paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Protege / Bob Long Protege / Bob Long Protege / Bob Long Protege

Bob Long Protege Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Protege

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Protege
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $550

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
.Features:

- Electro-pneumatic. Open bolt. Stack tube poppet valve
- No more front mounting block for Gen 5 intimidators
- Inline regulator receptacle has been combined with the grip frame to further simplify the new platform
- Primary air chamber has been incorporated into the forward grip frame region to create the correct volume needed
- Grip frame has shed its clamshell roots to favor a thinner, lighter, less complex design
- Marq Series compatible motherboard and grip panel mounting points
- Gen 5 solenoids are now rigid mounted sporting a manifold configuration for ease of maintenance coupled with enhanced flow characteristics
- Redesigned ram sleeve which doubles as a rigid stop and aids in controlling poppet valve open time
- Slimmer LPR features a new thread less mounting design which more aesthetically completes the front of the Gen 5 models
- Simple collet style clamping feed neck for quick tool less hopper swaps
- Marq inspired spring driven linear travel design ball detents
- Bob Long 12 inch one piece assassin barrel - cocker threads
- Xpress mount standard ASA
- Compressed air or Nitrogen only!
-Inline regulator pressure - 210-230psi
- LPR pressure - 65-75psi
- Estimated shot count - 2000+ shots (factory settings using 68ci 4500psi air source)
- Frenzy 3.0 board
- 4C eye compatible
- Estimated Rate of fire - 26+ bps (4C eye upgrade with board set in ramping mode)
- Trigger activation - micro switch
- Trigger return - spring assist
- Weight without barrel: 2 lbs. 3 oz.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Protege is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
OhNoesXD Monday, May 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vice
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel (Not Vital)
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Pros
-Speed
-Efficiency
-Lightweight
-Price
-Compares to Markers far above its price range

Cons
-Stock Feedneck
-Milling is so-so

I purchased a Protege a week ago, took it to the local field and aired it up. I was very impressed by the markers performance. It shot fast and I noticed it to be very light. The only negative thing i've got to say about it is it's stock feedneck, which had trouble getting a grip of my hopper. The milling on the gun is pretty plain but when you're playing you wont really care about that.
Conclusion: For $550 you're getting ALOT of bang for your buck and this marker compares to high ends in the $1000+ price range. Great investment
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 26th, 2008 at 1:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tkkno Saturday, April 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego 7, ego 6, somewhat Infamous Intimidator
Marker Setup: Silver Boblong Protege
Custom Eye Pieces(made by a friend of bob's, he owns the store and field that sponsor my team)
CP mini asa
dye hyper 2 reg
Hybrid Headlock clamping feedneck
Halo B with rip drive
45/45 Dye Throttle Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none other than a barrel and feedneck or asa
Strengths: It is extremely accurate and efficient, cheap and equal in quality with a pm8, ego7
Weaknesses: There are absolutly no problems with this gun.
Review: Alright this gun is incredible for the price and i often have issues of whether i use it or my ego to play with. When i took the gun out and aired it up for the first time, shot over the chrono +7 +8 +7 +8 and so on for the next 10 shots. This gun is also extremely fast and unless your an idiot or moron this needs no upgrades contributing to its speed. your only going 3-13 or 15 in tournaments any way which is why i dont like the 08 ego because it is just to fast i mean your done with a hopper in like 5 seconds. But you will definitly not go wrong with this gun. It will never let you down or not work unless you take it yourself and chuck it across a parking lot and run it over.
Conclusion: This gun is incredible i'd take it over an 08 ego or Dm( just cause i think there ugly) any day.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 26th, 2008 at 5:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

13pbstar13 Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 ego
they shoot almost identical!
Marker Setup: I shoot a sft shocker with a hyper 2 reg and a cp barrel. I have a 68/45 draxxus, and a halo.
I also shoot a uld pm6 with a tadao board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new on/off
new feedneck
new barrel
Strengths: It's super light,small, accurate, fast, crazy efficiency
Weaknesses: Bad on/off, and bad feedneck. Although this guns is simply amazing.
Review: This gun I bought as a backup gun for my ego 07. Now I don't care at all about which one I use. They are very similar, and are not much better or worse then each other. I love the protege more because it is like half the price almost!
Conclusion: I'd say you like the way it looks, buy it now. They are hard to find kinda. Also if you buy one I guarantee you will be happy with your purchase.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Der Maler Sunday, March 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, PMR
Marker Setup: Sexy red Protege
4C eye upgrade
Evil 14" Barrel
Halo B w/ Victory Board
72/45 PE Carbon Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Really you don't NEED any I loved it out of the box but
My name is Dom and I am a Paintball addict
So I upped mine just for fun
Strengths: Very light and very accurate
Easy maintenance
It'a a Bob Long
Weaknesses: No user manual
Review: I bought this gun blindly knowing that I had shot and loved timmys on the past. I usually like to try before I buy but in this case I just bought and Right out of the box I loved this gun. it has beautiful milling feels great in your hands and the first thing I did was take it apart and check everything out. I was pleased to see how easy this was going to be to maintain even without the user manual. I aired it up and loaded up my hopper and I couldn't beleive the ropes it shot when it was stock and the accuracy was awesome. took it out the the field and was like a proud papa as everyone oooed and awwed over how great it shot. After I put some ups in it like the 4C eye system and the longer barrel it even got better this gun doesn't chop balls at all and shoots ropes with ball on ball accuracy.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone who wants a very reliable, efficient, easy to maintain weapon that will stand up to any of ther more expensive guns on the market. without spending $1000+ dollars on just the gun alone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daicacharco Tuesday, February 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek, Etek2
Marker Setup: Protege
4 Eyes
Yakuza Board
Pillow Bolt
Marq Kila Detents - customized
CCM Feedneck
Stiffi Switch Kit
CP on/off
DXS 68/45
Vlocity JR w/ Dynasty Upgrade chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feedneck
Strengths: Light, Fast, Durable, Effiency.
Weaknesses: Feedneck is a must upgrade imo
Review: All in all. I love my protege.

Cons: I feel that the feedneck was the bad thing about the gun. My Vlocity and Vlocity JR slided around. Wasn't able to have a good grip on it. So I upgraded to the CCM Feedneck..

Pros: This guns really fast ! Stock board is really all you need. Its light! The gun seems really small! Out of the box the guns accurate. Good on air.

Review story: I upgraded to the Feedneck because the stock feedneck wouldn't grip onto my vlocity. I upgraded to the CP On/off because I rather have one to control as of it. Its not needed because to set up your marker for a full day of playing Bob Long suggested you Keep the gun air'd up all day without removing so. The barrel. I used the stock barrel for a few games until my friend came and I bought the stiffi kit from him. Stock barrels good enough to do the trick. Upgrading to longer would be fine as well. I upgraded to the Yakuza board. I honestly only did it because of the OLED Screen. Instead of remembering by flashes and such I can just see it on the screen. Stock board is all you really need !! Upgraded the stock bolt to the pillow bolt. Stock bolt, I used very brittle old paint. Paint was over 8 months old. I shot it with my protege. Not one single chop. I have yet to see one. Now with my Pillow bolt I'm hoping I wont be chopping at all. I upgraded to the 4 eyes. This upgrade made me notice I was able to shoot 1-2 BPS faster. The eyes is basically defining that the ball has dropped into the breach to make it more accurate. I also bought the 4 eyes because I wanted to see whats the fastest BPS I can achieve on ramp.

Newer Proteges comes stock with the Frenzy 3.0 board - Adjustable ROF
Older Proteges comes with non adjustable rof. Just capped at 15bps
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to whoever. This guns very great for its price. Its basically a lower version of the vice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yyates05 Saturday, February 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other timmys
Marker Setup: bob long protege
45/45
pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feedneck, 4c eyes
Strengths: 4 eye compatible,
Super efficient,
Reliable,
Fast,
Accurate,
Light weight,
Cheap compared to similar products
Weaknesses: Twist feedneck doesn't come with a manual
Review: Out of the box i loved how light and small it was. The trigger is so easy to walk anyone could do it. it took me about 2 cases to break it in and there is no kick or anything. I continue to mow faces with it. I tied between getting this or an etek2 and tihs was the best choice
Conclusion: I definitely would recommend this gun to everyone, it is the best gun i have ever owned
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DeeJayy Monday, January 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Legend
Most other Timmies
Etek2
Etek
Marq
Marker Setup: Bob Long Protege
DXS 68/45 nitro tank
Empire Magna
Stiffi stiff stick
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Light
fast
tight
air efficient
Weaknesses: None found yet.
Review: I got this gun about 2-3 weeks ago and it shot perfecly right outta the box. This gun is fast, light, tight, super air efficient and allows you to play tighter if your in snake.
Its one of the most accurate guns ive ever used. It was only 550 bucks and worth all of it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to people who are looking to upgrade from there novice level gun or people who just wanna step there game up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

afhuff Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Dragon
Ion
Epiphany
Autocockers, various, mechanical and electronic
Spyder Rodeo w/ ESP 3.0 E-Trigger
Marker Setup: All stock internals, reg, etc.
CP Barrel Kit
Evolution (egg) II with Z-Board.....so it's basically a Evo III
DXS 68/4500 Carbon
Hybrid 08 Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Yakuza Tadao Board
Virtue Board
Pillow Bolt
4 eyes
Strengths: Light wieght
very accurate
very efficient

Weaknesses: Eyes
Review: I had been into my local paintball store and been looking at this gun for several months. Well I finally sold my old spyder and some extras and used that money plus some to get this.

By far one of the best guns I have ever played with. It shoots well and it holds its own on the field. I had tons of people wanting to look at it the first day I had it on the field.

The first time I put it on the chrono, right out of the box, i shot 272. it fluctuated from 268 to 278 with the first few shots. I shot about 3/4 of a case and re-chronoed after lunch and i averaged 270-278.

The air efficiency on this gun is awesome. I played four or five games, shooting a hopper and 2 - 3 pods each game, and my tank went from 3800 to 2000.
Conclusion: 9/10 - Cus it still has room for improvement with some upgrades. Great entry level gun, as far as bob long's are concerned.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

sharples Tuesday, November 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long products-Alias, 2k2 GZ Intimidator
Marker Setup: BL Protege Intimidator, black, stock with 14 in. CP barrel, 45/45 Crossfire tank and gangstar''d VLO.

pics:

http://home.comcast.net/~sharples6/protoge1.JPG
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really, just the usual personal upgrades (barrel, loader, etc.)
Strengths: Light fast highly efficient easy maintenance and fairly cheap
Weaknesses: Milling is bland but it grows on you. oh and lack of user manuals
Review: when I first got wind of this gun, I was intrigued. I've always shot Bob Long guns and knew that he produces quality products. actually mad a trip down to World Cup just to see this gun, among other things. Tried it at the BL booth, and was sold. They had it shooting reballs on NXL mode and that thing was ripping. And it was light, almost as light as the newer Egos. Came back the next day and bought a black one (black seems to be the most popular color). Even had Bob himself autograph the box. When I got back, used the gun a couple of times, the second time, I actually had a problem in the beginning. The gun wouldn't shoot but it turns out I adjusted the trigger too far out where it was not hitting the microswitch. (See, if only I had an instruction manual to follow). Otherwise it shoots well, fast light and efficient.
Conclusion: For the price ($550) you get a lot for the performance. Thats way below what the Egos, DM's , Droids are going for (not sure about the Protos or NXTs) . If you want a prettier gun, then maybe wait for the Vice to come out in a few days. But if all you want is performance then the Protege is your gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xsylancexx Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marq 7
Marker Setup: Bob Long Protege with the Tadao board, 4 eye system, 2 piece barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao board, 4 eye system, 2 piece barrel
Strengths: Very light well balanced and impressive air managment
Weaknesses: Stock barrel too short, front hand grip tends to move.
Review: It only took me one game to realize this was by far the best gun Ive owned. I played 4 sets of games on my 47/3000 tank before refilling. It shoots straight, and is extremely fast stock. I do recommend for your initial add on is a longer 2 piece barrel 16 in at a minimum. I use a 2 piece barrel with a 16in end piece.
Conclusion: Excellent high end marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media