paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical / Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical
[ View Photos (31) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Manufactured by Tippmann Sports, U.S. Army Paintball markers and accessories are designed to help you take your game to the highest level of realistic play possible at a great value. At home and abroad, the U.S. Army has utilized Tippmann paintball markers in its training to emphasize the importance of fire-control measures and cover and concealment procedures. No other training device can replicate this sense of combat realism in a totally safe environment. With these markers, you will be able to play smart?and play strong. Army Strong.

Features:

Officially licensed product of the U.S. Army
Realistic military appearance
M16 style six position collapsible stock
M16 style shroud with built in sight
High performance 11 inch barrel
Integrated carry handle
Removable magazine that doubles as a tool kit
In line bolt system
All aluminum die cast receiver
Stainless steel gas line
Quick release feeder elbow
Product Availability 
The Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
cchadppherd Saturday, May 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 C, A-5
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical, Handle, nitrogen tank, 20 oz tank for backup
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Grip (Buy it with e-grip to save money)
98C 16in Barrel
Strengths: Sharp Accuracy
Very Cheap price
Looks and feel
Thick and hard


Weaknesses: Weight, but not a big deal, good exercise
Loud
Really No weaknesses
Review: Ordered this online
Once i laid my eyes on it for the 1st time, i couldn't believe how realistic it looks, and how it feels
Once i started shooting, i realized it was just like the 98 Custom yet more accurate due the barrel it comes with. I fired 1000 balls during the arena, not one ball chopped.
I tried this during speed ball ... lulz, and was surprised that i shot 6 out of 10 guys during one game. But i still find the alpha black better for woodsball
I decided to test this gun even more, i realized i shot 2000 balls and the c02 is still all good!
Range is alright but you can always tune up the velocity.
Great for all types of players wether you are a beginner to the paintball world or played your whole life.
Conclusion: Highly recommended
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Governator Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: I use the basic Alpha Black Tactical setup, but I installed a foregrip on it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a foregrip if you are a small person. (You cannot just put one on the Tactical, you have to do some crazy duct- tape work) I also recommend a strap.
Strengths: Extremely Accurate
Realistic Feel
East Handling
Weaknesses: A bit heavy
Troublesome maintenance
Review: When I recieved this magnificient gun I was amazed at how realistic it felt. From a distance someone might actually call the police on you, so be careful where you take it. Anyways, I slapped a nearly empty C02 canister onto the gun, and went outside for a test fire. The paintballs were flying across my field like it was their mission. I could hit a very small target from about 60ft away with an almost empty C02 canister. If I had a full C02 tank, the painballs would probably be able to fly accurately to about 100yds away. After that I tried firing it with a mask on. The mask will limit your aiming ability, but not by much (you'll probably end up getting a neck cramp!) When holding the gun for an extended period of time, it will start to get a little heavy, so a strap is reccomended for long paint sessions.
Conclusion: I recommend this product for anyone who is new (especially) and anyone who wants a good, solid, affordable gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beyoka Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor, spyder MR3 & MR1, tiberius 8.
Marker Setup: spyder victor w/16 inch barrel with spray painted mod body.
MR3 w/14inch barrel, dot sight, Q-loader.
tiberius 8.
alpha black tippmann tactical w/16inch barrel and hand grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
would recommend a rifled barrel that rap4 offers with the bigger muzzle shroud for more realistic look.
Strengths: Not fragile. Accurate. No chopping.
Weaknesses: Sticky trigger. NOT quick strip. Butt stock is plastic.
Review: Ok so i purchased this marker because i saw it and i said "150 for a tactical marker? Not bad!" so i fire a few shots just to check it out and it was "ok" then i take it apart to oil it up for the next day and BOOM! I was expecting something like a spyder maybe a little different (never owned or maintained a tippmann prior) and did i get a surprise! it was like brain surgery! from the moment i opened it to the moment i got it put back together and to function properly with all the pieces in the right places it took no less than 3 hours!

After i got it together i slid the chamber a few times to let the oil slick it down then set it aside for the next day. The next day i noticed a drastic improvement (due to the oil i suppose). The moment i stepped onto the field with the gun people were already cringing in fear and looking at my piece with awe. During the game i noticed various things about the gun. it dose not chop paint no matter how hard you may try. It's accurate (i have used 98's before and they are a "pray and spray" weapon in my opinion.) and i like it.

What i noticed on the down side and a serious flaw in my eyes is this gun has a sticky trigger. When firing fast the rigger sticks just far enough back that you can't pull it again. In the middle of a firefight you can imagine how bad this can be. the gun is heavy (heavy compared to most) but it's a tactical gun so what can you expect? The standard barrel shroud is made of some cheaper plastic so i would recommend an upgrade unless you want it broken.
Conclusion: All in all i give this product a 9 because it's so difficult to take apart but when you do get it cleaned and put back together it was worth every hour you spent on it. the accuracy of a spyder built into the sturdy and dependable frame of a tippmann. This is one great gun!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

THE BURGER KING Saturday, May 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom 98
A-5
X-7
Marker Setup: cyclone hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward
Strengths: It is a tippmann
Weaknesses: Possibly tear down
Review: WOW. This marker was awsome. I paid 145 forthe gun and 50 for the hopper. This marker appears to be a cross between a 98 and a x-7. The accuracy blew me away. Just testing it out on a brick wall at about 75 feet the grouping was about 6 inches. Is fairly light and manueverable. I dont play with remotes and would recommend a drop forward. The styling was as close to the real deal as you can get without spending 500+. I was most impreessed by the accuracy of the stock barrel.
Conclusion: Strongly recommend this marker. You will not find a better mil-sim anywhere near the price if at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hammer sarg Sunday, April 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used the tippmann 98 custom its nice but not as good its got a 16 cp barrel and the accuracy on my alpha is just as good with stock barrel my friend has an a-5 which is nice a gas hog but id rather have and alpha black my brother has a triumph xl which is a nice sniper gun but its plastic
Marker Setup: alpha black tactical stock barrel and 16 inch cp barrel 20 oz co2
tippmann 98 custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a longer 16inch m16 barrel stock one is kind of short
Strengths: ITs nice come with upgrades accurate good sight
Weaknesses: Heavy cant put in a sight no rails
Review: I think its a good gun for the woodsball and scenario player cheap durable accurate nice once your buddies see it theyll wish they had one themselves you dont wanna fall under
one fire sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo sweet i love this gun its so sweet nice cool real like beutiful good aim acucrate
Conclusion: You should definitley get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jss2590 Friday, April 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom's
spyder pilot
Tippmann Alpha
Marker Setup: BT 14 Inch M -16 APEX Barrel
Stock everything else
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its pretty set right out of the box. , But the APEX Barrel adds great distance and accuracy on it.
Strengths: Accurate, Durrable even with the Clip on, Sturdy feel
Weaknesses: Not enough upgrades yet!!
Review: I love this gun so far. It can be alittle confusing to clean at first but not too bad. Right now im trying to find a weaver that will fit for the gun so I can Place a Scope on. The clip stays on with no problems if you know how to handle the gun right. You do not hold this gun any where near the clip. You hold the Schroud not the base of the gun. I would not recomend this gun to a younger person because it can be a little heavy over time, but for an adult the weight is nothing. Great gun if you like to only take precice shots. This gun is not a good sprayer gun. Still a Great gun in any speed ball or air ball cources if you handle it right. I can not say there is any flaws to this gun besides no tippmann made upgrades yet. Its Perfect!

UPDATE!!!!- I have kept my marker in great condition, but some how now when I screw in my O2 gas it leaks every where. I called tippmann, and told them I think its an O-ring in the internal valve, and they agreed thats most likely the cause. They Sent me a Whole new complete valve. I made the repairs, but still leaks but I can only hear it I do not see it shoot out the barrel now, and only the gas line feels cold, so I called Tippmann again and they told me to send it in. If any one has the same problem let me know.
Conclusion: If you some one who takes accurate shots and not just a sprayer then get this for sure.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 12th, 2008 at 2:09 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

insofar Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 98C
The Alpah black can stand up to any other Tippmann product!
Marker Setup: Tippmann Alpha Black Tactical
Modified 98C cyclone feed with X7 Hopper
Remote
20oz Co2 Tank
Custom woodland digital paint job (stencils from www.tacticalcamo.com)
Recommended
Upgrades:
98C 16'' M4 Barrel and Shroud
Working on modifing the presure trigger from a 98 to fit the Alpha Black
Strengths: Sturdy design! Only one ball break in barrel!
Has an amazing feel to it.
Weaknesses: Adjustable stock trigger fell off durring play, contacted Tippmann they are sending me a stock!
Review: I really love this marker.

I would recommend it to anyone!
The price is amazing and the gun is a well built marker. The internals are the same as the 98 so there is not much new to its workings.

I have found lots of forums with step by step instuctions on how to mod this gun to fit the cyclone feed. I highly recommend buying one for this gun.

Also the carry handle is not removable but you can take a hacksaw to it and install a full length rail to the top.

I belive as time wears on Tippmann will be releasing more upgrades for this marker.
Get out and buy one!!!!
Conclusion: Excellent product! Highly reccomended!

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brunny75 Sunday, April 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c , tippmann x7 , tippmann a5 , spyder mr-1
Marker Setup: alpha black tactical,q loader,32mm red dot sight,remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
14 0r 16 inch barrel,q loader or offset hopper adapter (for sight use)
Strengths: It has a real gun look and feel
Weaknesses: the gun is verry loud !!! Due to stock barrel
Review: This gun is a great value , the look and feel are just like the reel thing and the top carry handle will accept a standerd ar-15,m-16 scope mount if you drill a small hole for the bolt,the gun does not use a-5 barrels,any 98 barrel will thread in but you have to make a spacer for the shroud, a aftermarket barrel will give you a little more accuracy but is a must for noise reduction,the internal parts of the gun such as power tube, springs, etc. are all out of the 98 so upgrades and parts are easy to come by ,useing a remote line will not only keep the tank out of your way but act as a expansion chamber witch cant be added without heavy mods to the body
Conclusion: This product is a must for any mil-sil , woods ball player
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quatro64 Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year133 of 137 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Tippmann Custom 98
Spyder's (MR-1, MR-2)
JT Tac5 Recon
Viewloader Triton 2
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Alpha Black Tactical
Pure Energy Remote Line
Pure Energy 20oz CO2 Tank
VL 200 Hopper
UTG Tactical Vest with MOLLE system on back.
3 point tactical sling

[ADDENDUM]

Zap/Archon 200 Hopper
Custom Paint-job/Camo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Line
Tactical Vest (MOLLE on back side to incorporate Tank Pouch)
RAP4 MOD Tank Pouch
VL 200 Hopper or Archon 200 Hopper
Specter CST Tactical Sling
Strengths: Accuracy
Look/Feel
Intimidation Factor
Mil-Sim
CO2 Sipper
Design
Price
Weaknesses: No detachable Carry Handle.
Could not sight down it easily with mask on.
Review: When I first set out to purchase a marker I was looking for something that looked and felt like a military weapon. I love Mil-Sim (Military Simulation). Not that I think anything I do truly emulates what our troops do every day for us, but I like to get as close as possible. My searching was gravitating towards the Tippman A5 since it is so customizable and has the most diverse upgrades. But lets face it, A5's are downright expensive. I work in the helping professions and spending $300 to $500 on a paintball marker (after upgrades) is hard to rationalize to my wife.

After about 2 months of searching for the right marker for the right deal I stumbled across a Tippmann vendor on an online auction that was selling something called an Alpha Black (AB). *hmm This caught my eye. It is the officially licensed marker of the Army. *hmm So I knew where to go to find good reviews....www.pbreview.com. Reviews were great. Everybody was loving theirs and only seemed to complain about the weight and the maintenance.

The only reason I didn't jump on and hit the "Buy It Now" button was the complaints of marker weight and convincing my wife. After addressing the latter I purchased it. I sweat bullets about how heavy it was going to be and after a very short period of time, it arrived. Now, we are asked not to attack other reviewers and I need all to know that I am not attacking the other reviews, but instead offering another perspective. I did not find the Alpha Black to be at all heavy. But to make sure, I handed it to my wife (I did not tell her anything about these reviews) and the first words out of her mouth were "wow, this is really light."

But, for the sake of attaining Mil-Sim (which incidentally reduced any additional weight I could have had), I purchased a RAP4 CO2 MOLLE mod tank pouch to go on the back of my UTG tactical vest and I inherited a Pure Energy remote line from my brother-in-law. I included in this a 3 point tactical sling.

[ADDENDUM] The remote setup has worked amazingly well. It has put the tank on my back and out of my way. The marker is very light especially with the 3 point sling's assistance. I have had no problems with the remote line getting snagged.[ END ADDENDUM]

Please know, I am no paintball guru with no special powers or amazing gift at paint-slinging. I love to play and look professional while I do it, but I am quite convinced that when I pulled out my AB and set up my rig I heard about three people gasp. We took pictures of ourselves and I saw what I looked like. Even though I am not a scary or intimidating person, I looked very intimidating and lets face it, intimidation can come to your advantage. Sure, you need to be aggressive, make continual progressive advances, and utilize flanking maneuvers, but it always helps when the opposing team is scared to get in front of your line of fire. [ADDENDUM] A player, when I had my rig assembled at the last match, asked if I was trying to kill people....for real. [END ADDENDUM]

But enough of this story telling. Lets get to the facts. Accuracy was the most incredible I have ever seen. I have consistently used Custom 98's and Spyder markers. My AB could give me almost 15 to 20 extra feet of distance compared to the 98's I was going up against. This kept them pinned down at much farther ranges. The accuracy was stunning. To originally test it out, I fired the AB at single pipe of a pipe fence (approx. 3 inches wide) from 55 feet (approx. 18 yards). Out of 8 rounds fired, 3 met their target. But before you get bent outta shape, walk off 55 feet and imagine shooting a pipe 3 inches wide. All other shots were near misses. I was firing Xball Recreational Paintballs and Sterling Competition Paintballs. I do not consider either of these to be high grade balls and they preformed nicely. This is particularly beneficial when, like me, you don't play enough to rationalize buying extremely expensive balls. [ADDENDUM] So far I have used the two above mentioned paintballs as well as the Spyder Competition balls and I have irrefutably found that the Sterling Competition balls are the best so far (even over the more expensive Spyder paintballs).[END ADDENDUM]

After turning around from that test fire at the pipe, there were about 8 white faces (they were on the other team) and 6 people asking to shoot my AB. The first question someone asked me about it was, naturally, how much it cost. I got it for $130 (that's shipping included) on the online auction. One guy noted that he had just bought his [I did not recognize the brand] for $100 and would have gladly have scrounged up another 30 bucks to get an AB. I gave out the information on the seller to about 5 people that day. Incidentally, it should be noted that I am not the seller nor am I associated with the seller in any way. I am just a customer that was genuinely impressed with the marker he/she sold me.

Functionality in the field was awesome. The gun feels as solid as a rock. The aluminum is high quality and feels as durable as a Tippmann should. [ADDENDUM] I have put this marker through a total of 5 high intensity, high impact woodsball games. I am not gentle with my markers once the matches have begun and submit them to what I consider to be considerable stresses including finding cover quickly, crawling through grass, dirt, trees, and briar (if you are from Texas and some other areas you know how nasty briar can be). It's quality and durability have surprised me (as most Tippmann's do).[END ADDENDUM] Telescopic stocks are fantastic for woodsball gaming. I shortened the stock for CQB (close quarter battle) and it was awesomely snug. I noticed that my mask prevented me from sighting effectively down the rail sights, but the way I ball I rarely use or need direct sighting. With the 3 point tactical sling, it fell comfortably to the left side of my body allowing me to kneel or squat (behind cover I mean) without the barrel getting in the dirt

The marker worked flawlessly with my remote line and 20 oz tank. We played 5 scenarios and I fired over 1100 rounds through the AB. It did not chop a single ball. [ADDENDUM] Due to balls getting stuck in the feed neck of my VL 200 (not the markers fault obviously), I bought an Archon/Zap 200 hopper and have solved 9 out of 10 of my stuck feed neck problems. [END ADDENDUM] I limited my firing to, on average, 3-6 shot bursts and had no problems with cycling or freezing. With the 20oz tank, I did not have to change tanks at all. As mentioned above, this gun sips on gas like a Japanese car. When I unscrewed the tank at the end of the matches, there was still a significant amount of air left in the tank. [ADDENDUM] I can push a total of 1500 rounds through this marker before I notice a degradation in performance (i.e. balls stopped breaking when they made contact with objects). [END ADDENDUM]

Though no paint broke in the barrel, I was effectively covered in paint from other players and this included my marker. Since I desire to see this marker last me a long time, I've resigned myself to tear it down after every game. There seems to be some fierce debate between reviewers about the difficulty in maintenance. I will admit that it does take a small amount of finesse to get it open and there are a substantial amount of very little parts. However, I have absolutely no proficiency in working on or repairing markers, or any other mechanical devices for all that matter, and I was easily able to get the case off, oil all of the internals, and get it back together [this took approx. 30 minutes]. And to answer the question you should be asking yourself...yes, I fired it afterwards and it worked perfectly. I've successfully torn it down a total of three times now and I feel like I have a pretty good understanding of where the internals go and how they work (thanks to Tippmann's very simple Custom 98 internals). [ADDENDUM] I have torn it down a total of 6 times now (one of those times I completely disassembled it all the way down to the frame so I could paint it) and it still functions. I have cut the amount of time needed to tear it down from the above mentioned 30 minutes to approximately 15 minutes (which includes tear down, oiling, and reassembly). [END ADDENDUM]
Conclusion: This marker can fit a variety of players and scenarios. If you like woodsball, I most certainly recommend this marker to anyone. If you are a person that enjoys Mil-Sim, I'm not sure you could get a better marker for the price.

And, if you're just a baller that wants to have fun, you don't really care about all the nerd stuff I'm into, and want a reliable inexpensive weapon, I recommend the Alpha Black to you.

If you're wanting that "edge" over your fellow woodsballers I haven't shot another gun that I recommend yet. With the accuracy to be precise, forks or "v's" in the trees become a viable option for head shots. It's no longer an issue of "can I hit them" and more of an issue of "where do I want to hit them" now.

The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because the administrators of this forum are right. There is no such thing as a "perfect" marker. So it should say something that I rate it a 9. It isn't perfect, but it got dang close in my opinion. And I'm pretty picky. [ADDENDUM] I've added a picture of my marker on pbreview.com (see above). [END ADDENDUM]
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 31st, 2009 at 11:30 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

bababoowee Wednesday, April 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Alpha Black with Qloader and remote coil, 14" barrel and laser sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
First, remote coil.. to lessen the weight a lot.. Second, Qloader- not only makes the ABT look like an M16 with a grenade launcher, it definitely loads faster and accurately. Third, barrel to have longer shots. I am now in the process of adding a expansion chamber to make more accurate.
Strengths: Very accurate. Never goes out of 6" of the red dot of laser sight.
Weaknesses: No Egrip and expansion chamber kit.
Review: The gun is beautifully, durably and accurately made. Adding the Qloader really made it head-spinner. A lot of people thought is was a very expensive marker and was really impressed on how it looks with the qloader. I tried to use the laser sight in one of my scenario games on 3 guys about 30+ yards away. Aimed on their heads using the laser pointer and boom.. all 3 got hit on the spot I wanted them to get hit. I wanted to upgrade it with an expansion chamber and will see find out next week. Also, I'm thinking about quick response trigger and when I opened the marker, it look very much similar to an A-5 and 98, so I guess with a little help from a Dremmel, it can be fitted in with. In the first place, they will come out with an Egrip version soon. I love this marker for its accurary and most of all I love it for its looks.
Conclusion: If you want a very realistic M16 marker at a very reasonable price, buy this gun...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 21st, 2008 at 12:24 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media