paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Manufactured by Tippmann Sports, U.S. Army Paintball markers and accessories are designed to help you take your game to the highest level of realistic play possible at a great value. At home and abroad, the U.S. Army has utilized Tippmann paintball markers in its training to emphasize the importance of fire-control measures and cover and concealment procedures. No other training device can replicate this sense of combat realism in a totally safe environment. With these markers, you will be able to play smart?and play strong. Army Strong.

Features:

Officially licensed product of the U.S. Army
Realistic military appearance
M16 style six position collapsible stock
M16 style shroud with built in sight
High performance 11 inch barrel
Integrated carry handle
Removable magazine that doubles as a tool kit
In line bolt system
All aluminum die cast receiver
Stainless steel gas line
Quick release feeder elbow
Product Availability 
The Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
ubersuave Wednesday, November 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
tippmann x7
smart parts SP8
Marker Setup: - US Army Alpha Black Tactical
- Cyclone Feed Kit
- X7 Low-Pro Offset Hopper
- Phanton RIS Handguard
- RAP4 Red Dot Scope
- AIM Green Laser
- 21" Smart Parts Tactical Barrel
- CP 110ci 4500psi N2 Tank
- PMI Remote w/ Quick Disconnect
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Marker Sling
- Cyclone Feed
- Carry Handle Scope Mount
Strengths: Definitely worth every single penny spent. For what you get stock, no marker beats it.
Weaknesses: Wish it had mounting rails or a removable carry handle.
Review: I've used my ABT about 12x in a span of a year, and I've yet to have any concerns, besides the norm. So far, four seasons, no problem. I have multiple barrels for it, but I still use the stock barrel occassionally. With the cyclone upgrade, I really don't waste as much N2 as I used to, even though I do have a huge tank. I use this marker more than my X7 now. Just hoping Tippmann/US Army will make more upgrades than other after-market makers.
Conclusion: Not much to think about. Just get it. It's perfect as a primary or secondary setup.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ghostcom Sunday, October 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
BT series
Tippman A-5/X-7
Marker Setup: 2004 Viper M-1 Military
2004 Black DELTA .68
2008 Tippmann Alpha Black Tactical
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sling
Better CAR stock
Strengths: solid construction
accuracy
size
98 Internals
Price


Weaknesses: Plastic pieces
Plastic stock
Review: Why I bought the TAB

Since September of 2004, I have been using a Viper M1, and the old girl needed to be retired to duty as a Big Scenario game only marker. I originally was not going to buy a TAB; I thought that the TAB marker was just an body kit for the M-98, like how Cadillac uses GMC SUV’s for their luxury SUV models. However, that was until one of the Trauma RN’s that I work with bought one. We spend an hour painting up my backyard, and I was in love! The TAB shot with great accuracy and looked like my favorite M-16: the Colt Commando. I original was going to buy a TACAMO Type 68 II or a body kit for the A5, but for a $130. I could not beat the TAB. I wanted a marker that was designed to look like the real-steel gun that it was patterned after, not another plastic-fantastic kit, and a marker that I did not feel the need to upgrade or change, just a good stock weapon. I bought this marker for my 32nd Birthday, on 08/30 for $130 from Paintball Players Supply in North Richard Hills in Texas, the Marker is #0026732.

The Marker Review
When one reads the Good/Bad/Ugly above, they might say “that the marker’s strengths are the same as the weakness?”, and this is the Zen of the Tippmann Alpha Black (TAB). If you like the Custom-98, enjoy seeing your marker on the field being used by others, do not want to upgrade it, than the TAB is your marker. However, if those are all negatives to you, than the TAB is a hard sell. The marker is also, by its very nature, is a pure milsim PB marker, which will turn some people off. The best selling point is when you hold the TAB in your hands, you know it is more than just a newbie marker or a simply Rec marker, but rather a direct stab at the expensive after-marker kits for the A5 and the X7.
For an entry level marker, (due to price) you are getting quiet a lot, and ends the “weaver-madness” associated with having rails and feeling a need to fill them with lasers, scopes, and lights. That $130 gets you a simple little Commando marker. I was deeply impressed by the fit and feel of the marker, especially the barrel shroud; it is thicker than you see in pictures. The body is a mix of anodized metal and plastic, while the CAR stock/flaux magazine is fully plastic.
The real weaknesses of the TAB marker is that is very common, in my AO of America, North Texas, most shops are selling out of the TABs and I have seen several on the field, and the plastic CAR stock and magazine. I have several CAR stocks on PB markers, and this by far is the weakness of the bunch, even my Viper M1 stock is much stronger. Another weakness is the stock faux magazine, which is a plastic clam-shell that was designed to hold tools and such kit. This is the part that I worry about the most in the future years, will the release tabs just break off one day? However, it is the weakness link in the TAB marker, and I was attempted to put a short-X7 M16 magazine into the TAB magwell to give it a more Vietnam-era Colt Model-609 look, however, this failed, due to the difference in the magwells, I did add a magpull to help with pulling it off.

Field Review

I used the TAB on Sept. 27, 2008 on the Fun on the Run Field in Fort Worth TX, with my 3.5oz tank, all types of balls from two year old D-DAY balls to cheap sporting good store balls and reached about 93degrees. The marker was prefect, it shot well, under hot weather conditions, was very on-target, and I very impressed, and I did not see another TAB! I played three games of Speedball, two deep woods, and a game assaulting a castle. I was about to pick people of the top row of the castle walls from my cover in the woods! Three things though, the hooded velocity adjuster is a bad design (use the largest Allen wrench that came with it!), the 3.5oz was drained after 200balls, and the slide adjuster for the CAR stock FELL OFF! No joke! Tippmann covered that and I asked them to send me another flax magazine as well, it just looks it will break given the chance! I did put a mag-pull on the bottom of my mag to give it some protection. Overall I was deeply impressed with the TAB and knew that I made the right choice! I would not take this marker beyond the rec day play...big games like D-DAY require another marker.

Conclusion: If you are looking for a solidly constructed Colt Commando looking marker, than you have arrived, the TAB is your marker. For $130 is marker is tough to beat, and you can put more money toward another project rather than mods or bits of kit.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

death3291993 Wednesday, October 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Tippman A-5
Marker Setup: Ion w/ Blackheart E-Grip, All American 14 inch barrel, and a Halo hopper.
Tippman Alpha Black
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tactical Upgrades, as there's not much else to go with.
Strengths: Very Accurate, Realistic, Durability, Air Consuption.
Weaknesses: Weight, Not many upgrades
Review: I bought the Alpha Black because I felt it was time to step up to a new woodsball marker. Of course it is very durable, sturdy as a rock. It doesn't eat air, so it's very conservative. It's very accurate, but with a slow firing rate. It is slightly heavy, but hey, we all need a workout sometime. Other than that I love the marker, haven't had a single issue with it yet.
Conclusion: If I had to go back I probably would have bought an A-5 or a 98 just because they're very customizeable. The weight does sometimes become a problem. Other than that I have no problems with the marker, just the customizing and the weight.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twodumb2live Saturday, September 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS '05
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical-
3-point tactical sling
Remote Line

(sometimes I use my dad's as backup)
backup-
spyder pilot ACS '05
feed neck
Viewloader Quantum electric hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new Raptor barrels and a better grip. buying a rail wouldn't be bad too.

Strengths: Ruggedness
Weaknesses: No Add-ons yet!
Review: The Alpha Black has the same innards as the Tippmann 98's but has a tactical exterior body.

For me the weight was really good. Because it makes milsim (military simulation) senario's more military. You might want to invest in a REMOTE LINE and a TACTICAL SLING because if you don't, you'll have a Heck of a time crawling with a 20oz tank. And without a tactical sling you'll be sweating even while standing in a hot day. Everything about the Apha Black is easy and simple. For the remote line, when you put it on it will practically sip on the Co2 like a Prius, I'll tell you why, when you tip you AB forward, all the gas in the tank will build up in the Co2 line and when you fire it liquid Co2 will come out the barrel(the white stuff). If you have a remote line the gas won't build up in the line.

The only thing I don't like about the Alpha Black would be when you first open it up and put it back, the spring for the feedneck holder will give you a big headache. But after about a couple times the spring will obey you. Scratch that, the other thing that is bad about the AB would be the add-ons. There aren't any yet. I'm waiting for the 16inch Raptor Barrel to come out which is made specially for the alpha black and also the combat stock.
Conclusion: Invest in a Remote Line and aTactical Sling. I'll give it a 9 out of 10 because it doesn't have any add-ons yet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kam0837 Monday, September 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical
Red Dot
Cyclone Feed
Offset A5 Hopper
14" J&J Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Grip
Cyclone Feed
Remote Line
Strengths: Accurate
Looks Great
Solid Construction
Price
Tippmann Quality
Weaknesses: No pre-drilled hole in the carry handle for sight mounts
Maintenance
Review: When I first got the ABT I ran it completely stock. It preformed amazing. The 11" stock barrel was very accurate, one of the most accurate stock barrels I've ever used. I later added the cyclone feed and the sight. The feed was very easy to install and since there was no pre-drilled hole in the handle, I had to do it myself. All in all it was hard to upgrade the gun at all. The gun shoots very strait, and has a good solid construction. Taking the gun apart was a hassle for me. All the parts were very small and some of them were held under pressure by springs. I've heard most Tippmann guns were like that, and you just have to get used to it. Overall it is a great gun. For anyone looking for a good milsim marker, this is a very good marker for the price.
Conclusion: It an excellent gun for beginners and pros alike. Its easy to upgrade and is very cheap. I would recommend this marker to anyone wanting a good milsim gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

biggz45 Monday, September 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have used an old Winchester and a Spyder... this dominates them
Marker Setup: ABT
Tacamo archon hopper
20 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't feel it needs any
possibly new barrel
Strengths: Looks Badass
Accurate with right paintballs
No chops
Weaknesses: Can't think of much
Review: I bought this gun along with a new mask, 20oz CO2 tank, and hopper for only a total of $160 on ebay, which at the time was by far the best deal I could find and I believe it was well worth it. I tested it with some cheap paintballs which were terrible in this gun... I believe they were too small and just junk, so i went to a local outdoors shop and bought some more expensive camo paintballs and that did the trick. With those the gun could shoot a nice 6 inch pattern at about 45 yds OHH YEAH. Some complain about the weight, but I don't have a problem with playing with it and I am 16 @ about 145 lbs. This may be becuase I am used to carrying a muzzleloader twice the size all day through the woods, but whatever. The only compaint i could have is that the stock it comes with is too short, it could be 4 inches longer in my opinion, but like i say this could be because i am used to real guns that have longer stocks. I've only played with it once, but it was for a few hours with some friends. All I have to say about that is I only got out once while I tagged them 11 times :)
Conclusion: Great gun at a great price... Get it if you would like a new woodsball gun and have some money, you won't regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPARTAN 227 Saturday, August 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
X7,A5, 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Alpha Black, BT-16 Barrel kit, 3point sling, OPSGEAR : A3 Flat Top Removable Carry Handle, remote, 98 cyclone, ACS
Recommended
Upgrades:
what ever you want, this marker shoots great out of the box
Strengths: Tippmann Made
M4 look
great feel
Weaknesses: No RT
Unmovable Sight rail
Review: The Alpha Black shoots great out of the box with a good M4 look. The marker is a 98 C on the inside with the mill out for the anti chop system and electos. The Alpha Black shoots just like a new tippmann 98C but with great accuacy because of the extended barrel.

The price of $129, you just can not beat. Although this marker is not made in the US, it still has the craftmanship of tippmann and has little to no flaws.

My only com plaint about this marker is there is no milled out place for the RT, I personally think the RT is better than the electronic but thats simply opion.

I plan on upgrading it with an M203 launcher and several little tactic devises here and there.
Conclusion: The Alpha Black is amazing for the price and overall shots great. I give the Alpha Black a 9 becuase there is no milling for the RT, but this gun will probably be my 1st of choice next to my x7 and a5s.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wes1731 Tuesday, August 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro Carbine (old rental gun)
BT-4 Combat, not bad but the trigger was a bit tight for my liking.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Bravo One/Alpha Black Tactical
Modded 98c Cyclone feed system
Recommended
Upgrades:
98C Cyclone Feed System
Strengths: Carry handle
Built-in sight
Clip holds allen keys and oil.
Weaknesses: A bit heavy with full hopper and Co2
Can't add double trigger
Review: This gun is a nice mil-sim gun for a nice price too. You can put a 98C Cyclone feed system on this gun with some minor modifications, which I strongly suggest you do. You can't properly look down the sight with your mask on unless you hold the gun out straight in front of you, which looks ridiculous. The gun is pretty heavy compared to my friend's BT-4 Combat, but It's the only gun i've ever had, so It doesn't seem very heavy to me. One VERY nice thing about the Alpha Black is that the clip can hold your allen keys and the small tube of gun oil that comes with the marker. To take apart the gun, all you need is one allen key! No screwdrivers or different sized allen keys! One of the bad things about this marker is that you can't upgrade to a double trigger, only an e-grip. This is because the trigger guard is built right into the body of the gun.
Conclusion: If you're a beginner or are looking for a cheap, well made gun, this is the way to go! Excellent marker all-round!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 26th, 2008 at 1:45 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xxxSicko13xxx Saturday, August 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader highvoltage
Marker Setup: alpha black e-grip stock
Homemade sling and remote
red dot site
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber maybe
Strengths: The Alpha Balck is very accurate, light-weight, and intimidating!
Weaknesses: none that I now of.
Review: Well hell where do I start. this gun is one bad mother f*cka to start off the stock barrel is accurate as hell, at fifty feet I can get head shots like crazy. At seventhy five feet I can still put 3 to my enemies chest just as long as I've got a paintball that is size .689 and the velocity between 270 and 280. Some people like it higher then that, but after 280 it loses accuracy- the balls start curving. Its been suggested that you upgrade the barrel on this gun, personally I feel the stock barrel is accurate as hell. in a way I would like to see if you could put an expansion chamber on this bad boy. But I don't think you can-however, if someone out there knows how just hit me up. maintenance on this gun can be difficulty for newbies but after taking it apart a couple of times you catch on pretty quick. Its best not to field strip it though because there are a few springs and pin rods that are small and are easily misplaced.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone who wants a gun that is not high tech or expensive. I give the Alpha Black a 10/10. Straight stock you've got a winner with the Alpha Black.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 16th, 2008 at 8:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mitchell_a_ok Sunday, August 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical
Sling
V-force Profiler, Charcoal
Spyder 4+1 harness
20 oz. CO2 tank
PMI quick disconnect remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote (If your using 20 oz. or compressed air)
Sling (even though it's not as heavy as you think it'd be from the reviews)
Rocket Cock II
Cyclone feed
red dot
Strengths: Accurate,
looks
Weaknesses: Somewhat heavy if you are planning to play for extended games
Review: I used my new ABT yesterday and I have to tell you guys, this thing is amazing! I got 15 guys out and got out only twice, Once because I ran out of paint. truly though my previous marker (spyder sonix pro) was a P.O.S and this marker completely blows that thing away! I am also very pleased to hear about the new AB-compatible cyclone feed system will be coming out VERY soon, with the drop in e-grip out in September, Tippmann seems to really like the sales they've made, so more upgrades to come! YAY
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this marker to my friends and I think that they would love it as well
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media