paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Vice / Bob Long Vice / Bob Long Vice / Bob Long Vice

Bob Long Vice Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Vice

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Vice
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Bob Long's 2008, Generation 5 Intimidator

*Generation 5 Intimidator
*Electro-pneumatic. Open bolt. Stack tube poppet valve.
*Barrel Thread Type: Autococker
*Included Barrel: Bob Long 14� One-piece Tournament Series
*Included ASA: Xpress Mount Standard
*Intended Propellant: Compressed Air or Nitrogen Only!
*Intended Propulsion Speed: 230-300FPS (feet per second)
*Inline Regulator Pressure: 210-230psi
*LPR Pressure: 65-75psi
*Estimated Shot Count: 2000+ shots (factory settings using 68ci 4500psi air source)
*Motherboard: Tadao Ryujin
*4C Eye Compatible: Yes
*4C Eye Equipped: No
*Estimated Rate of Fire: 26+BPS (4C Eye upgrade with board set in ramping mode)
*Trigger Activation: Micro switch
*Trigger Return: Spring assist
*Trigger Adjustment: Pre-travel and post-travel
*Weight Without Barrel: 1 lb. 13.2oz
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Vice is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
vanztheman Monday, April 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Shocktech SFL
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vice
4c Lazer Eyes
Tadao OLED Board
Bob Long Gear ASA
CP one piece barrels
Recommended
Upgrades:
4c eyes
Bob Long Gear ASA
Different Bore Sizes(A must with any gun)

Maybe Poppet Valve upgrade?
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Fairly Quiet
Easy to Clean/Maintain
Weaknesses: None

Kinda want a victory :P
Review: This was my first "tourney" grade that I have purchased. I have always hung out with people that were heavily into the sport before. Organized teams for speedball and such. After hearing about them talk about Bob Long Intimidators all day. I got around to looking at the brand new models that Bob Long was offering at the time. Which was the vice. Without hesitating I purchased one. I haven't shot many guns yet, but I will never hold one as light, as accurate, as reliable as my vice. I just wish I would've waited because I would have purchased a victory instead! Amazing guns, none other than Bob Long for life.


Also I have a ninja tank 45/45. I get a 1 - 1-4 cases out of 1 fill.

Thinking about a poppet valve upgrade to reduce kick. Even though it isn't bad at all.
Conclusion: Great Gun, Recommend to every player looking for get serious about paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yukiyu Sunday, January 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 08
shocker 09 with new board
PM8
DM8
SL74
Ego 10
Bob long closer
Marker Setup: Bob long Vice
Pinokio Hopper
Draxus 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (Preference)
Grips (Preference)
Strengths: Incredibly light
Tadao Rijuyin Board
Trigger
Inovative feedneck
pillow bolt
detents
Regulator and ASA
Weaknesses: The ASA
Barrel
Review: What can I say about this gun that I havent already sayd up there. Maybe I can say that this is the nicest STOCK timmy I have ever seen. I have seen every other timmy out of the box and this one by far destroys every one of them.

Let me talk a bit obout upgradedability. The several ups that you can put into this gut are the following:

The 4 Eye System- Some people dont see the true benefits of the 4 Eye System. What a regular set of 2 eyes do is when the ball falls into the breech it charges the solenoid so that the gun can shoot. With the 4 eyes the top set of eyes will precharge the solenoid and get your bolt ready faster so you shoot faster with less posibility of choping paint. If you are a die hard rec baller then you will trully benefit from these since they will make semi auto much, much faster. But if you play tournament then you dont have to worry about the 4 eyes

Feedneck-You could put a new feedneck on this gun, But it just isnt necesary since this is the BEST feedneck I have seen on a stock gun PERIOD. You dont need tools to adjust it, just spin the little prop around to tighten down or to loosen up.

Other ups are your every day trigger and barrel so im not gonna get into that.

Strengths:

Stock trigger- This tigger is incredibly light thanks to the idea bob long himself had. He milled down the trigger and made it hollow inside so that it be 3X as light ans Twice as snappy. Also you can adjust the activation points like most other triggers

Low rising and Inovative Feedneck- 'Nuff said

Milling- The milling on this gun is the equivalent of a harley davidson in paintball. So much precision went into this gun that its almost a shame to play with it in the risk that it might get hit with a paintball. The 3-D milling on this gun isnt cheep.

Tadao Rijuyin Board- The tadao rijuyin board is code for " the musashi board that comes with bob long guns". It has every coustomizable feature in the trigger so you dont have to get into to the grip frame like most other guns. and all flashing is handeled by tadao.

Reg and ASA- these are some of the best in the industry so you dont have to worry about upgrading it.

Bob long Coustomer service- Im just ganna say that Blast knows how to take care of their people

Weaknesses:

Barrel- I personally dont like the inside milling on the barrel so im gonna get a CP 2 piece for 60 bucks or a 1 piece for 30 im still not sure. You might like it but i simply dont


Other than that this gun is perfect and if you dont think that this gun can match up to the guns i mention in the conclucion then get the yakuza OLED board for it and it is sure to match up perfectly.
Conclusion: Its a solid 10, Dont get an ego 10, dont get a rev i, dont get a dm 10. JUST GET THIS GUN, YOU WONT BE DISSAPOINTED.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 3rd, 2010 at 7:19 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Canadian Goonie Sunday, December 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98 (not very similar at all)
Marker Setup: -Bob Long Vice
-Empire Prophecy Loader
-Pure Energy 68/4500 Tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
-Nothing that is absolutely needed out of the box.
-The 4C Eye system if you want to spray some paint.
-Eventually a new barrel, although the stock barrel works just fine.
Strengths: -Locking Feed neck
-Ease of use (programming)
-Rate of Fire
-Eye System
-Great looks
Weaknesses: Hose leak located at the ASA. Easily fixed.
Review: I started playing back in 2003 and for some reason stopped playing until October, 2009 when a new paintball field opened up near where I live.

After reading multiple reviews on this marker from this website along with watching videos of it on the internet, I became very interested in this marker.

I went to a store in Michigan where I was able to hold the Vice and became quickly attached to it. About 20 minutes later, I left with a new marker that cost approximately $750.00 U.S.

The first time I used it at the new field, I could not believe the speed of the trigger. The marker was set on a burst mode, which I quickly found out after first starting out and I wasn't pressing the trigger any more and it continued to shoot rapidly. I then set it to an uncapped semi-auto mode. The marker has a great rate of fire, along with great accuracy. Currently the paintball field is using a smaller caliber paintball so sometimes the balls fly left and right. When I shot balls that actually fit the barrel, the grouping was great.

There are tons of settings to choose from including, semi-auto, full-auto, bursts, etc.

I was disappointed at the fact that the marker did not come with any instruction manual or tools of any sort. I had to search for the manual on the internet and print of the instructions myself.

As to this date, I have probably shot between 3,500 to 4,500 paint balls through it and have only had 2 ball breaks total.


Conclusion: I believe this marker is great and I definitely recommend getting it. I have not shot many other markers, but I am quite satisfied with its performance and abilities.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

creeping death1 Sunday, November 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The closest would be a Proto SLG UL
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vice
4 Eye Set Up
Dye Rotor
Guerilla Air 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
I am not knowledgeable enough to reccomend
Strengths: Very accurate. Very Light. Very Efficient.
Weaknesses: Can't really find one. Trigger too sensitive?
Review: I am not sure if this will be helpful or not. I am a Woodsballer that always played with an A5. It had every upgrade you could get.

I bought this marker from Arnold Francisco of the Oakland Assassins at his store in the SCV. My A5 was down again and I was fed up with it. I went in to buy a G3 but Arnold talked me in to this gun. Man was he right.

Apparently up until now I was not really playing paintball. I was just volunteering to be a target. With this marker I could actually put paint where I wanted it. I can't tell you technically why this gun is so good. All I can tell you is i had the best day on the field I have ever had. I actually attempted a bunkering move and hit 3 guys. You can't do that with an A5 and survive it. I can put paint through the smallest of cracks where players are hiding. I can hit feet. I can put paint right on the edge of bunkers to score hits. I can hit the tip of a pod poking out from cover.

For me this is all I need to know. This gun rocks. From now on I will woodsball with a "space gun". The other players can laugh.... while I hit them in the goggles.

Thanks Bob Long.

If he could make something that would keep my belly from sticking out of the hyperball bunkers that would really help as well. ;)
Conclusion: Buy this gun. Unless you prefer wearing paint to giving paint. This gun will make you a better player no matter what type of paintball you prefer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tap13 Wednesday, August 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Previous Egos through 08 and a few ETeks
Marker Setup: Vampire Vice
Matching UL Barrel (Gloss Red .688 Back, Dust Clear Tip)
-Tadao OLED Board
-4 eye
-Violent + Pillow Bolt
-Custom 1 of 1 Killa Detents
-Critical Trigger
-CP On/Off
Dye Rotor w/ Virtue Quick feed
DXS 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger is always great. Just make sure it fits you.
Bolts are another must.

Think of it like any other bob long gun... You don't need to add much

Yet the gun is great out of the box.
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, light, and very dependable.
Weaknesses: Not too many except it's easy to outshoot your loader.
Review: The gun is great from the box and even better when upgraded. I purchased this one and bought most of the upgrades and installed them. If you don't have a loader at or above a Dynasty / XSV Vlocity, then you will outshoot the loader and you will end up with jamming even though eyes are on and functioning.
In all, the gun is great, and I've outshot a few guys at my home field who were shooting Ego9s/DM9s fairly easily.
Conclusion: The product is great for the money that it costs, it shoots accurately and quickly. Don't hesitate to buy from a Bob Long Dealer
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 5th, 2009 at 11:40 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DamageDone Monday, June 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gen 2 Texas Storm Intimidator: Very heavy with about the same noticeable kick and WAY less efficient.
Gen 3 Dark and Gen 3 Alias: A bit heavier and less efficient but is more upgradeable.
07 Ego: Louder, less efficient, more kick.
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vice:
Empire Barrel kit
Gear drive ASA
4c Eyes
Lp poppit
Recommended
Upgrades:
In order of high priority to low:
On/off asa
4c eyes
Barrel kit
Lp poppit
Strengths: Light
Efficient
Fast
Cheap
Weaknesses: Does not come with manual.
Review: Bob Long Vice

The box and all its glory: The Vice comes in rather minimalist packaging, a simple cardboard box with cut out foam to hold the marker and barrel in place. With the marker you get a barrel, some spare o-rings and a manual for the board (not the gun).

First impressions: I have to say the Vice really is a thing of beauty, the anno is such a rich red color and the milling is exquisite. Its an extremely light marker weighing in at 1.13 pounds they couldn't have shaved much more weight off, feels very nice in hand.

The marker: I will split this into two parts, one for the marker itself and the second for the performance.

Part 1.

Barrel: A very nice 1 piece barrel has to be one of the best stock barrels out there. If you'll be shooting different paint sizes then you'd be wanting a kit to match your bore size.

ASA: Comes with a direct mount ASA but does have a rail if you're that way inclined. Stock ASA is of high quality but I switched it out for a bob long gear drive just because I prefer the on/off.

Feedneck: Very solid feedneck, has just the right amount of height to actually grab your hopper while still maintaining a low profile. As a lever locking feedneck there is absolutely no reason to switch this out.

Board: With a Tadao board stock theres no need to upgrade unless you really want that oled screen. This board also has the coding for the 4c eye upgrade.

Eyes: Has the standard issue breakbeam eyes you see in pretty much all markers at the moment, good eyes but if you want maximum performance from the marker you can upgrade to the 4c eyes. 4c eyes are great for those who shoot semi because it detects the ball before it gets into the breech and then primes the marker for firing, you'll get a much smoother rope with fewer gaps.

Poppit: Standard poppit has great efficiency about 2100 shots off a full 68/45 but you can swap it out for a LP (low pressure) poppit which will allow you to lower the lpr thus making your shots smoother but sacrificing a little bit of efficiency.

Trigger: Great trigger, could probably benefit from a magnetic upgrade but I like the way it is at the moment. There are plenty of aftermarket triggers available if you're not a fan of the stock.


Part 2.

This gun easily competes with guns like the 08-09 ego and is better in a few ways too.

Kick: Shooting the marker you will notice a very small kick (to say its comparable to a DM is not quite true) but is much smoother than other poppit markers.

Efficiency: With over a case on a full 68/45 the efficiency is simply awesome.

Feel: The frame is nice an thin so it is well suited to those with smaller hands but those with larger hands like myself will have no difficulty with this sucker. Its a very tight gun to play with and is very well balanced with a 68/45 tank.

Maintenance: With this gun maintenance is very simple, lube the ram and oil the bolt every 2000 shots, relube the regs at 10000 shots. Easy. One thing you will be needing for servicing this gun other than your usual assortment of allen keys is a lpr tester which can be purchased of the bob long site, this is basically just a gauge to see what the pressure is at.

Conclusion: I think that this has to be one of the greatest markers to hit the market in a long time, its extremely cheap for what it is and really reliable. You will not be disappointed if you get this gun.
I'm giving it a 9/10 because to get a 10/10 it would need to be fully upgraded out of the box.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmrfan Wednesday, April 8th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot- its okay its not even that bad compared to vice except its a little heavy
proto pmr 2009- great fast gun, very light i would say almost equal to vice except the pmr is 300 dollars cheaper and uses diff bolt system.
tippmann a5- has low pressure kit with flatline barrel, extendable stock and e trigger- its a great gun it just weighs alot which makes the vice ahead of the a5
Marker Setup: The vice has no upgrades except a custom made clamping feedneck and reinstalled trigger all the rest is stock and the color is black. it uses pure energy 20 oz air tank and the halo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
it doesnt need any but ive heard people say that it needs a new board installed. This next thing isnt really an upgrade but i reccommend you get a high level hopper for this gun because anything under high level doesnt work well because i use halo hopper which is mid level and it jams even with the eyes on, i dont know why. Oh and a new feedneck is a must!
Strengths: Fast, accurate, light weight, good looking, little kick or no kick
Weaknesses: None so far but the screws get loose easy
Review: I have had this gun for about 7 months and i love it there is not much i can say bad about this gun it was very greatly designed and it is top notch. The only big problem i have ever had with this gun is that i was playing recball with it (nooby i know i was just messin) and i got shot in the fingers and the gap above the trigger got paint in it and when i shot the trigger it sometimes stuck in a way that it couldnt be walked so i had to get a new one installed. my friend told me that its normal for that to happen in most guns so it wasnt a big deal although it was frustrating.
Conclusion: Good gun buy it knowing that you wont need much money for upgrades or parts
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

matt67 Sunday, April 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2006 empire 2, 2k4 alias, marq6, ego7
Marker Setup: 2006 empire 2 pillow bolt, bob lob drop , bob long cam drive, bob long clamping feedneck, cp barrel .693, ccm carbon fiber barrel kit .690-.693 bob long swivel reg
bob long dime gauge, dye rotor
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel custom product, or carbon fiber kit, 4 eyes is 50 dollars, laser looks amazing, asa as none come with it
Strengths: Light, looks great, accurate, fast
Weaknesses: Can be too much for budget, need a lpr tester
Review: I shoot a empire 2 but was considering a vice friend picked one up about two weeks ago and we traded guns for a day so i tested it out for 7 hours or about 10-15 speedball matches it is faster the my empire lighter and looks pretty good cleaned up easily never had a probelm shot at people and they were done i would say it a top of the line gun easily with a closer, ego as long as you are good and play hard no different i will wait for a used one around 400 in good condition and sell my empire 2
Conclusion: If you don't have the money wait for the price to go down for a new or used one year from now there should be alot of vices on the market in great conditon for 400-500 dollars i might wait for a closer but might get tempt if i seea vice for 400
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dizzle87 Thursday, January 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I would say that this gun stacks up among any high end gun on the market today without hesitation!
Marker Setup: Knight Rider edition Vice (Black with Red accents)
45/45 Crossfire HP tank
Vlocity Jr. XSV edition
Acidcustoms Carbon fiber trigger
Sly Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would deffinetely say the ASA needs to be changed out for an on/off. Also a barrel kit because of the inconsistant sizes of paintballs. I prefer the sly because I am a small player and prefer the lightest setup I can get!
Strengths: Size, Weight, Speed, Glam appeal.
Weaknesses: ASA should be on/off from the factory, also the grips could be anotomically correct...
Review: I had been in the market for a while for a high end gun and looked at just about everything BUT Bob Long markers. I was dead set on getting a used ego8 because the prices were pretty reasonable. I then was recommended a Vice because of a list of improvements over an ego in my opinion. The vice is very small, very fast, and very very light! I chose to get the whole bang when I got it. I chose to get the 4C eye upgrade, a barrel kit, a lpr tester, a carbon fiber trigger, and a Critical on/off asa. All of these items make the gun shoot like a hot knife though butter! The gun is super smooth, very quiet compared to every other poppet gun out there, and just feels like an extension of your arm that just happens to shoot paint out of it at a VERY high rate of speed!

Now I do have a couple of very minor personal issues with the gun. First would be the grips. The grips are standard panel grips, and are relatively sticky, but are not very comfortable in the hands. Something along the lines of a Dye grip you would find on a UL frame would be perfect! Second is the machining marks on the gun. It is not that big of a deal because when you are playing, you are not looking for milling marks. However some people dwell on this.
Conclusion: All in all this gun shoots t!ts and I am deffinetely happy with it! I give the gun a 9/10 because simply put nothing is perfect!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

perfectionist Monday, December 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
eclipse, dye, and other bob long products. none compare. this is by far my favorite gun ever.
Marker Setup: blue bob long vice, blue vlocity jr with virtue crown ultrasoft, ans 48/45 with myth reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
on/off valve, 2 peice barrel
Strengths: Effiency and Reliability.
Weaknesses: No lube, or allen keys come with this gun.
Review: Great gun, get it, you will love it. I have had no problems with this gun at all. It shoots ropes. I get about 1 case with my 68/45 pure energy and about 3/4 case with my ans 48/45. I dont think i have even had a barrel break at all.
Conclusion: Go and get it its reliable and extremely efficient.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media