paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Manufactured by Tippmann Sports, U.S. Army Paintball markers and accessories are designed to help you take your game to the highest level of realistic play possible at a great value. At home and abroad, the U.S. Army has utilized Tippmann paintball markers in its training to emphasize the importance of fire-control measures and cover and concealment procedures. No other training device can replicate this sense of combat realism in a totally safe environment. With these markers, you will be able to play smart?and play strong. Army Strong.

Features:

Officially licensed product of the U.S. Army
Realistic military appearance
M16 style six position collapsible stock
M16 style shroud with built in sight
High performance 11 inch barrel
Integrated carry handle
Removable magazine that doubles as a tool kit
In line bolt system
All aluminum die cast receiver
Stainless steel gas line
Quick release feeder elbow
Product Availability 
The Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Hoov Wednesday, May 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tacamo 68 Ak, Spyder Mr2
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 with Apex
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Coil
Strengths: This gun looks great, works great and isn't expensive.
Weaknesses: Can be tricky to clean.
Review: I really like the looks of this gun. I practicaly didn't chop any balls (and I play with the cheapest paint I can find), it's accurate and solid. What more would you want? I only tried the semi-auto version not the e-gripped one. It's kind of big though and doesn't look as good without the stock. A sling can come in handy when you want to refill your hopper and a remote coil is a must. I also don't like the fact that the clip is all plastic. It kinda looks cheap compared to the rest of the gun but I guess it takes off a bit of weight. It's very practical though cause you can store all you allen keys in there.
Conclusion: Great marker!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yams1994 Monday, April 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann Custom Pro
BT Delta Elite
Marker Setup: Remote Hose
Custom Barrel w/ Apex tip
Cyclone Feed System
Custom Sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex barrel
Cyclone Feed System
X-7 Low Profile Hopper
E-Grip
Tactical Add-ons
Strengths: Very sturdy and reliable, no jams or breaks yet
Weaknesses: Heavy, strictly woodsball with all of the add-ons on it
Review: This gun is great i haven't had any problems with it yet, aside from having to shake it everytime i shot before up grading to the cyclone system which really comes in handy. The accessories avaliable for this gun aren't very pricey and are easy to install. If you can you should try and get the e-grip version of this gun, its worth the extra money you put into it.
Conclusion: Get this gun soon!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dirty jim flint Monday, April 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Army Alpha Black- Cyclone FEED
Ninja Remote
72 CI Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
would like a shorter barrel and/or shorter stock/foldable stock
Strengths: the firing modes, great accuracy, real MILSIM, intimidation factor
Weaknesses: A bit hard to change firing rates, while under heavy fire.
Review: Love this gun. Its great, and looks great. Its put together real solid and cant chop a ball even if you try. Love that you can throw a picatilly rail on it to get scopes, red lights etc, mounted. Its an extension of your arm.

That said this guns got POWER. I had to crank the velocity WAY down before I could qualify. I could easily hit something at 60 feet. Anyways thats it. Hope this is helpful.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if your doubtful.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nemjitsu Monday, March 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
First Paintball Gun
Marker Setup: 12 0z. c02 Tank
VL 200 round cheap hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on person I would like to add 3 point sling and vertical grip and maybe a longer barrel for more realistic look
Strengths: Price
Look
Feel
Sound
Weaknesses: Lack of current upgrades
Review: I am currently in the US Military and new to Paintball when I saw this thing I was hooked
Ibought one on sale at Sports Authority for 128 including tax.I love the look,feel and sound of this gun It is easy to maintain and shoots very accuratley i love it!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: I highly reccomend this to anyone
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trixy Thursday, March 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Strengths: Good weight and doesnt chop paintballs.
Weaknesses: Hard to aim down sights with mask on and maintainance.
Review: This gun is great I shot a total of 1,600 rounds of paint and have not had a single paintball chop on me. The gun is heavily realiable on the feild, it is one of the best and most dependable paintball markers ive every used. The accuracy is good but not the best, the sensitve trigger is also good becuase you can be able to squeze off 8 round in under a second. I like the fact that it has a removable stock, handguard, magazine and barrel it can almost transform into a snipper rifle. The main weakness about this gun is that it is a hassle maintaining it and keeping it greased becuase you have to open up the whole thing after every game, but its still my favorite paintball gun out of all the ones that I own.
Conclusion: Buy this gun and you will have no regrets about purchasing it, becuase I didnt.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tracker7 Friday, February 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider MR1 is the closest it comes
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical w/
Archon's NEW Revolutionary 200 Round Gravity fed hopper,
20oz remote line CO2 NXe 4+1
Secondary:
Overlord Rx Pistol w/ laser sight
Second Primary:
Custom made P90 prototype
Recommended
Upgrades:
Archon's NEW Revolutionary 200 Round Gravity fed hopper
3 point tact sling
Remote line for air (to reduced bulky feeling and weight)
Strengths: Accuracy
Sturdy construction
The feel of the gun
Cosmetic (looks)
price


Weaknesses: Little bulky
Matinence is time consuming
Not much for upgrades (barrels especially)
No Sight-rail



Review: Whats not to like about this gun, not much. It basically depends on what type of gun one likes, and the price one wants to spend.

Prefences:

If you would like an assult type riffle and you have $130 to spend this is a great gun to keep in mind. Its not that heavy if you use a remote line to a tank on your back. I would say however, that this gun is more directed at woodsball or casual games.

Firing:

It has a nice feel and has a high accuracy when firing medium distance (130' and under). If your not sure about the weight I suggest that you take a trip to a sporting good store and get a feel for it before you buy. I'm not sure what others mean when they say it's loud, it's not really that loud. If you dig gravety feed hoppers you should take a look at the one mentioned above, it works great. If you like automated hopper's I would suggest a cyclone (it's powered by the guns exaust).

Maintence:

This isn't exactly as hard as everyone makes it out to be. Although it is time consuming, the gun comes with a guide. So if your not the gun nut you wish you were, the manual will walk you through it.

Upgrades:

I can't find much out there, certainly not factory. Some suggest putting a rail on it yet I can't seem to justify voiding the warranty by drilling holes in the gun. I wouldn't mind a longer barrel but this one works just fine.

UPDATE:

Well here's the thing, the sight is too low on the gun, its hard to aim with a mask on. So now, I too, put a rail on it for a red dot scope. I highly recommed the a remote line though, not just for weight, but manuverability as well.
Conclusion: I would reccommed this gun, the strengths outweigh the weaknesses. I'm sure upgrades are coming if not factory some third party will come thru with them. I can't stress enough that one can read all day long through the these reviews but, you really need to get the feel for one at a sporting goods store to come up with your final decision.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 12th, 2009 at 6:20 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AlphaBlack Saturday, February 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann model 98 the model has bit more kick than the alpha black. But it is 9 years older to.
Marker Setup: I use an alpha black tactical verison and i got an e grip, cycone feed, lightning rod, vortex mod, 16 recon rifled barrel, polished internals, and aluminum power tube modefiyed to fit wicked bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Wicked bolt, remote, and polished internals.
Strengths: Very accurat.
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy.
Review: I love this gun ive had it for a bit over a year i play useually every two weeks and have only ever had broken 2 balls and only because it was complete garbag paint it is also a very accurat gun at 35 yards i hit my friend right between the eyes the stock barrel u get with the gun is very accurat i wouldnt recomend getting a new barrel this is the perfect woodsball gun.
Conclusion: If u play woodsball i would recomend this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 14th, 2009 at 7:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

whitemanjess Sunday, January 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock set up that comes with it
Recommended
Upgrades:
I am getting ready to put a cyclone feed on it I think that will help a lot. also using a remote line gets the weight of the tank off the marker witch helps a lot
Strengths: Very accurate out of the box dose not need a lot of changes
Weaknesses: Mabey the stock but not really solid marker
Review: this marker is awsome comes with a lot of nice upgrades out of the factory very acurate after you match a good paint with it it is a tough marker also you don't feel like you are going to break it. I would run a remote line on it to get the weight off of it you also have more manuverability with the remote line
Conclusion: It is a very good marker for the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eagle1_Division Saturday, January 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5
Spyder MR-1
Spyder MR-2
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom Cyclone Feed
Tactical 3-point adjustable Strap
16'' J&J Ceramic Berral
Recommended
Upgrades:
16" J&J Ceramic Berral for Tippman 98 Custom; A lot of the accuracy I will mention is probobly related to this.
Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Good Looking
Affordable
Never Chopped
Au Naturale' Magazene Toolkit.
Weaknesses: Heavy
Semi-Auto Mechanic-This is a woodsball marker.
Hopper Neck Screw (see review)
Review: Last Christmas I got this gun, and I thought I heard angels singing(not really :p). I was excited and the alpha black lived up to terms. It was somewhat heavy, and it's really a beast with a 24-ounce Co2 tank on the back. If mabye you are used to sniper accuracy you might complain, but otherwise, it's preatty good. I want to also note that the magazene is a toolkit, and it even comes with allen wrenches and a small pouch of lubricant. You may think that it's annoying that it won't carry a squegee, which you would probobly want most on the battlefield, right? Well, with any other marker, yes, but with this, no. I'll be surprised the day that my alpha black chops a paintball.

My first game with the gun I had plenty of problems because I wasn't yet used to the cyclone feed, but just today I got the hang of it.

The last game I've played I've devistated the opposition in part due to this marker. Me and an enemy were shooting back and forth from long range, I noticed that his paintballs were travelling somewhat slow at this distance... They were going so slow, in fact, that they bounced off the ground... However, the Alpha Black had NO such problems at all. Though that may be somewhat attributed to paintballs, here's something that's really nice about this gun.

A few rounds later I found myself on the low ground. I was pinned behind cover with two enemies behind a bunker a long distance off. mabye about 50-80 feet. However, just going back and forth bunker shooting, I managed to out BOTH of them, in less than 1/4 of a hopper. I was surprised to find that the gun was so accurate that I sniped them off when from about 70 feet away I had the area of a helmet as a target. That may be good, but what really makes it great Is I fired mabye... 18 shots at each of them?

After the game we were shooting targets and I noticed something really neat... If you buy it with the shroud take heed: the gunsight actually works! It's not just to look neat, it will actually guide you right onto target, and with the accuracy of the gun, it could be deadly.

And one of my fav. things about the marker so far is this; I've never chopped a single paintball with this marker. For a few games I was using a Spyder Force-fed hopper, and it still refused to chop. And in all the games i've played with it it simply hasn't chopped.

When I take it apart for maintanance I notice that it's really intuitively designed. Heck, thus far, I havn't actually needed to take it apart for maintance, it's had no problems, accept mabye it made an annoying sound when I cocked it so I had to oil it once.
BTW, when it comes to maintanance, it'll save a lot of time and energy to note that the stock cap (or butt cap) can be attached to either side of the marker during dis-assembly. Just simply press down on it while removing the top half of the marker.

However, one thing I most note against it is the elbow feed/cyclone feed base. At the top it uses a small button-thing. If it is pressed down, then you can slide the elbow feed, or cyclone feed, on. However, once it is on, you have to loosen the associated screw (the one right at the base of the button), pull the lever (aka button) up, and re-tighten the screw. I found this somewhat annoying as during one of my games I had not properlly done this, and the hopper came off, and wouldn't attach. For a lot of the game I had to prop the cyclone feed against my marker with my hand...
Conclusion: This is truly a tippman gun. Playing woodsball and with a strap I find no problems with it. It's accurate, durable, and intimidating(esp. to newbies!). I got a lot of respect once I got things going (to be more specific, with the cyclone feed) with this marker. I can also say that I am no longer thinking of buying an alternative marker I was thinking of getting... Once I got the cyclone feed going I truly fell in love with the performance of this marker. It did have the issue of the attachment button, but it shouldn't be a problem if you've done it right. It's a really nice gun, it has awsome accuracy, to get better accuracy you'd have to get a MUCH more expensive marker, which brings me to mention the affordable price of it. Which raises my score up to a 9/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 24th, 2009 at 8:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

omg123 Saturday, November 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months25 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 coustom
Marker Setup: tippmann alpha black with neckstrap and 16 inch sniper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Its freakin strong! Badass look
Weaknesses: Upgrades cost alot.
Review: I bought this gun cuz my old gun wasnt coustomizeable and it was a cheap price. I just didnt like the standred barrel so I brought a 16 inch sniper barrel. I just shot it today and I was shootin a rope from 20 ft. away and the paintballs where breaking on them. I dont know why all these sissys are complain about the weight I was in a 6 hour game and i didnt feel heaveyness till the end of the game and im only 13. So i would just get a new barrel for it and then that gun makes the 98c look like a freakin pea shooter.
Conclusion: Its a freakin monster!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media