paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit / Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit / Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit / Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit

Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $119

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Due to the growing demand for Nitrogen/Compressed Air systems we decided to develop a kit that would offer the best efficiency at a set low pressure. Although the stock 98 Custom will operate on nitrogen without the kit, there is very little advantage over CO2 because the internals are not designed for a high pressure system. When we design a gun to operate on CO2 we have to take into consideration a large variety of pressures ranging from an empty bottle all the way up to 3,000psi, where the rupture disc fails. CO2 changes pressure as the temperature changes, the higher the temperature the higher the pressure. Granted we cannot cover the entire pressure range, so we shoot for the most common operating pressures. These pressures are 300-2,000psi. In order to have a gun function through this pressure range, without a large velocity variation, we sacrifice some efficiency and overall gun comfort. With a high pressure system we are only working with one set operating pressure. Through research and testing we have found the most efficient pressure to be between 300-400psi. By changing the configuration of the valve and rear bolt we can obtain better efficiency, less recoil, and a more consistent shot to shot velocity. The new HP kit consists of a lighter rear bolt, new rear cocking assembly, lighter drive spring, new valve assembly, new vertical adapter, and a low pressure chamber. With the operating pressure around 350psi the valve opens much easier, but also requires a larger amount of gas flow to maintain ball velocity. Along with the valve modifications the low pressure chamber supports these flow and volume demands.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
westwrestlngguy Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original set-up
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatine,14in. Teardrop, Empire 7-piece kit, Low Pressure Kit, AIM Shock Regulator, BT Double Trigger Kit, Viewloader 12V Revolution, Penspring Mod, Polished Internals, Rocket Cock II, AIM Skyforce Drop and On/Off, Smart Parts Grips, Daisy Red-Dot Sight, 47ci 3000psi Crossfire N2 Tank
Strengths: Efficient
Much quieter
Tighter shot pattern
Gentler on paint
Weaknesses: Had to fix part
Cost
Review: Installation...
I had to screw the vertical adapter/volumizer into the powertube an extra rotation because it would not let the gun close. Other than that, the installation process was a breeze.

Accuracy...
At about 30ft, I was keeping a 2in diameter shot pattern (with crappy paint) with only 1 ball out of maybe 30 straying from the group. After playing some more with better paint, the pattern got tighter with less curving and NO breaking.

Efficiency and other pneumatics...
The gun can re-cock at about 150 psi right now, and I shoot 280fps @ about 350psi. The LP kit is also very gentle on the paint. The paint I bought was very brittle, but none broke in the chamber during my test run (I'd say I ran through about 200 rounds so far).
One the field, no paint broke in the chamber.

Noise...
Much much much quieter than the stock set-up. The gun doesn't blend in with the wind or anything, but it is a very big change.

Kick...
Wow... I don't exactly know what to say here... there really isn't a kick. The gun barely moves, even at high speeds.
Conclusion: I give the kit a 9 out of 10 because of the installation issue and the cost. Other than that, this product is amazing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 12:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

flatlandpercy Saturday, April 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 Custom Pro
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Response Trigger
Cyclone Feed System
JJ Ceramic Barrel 16"
BT Sealed Bolt System
Low Pressure Kit
Palmer Stabilizer Male w Guage
Dark Horizon Titanium Lite Hammer
GTA Rear Velocity Adjuster
Madman Spring Kit (red stricker spring)
Tasco Red Dot Sight
Ricochet R-5 hopper
20 Oz CO2
Strengths: Accuracy, reduced noise, reduced recoil, better efficiency, consistant velocity,
less chops/breaks, less internal wear.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: i was very very weary about buying the kit cuz i have a response trigger AND cyclone
feed system, both of which rely on heavy blowback gases for power. there fine
though. i had to fix a leak in my response trigger hose, the barb that attatches to
the miny hose inside the trigger frame that leads air to the outside of the gun
got budged when i was installing my bigger hose diameter fittings for r/t and cyclone
for low pressure. i fixed this by supergluing it on the tip of the barb, where the r/t
wouldn't leak. no problem, i test leaks, while not gased up, by screwing in the
adjuster for r/t all the way in, to block all air from going through, than taking the plunger
/piston kindof sideways and pulling it out that way, cuz it leaks when tilted, than
pushing it in perfectly in line. if there is no leaks, than it will be incredibly hard
to push in, and will just pop back out, but if i wantt to put it back, i'd have to tilt
the piston or it'll be impssobile to stay there.
i expected to have to drill out the t-intersection on the verticle adaptor that came
in the kit, but it was fine, no blockage, tippmann must have corrected the problem.
i did have to drill out the verticle adaptor thought larger hole and added another one
cuz low pressure needs higher volume. the kit was VERY interesting to install as
i had to mill the reciever all over the place to get the halves to fit together, the
interesection of the vertcile adaptor was too large, or i couldn't squeeze it in
enough. idono, it was fun anyhow, you'll probly have some minor fitting problems too.
i screwed everything together, and ran it on my marker high pressure to see if
i could take advantage of it, with high pressure, so i could use the low pressure
chamber like a expansion chamber, BIG MISTAKE. well it started to leak from the
bottom and than the oring at the bottom cap bulged so i called tippman and they said
they loktite the bottom cap onto the low pressure chamber and i should be able to
unscrew it to relieave the bulge in the oring. turns out when they SAY low pressure,
they MEAN low pressure, my fault. well it took an unparralel amount of force to get
it off but the oring was fine after i put it right back in and tightened it back with my
own loctite. the next day i got my palmer stabilizer to make it really low pressure
i also have no rear cocking, thanks to my dark horizon ti hammer. at first there
was no difference at all, and i was having trouble getting enough blowback to
fulfill the needs of my response trigger and cyclone feed system, but that was
because i wasn't shooting with balls. after 80 shots of paintballs, all of the sudden
everything changed, the small leaks that i had, even though i carefully applied
teflon tape, were no longer leaking, and the sound of the gun changed SOOOOO
much. it now sounds like a high end marker and shoots like one too. at around the
same time i got the change in sound, my shots were BANG on accurate. i'd never
seen such a phenomenom before, but i could easilly hit a target WAY far away every
single shot. the paintballs weren't spinning anymore wahtsoever. also i notice i
get more shots per fill, but i love the no recoil from my ti hammer, and no rear cocking
is great too. this thing is awesome man. nobody is gonna ever hear me shooting at
them from now on, plus because accuracy wwent way up, i can now hit things way
farther away, giving me more effective range as well. the best thing is the sound though
now when i shoot i hear nothing, where as before, the neighbors dogs would all bark
like crazy. it's so quiet that i can shoot at birds and aside from the paintballs flying by
they have no idea what's going on, they don't flock away like they used to cuz of the
noise. i'm a sniper in paintball so i love this thing to death. ps: i tried my stock
barrel and it's still perfect accuracy. so as long as you have the lpk, accuracy will
be perfect, and no barrel, not even stock, can take away accuracy from this lpk./
i had to buy a madman spring kit to use this with my ti hammer. the response trigger
and cyclone feed work PERFECTLY now that i make sure there is balls in there so
as to actually give me blowback. without balls, there is none or very little blowback,
so don't be surprised when you dry fire, and your cyclone or response trigger doesn't
do anything. initially, i was stuck at 550 psi lowest operable pressure, but since i
stuck balls in there, i can get her down to around 200 psi, that's CRAZY tight. 200psi
sounds exactly the same, just as loud as 550 psi though, the only difference is the
velocity. one more thing, in many cases of 2000's of paintballs fired since installation
i am still yet to break a ball. this kit litterally transformed my marker to high end.
also, my rear velocity adjuster just sits there and my front is flush with tube making
no interfearance of air. all i do to adjust velocity is change the pressure from my
palmer regulator, which i use with my CO2. very simple, much more efficient.
Conclusion: It is the best thing ever for many reasons, as long as you are persistant in
making it work, it's the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Diomedes Wednesday, January 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Stock valve and stock valve modified for low pressure operation. The modified valve is comparable in terms of performance.
Marker Setup: Black Tippmann 98 Custom, GTA Low Pressure Kit valve & v/a, Palmer's Male Stabilizer, JCS Folding Stock, 32 Degrees universal drop forward, Dark Horizons Lite Titanium Hammer, 14" Stiffi barrel, Dead-On Paintball RVA

Silver TIppmann 98 Custom, War Machine Low Pressure Chamber, Palmer's Inline Stabilizer, GTA Double Trigger, GTA Low Pressure Kit hammer assembly

CCI Phantom, 32 Degrees T-Stock, Armson Pro Red Dot Sight
Strengths: Consistency and efficiency. Consistency translates to improved precision.
Weaknesses: Price, adds weight, need a regulator.
Review: Looking to improve the performance of my 98 custom, I did some research and decided to give the low pressure kit a shot. I got mine for about $90 dollars, but the price varies greatly depending on where you look. Installation wasn't hard, just remove the stock valve assembly and hammer, and replace with the kit's. Add a regulator (which you need to get separately, so figure that into the cost when buying), and you're ready to go . . . sort of.

When I first installed it, it required quite a bit of setup. I don't see this as a weakness of the kit, but it won't be ready to go as soon as you install it. You might have to play with the pressure on your regulator, or the tension on the drive spring (if not using the included rear cocking assembly). I use the kit's valve with a titanium hammer, stock drive spring, and DOP RVA. It didn't take long to set up, perhaps an hour of tweaking pressure and spring tension.

So now it's ready to go. The most benefit with this kit will come with CO2, because running it at a low pressure ensures that the fluctuations form the tank are smoothed out. You can also use CO2 reliably in the cold. The consistency, even with the CO2, is incredible. I use a Palmer's Stabilizer, which is a great reg for CO2, so that helps, too.The shot to shot consistency translates to a high degree of precision from shot to shot, precision being how close the shots are to each other. Whether they go where you want, accuracy, is a product of the shooter, but with a well-tuned low pressure setup, they should go to the same spot over and over.

Just a note, I run a low pressure setup on a 2nd 98 Custom, using the kit's hammer assembly, and a modified valve with an Inline Stabilizer. Same great results.
Conclusion: If you use CO2 and want to fix the inconsistency of the 98 Custom, this kit is the answer. It's an expensive solution, but it works. 9/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 at 6:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cyfider Saturday, April 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: realtree 98 custom flatline, RT, LP kit w/palmer fatty lp regulator, drop forward w/47 3000 nitro, empire reloader
Strengths: Alot easier on the paintballs
Weaknesses: The price and slight complication when installing it (though not bad).
Review: I played with it today and it was great. Never chopped but broke only 1 throughout the day. The only thing extra you have to buy to get the most out of this kit is a good reg (such as the palmer regulators). With this kit tuned right, I am running my gun at about 310 psi at 277 fps.
Conclusion: If you play alot of rec, it's a good thing to get if you can find one cheap. Also great if you are into tippmanns - mine has never messed up after 6+ years!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 16th, 2005 at 10:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

user42 Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
System X Vengeance Reg
LPA Kit
Strengths: Quick assembly (but see the weaknesses...)
No more CO2.
No more dry ice.
Thank god.
Weaknesses: Pre assembled components can have a "square peg, round hole" problem.
Review: I had but one difficulty with this: The power tube/valve assembly wasn't lined up right. As a result, it took me a clamp and some serious elbow grease to get it in place, and I almost stripped the screws that hoild it in place. Oiling this sucker's difficult because of that. Also, the window cover (goes on the side of the gun) is a pain. Screw it in too hard, and the grommets bend and pop out through the window, or the cover cracks. Too loosely, and the bolt jams against the grommets. If they'd either let the buyer assemble the parts or take a bit more time to make sure everything lines up right, this would be perfect. Just be careful with the grommets, and if it's necessary, use a bit of force with this thing. (Clamps help.) I suppose you can't expect every single kit to fit every single time, but hey - that's how it goes.
Conclusion: Definitely worth your money, search around for a good deal. Just don't get frustrated with the installation.

Get off of CO2. You know you want to.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Subby Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: A-5 egrip, stock, x-chamber, flatline
Model 98 ebolt, LPK, palmer stabilizer, j&j ceramic, LAPCO drop w/ stock
Colbalt DM4 mushashi, CP roller trigger
Strengths: Drops pressure significantly, especially with e-bolt. Better shot group.
Weaknesses: Kinda odd looking. Price is a little steap.
Review: I was very impressed with this kit. Since I have an e-bolt I didn't need the rear bolt and spring. So once I popped the valve , VA, and low pressure chamber in I noticed a HUGE difference. I am regulating the pressure with a palmer stabilizer that is doing an outstanding job. My marker is so quiet now. I turned the dwell slightly up on the ebolt and am now running ~180psi. <--That is outstanding for a Tippmann. The second thing I noticed was my consistancy durring a high rate of fire. I was shooting ropes. Much more accurate and consistant than before at high rates of fire. This made all the difference in the world on my marker and I love it. Got mine new for $80 so I was happy!
Conclusion: If you have money to upgrade to a HPA tank, and a good reg then also buy this. You will be very happy with it when your tippy shoots like timmy :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PB4841LVR Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom

Upgrades:
GTA 14 inch Sniper barrel
GTA Double Trigger
InnovativeWrks Wild Viper Trigger
Dye Sticky Grips '04
Shocktech Super Fly Delrin Front Bolt
Response Trigger
Comp Air Kit
Palmer's Pursuit Stabalizer
Dye Mini Guage 750 psi
Lapco Bigshot(coming soon)
Dead On Bullet Drop Forward
CrossFire 90 ci 4500 psi High Tank
Parker Macroline

Loaders:
Viewloader Revolution with Xboard
Halo TSA LCD Backman
Strengths: You can run your gun on Low Pressure
Lighter bolt
Better valve
Rear Cocking
Weaknesses: Bit hard to install
Price
Cheap Cocking slot Cover
Review: I got this for Christmas and I have to say that this is one of the best if not the best upgrade for your Tippmann. You can finally run your gun on low pressure instead of high. I now run my gun at 300 psi! I think the low pressure valve makes your gun look dead sexy. The rear cocking is a nice addition too. The LP kit also helps you chop less balls and pinch more. It increases accuracy, efficiency, and reduces sound somewhat. If you have an RT and get tired of the freezing fittings, then this is for you. When I got it it was a bit hard to install. The VA was not bent exactly right so I had to bend it a little. Also the fittings for the cover got in the way of the rear bolt so I had to trim them down a lot. The cheesy cover is made out of plastic which is sort of a disappointment because aluminum would be so much better. I mean for what you are paying for this. Remember you still have to buy a secondary regulator and a N2 tank which adds another good $300 if you get the best stuff. All in all if you really love your tippmann then get it.
Conclusion: If you want the coolest Tippmann around get this, it is awesome. It has a steep price but worth it very much.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gus2271 Sunday, September 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: model 98
14 j j ceramic
14 lapco bigshot
68ci 3000psi crossfire
drop forward
palmer stabilizer
halo backman lsd hopper
Strengths: More shots per fill
Quite
Increased accuracy
Weaknesses: Price
Review: i had a trouble installing it into my model 98(not a 98 c).Where the t fitting screws into the power valve ,it wouldnt fit into the gun half.I had to tighten it 1 more turn and then it fit in place.Other than that this has been a great mod.My gun is quieter (other players always make that comment) and it is more accurate.My groups tightened up from 10 inch to about six with just this mod.Also i get more shots per fill.With my lapco barrel i run the pressure around 220-230psi and still turn 280-290 fps.so i get around 1300 shots or so out of my tank.And it shoots so smooth.
Conclusion: Other than the price (and fitting in my gun)this was a worth wild upgrade that cant go wrong.Want to keep shooting while others run out of air than get this kit.means you will have to carry more paint.lol
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stalin223 Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tried a few cockers, and my buddy's angel. This kit quieted the gun down a lot.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98
Low Pressure Kit
Sucky Pure Energy regulator
Flatline (duh)
38cu, 3000PSI solid steel HPA tank.
Strengths: Lower ball breakage
More shots per tank
Weaknesses: Cost, the T-adapter was blocked by pipe, the kit wasn't bent right.
Review: When I got the LP kit for my gun, I had to do 3 things which I shouldn't have had to in order to make it work.

First I had to drill out the T adapter where the volumizer is, then I had to bend the damned regulator area a bit, they were off on the bend by 1/8th inches. After all that, the plastic cover you're supposed to put over the slot where the old cocking handle, would pinch the power tube, and you couldn't get the fscking gun to close up. I had to overtighten, file down, and repeat for half an hour to get the damned rivit looking nuts to stop touching the tube.

Conclusion: Tippmann should beat the quality control guys for failing to check their products. How hard is it to attach a HPA line to the T-adapter at 800 PSI, and checking the flow rate after the volumizer? Or even better, beat the machinists too for failing to notice excess piping in the T-adapter.

A great product, and it makes my flatline the most consistent gun on the field, every single time. They're very lucky that I think that no product is perfect, and if I don't have to do something TO the product, I'm sad.

It costs to much for what it is. $70 would be great.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

xmastro7 Saturday, February 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock gas system that comes with the gun, doesnt compare to this system.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Low Pressure Kit, Double Trigger, Response Trigger, Lapco Feed w/ 90 Degree Elbow, Halo Electronic Hopper, Custom Regulator, 14" Sniper Barrell, 32 Degrees Drop Forward System, NO2 System
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: money
Review: There are a lot of good things about this product and one bad thing. It makes the gun more accurate. I dont care what anyone else says, there is no point to buy this if you arent going to buy NO2. If you have this and NO2, forget about balls going right or left , nothing but straight. No more chopping paint. Makes the gun look great. The piece that goes right in front of the trigger is a great handle. And the gun becomes a little quieter.

The only bad thing about this product is that you have to buy a regulator which costs almost as much as the system.
Conclusion: If you can figure out how to buy NO2, regulator, and the LP kit then i would definately by it. I love it. Remember. Nothing but straight.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media