paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Manufactured by Tippmann Sports, U.S. Army Paintball markers and accessories are designed to help you take your game to the highest level of realistic play possible at a great value. At home and abroad, the U.S. Army has utilized Tippmann paintball markers in its training to emphasize the importance of fire-control measures and cover and concealment procedures. No other training device can replicate this sense of combat realism in a totally safe environment. With these markers, you will be able to play smart?and play strong. Army Strong.

Features:

Officially licensed product of the U.S. Army
Realistic military appearance
M16 style six position collapsible stock
M16 style shroud with built in sight
High performance 11 inch barrel
Integrated carry handle
Removable magazine that doubles as a tool kit
In line bolt system
All aluminum die cast receiver
Stainless steel gas line
Quick release feeder elbow
Product Availability 
The Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Silentwolf428 Friday, November 11th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: X7 Phenom e-trigger
Apex 2 barrel
Ninja 68cu/4500psi tank
Remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tippmann Cyclone Feeder
Apex 2 Barrel
Use Hopp's 9 Gun oil for maintainance
Strengths: Durable
Easy to Maintain
Great Starter Gun
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: I bought my Alpha Black back in 2009 when I was new to Paintballing. It came highly recommended and it looks great. The first time I used it, all of my friends were shocked to see it. They thought it was a real gun... So the intimidation factor to newbies, like myself, was great. It performed as promised. I used this gun for more than a year and it never failed me during any time. I only had a few breaks when I used it since I had cheap paint, but never anything serious unlike some of my friend's markers.

Even though I now use my X7 Phenom, I still have my trusted AB because it's always ready as my backup gun. I always let my friends use it when they need it. They all love its performance.
Conclusion: Plain and simple... this is a great starter gun. You just need a few up grades to make it a great gun. Always clean and oil it after every game, then lube up before you play... it will always work well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scenarioplayer2 Monday, April 18th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, us army carver one
Marker Setup: alpha black tactical, project salvo shroud, RIS foregrip/ bipod, 18" apex 2, 200 round easy flow hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new and longer barrel; preferably apex2 barrel, cyclone feed, and remote line
Strengths: Accuracy durability, fairly light trigger, shoots out of box and Milsim looks, price
Weaknesses: None
Review: So i went to a big game last week at fort knox paintball 200 vs 200 and my marker performed great! it never broke a ball was very accurate and reliable. there was one time i was sitting on the boat with my gun rested on the boat and my gun fell and hit the ground hard. so i picked it up as people were running up towards the boat and it still performed as if i just bought the gun. my gun shot straight performed awsome. one of the things that you want to buy is a new barrel though the stock barrel is pretty accurate but when you by an apex barrel for it it helps you shoot a lot farther and more accurate it will make it even greater than it already is. upgrading this gun is pretty easy its not really expensive and when putting on the upgrades its got to be the easiest thing ever.
Conclusion: It's very accurate, durable, can take a beating, cheap, and Milsim looks
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VileSerenity Monday, May 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98C, A-5, Ion
Marker Setup: Army Alpha Black Tactical
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip, cyclone hopper
Strengths: Durability
Out of the box readiness
Weaknesses: Cleaning
Review: Ok being infantry myself I needed a marker that could be put throught the same abuse I put my M-4 through! Without falling to pieces.... After many a days reading reviews, and articles I found an Alpha black tacticle edition on ebay with full gear for $150

As soon as i opened it up and got it all together i was surprised!!!! First thing I noticed which I should have before was that it is much more closely related to an M16... Which I hate, but with the adjustable stock Its not too far off an M4 so I could deal lol!

The coating reminds me of spray in bed liner for trucks! which was a huge plus! I also loved the weight!!! I dont care how many people say its too heavy... Its not its very light, and fells solid! Then again im used to doing military presses with an M4 for hours at a time!! haha

It shoots superb for a stock barrel/marker. Now its not flatline good but again I said for a stock barrel.

I recommend this marker to any of my buddies looking for the same mil/sim feel, since we cant really shoot each other with our actual M4s...... haha
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to anyone looking for a rugged marker with a great military feel!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintfreak11 Wednesday, May 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom,a-5,spyder
Marker Setup: view loader e-hopper:15b.p.s.
Recommended
Upgrades:
definately need a 12-15 b.p.s. hopper other than that nothing...it's a great gun!
Strengths: Accurate,comfortable,"tough" (small wrench in mag works for e-grip)
Weaknesses: Field stripping,seems to consume more air than other guns,heavy
Review: Well let me 1st say that this gun is awesome! ive played with all sorts of guns and ive stuck with this 1 the most. it seemed a little big when i 1st got it , but i adjusted very quickly and now i dont like smaller guns lol. comes with the adjustable stock and it works great .never chopped a ball for the 3 months ive had it.it does seem to consume more air then my other guns . its very accurate of course if ur using cheap paint though that accuracy level is gonna drop! i like that all the mechanics in the gun are concealed and has to be opened to fool with ,in my opinion its gonna make the gun last aloooot longer ! it is a pain if u have to strip it in the field though,you might as well just walk out cuz ur gonna lose something out there.

4 awesome modes semi ,3 shot,slow auto,fast auto...the 1,2,3,4and hold safety full auto system... personally i like ... i set on full auto slow everygame...i play alot of rec. or scenario type games, and it has a nice sensitive trigger for semi auto and if i chose to go fully auto i just have to hit in sequence...1,2,3,4,hold and there ya go!(practicing the sequence is key to beable to do it quickly enough in a game when needed)
Conclusion: I love the gun! it has everything u need ..very reliable and"tough" the sky is the limit when it comes to ugrades and/or parts
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Liqwed Friday, April 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98, Automag, Scorpion, Carbine
Marker Setup: Invert Mini w/Prophecy Loader and Ninja 50/4500 HP tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: - Solid gun
- Shoots straight
- Great air efficiency
- Great beginners gun
Weaknesses: Very Very Hard to aim
Maintenance is annoying
Heavier than most gun
Review: I am used to playing with a Minimag (Smaller version of the Automag). I liked my friends old carbine back in the day so I thought maybe I would give the Alpha Black a try since it is made by tippman. I tried to get adjusted to the whole long body rifle feel...not my style. It is hard to set a shot at somebody with your mask on, and when you do, it is hard to aim it with the sight rail. By the time you are set and pull a shot off, your enemy would have seen you and fired 5-6 rounds at you already. Dont get me wrong, its a great gun for starters, especially at the price.

The gun looks great, shoots fine if thats your style, and doesn't need much maintenance. However, if you do decide to pull apart the gun and clean/lube the bolt, make sure you know where everything is at!
Conclusion: Would recommend it for starters, anybody who wants to go deep into the guts and bolts of a gun...I wouldn't recommend it. I felt as if it was a downgrade from the Minimag, and that gun is 5+ years old.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nightmare Punk Saturday, April 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Tippmann X7
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical W/ M16 shroud, Bipod, 22" Fluted Sniper Barrel, RAP skeleton Stock, and NcStar 4x30 Compact Paintball Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer Barrel 14"-18" for closer ranges 18"-22" for distance)
Strengths: Accuracy, CO2 efficency
Weaknesses: weight. ADS with mask
Review: This gun has yet to fail me on the field, all-in-all it keeps on impressing me. i am completly amazed at the accuracy of this gun along with it CO2 Efficency. With my gun set-up as a sniper it's difficult to talk about the strenghth of closer range combat with this gun. From what i recall as 'The Assualt Guy' its does better than a BT Combat close range.
Conclusion: Excellent intermediate weapon for those player that are inbetween 1 and 2 years of experience
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fumble Tumble Saturday, April 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1
milsig CQB pro
tippmann custom 98
Marker Setup: Tactical Alpha Black/ VL 200/ 9 oz Co2/a red dot sight/ 14" j&j ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote line
red dot sight
new barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Great milsim look
Tough
Never chops balls
CO2 usage
Weaknesses: Maintainance
Heavy? (i wouldn't know, it seems pretty light to me)
Review: I was at my club in a big woods ball event, and the guys had been sponsored with a few spot prizes for a bit of an incentive, and to cut a long story short, i won a Tipmann TAB

I quickly powered up my CO2 tank and grabbed some old camotac paint I've had for a while, the accuracy of this beast shocked me, with most of my balls within a one foot radius at a range of 60 feet

Pros:
Accuracy: the stock barrel is magic
Milsim: it looks like a M16!
Tough: you could run this thing over with a tank and it would still work
Never chops balls: it shoots like god would shoot if he was a paintball gun
CO2 usage: this sips CO2 like a 100 old lady sips rum

Cons:
Maintainance: its very annoying to take apart, not hard, just annoying
Heavy: some people say its heavy, but i think its rather light for its size, and if its to hard on you, maybe get a sling or something like that?

Extras:
i would suggest getting a red dot sight, as this will improve your accuracy greatly
a new barrel would make the accuracy of this gun awesome, i added a j&j ceramic and its awesome
Conclusion: Its a awesome gun, but not perfect, mainly because of the maintainance section of the gun, but hey, go ahead and buy it, its a tipmann, so you wont need to do much maintainance anyway
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 30th, 2010 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stef.p Sunday, April 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alpha Black basic, Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical, Trinity Force Barrel, Pure Energy Remote line, M2000 Military Red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tactical Upgrade kit is all that's necessary, but longer barrels always help, and a remote line is good, considering the weight.
Strengths: Accurate, very nice looking, strong, compatible with 98 Custom upgrades, simple internals (same as 98).
Weaknesses: Heavy, but it's not that bad.
Review: This is an amazing gun. I fell in love as soon as I saw it. It's the nicest M16/M4 replica out there, which isn't surprising considering it's a licensed product of the US Army.
It's highly accurate, even with the stock barrel. Max accurate range with the stock barrel is probably 75ft. Over that and you're stretching your accuracy, but if you're lucky you can still hit people.
The internals are very simple. I opened mine up and immediately understood how everything worked and where things need to go.
It's got a really nice feel and the trigger pull length and weight is great.
The only problem is weight, but it's not that bad, especially with a remote line.
As long as you're not a weakling you should be able to tote the gun just fine, there are heavier one's out there.
Conclusion: Buy it. Good price, highly upgradeable, amazing looking, accurate and the only problem is weight, which can be easily fized with a remote line.
Great for woodsball, DON'T USE FOR SPEEDBALL. It's too long and heavy.
I'd give it a 9.5, but it won't let me.
It's not 10 because it's not the best gun out there. The best gun would have a range of 100,000,000,000 light years and 500% accuracy.
The Alpha Black isn't quite that good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

csaninja Friday, March 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, HiFlo valve, Superfly bolt, Redz Clamping feedneck, Empire Barrel kit, 32 Degreez Spring kit, Shocktech shim kit, and Rocket Velocity Adjuster. Dye Sticky 3's
Trinity Front Block, 32 Degrees Duckbill ASA, Front Gas Thru Grip, Macroline
Halo TSA Frontman
Ninja 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Hose-The stock and ASA placement makes having a 20 Oz tank cumbersome.
Strengths: Custom 98 Internals- There are always replacement Parts Available
Accurate
Air Efficient
Tool Box
Weaknesses: Sights
Heavy
Review: The Alpha Black is an interesting piece of machinery. It is molded to look like an m16 and it has a false magazine which contains allen keys and spare orings. I like that the tools are right there and handy. The Carry handle is unique, but the sights are useless. Its a neat addition though. It shoots like a champ and rarely chops. It is very efficient. On my 20 oz co2 with remote Line, i get about a thousand shots on a 20 oz co2. A lot more than the 700 I get on my old spyders.
Conclusion: if you want a marker to play rec ball in the woods. Get it. This thing will last you a lifetime, and shoot well as long as you dont abuse i too bad.I wouoldnt use it on speedball field though, because its mechanical. (If you can do it, have at it). I give it a 9 only because its heavier than I would like.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

publiclyviewed Thursday, March 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom, A5, Spyder Imagine and Delta Elite.
Marker Setup: Alpha Black with 16' Smart Parts Linear Barrel and custom Egrip with 20bps fire rate.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel and if u feel the need an Etrigger
Strengths: Great Range and Easy to use.
Weaknesses: Heavy and sometimes lacks accuracy.
Review: This was the first gun I ever used and loved once I got a barrel for it. I mean it competes with just about any gun people at the paintball place can through at you, and it has Astounding range especially with the barrel I have for it. This is very easy to use and is great to learn to play paintball and to get you through until you are experienced enough for a high end marker. This is a great gun and I strongly suggest it to any beginner.
Conclusion: Very solid decent beginner gun and can be upgraded to compete with the pros.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media