paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Manufactured by Tippmann Sports, U.S. Army Paintball markers and accessories are designed to help you take your game to the highest level of realistic play possible at a great value. At home and abroad, the U.S. Army has utilized Tippmann paintball markers in its training to emphasize the importance of fire-control measures and cover and concealment procedures. No other training device can replicate this sense of combat realism in a totally safe environment. With these markers, you will be able to play smart?and play strong. Army Strong.

Features:

Officially licensed product of the U.S. Army
Realistic military appearance
M16 style six position collapsible stock
M16 style shroud with built in sight
High performance 11 inch barrel
Integrated carry handle
Removable magazine that doubles as a tool kit
In line bolt system
All aluminum die cast receiver
Stainless steel gas line
Quick release feeder elbow
Product Availability 
The Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
hooboo26 Saturday, January 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees rebel
Marker Setup: Tactical Add ons
Remote Line
Recommended
Upgrades:
You need to get a remote line, it isnt unbearably heavy but it can get a little uncomfortable towards the end of the day
Strengths: Doesnt chop
good looking
not overly pricy
intimidating
Weaknesses: A little heavy-ish
sort of long with buttstock extended
tank blocks use of buttstock
Review: All in all its a pretty good gun. it can get a little heavy after you play for a few hours but it isnt that bad. I've played with it 4 times this month and only chopped one ball. Without a remote line the tank sort of gets in the way but it also depends on how far exended the buttstock is.
Conclusion: I would recomend it because it looks good ad plays well without costing a lot of money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

im_an_alpha Saturday, December 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: U.S. Army: Alpha Black with vertical grip and rail for it, tactical sling and remote line.
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Vertical grip

- Remote Line

- Sling

- Rail
Strengths: Feeding rate is good.
Weaknesses: Hard to clean, kinda
Review: I really like this marker. It looks great, people always ask about it. Accuracy is good. Not recommended for indoor play, maneuverability isn't that great but outdoor playing. The vertical grip is awesome, in my opinion because it makes holding it, especially for outdoor play, more comfortable.

Cleaning it and making it look nice isn't that easy. Cleaning the barrel is somewhat easy due to having to take the shell off, and then the barrel. Cleaning the shell is the worst because I am an impatient person, but it gets the job done.
Conclusion: I recommend this to more outdoor players then indoors. Great marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadowrevenge8 Thursday, October 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder mr1
Marker Setup: I just have the tactial verson..on acessorise yet
Recommended
Upgrades:
An E grip is probly beast for it...and a electric hopper
Strengths: Looks
Very high powered
accrute
Great woodsball gun
Weaknesses: It weighs a bit more than most guns
The sights arent tht good
Tot fast
Review: Its a very nice gun i just bought it..I just started playing but I have use 4 different guns..It was the best out of all them. I would reomend this product to anyone that has had fun playing paintball and wants to destroy there friends in a game of woodsball
Conclusion: BUY IT... it is an amazing product
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

faxmodem Thursday, October 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann Alpha Black Tactical
Red Dot
Remote line
tippmann cyclone feeder
Alpha Black 14 Inch Recon Barrel
3000psi O2 Tank
Sling
Zero Kick Hammer
Delrin Bolt
Tippmann 98 Custom Aluminum Power Tube
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote line
Sling
tippmann cyclone feeder
Strengths: Looks like the real thing.
Accurate
Reliability
Good price
Durable
Weaknesses: Weight
maintenance
Review: When I stared to do paintballing this was the first paintball gun I bought. The price was at $130 when i bought it. When I used it for the first time it was very accurate. Uses CO2 or Air. What I like about this gun is that it used the same upgrades that the Tippmann 98 uses as the guts of the gun are the same as the Tippmann 98.
Since I got it I added a sling, Alpha Black 14 Inch Recon Barrel made by RAP4, I recommend the barrel as its longer and has sets of tiny train tracks that makes the paintball shoots with more accuracy. Added in the Zero Kick Hammer, Delrin Bolt, Tippmann 98 Custom Aluminum Power Tube made by RAP4. I was able to mount a Red Dot on my Alpha Black, using the US Army Alpha Black 20mm Rail it mounts to the hand guard, Had to use a Rail Base Mount to mount the red dot but it looks cool and works. There is a lot of upgrade coming out for the Alpha black from RAP4.
The magazine slides out like the real thing, has 3 Allen keys for the gun inside it.
For maintenance can be a bit of a weakness on it, but the more you work on it the better you get at taking it a part and putting it back together. The gun can be a weight of 10lbs with the bottle connected to the gun. I would recommend a remote line to take the bottle off the gun.
Conclusion: When I use the Alpha Black on the Paintball field with all the add-ons I have. Other players want me on there team. They tell me I want this guy on my team. The Alpha black on the fields makes me feel like I was in the army. Been using since I bought it. I wonít use any other gun than my Alpha Black, Just love the gun.
I would recommend you be use a carry case when you transport it to the paintball fields as from a far distance it looks like the real thing and some one could call the cops.
The two main things I would recommend to purchase with the gun is a remote line and a sling for the Alpha Black as it takes the tank off the gun and for carrying it and loading the hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

james7777666 Monday, August 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle t storm
Marker Setup: alpha black tactical with coiled remote line and tactical vest
24 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel maybe but the stock one works
a faster hopper like a cyclone feed would be nice
Strengths: Accurate
Looks sweet
Durable
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart and put back together
Review: I got this gun as an upgrade from me old t storm
the biggest diggerence is the look, this gun is a very accurate m4 replica and i get plenty of positive comments on it
this gun also is dead accurate. I can pull off tough shots from long distances with ease

with my old gun on a good day i can usualy pull off 5 kills
i went to a paintball park recently and got around 25 kills easy. the difference this gun makes is incredible

the only issue with this gun is that it takes forever to give it maintenece
i am ok with this though
Conclusion: I say that if you are into woodsball then this is the gun for you
its durable and accurate and just a fun gun to use
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JLS6779 Monday, July 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
mostly JT brand guns
Marker Setup: VL High Voltage:
stock barrel
VL Force electric hopper
Stryker Carbon Fiber 12" barrel

JT Tac-5 Recon Camo:
Stock barrel
old brass eagle 140 ct hopper
JT bipod
Stryker 12" Carbon fiber barrel

PMI Pirahna USP:
Pistol
Extreme Rage Holster

US Army Alpha Black:
Stock Barrel
Adjustable Stock
Old Brass Eagle 140 Hopper
remote line
tank pouch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel
Carbon Fiber Barrel
Electronic Hopper
E-Grip
remote line
Strengths: Heavy weight, solid contruction, shoots good, fairly accurate
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy and stock can hit air bottle
Review: Purchased this gun used off Ebay along with a tactical vest, mask and hopper. Test shot this at my house at a few trees using some Procaps paintballs and fell in love with the marker. Changed the hopper out to a 140 tactical hopper to better go with the vest and the 140 pods that the vest carries plus the 200 rd hopper had a pushed gap in the bottom. Changed the mask that came with it to a extra JT Raptor that I had because the masks elastic band was so stretched out. Carried marker up to my buddies house to show him and let him fire it off a few times and he really likes the marker. Have not used it in a game yet because in progress of getting a new vehicle as mine broke down for the nth time in a year. Will update the review once I do get a chance to use it in a game.


**UPDATE**
Used the Alpha Black this past weekend when playing with my buddy and his kids and a friend of theirs. It worked very good when we switched to all mechanicals when it started to lightly rain on Saturday. It did not do bad when I was using it in the other games earlier in the day when they were all using their electrics. Granted the fact that I was the only mechanical and could only shoot up to so many balls had me at a dissadvantage. I was able to hold my own most of the time during the game till I would get double teamed. Overall I found the gun to be very good in games. I plan to upgrade the gun with a E-Grip and a new bolt as soon as I am able to do so. Might also get either a BT Rip-Clip 98 electric loader or another electric loader once I do the upgrades.
Conclusion: Overall at this time I see this as a very good gun. Will update once I use it in a game.

**UPDATE**
Very good gun. As stated if you are going against all electrics it does have a hard time keeping up with them if it is not a E-Grip equiped marker. But against mechanicals it more than holds its own. Even if you only upgrade it with like a new bolt and barrels it will still hold it own with any other mechanical on the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 14th, 2009 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nuzzo14 Tuesday, July 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, A5
Marker Setup: 98 quickthread flatline barrel, TAPCO carry handle weaver mount, NC star compact scope, e-trigger, cyclone feeder, m4 carbine buttstock
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline, cyclone feeder
Strengths: Durable, accurate, upgradable, reliable
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: I got the tactical kit- it is the same as the basic but it has a stock and m4 barrel shroud. I was very impressed with the barrel- it was the most accurate stock barrel I ever had. I upgraded the gun with a quickthread 98 custom, flatline barrel, but this really isn't necessary, unless you have 80 or so dollars lying around that you want to spend. The stock is very durable, not a flimsy 2 dollar piece of plastic. The mag-tool kit is very handy, and the curve in the mag well is great for a hand grip.

Aside from all of the great features, the one necessary upgrade is a cyclone feeder. I got one because of the e-trigger, but even a response trigger or a normal one should be accompanied by a cyclone feeder. The weaver mount installed on the carry handle easily.
Conclusion: Since I got the gun, I have had no problems with it. I have dropped it multiple times, smashed it against rocks and trees, and even gotten it wet. I would have to say this is the ultimate woodball gun. The weight (about 5 pounds) makes it an unwieldy speedball gun, but I'm not a big fan of speedball. This gun is cheap, but has the quality that easily equals or surpasses that of any other Tippmann gun. A perfect gun is rare, but I would have to say this is one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dbower Sunday, July 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical
200 rd Hopper
12 oz Canister
3-point sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Larger bottle with remote
Strengths: Reliability
Appearance
Price
Weaknesses: None that I can find...so far
Review: I recently bought the Alpha Tactical as my friends and I were ready to take the next step into paintballing and buy our own gear. We have been playing for over a year, but have always just rented gear at a local arena. One friend went with an A-5, the other with a Spyder MR-1, and I with the Black Tactical.

First of all, I have to say that this marker is very simiar to the the M-4 carbine. I am around M-4's all the time, and if it wasn't for some obvious differences (air line, smaller magazine well, weight, etc...), it would look like someone is running with an M-4 in their hands.

Next, the craftmanship is excellent. Everything fits on it like it is supposed to. The shroud does not rattle, there is no play in the collapsible stock, and even the plastic magazine that doubles as a tool kit stays up and in the well extremely well.

The last first impression that I had was the ease of use out of the box. Having a little bit of experience enabled me to take it out of the box, throw a tiny bit of oil here and there, attach a canister, attach the hopper and then throw some paint downrange. Very user friendly.

On the day that we played, we had a group of 8-9 of us with one guy providing some extras to those that did not have their own equipment. Throughout the day though, I let everyone use the Alpha Black, and every response was the same, "That thing is what I want!" It is easy to hold (especially with the sling), easy to adjust (both size and velocity), and it is extremely accurate all over the field.
We played mostly kill or be killed with two teams all day, and I would estimate that I put about 800-850 rounds through the marker before having to change the 12 oz tank. And that was after putting about 100 rounds through it the night before. Some others there were changing their 9 oz tanks pretty frequently. I put another 9 oz tank on mine, but only played two or three more rounds. If I had not used the 12'er the night before, it would have lasted all day. I think that is pretty good.
As I said, accuracy is great right out of the box! I had command of the whole field all day long. If someone broke cover, and I had a chance to use the sights, they were toast. The only problem that I did have was that at the beginning of the day my shot were going all over the place. It was because my shoulder kept placing the first thing it felt into place which kept being the tank, not the stock. I'm racking this up to the difference in using a real weapon, and a sim-marker. I'm going to cure it by getting a remote line and 20 oz tank to carry on my back.
Even when I did miss though, the cycling rate is very good. If I missed, I was able to get another round going as fast as I could squeeze the trigger. I know that a lot of players like to send out ropes of paint, but if you are like me, and like to hit it because you meant to hit it, this marker will never leave you hanging. I have yet to experience a chopped ball, and a cheap five dollar hopper fed one ball after another all day long.

Cleanup was very easy in comparison to a real M-4. I say it like that because I hate cleaining weapons anyway. I found it a bit tedious to disassemble and give it a good cleaning and oiling, and all the little springs and parts initimidated me a bit. But, it took only about an hour to an hour and a half while watching tv to get it cleaned up like new.
Conclusion: Overall, I would recommend this to anyone that is considering their first paintball marker, and wants it to have a more realistic look. It will not fail you, it will shoot straight, and it will get all the ooohs and ahhhhs that you are looking to get out of the competition.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crusaderspb Sunday, June 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: tippmann us army alpha black
16" inch rifled barrel
remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel
remote line
Strengths: Durable
Easy to upgrade
balls dont chop
pretty quiet
accurate
cheap
powerful
Weaknesses: Not so light
Carrying handle is not removable
Not really movable in tight places



Review: When i first gkot this marker i was so excited just to get it, and when the day it came in i just ripped in out of the packaging and attached some co2 and was ready to go. I went into my backyard and shot it a a skinny tree and found out the accuracy was better than expected. But i noticed as i was playing that the weight and size had to make my stay back and sord of snipe around, but this wasnt any problem. The marker really doesnt need many upgrades and can easly be equipped with some 98 parts. Some things i thought about getting for the alpha was an e-trigger but yet i thought that if i was in the rain that wouldnt be so good for me. The marker is durable enough to with stand a truck going over it, just not the plastic shroud or stock though. Just recently my friends dad ran over my alpha black without even knowing and when i went to go it, it was perfectly fine. Just i suggest not trying at home. you may not be so lucky.
Conclusion: Its durable cheap and easy to upgrade so why wouldnt this product be good. Tippmann never lets us down with their quality woodsball markers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juanesoto Tuesday, May 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1
Tippmann 98
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Alpha Black with Cyclone feed and E-grip
Spyder mr1 stock set up with Archon's hopper and Trinity Ak-47 magazine expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone feed
X7 Low profile hopper
Remote line
Strengths: Great looks
Incredibly reliable
Excellent ergonomics
Accurate
Weaknesses: None that I could think of
Weight might be an issue for smaller persons
Review: I'll try to be as clear as possible. First the pros:

- Great looks. As you might already know the psycological factor is quite important in paintball and this gun really puts that factor on your side. It really looks like a killing machine.

- Outstanding ergonomics. Even though this marker is big, you won't beleive how comfortable is to play with it. The adjustable stock really helps you with the handling and the raised sight rail helps you aim at target zones. Let's face it, even though paintball guns will never be as accurate as a real gun, have the sight frames to help you accquire a large target helps a lot in CQC.

- Reliable. I've put all sorts of paint in this thing and it will work flawlessly. In case of a chop, you just dry fire it a couple of times and you're ready to go. The cyclone feed becomes very important to get a good reliability at higher ROF. In full auto high (15 bps) you can fire for 5 or 6 second straight without chopping.

- Accurate. To be honest, when I bought the gun, I was planning to replace the barrel with a J&J Ceramic or something similar. After trying the gun,I realized there's no need to do that. The original barrel is by far the most accurate OEM barrel I've tried in a low end marker.

Cons:

- Heavy. This isn't exactly an issue for me since in 6'4" and 220 lbs,but for smaller player it might be difficult to handle the gun for long periods of time.

- Gas hog. This is a relative issue since my other marker (spyder mr1) is very gas efficient. If you are a happy trigger person, you'll feel you have to refill your CO2 very often. If I'm conservative can play all day long with a 20oz tank.

- Lack of information on some accesories. Even though lots of M16 accesories fit the marker, there's a lack of information in paintball specific accesories. For instance, I've been looking for an Apex ready barrel that will fit the gun, without removing the original shroud, but none of the manufacturers seem to know about this.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this product to anyone who likes milsim paintball, novice or expert. The guns is reliable and simple enough to give a nice experience to novice player, while being accurate and "fast" for the more experienced players.

The gun has some nice details, like the magazine "toolbox" and the adjustable stock. Besides, the sight rail and barrel sight are really useful to acquire targets even with the mask on.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media