST, LIGHTWEIGHT, EFFICIENT, GOOD GRIPPING, LOW MAINTENANCE .
Weaknesses: Manual not a problem, go online and get a manual
MORE COLORS LOL
Review: Why get this gun?
I would say this might be my last paintball gun that i ever need
This gun shows the $1000 dollar guns that it is just as good if not better

My review if different from the others because mine is an 09 protege
NEW 14 inch barrel and tweaks

Protege is hot , good grip to keep from dropping, very fast, efficient and light
If you consider switching from a ION, SLG, MINI or a $200-400 dollar gun you will see the difference very fast
DONT BELIEVE ME? Borrow 1 as soon as possible and see for yourself!!!
This gun like everyone else says should be in the thousands

Id take this over any gun any day

very low maintenance for a very amazing beautiful gun

Sounds like i am saying false stuff but i am not! its all true!


Conclusion: My conclusion is its everything that i said!! buy it!! its the god of paintball!!! $550 is way too cheap to sell this godly gun BUY IT!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bd444 Thursday, December 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E Blade Autococker
PM8
DM8
ETEK
Shockers
Marker Setup: Bob Long Protege
4C Eye KIt
Tadao Yakuza Board
Halo w/ Victory Board
Pillow Bolt
68/4500 Guerilla Air
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Board- Makes playing in tournaments easy...especially at the college level like myself.
Strengths: Speed
Consistent
Efficent
Easy Maintenaince
Weaknesses: None
Review: The gun is very consistent. It read 280-283 on the Chrono with 15 shots. I do not believe in accuracy of paintball markers. Markers are not accurate, they can be consistently inaccurate, therefore making them accurate. This makes the bob long a great gun. It has virtually no shootdown at high rates of fire (second best i have used expect for an X-Mag.) It gets 1800 shoots out of my tank so efficiency is amazing. It is a light-mid weight gun. However, I am using the lightest and smallest tank with the heaviest hopper. Its is very balanced. Reliability and maintenance is just as easy as an ego. It shoots with much less kick as well. Overall much better than the guns in it price range and just as good as 1200 dollar guns.
Conclusion: Buy it over ETEKs, Ego, Geos, Matrices, Shockers, and autocockers. It is the best gun I have shot besides the X-Mag. SInce their discontinued and going used for 2000. It maybe the in the top 5 guns out right now. Therefore go buy one and own.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Husker Saturday, October 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Bob Long Protege'
Stiffi Switch Kit
68/4500 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pillow Bolt
Clamp Feedneck
Strengths: Light
Very accurate
You get 2000+ shots out of a 68/4500 HPA
Weaknesses: Feedneck ,But it's sufficent
Lack of a manual
Review: The Milling does me fine.I love the look.It's very similar to the Vice,but has it's own style.With the stock Assasin barrel works good and put a stiffi kit on and it's great.This marker right out of the box,is read to go
Conclusion: To be short and sweet,This marker is light,accurate and I've played in many scenario tourney's and have yet to break any balls.And the air consumption is awesome.You can't beat the price for what you get in return.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aznpntballa Saturday, July 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion: Not even close lol....
Ego 7: Close....
Marker Setup: BL Protege: 14" .693 Shaft Barrel, BL Leverlock, Clear Seoul Grips, BL CAM Drive ASA, Critical Trigger on the way. PE 68/45 w/GA Ambush Reg, and Fasta 9v w/ 18v Conversion and hose mod.

SP Ion: Lowrise clamping feedneck, FBM Trigger, Dye Micro Drop and WDP On/Off...Piece of crap IMHO...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Maybe, Feedneck..That's all you really need for a superlative marker. OTB it's amazing however!!!
Strengths: Fast
Light
Efficient
Sexy
Sexy!
Sexy!!
Sexy!!!
Weaknesses: NONE! Amazing marker....Has everything you need...
Review: First Impression: This is a very beautiful, sleek, thin and light weight marker. The 2 D Milling is simple, yet amazing.

Barrel: I bought my Protege off of eBay, so it came with a 14" Planet Eclipse .693 2 pc barrel. My Protege shot aboslutely amazing with this barrel. I shot a pod of Bronze at a tree about 50 feet away and it made a 6" grouping. The stock Proteges out of the box will come with a Bob Long 12" Assasins Barrel. From what I hear, it is a decent barrel.

Rating:9/10

Regulators: The regulators on the Protege, both high pressure, and low pressure, are very consistent, and very easy to maintain. The high pressure regulator is the same one on the Marq series guns. Some people call it the Gen 2 Torpedo Reg. It is amazingly easy to maintain, feels amazing in the hands, and is very consistent.I could shoot very tight ropes with them. Over the chrono with about 210 psi runing through it, I shot 275 +/- 5. The low pressure regulator is pretty sleek. Some people complain about it being rather large on the sleek profile of the Protege, but that's personal preference. Like the high pressure reg, it is very easy to maintain. Maintainence on these regulators must be done every 5-6 cases.

Rating:9.5/10

Feedneck: The stock Protege comes with the Collar Feedneck, which I hear hold hoppers just fine. My PRotege came with a Bob Long Leverlock feedneck, which is amazing. The only gripe about it is the adjustability of the leverlock.Yes, it is tool less, however you have to find the right combination of spinning the threaded pin and the lever to find a nice, tight setting.

Rating: 8/10

Trigger and Frame: The stock trigger comes with a very stiff spring installed, which I didn't like. I removed the spring and trimmed about 40% of the coils, and I find it very light and snappy with no bounce (Debounce at 6). The stock trigger has a very nice curve to it, which makes walking the Trigger and shooting consistently very easy. The pivot point is set behind the trigger as well, which makes it actuate easier. There is also plenty, and I mean PLENTY OF TRIGGER GUARD SPACE!! I love it. I can easily top out my 15 BPS cap with the room provided.

Rating: 10/10

Board: Older Proteges will come with a Frenzy board, with a ROF Cap of 15 bps. Newer Protege have the adjustable ROF from 11-Unlimited BPS. Settings are adjustable via flipping the dipswitches on the board up and down. This board comes with all the basics, which comply with the standards of rec ballers, as well as tournament ballers. It has Cycle Delay, Debounce, ROF Cap, Semi Auto, PSP Ramping, PSP 3 Shot, NXL Full auto, and dwell settings. The only problem I had was that when I capped my board at 15, it shot at 12 bps, but I am getting into cantact with BLAST to see if they can fix it. The microswitch on the board is a 50g Microswitch, which I like. It's not too firm, and not too soft. It's just right.

Rating: 9.5/10

Bolt and Rammer: The stock bolt is very nice, along with the rammer. The bolt comes out by simply popping up the bolt pin and sliding it out of the back of the body. The Rammer comes out by unscrewing the ram cap, and tapping the back of the marker. The kick is absolutely minimal. The only noticeable kick is the sense of the paintball accelerating. That's it. I shot 1/2 a case of bronze through it, along with a bag of RPS Evil. No chops all day. I will try the "Fragile Paint" Test as soon as I get new eyes for it.

Rating: 10/10

Efficiency: ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! 2100 SHOTS OFF OF A 68/4500. ENOUGH SAID.


Rating: 1000000000/10

MAINTAINENCE: The Timmy Series has been known for their low maintinence and high performance. The Protege carries on this legacy. Every 2-3 cases, the bolt should to be lubed with Tri-Flow, and the Rammer lubed with DOW 55 . Every 5-6 cases, the same should be done with the Bolt and Rammer, as well as disassemble and re-lube with DOW 55/inspect the Pistons, shims, o-rings, and springs. Every 10 cases, the following should be repeated, with the added step of lubing the small o-ring on the shaft of the poppet.

Rating: 10/10


FIELD TESTING:
When I first got my marker, I aired it up and shot 3 pods of reballs through it. my tank went from 4500 psi down to 2000 psi..WTF!!?? I knew something wasn't right so I disassembled everything. The previous owner had lubed the HPR with Tri-Flow and installed the shims in the stack incorrectly ...Well I fixed that and I used the last 1k+ psi on a few more pods.

At PAP on 7/13, I finally got to test her out. It was very light (Even with the 88/45) and shot amazingly. It was amazing seeing the mist of 2-3 balls hit someone's mask/ hopper in a row . Absolutely amazing accuracy and consistency. I used about 1k psi out of my 88/45 after 1200 rounds of paint. Absolutely amazing. It was really nice snap shooting with a light marker. The marker is also very well balanced and made running and gunning/ running/sliding very easy.


Final Thoughts: GO BUY A BOB LONG PROTEGE! They are absolutely amazing. Fast, omfgness efficient, omgness light, and sexy! This $500 marker shoots like a $1,000 marker. PURE SEX!!!

Conclusion: BUY IT!!! $550 for this gun is a steal!!!! IT should cost like $1,000!!! IT's absolutely amazing!!I LOVE THIS MARKER!!!!BL PROTEGE FTMFW!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JFroese2007 Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marq 7
Ego 7
Ion?
Marker Setup: Protege
Dye Ul
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao Board
Low rise feedneck
barrel
Strengths: Better than marq 7
accurate
FAST
crazy efficient (over 2000 on a 68/45 fill)
Weaknesses: Lpr could be nicer
Review: I needed a backup for my marq 7 and i decided this gun looked solid and decent so i picked it up. The first time i used it on the field it was crazy, because i didnt know which one i liked better. Now its broken in and is quiet and accurate and all that good stuff and i now like a $550 gun more than a $1050 gun. Darn..
Conclusion: There is no other gun that is better than this for the price. I like this more than my $1050 marq 7 and thats saying something.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Aru328 Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Ego
Smart Parts Ion
Bob Long Alias 2k5
Bob Long Ground Zero Alias
Bob Long Marq (Mummy Edition)
Proto Matrix Rail
Marker Setup: Bob Long Protege
Pillow Bolt
Killer Grips
Everything Else is Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely the 4c Eye system is recommended heavily as it brings out the full potential of this gun. Possibly a new barrel for a bit more variety, Stiffi is highly recommended if you wish to upgrade the barrel. If you are extremely serious about upgrades and have the cash to toss around, go for the Tadao Yakuza board (The Frenzy 3.0 works wonders), so I don't see the Yakuza (As good as it is) to be a necessary upgrade.

Review Edit : After working with this marker for a few months there is no reason for upgrades. The Protege works perfectly stock right out of the box. The eye system if you plan on ramping at about 25 BPS + but for just semi use this gun is magnificent.
Strengths: Low Weight
Excellent Feel
Fast ROF
Little to no kick
Quiet
Weaknesses: I haven't been able to find any....honestly!
Review: At first I was a little skeptical about the Protege, as my Proto Matrix Rail had been haunting me for the past year. A friend of mine had been a long time Bob Long supporter and had allowed me to borrow his Alias several times. After awhile I had grown to liking the Alias feel especially since they were all extremely quiet with absolutely no kicks (seems to be a common trait amongst BL markers). At first I had set my eyes upon the VICE, which if its anything like the Protege, is an excellent marker in itself. However, the financial issue came up, as it does with everyone, and a $700 marker was a bit more than I wished to spend on a hobby. Immediately I began searching the market for a decently priced Protege as it was from what I had found during research, practically the same gun (milling and board aside). The first time I took the gun out it shot amazing! Nothing but ROPES came out of this gun, accurate, beautiful ROPES! The best part, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING broke in the gun or the barrel. Now should I have had any of my previous guns (Ion, Rail, etc) going at this speed, I would have been picking paint out of the chamber for the next year. That day the gun performed wonderfully, and when I took it back home for the clean up (which normally takes about 30-45 mins), the clean up was a matter of 3 mins.

UPDATE: After several months of use, the Protege is running strong with no mishaps. A broken ball blamed on my own stupidity and hopper is the only problem that I have faced over the passed few months. I would highly recommend this marker to anyone.
Conclusion: The Protege for the money is possibly the greatest gun on the market. Combining Bob Long's performance and reliability and packaging it in a rather inexpensive marker, I couldn't imagine a better marker. I'd take the Protege over an Ego or any marker for that matter, ANY DAY!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 11th, 2008 at 4:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media