paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Vice / Bob Long Vice / Bob Long Vice / Bob Long Vice

Bob Long Vice Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Vice

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Vice
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Bob Long's 2008, Generation 5 Intimidator

*Generation 5 Intimidator
*Electro-pneumatic. Open bolt. Stack tube poppet valve.
*Barrel Thread Type: Autococker
*Included Barrel: Bob Long 14� One-piece Tournament Series
*Included ASA: Xpress Mount Standard
*Intended Propellant: Compressed Air or Nitrogen Only!
*Intended Propulsion Speed: 230-300FPS (feet per second)
*Inline Regulator Pressure: 210-230psi
*LPR Pressure: 65-75psi
*Estimated Shot Count: 2000+ shots (factory settings using 68ci 4500psi air source)
*Motherboard: Tadao Ryujin
*4C Eye Compatible: Yes
*4C Eye Equipped: No
*Estimated Rate of Fire: 26+BPS (4C Eye upgrade with board set in ramping mode)
*Trigger Activation: Micro switch
*Trigger Return: Spring assist
*Trigger Adjustment: Pre-travel and post-travel
*Weight Without Barrel: 1 lb. 13.2oz
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Vice is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
jamied Saturday, November 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most low end markers and a few higher end electros
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vice with Yakuza OLED upgraded board
Velocity Jr with Virtue chip
68/4500 with Myth reg
UN1tec barrell system, 685, 689, 693
CP on/off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Yakuza OLED is a great upgrade, although expensive
4C eyes
LPR tester
Barrell
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Light Weight
Super air efficient
Weaknesses: LPR tester not included
Review: This is a great marker for a great price! This is a tournament level marker in a price range for a regular avid paintballer. It is lightweight with a small, tight profile. This thing will shoot ropes right out of the box. With the OLED board, it allows you to pick and choose your settings with a nice little screen, giving you endless options and modes of fire. The board also has a shot counter, timer and battery level indicator. The stock Vice board uses a flashing LED so you'll need to memorize dozens of different flashing patterns and colors which is ridiculous imo. Get the Yakuza OLED and the 4C eye upgrade and you will rule the field with this setup, I love mine!!! The Vice comes with some stock features that you never have to upgrade like a Pillow bolt and low rise lever style clamping feedneck. The stock ASA does not have an on/off but with this marker that is just a matter of preference. It will de-gas itself when you unscrew your HPA source. Also the vice will get between 1800-2200 shots per 68/4500 fill, which is amazing for any marker.
Conclusion: If your thinking of buying the Vice, DO IT! You will not regret it. Even without any upgrades, this thing rocks out of the box and will do 20-25 bps easily, accurately and with great air efficiency. This is a great marker for a really decent price. You will not be disappointed!!! I'd give it an 11 if I could, but since nothing is perfect I give it a 9.9!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soccer Juice10 Thursday, October 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm's
Dm's
Other timmys
Ego's
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vice-Black
4C Laser eyes
Crossfire 68/45 HP
XSV VLocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
4C eyes

other than that this marker comes out of the box a winner
Strengths: Bob Long
Weight
QUIET
smooth
accurate
VERY efficient
Weaknesses: None
Review: The bob long vice is amazing and insane. I got this and i was amazed at the milling and just the way it felt in my hand. My previous timmy was an alias which i sold recently so i knew i was getting a great marker. but once i got to the field and used it,,,WOW, i cant believe how smooth and accurate it was out of the box.

Now that its been broken in, this thing just got better, i probably will never sell this gun. Why buy an ego or dm, half the price of those are the name. Buy a bob long vice....amazing performance at an amazing price.
Conclusion: Buy it, you wont look back, you will love it to death as i have......trust me, ive been around paintball for years, im 22 and played with alot of markers, this is by far my favorite and one of the best out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

captainremoII Wednesday, October 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Protege, Marq, Alias, Pmr, Slg,Pm7, Ego 07, Etek, G3
Marker Setup: Vice w/ 4 eyes, Halo B +rip, CP 14" 2 piece barrel, CP 68/45.
Recommended
Upgrades:
- 4 eyes ( if you use semi )
- Violent Bolt ( pillow bolt can be difficult at times )
- LPR TESTER!!!
Strengths: -Quiet
-Light
-Very easy to walk
-Fast
-Looks cool
Weaknesses: -LPR backing out
-Pillow doesn't work well with re-balls
-Dow 5 ONLY
Review: -This is a great gun don't get me wrong I've only had it for a little while and i absolutely love it.
-Its a very easy gun to fire, ramping and semi and so easy to use, it almost makes playing to easy.
-The gun is also very quite, its quieter than my Ego.
-The is also light as a feather, and i just find it very easy to move around and maneuver from left to right.]

Where I've had problems:

-First off right when i got my gun i was seeing FPS from 290-130 in a single hopper. I had to buy an Lpr tester and buy some Locktite to stop my Lpr from backing out. I was pretty pissed off about this, the gun was brand new and having this problem? Thats unacceptable.
-Second, my team practices indoor over the winter and we use re-balls. Well my gun doesn't get along with reballs when i ahve the pillow in, When i use my Violent bolt things work better but still not that great.
-Third, this gun only runs to full capacity when you use DOW 55. I have Lurker lube and when i used it and went out to fire i was having a leak issues.
Conclusion: Despite the early issues I had with this gun (and i was about to write a mean gun review) i really enjoy using it now. Plus for 750 those extra bucks can get you all the upgrades i listed. Now after the adjustments i had to make the gun shoots amazingly, i have never chopped, or had a barrel break. The gun is just amazing!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gary12445 Tuesday, September 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek 2, Epiphany, Protium, Spyder
Marker Setup: Vice Timmy Stock (Silver)
DXS 68 4500 Tank
VL Velocity Jr
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing is urgently needed
4CEYE - If your a stickler for peak performance
LPR Tester - Good idea to maintain optimal performance
Strengths: Price / Value!!
Looks
Reliability
Accuracy
ROF
Efficiency
Quiet
Low Kick
Trigger
Board
Weaknesses: Instructions by download only
Instructions are very weak
Review: This marker gives you $1,000+ performance right out of the box for $750. It is just as good as any Ego 08 and it cots $500 less. I also think it looks better, but that's just me.

It's important to know that it takes a couple cases to break the regs in and get peak performance, but when the regs settle, YOU KNOW IT! It has a very versatile trigger that is easy to walk to a high semi ROF. I have heard that the 4CEYE upgrade helps to get better ROF in semi, but this thing wails right out of the box, so you can have success keeping the eyes stock. It's a personal choice.

One thing I will say is that at high rates of fire, this thing is incredible. I shot full auto, totally maxing my velocity jr. and I got no chops or breaks in 3 hoppers. It shoots nice tight ropes. I have shot 3 cases through it, and I have had one small barrell break, that's all (it was cheap white box paint anyway).

The last thing I will comment on is the wow factor. The gun looks so good, that you better be prepared for lots of attention at your field with this thing.
Conclusion: Best high end value in PB markers today. Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pilot13954 Thursday, August 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 EGO
SL74
Species Timmy
Marker Setup: Primary Gun-Bob Long Vice (Black)
Secondary Gun-UL'd Proto Matrix Rail (Black)
Redz Pepperstick Kit
Vlocity Jr w/Virtue
68/4500 Carbon Wrap HPA Tank

Secondary Gun-Spyder Pilot ACS 05 Black to Blue fade
Dye Sticky Grip 3
Trinity T Lock Feedneck
Proto One piece barrel Black
Empire Tank Glove (Blue)
JJ Ceramic S2 14" Barrel-backup/let others borrow
Eggy3
Recommended
Upgrades:
4C Eye System if you play semi
Bob Long Gear Drive ASA On/Off
Strengths: Fast
Easy to Maintain
Lightweight
Tadao Board
Hot milling
Pillow Bolt
Weaknesses: No manual other than Tadao board manual
No on/off
No tools
No lube
Review: Ever since turning in my tax return that i would get $600 and wanting to spend it on a new marker. My PMR was holding up against the "Higher End" markers but i needed a main gun and use the Rail as a backup. i wanted a PE 07 EGO but they were still out of my price range. Then i saw the review from techpb on the 08 EGO vs the Vice and i was hooked.

Looks:The milling on the Vice is beyond beautiful. The milling looks like liquid metal and it looks like it was craved out of marble. The paint job is superb like other Bob Long markers such as the Marq and other timmys. No nicks or blemishes on the body or frame at all. even inside the grip frame its all annodized

Performance:All i can say is WOW. The Vice shoots so freakin fast. At a recent tournament, my gun was checked every other game because the ref thought i was ramping. Once you find the sweet spot on the S-Class trigger (Marq trigger that is milled and hollowed out), you can hit over 15 bps depending on your loader. The HPR is the Bob Long 360 reg found on the Marq and the Protege. My first 5 shots over the chrono; 280, 280, 282, 278, 282. I had to reset the chronograph to see if it was right. 280, 281, 280, 280, 282. I nearly crapped in my pants. My hyper2 isn't that consistent. I have a 68/4500 tank and most of the time it fills to 4k and i can get about 13 to 14 pods per fill. That's right, i said PER FILL. It's mind boggling that this marker can get almost a case in only one fill.
Conclusion: I would give this marker a 9.5 because it does not come with a manual on how to maintain the marker and such. But since this review is written, boblongdirect.com now has a beta version of manual and now that score is up to 10. This gun is worth every penny. And simply put, the demand for this gun is so high that even the guys at Bob Long can't fill them fast enough.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warchild71 Monday, August 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM7 -Heavier and less efficient
Ego6 - heavier, less efficient, louder
Ego7- Less effieicnt, louder
SL66-Less efficient louder
SL8R- Similar size, weight and performance
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vice
Proto PM7
Vlocity Jr
Dye Throttle 68/4500
DXS 48/4500
Python Barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
4c Eye System for $50 more worth every penny

On/off asa if feel you need it
Strengths: Light Weight
Fast
Surprisingly quiet
Accurate
Minimal kick
Efficient (2000 rounds on a 68/4500)
Weaknesses: Lack of owners manual. (download one on PBnation in the BobLong Intimidator Forum)
Review: I got my new Vice recently and took it out for the first to play in the SPPL tournament this weekend and I must say I am really impressed with this marker. Out of the box the gun was ready to use with a slight fine tuning of the velocity to the fields fps. I am a spooler guy and I have always felt that poppits were too loud and full of kick for my taste. What attracted me to the vice was its efficiency. My spoolers are all good guns but they eat up air real fast. My teammates are all poppit whores so I decided to look into one as a backup for when I need more efficiency. Needeless to say, this gun is definitely my main gun now. It has the best of both spooler guns and poppits. I don't know how BL does it.

Speed: This gun is blazing fast, The 4c Eye system is a must. It makes for super smooth shooting in semi auto. You can send ropes of paint effortlessly. The trigger action is really smooth and the shape is slightly agressive so you can get a nice trigger walk. The pull felt fairly light to me but that is a matter of preference.

Sound: I play alot of woodsball and I like to play snake in speedball so having a low sound signature is important to me. I was expecting this gun to be loud. To my great surprise the Vice was really quiet. Stock for Stock the Vice is about as quiet as my PM7.

Accuracy: Excellent. The stock barrel is a .691. I was shooting a tourney specific Draxxus paint which was mearsuring about .689. It was humid so I decided to not use the barrel kit in case the paint swelled up. Even with the bad paint to bore match and with the regs not being broken in yet, the gun was hitting target nearly ball on ball.

Efficiency: I didn't take exact measurements for effiency but I can definitely tell that this gun is efficient. I used my 48/4500 tank and after each hour long game where I threw at roughly 8 pods and 2 hoppers and my tank never went below 1000psi. Now that is efficiency.

Shooting: The gun is a pleasure to shoot. The grip frame is thin and it feels really good when walking the trigger. There is almost no kick which really surprised me and ropes of paint would go where you shoot them with minimal barrel rise.

Weight: The gun is light. Compared to an SL8R the weight different is imperceptable in your hands.

Maintenance and adjustments: The gun is simple to work on. The bolt comes out easily making breech cleaning a breeze. The Tadao Ryujin board is one of the best boards on the market and is easy to use. All the modes you could possilby need are programmed into the board. Different firing modes not your thing? Well consider that the Tadao has the best micro switch sensitivity of any board on the market which means it will pick up every pull of the trigger without a hiccup.

Conclusion: This gun is by far the best deal in paintball. You get a marker that is more efficient than any other marker in production, it is quiet, has no kick, light weight and a Tadao board stock . At $750 they are practically giving it away.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 12th, 2008 at 5:42 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

busmanz Tuesday, August 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used/ tried just about every high end electro on the market except Angels. The Planet Eclipse Ego 07 and newer I'd say compare to this marker more than others.
Marker Setup: Bob Long Vampire Vice
68/45 stako w/ myth reg
Vlocity Jr w/ gangstar chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
BOARD: The marker comes with a Tadao board which imo are some of the best on the market so you definitely don't change that. It comes with all the current modes set via led color menu and a manual for the settings.

TRIGGER: The stock trigger came set up just the way I like it as far as the pre and post travel however the spring tension is just slightly too stiff for my liking. To fix this I simply cut two coils from the spring and now it's perfect. The trigger is the S class trigger from Bob Long which is nicely radiused and milled to be super light. I personally like it and am able to shoot faster with this trigger in semi than any stock trigger I've tried previously. No need to upgrade this imo.

FEEDNECK: The stock feedneck is a clamping style low profile feedneck that works great with my vlo so you definitely don't need to change that either imo.

BOLT: Stock you get the pillow bolt which is very gentle on paint and seems to work flawlessly. I see zero reasons to change this out for any aftermarket options.

HPR: My marker came out of the box shooting plus or minus 8 fps around 240 fps. After adjusting it up to the 280 fps range via the adjuster at the bottom of the reg it got tighter within 4fps. That's the best consistency I've seen from a non-broken in marker yet so I'll leave the hpr alone as well for sure.

LRP: The lpr is very nice and easily adjusted, however there's no way to tell where the lpr is at without the lpr test tool (NOT INCLUDED) so I guess I'll need to pony up for one to reset it once I need to service it at a later date.

BARREL: The stock barrel is a Bob Long 1 piece pro barrel. The .691 bore will be overbored for most paint (at least the paint I shoot) but works very well and results in very tight groupings shooting different levels of Draxxus paint. I plan on getting a Deathstix kit soon but not out of necessity. The stock barrel is very nice and you could easily keep it. I've yet to break paint so no idea how well it shoots thru breaks.

ASA: The stock asa is a front port standard without an on/off. I like to leave my tank on the marker so I ended up purchasing a Bob Long cam drive on/off asa which I love. (Best on/off I've used) Obviously it would've been nice to get this standard but I'll elaborate on this in a bit.

MANUAL: Not included. It is slightly baffling to me that a marker like this does not come with the manual. You'll need to go to the website and download the manual from a pdf file off Bob's website. I went there and did not see a link for it- maybe it's being updated but as of right now I still have no manual.

EYES: The standard breakbeam eye system is very nice and works well for the PSP modes and any capped ROF modes. However if you're looking to shoot REAL fast in semi or auto the four eye upgrade will add to your max ROF so that's the only reason I'd suggest this upgrade.

Strengths: -PRICE
-QUIET
-LIGHT
-EFFICIENT
-LOW KICK
More below

Weaknesses: -NO MANUAL INCLUDED
-NO ON/OFF ASA
More below
Review: -PRICE You can't find a better value right now! I sold my SL74 before getting this and I can honestly say I like this better overall.
-QUIET for a poppet anyways. One thing I hated about my Ego's was the LOUD sound signature they did when shooting. This marker is very close to spool valve quiet. Some people like loud marker but not me. The BANG BANG BANG of the Ego was distacting to me and made it hard for me to hear my teammates.
LIGHT- The Vice is super light. Almost the lightest marker I've owned. It feels as light as my SL was but it's just slightly heavier.
EFFICIENT- A case per fill. I'm not sure there's any better than that.
LOW KICK- Slightly less than my SL which was a very smooth shooting marker. Not DM smooth but very smooth nonetheless.

The Bob Long Vice is IMO the best value in high end markers right now. Out of the box
it comes with everything you need and shoots with characteristics of the best markers out there. The marker I had before this was $1250 more and ya it came with a manual and a barrel kit and some others bits but was nowhere near worth the extra money in real value. Notice I didn't list FAST as a strength to this marker. That's because all high end markers these days are fast as long as you have the trigger set up the way you like. That being the case it really comes down to how each individual likes the feel of shooting the different markers that matters. For me this marker just FEELS RIGHT. I like the slim grip frame feel. I like the distance to the hpr. I like the huge trigger guard and the trigger once I cut the spring. I LOVE the way it feels when shooting.
Conclusion: It's really hard to not consider this if your in the market for a new high end tourny gun. Overall the best marker for me on the market right now. Maybe it's the best for you too?!
10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Roy Boy Wednesday, August 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
previous timmys, ego's
Marker Setup: red bob long vice
red proto matrix rail
black matal back cap
smoke dxs pulse w. speed feed
red torque
pure energy 68/4500
air american 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel( iv yet to find a stock barrel i truly like)
asa( not nesicary but alot of people like On/OFF
4C eyes
Strengths: quiet
efficient
reliable
FAST
Weaknesses: $750 and no on/off
Dosent come with a munuel for the gun
Review: I have actuly never bin so impressed with a gun in my entire life. On my way to the field the proshop called and told me my vice was in so i went and picked it up, out of the box i aired it up slaped my hopper on and went to the chrono, dident event have to put a battry in. 250, 251,251,250 out of the box i was amazed by this. I have only shot about a case through it so far but i havent had to touch 1 thing since i opend the box.
I am not to sure about the stock barrel, it has never even bin on the gun since i got it but thats because i have my freak. i would recomend getting a new barrel and your best bet would be a stiffi, this gun is amazingly light the differance between my freak (heavyest) stock (mid-range) and a stiffi (lightest) is very noticable if you are looking to go for a light package i wouls strongly recomend a vice with a stiffi and a 45/45 i have yet to take it apart so i cant tell you much about the internals this review is of my first impression, 10 cases from now i will update wiht a full review
Conclusion: Its an ego with out all the bells and whisles for $500 less, who wouldent love this gun. was disapointed by the no on/off but thats just a personal preferance( i like my on/off's ) only down side is they dont give you a manuel for the gun although they do give you a print out of the ryujin board that is very help full and easy to understand
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fruktflugan Tuesday, July 22nd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
F7 Fusion. More kick.
Tried many many wonderful markers and noone compares.
Marker Setup: DP Fusion LVP edition LE
Recommended
Upgrades:
ASA and barrel
Strengths: It's good. read review
Weaknesses: Accessories, no lpr tester included, no barrel bag, no tools, no lube!
Review: Bob Long Vice


1) First impressions
Upon opening the box one is instantly met with the marker body itself. Instant paintball love as she lies there glistening, embedded in foam. Gently you take the baby out and hold her for the first time. She's yours... ...for life?

In the box there's the marker, a barrel, some o-rings and foam. Bare minimum if I may say so, but I guess adding a barrel sock, some allen keys and a manual (Yes, manual not included even though the box says to read manual before operating!!!) would have upped the price another notch.

So, the one disappointment is that no allen keys or manual are included at all... I guess the fine gentlemen at Bob Long direct assumed that we have allen keys and know how to use the internet to printout our own manual.

The milling is nice and flowing but there are some milling marks that are not entirely polished as they should be.

Conclusion: I would have liked to see at least some allen keys and a printed copy of the board manual. Sure, I had those things already since I like to be prepared but not every new customer is like me.
I really miss an LPR tester too. This is a crucial tool for when you've disassembled your marker for total cleaning, teching or just to balance the regulators. I lucked out and bought one at the same time as the marker, but it is so crucial that it really should be included.


2) Paint chucking and chuckling
Gassing up the girl proved no problems. Once the HPR and LPR are set you should have no problem with leaving them at that.
If you want to get completely anal about it you could reset the HPR and LPR on each day of play, but that would really REALLY amplify the need for the lpr tester.

Standard asa of great quality. No on/off... Nope! There's none.
Thanks to the quality of the asa I doubt you really "need" an on/off, but you could add one anyway if you wanted. By the way; this is the only upgrade you'll ever need on this marker... Read on!

Setting the regs and then a quick visit to the chrono made me wonder. First I thought that the Vice was shooting quite a bit under 300 fps, the chrono proved me wrong. It's just that the general smoothness and quality of the operation made me feel like the paint couldn't possibly be shooting out the other end at the correct velocity.
First string of 286, 291, 286, 288, 291 and then more of the same. Not bad for a reg that is competely new and a gun that is not broken in yet. -Me likes it!


Shooting the Vice feels kind of like watering your houseplants. You gently pour some water over them as the birds fly by you and sun shines on your face.
The only difference is that the Vice chucks paintballs at 20 BPS out the other end instead of a gentle stream of water from the spout/barrel.
Effortless is the word. Just pneumechanical maniacal perfection that allows you to forget what you were doing and acting like an elongated part of your body and mind.

From the box my trigger was set a little too short making 3-round bursts when trigger was pulled really slow. An easy allen-wrenching later backing out a setscrew and it was perfect.

Sound signature seemed really low for a poppet style marker and the trigger is comfortable and fast.
I've read online that some cut the trigger spring to make it lighter, but there's no need for that. The trigger is plenty light already and... well... I have nothing to complain about really.
Standard barrel (.691 bore) is actually of high quality and the only real drawback is it's versatility and it's weight. If you require more bore sizes to select from and/or a lighter barrel you need to go aftermarket.

Conclusion: Absolutely one of the best markers in paintball today. Speed, quality and operation is right up there at the top while price is low.
How did they do it? I really wonder, so if anyone from Boblongdirect wants to tell me how please call! :D


3) Conclusion
Why even hesitate? If you are in the market for a new marker this is it.
Sure, there are others that can compete but not ever in this pricerange. You'll have to find something used and abused to beat this price.

It is gentle on paint, it is efficient, it is fast and it is everything a paintball marker should be.
Forget the old generation Intimidators, the gen 5 intimidator is the shiznit!

-Peace out!

/Jimmy S, Sweden
Conclusion: Excellent product.
The flies in the ointment are the lack of an onoff ASA, no barrel bag, no tools and not even a small sample of lube included.
Bad bad Bob Long! :D

A 10/10 product since nothing else really compares right now that gets shot because lack of manual and so on.
A VERY strong 8/10.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

guncollector1 Monday, July 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL8R, 07 EGO, MARQ 6 RAPPER, MINI, FUSION
Marker Setup: blue vice
velocity stock
DXS 45/4500
4c eye system
low pressure valve
14" stiffi

Recommended
Upgrades:
low pressure valve
a good barrell kit
new grips
Strengths: Light,fast,accurate,price
Weaknesses: No on/off for air
barrell
Grips
Review: So I got this marker as a backup to my SL8R...so this review will kinda be a comparison of the 2.

Bob Long did a great Job with this marker. It is an Ego like marker for a bunch less money. First, I would say the milling and finish are 1st rate. It looks awsome and I didn't notice any flaws in it. It is a little heavier than my SL8R but not enouph to make a real difference.
Bob put a really nice clamping feedneck on this that I would say is better than any other I have run into. The barrell....well lets just say you need a barrell kit for just about every gun....except my SL8R which they charge for in the price anyway. Also the grips do kind of stick out a little that you do feel when you hold it. The marker does not come with an on/off on the asa...not a big deal, but if I had a choice I would like one.
So I gassed up the gun and attached my Velocity loader and took it into the back yard. My first impression was that it was incredibly easy to really get the trigger rolling, much like the SL8R. I then set it to ramp and boy did this thing rock. It was a little louder than the SL, but again no big deal. Bottom line I know I have an excellent backup for my SL8R.....
So I got all my gear ready and went off to the field to really test it in battle. The only problem I had was that I just couldn't get myself to put the SL8R down. While both guns are so close it shouldn't be a big deal to switch....But I feel like a paintball god with the SL. I guess I'm gonna have to wait for my SL to break before I give the Vice a real tryout.
Conclusion: I would put the Vice right at the top of a very short list of markers under $1000. I would still buy a regular Ego 1st...but that is another $500 or so. You do need to add a couple of UP's to make this marker all it could be, while ego's don't need anything. I would give this a 10 after the upgrades but because Bob feels its neccessary to charge extra for stuff that would have cost next to nothing to put in in the 1st place I'll give a ....
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media