paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Manufactured by Tippmann Sports, U.S. Army Paintball markers and accessories are designed to help you take your game to the highest level of realistic play possible at a great value. At home and abroad, the U.S. Army has utilized Tippmann paintball markers in its training to emphasize the importance of fire-control measures and cover and concealment procedures. No other training device can replicate this sense of combat realism in a totally safe environment. With these markers, you will be able to play smart?and play strong. Army Strong.

Features:

Officially licensed product of the U.S. Army
Realistic military appearance
M16 style six position collapsible stock
M16 style shroud with built in sight
High performance 11 inch barrel
Integrated carry handle
Removable magazine that doubles as a tool kit
In line bolt system
All aluminum die cast receiver
Stainless steel gas line
Quick release feeder elbow
Product Availability 
The Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
                            
Fran221187 Tuesday, April 8th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, JT Tac 5, Ariakon acp 2.0, Psycho Ballistics Silver Bullet
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 16in Barrel with M4 muzzle break, Bush Master M16/AR15 Piccatinny rail, Leapers Egronomic ForeGrip, Leapers Raised Picatinny Scope Riser Mount, 1x 42 red dot sight. Remote Line, Ar15 collapsible stock raised cheek pad
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ops Gear 16 or 18 In barrel, Bush Master M16/AR15 Piccatinny rail, Leapers Egronomic ForeGrip, Leapers Raised Picatinny Scope Riser Mount, 1x 42 red dot sight. Remote Line
Strengths: Accuracy , Compact for CQC.
Weaknesses: None, doesnt weigh as much as a real M16
Review: AB is a great gun reminds me a lot of my M16 , pretty accurate , not that many upgrades but is still pretty damn good. Havent had one jam or chopped paintball , so far nothing bad with the Marker. Like I said before not that many upgrades but will take almost anything a standard M16 or AR15 would use. Also e trigger upgrade would be nice
Conclusion: Great gun, Awesome for scenario, Must buy!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

NUTTBALL Sunday, March 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, A-5
Marker Setup: Currently using A-5 with response trigger and Flatline. (ordered Vortex Mod for Cyclone)
Back -up gun is my trusty Alpha/Black
Recommended
Upgrades:
Air Remote/ Barrel / Electric hopper
Strengths: Durable, Accurate, good rate of fire, cheap , Looks cool , and its a Tippmann
Weaknesses: I guess you could say weight if air tank attached directly to gun.
Review: I have been playing paintball for over 5 years now. I mostly play woodsball but have tried speedball a few times. I have owned my A-5 since it was released. I have never had a bit of trouble with it, so I din't see the use of owning a second gun. I had a friend who purchased an Alpha/Black and I fell in love with it as soon as I held it. We took it to my house and I was suprised on how well it could shoot and how accurate it was. So the next day, I picked one up and figured it would be a good back up for me. Once I purchased it I learned that it was just like a Tippmann 98. I also learned that your regular 98 barrels would fit it. So I quickly purchased a "14" carbon fiber barrel. Its just a back up so I went cheap and purchased the Stryker barrel ($30). I also grabbed an air remote to lessen the weight. So now I go out for a day of woodsball. About an hour in my cyclone gears take a crap on my A-5. I was mad but then remembered my Alpha/Black. I hit the field with it and was really impressed. I was able to shoot accurate (getting about 5 head shot kills while looking down the stock sights within two balls) and the gun just feels good. I actually think my A-5 weighs more. I did have to shake the hopper a few times to get balls flying but its a cheap hopper. Going to use an electric hopper I have next time. I also fired about a thousand rounds and still had air left and no ball breaks.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone at any level. Its a Tippmann so it should be of sound quality and be reliable. Here is a list of some things I would purchase to make it even better.
(1) Air remote (tank to me is in the way if you don't and adds weight)
(2) Stock barrel is good (little heavy) but longer is better. Cheap carbon fiber works great and is light. New 98 Platinum Flatline will fit also (Called Tippmann and asked).
*UPDATE* Friend got the Flatline in... fits great and shoot awesome. We were hitting a box at 88 yards. Balls were even sailing past that.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 1st, 2008 at 6:46 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ALEX4B Tuesday, March 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Marker Setup: tippmann alpha black with a
tippmann cyclone feed
14" J&J ceramic and an apex barrel system getto modded on it
72cu 3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and cyclone feed
Strengths: Great accuracy looks good
Weaknesses: Cant remove the handle and its not very good for aiming.
Review: Gun is great the only problem is that its the sight. I was playing some speed ball and I got about 3 ppl in the googles in one game!! It had good concistancy once u break the spring in very nice gun. Amazing durability it feels like you could hit it with a truck and it would still be good! This gun is way better than the A-5 and quite powerful I really had to crank down on the velocity pin to get it to shoot below 320 but the spring had only 500 or so rounds on it/
Conclusion: Very nice gun would buy again
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jjohnson12 Tuesday, March 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 C
Tippmann A5
Spyder Victer 2
JT Tac 5
Marker Setup: ABT
Remote line
20 oz tank
E-grip
Revolution Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Grip (A Must)
Better Magazine Clip
Sling
Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Good on air
Great price
Weaknesses: Not to upgradable
Review: The ABT is a great gun woodsball or mil sim players, I took mine with me to a mil sim tourny this past weekend and it work flawlessly. It was an all day tourny were we went into the woods and didnt come out until dark. To start off i couldnt believe how many shots i got of one 20 oz tank, I got around 1200 rounds off and not one of them choped or jamed in the gun. I also couldnt believe how accurate it was right out of the box, all my shots were in a one to two foot range of each other so getting headshot was easy. The gun is not to heavy and if your in shape it want be a problem, but one thing you might want to get is a sling for your gun because if you play all day like i do it is a great thing to have so you dont have to carry it all day. The night before i did take it apart and did a little work to add an E-grip to mine, it didnt fit in there perfect but all the internals are exactly like a 98. the only problem with the egrip is that the rod for it is not long enough to fit so i made my on and it work great. All in all the ABT is just as good as the 98 if not better,and only 129 for the ABT and 149 for the egrip version it is well worth the money.

If you have any questions or comments i can help with just post on here and i can try to answer them.
Conclusion: For the price , durablility and accuracy i would have to say it is worth getting for any woodsballer or mil sim player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Monopoly Monday, March 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann X7 basic
Mongoose II
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Alpha tactical w/100% stock w/12oz Co2 tank and Viewloader $6 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel?
E-trigger
Cyclone mod
Strengths: Accuracy
Looks
built like a rock
reliable
Weaknesses: still waiting for that E-trigger!
pain in the rear to clean and maintain
Review: This is my first marker. I read the reviews about maintenance and figured as a tool and die maker i should be fine as i deal with screwing in bolts/springs/pins 2000 times a day. (approx marker cleaning/oil/maintenance time 25-45mins) Its actually quite easy and theres not as many parts to deal with...just a pain unscrewing all the bolts to get it open.

To start off i played three full days with this gun and went thru over 2000 balls and not one chopped using cheapo balls. I was able to pull off 4 headshots in one day!

The magazine is made of plastic which is exactly the same as the X7's basic one. it holds 3 allen keys and small 1inch by 3inch space for anything else you might need. I dont feel it move around or anything like that.

As for those concerned about weight, im fairly fit and did not find this an issue trecking thru 3feet of snow carryng a 12oz tank. Some of my friends own the same gun with a 20oz tank didnt have any issues either(altho there over 6ft tall 220+ lbs). And even if it does feel heavy to you, its good excercise! plus the added weight makes the gun have little recoil.

The best part about this gun is its built like a tank. i've dropped it twice, banged it off trees, gotten snow, dirt and water inside the gun from diving into snow drifts for cover and it still fired straight. At one point water was dripping out of the barrel when aimed downwards! (also the barrel is twice as thick as the X7's stock one and looks very cool)

So all in all if you don't mind taking the time to pull everything apart(which is not THAT bad) on a nice reliable mil-sim marker this ones for you.
Conclusion: You will not find another marker as good as this for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

imntritejr Friday, March 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter
acs delrin bolt
alamo city delrin striker
J&J S2 14" barrel

Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote hose and e-trigger (when it becomes available)
Strengths: Looks
Accuracy
Cheap price
Weaknesses: Weight
Complexity of maintenance
Review: This thing looks like the real deal and the marker is very accurate right out of the box. I took out a case of 5 year old $30 paint in my basement(not kidding) and shot about 200 rounds out of this thing. Not only did I not break a paintball(and they were dimpled like crazy), but I also managed to hit the same spot over and over again using the built in sight. This gun also feels like I could whack it against a rock and it would be alright. Did I mention it looks cool.

Weight is not an issue if you have a remote hose. The only problem I had was oiling the gun which requires you to completely disassemble it. One of my springs popped out and it took me an hour to find it on my rug. Other than the marker being slightly heavy and a slight hassle to maintain, there are no real weaknesses
Conclusion: I would fully recommend this product to anyone who is interested in either an accurate gun at a great price or just a realistic looking paintball gun. I would not recommend this as a first paintball gun for someone just because maintenance could be a problem for someone new to the sport.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

luvswoodsball Monday, March 3rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
flatline barrel
6 position M16 stock
M16 magizene
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote hose
red dot site
Strengths: Accurate
Looks
Durrable
Great price
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: I love this gun. It is highly accurate and i would recomend getting a red dot scope for this because it is so accurate. I was shooting at a footlong piece of cardborad from 70 yards away and i hit it every time. The looks are amazing it is intemadating to the other players.
The gun also doesent take a huge bite out of your wallet. The only weekness it that it was a lot I think like 10 pounds with paintballs and 20OZ C02 tank. This is why i recomend a remote hose so you will reduce the weight.
Conclusion: Get this gun it is worth all the money. Accurate as a realy gun. I recomend this gun to any paintballer regardles of there skill level
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Shodan561 Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month181 of 194 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Tippmann A5
Tippmann X7
Viewloader Triad
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical (M16 shroud and stock)
Mil-Sim TAC Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
for those who are yet to get the Tactical, and only the basic, i recommend the Tactical add ons.
CO2 Remote hose
Strengths: -Highly Accurate
-Great Mil-Sim look
-Magazine tool box looks cool and is very useful

Weaknesses: -Weight is an issue,
-Currently only M16 add ons
Review: The ABT, is Great, right off the bat you will notice the rugged, Military look, and from opening it you notice that good 0l' Tippmann Quality.

This, in essence is a 98 Custom, this is good and bad for a few reasons, good because of the quality and bad because of some awkward maintenance hassles.

To start i will talk about the actual gun:
It is encased in durable material, it looks and feels like something the army would use, however it also weighs like its real too, the Gun ha a crushing 10 pounds when used with a fully loaded 200 round Hopper and a 20 ounce CO2 Canister, by itself its a good 5-ish pounds, luckily for the "Tactical" owners, the Package includes a handy strap for easier use, the M16 adds are plastic,but its Hard, in fact it looks like it can last just as long as the main gun body.

The ABT is actually sold in 3 versions 2 of which are now available,
the AB Basic, which does not bring the M16 adds, but includes the Mag and tools
the ABT (Tactical) which does include the M16 adds and the Mag.
the final is the AB and ABT with the E-trigger, which is a steal at the price some sites have it as preorders for June, the Trigger includes 3 fire mods (1 Shot, 3 shot burst and Full Auto)

The Marker comes with a Ironhold which is not removable, however, the Holder was actually thick enough to allow one of my Sights to fit perfectly, and attached with a hard clamp.

The Gun has a 5 point CAR stock, which is sturdy and does not slip points, it also has a clip for the strap.

the Co2 line is structured perfectly, and the weave looks very neat, reinforcing my belief in the great quality of the manufacture.

It is recomened to use a Remote Hose for on the go action without the massive weight

The 11" Barrel is of good quality, and apparently the barrel socket allows other A-%5 barrels without Ball breaks, it could be entirely possible to install a flat line barrel, if expansion slots could be added.

The gun does not bring any sort of Anti-chop system, however after much shooting i only had a break once, using another A5 barrel, that said, cleaning it was kinda a hassle, which required me to have to open the front barrel area in order to clean it all out good.

The gun was Fantastically accurate, after many shots directed to the same area, i managed to hit the area in less then a 1 Sq Ft area, at a far range, which is fantastic.

The mag in essence is just for show,for some reason the Mag fell off the holding, but it may have been a user error... but it is well detailed, and useful for carrying O-rings and Allen wrenches or a small packet or Lubricant.

I Fired it until the Co2 was gone, it took a while, a good bit more then what it takes on my 98C.

One complaint i had with the stock trigger of some guns is that its either too tense, so you had to push the trigger a while (1 second) or the trigger was too light, so i antecedently fire off more then i want, the Trigger on the ABT is perfect, with a good feel, and not a long pull, but not a short one either.

There is apperently no way to install an E grip unless if it came with it, but im not sure, im yet to investigate opening the Trigger area, Also hopefully the ABT series would do good, so other types of gun mods can be released, if an XM8 one is revealed, i would be a nut, but that wont explain changing the Hold rail, considering the M16 one is there for good.

ive seen Pics of people who managed to install the A-5 Cyclone on their gun. but im yet to hear anything about a specific one for the ABT.

Conclusion: All in all the ABT is a superb gun not only for its price point, but also for its quality, i expect to play with this much more now, hopefully in the future, more adds and mods will be released, and more people can be lured into the awesomeness of woodsball with this great gun.

I would give it a 10, but the few little problems do add up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

MNPAINTBALL Monday, February 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
sling
Strengths: Cyclone feed knob Good stock barrel
Weaknesses: Nothing except weight but it's not too bad
Review: This gun is really good. I am really impressed by the quality of the marker. The magazine isn't as cheat as people are saying and it wont just fall out. The gun is a little heavy, but nothing the gym can't fix if it seems heavy to you. It was a little loud for me at fist but I think as I shot it it got quieter.
Conclusion: For the money and quality you can't beat it. plus its a tippmann it wont break.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigtom68 Friday, February 15th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann custom 98
Marker Setup: stock tactical
Recommended
Upgrades:
may need an expansion chamber and if ya want flatline barrel
Strengths: Rugged and flat black paint. Fairly accurate. Quick realese hopper. Tool holder for quick adjustments
Weaknesses: Heavy 9lbs with full 20oz co2 tank. Have to dissasemble gun to clean and lube
Review: This is a good tactical gun. Use something smaller for co2 than a 16oz tank.9 or 12 would work great way too heavy with a 20. 11in barrel is good. Shot around 600 rounds and no breaks. Not that easy to clean but if taken care of it should last you a while.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun for the person who wants a little bit of reality in their tactical paintball. For the price i belive its worth it but only gets a 9 because of the weight
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 24th, 2008 at 12:09 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media