paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3

Dangerous Power G3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dangerous Power

Buy Dangerous Power G3

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dangerous Power G3
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 59
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new 2008 Dangerous Power G3 paintball marker weighing in at only 1.86lbs (fully equipped with the patented clamping feedneck, barrel and patented flip lever ASA) DP's latest creation may be the world's smallest and lightest paintball marker in existence!!!
Derived from the highly successful and limited production Threshold painball marker, the G3 benefiting from having only six o-rings in it's entire operation based upon two precision crafted parts by turning one screw; the user can access the entire bolt assembly for easy maintenance and service. The new G3 utilizes a .45 grip frame for easy customization and comes standard with Dangerour Power's highly acclaimed flip lever ASA (RAPS) and ultra low rise clamping feedneck.

G3 (black, blue, red)
weight: 1.86 lbs
length: 19.5 inches
height: 7.84 inches
operation pressure: 180psi
firing modes:
NPPL/SEMI AUTO, PSP, MILLENIUM AND NXL MODES

Product Availability 
The Dangerous Power G3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Hell_hunter Wednesday, June 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Owned: Ions, Epiphany
Tested: DM's, PMR/SLG, G3 Spec R, Eteck, Ego's, Mini
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
APE Board
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Halo V35
PMI 50/45 Carbon Fiber Tank
Stinger Paintball Designs Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit - Not necessary but i like barrel kits
Trigger - See Weakness
Board - See Weakness
Strengths: Light! VERY LIGHT!
Clamping feedneck
RAPS (ASA)
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Trigger - play side to side
Board - Not a fan of optical boards, unresponsive

Review: OK, to start things off

Un-boxing:

The marker comes in a very nice box, well padded and protected. Opening the box you find the Manual, the G3, Barrel, Barrel Bag, Tools, Orings and lube. Everything you would expect to find in a marker package is there.

The Manual:

WOW! Full color, very detailed and very well put together. Easy to follow for maintaining your marker. Tells you have to take apart the marker, noide and the regulator. Good trouble shooting section and overall nice to look at :)

The Marker:

First of this thing weighs nothing. Feels like its hollow. At 1.86lbs (according to DP) its the lightest marker ive ever held next to the spec R. Powering on is easy and uses the same one button controls as most speedball guns. Hold to power one, press once for eyes on/off, hold to power off. To reprogram the board you need to open the grips and select your fire mode with the dip switches. Some people like dips others hate them, its a matter of preference. I kinda like the dips so thats a plus for me. Internally the marker is very simple spool valve / dump valve design. One moving part it all you have to deal with and a total of 4 orings make it easy to lube. Eyes are behind the covers that you need an Allen key to open. Watch out for the dents springs under the covers, they poped out on me the first time i opened the covers. The snatch hook on the back looks cool, but has to be removed before taking out the back cap.

The ASA:

The G3 uses the RAPS ASA which has a flip leaver design. This has to be the BEST asa i have ever used! Ive used asa's by New Designz, eclipse, CP and Deadly Wind, none of them come close to this one. Id by this gun just for the ASA alone. My one sore spot with the asa is that it comes loose from the grip frame after a few hours of play, not really the ASA's fault more the screws in the grip frame, locktight fixes this.

The Regulator:

My regulator seams to be extremely sensitive when adjusting. Not sure if this is true for all DP Regs or just mine but 1/4 turn seam to jump my velocity by 20-30 fps. Before you ask yes i take a few shots in between to even out the pressure in the reg. It could be that its just a new reg, and will get better as it becomes used more. As a front grip its very comfortable.

The Trigger:

My one major problem with this marker is the trigger. It has a lot of side to side play in it and the adjustments dont give you a huge range to set the trigger up. Its a spring trigger not a magnetic one, which is again a matter of preference. I like magnetic triggers as i find them to be more responsive.

The Board:

includes all major modes for tourney play. Simple to use, which is a plus. Its an optical board not a micro switch which is a matter of preference which you like more. I like microswitch boards hence the APE board i put in mine. I found the stock optical board to be less responsive then some guns ive played with. However im used to the APE board in my other guns so that creates a bias for me.


====UPDATE===

Just a note on battery selection. As always use a brand name battery with speedball guns as they will provide the most constant voltage. However not all battery's are the same shape. Duracell have a more square edge to them where as energizer have a rounded edge. Im not sure if its just my marker but square edged batteries like to get stuck in the grip frame and need to be pushed out from the other side. So with that said i recommend using a battery with rounded edges, like an energizer.
Conclusion: Overall a very nice marker for the price. Yes i know they have been replaced by the Spec-R and the new G4, but still a good buy for 299.00. The best sub 300.00 gun ive shot to date and i would say performance similar to a mini definitely better then an Ion. I give this marker an 8 out of 10. 1 point off for the trigger and 1 point off for an optical/basic board.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 10th, 2010 at 12:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

honorakr Thursday, May 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion- comparable to
icd promaster- out classed by
invert mini- out classed by
pe ego -out classes by
Marker Setup: Stock body with a eagle sticker.new solenoid, cp asa, black pmi, and empire gripes

Empire barrel, 48/3000 tank, and torque hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything you put on this thing would make it better.
Strengths: Light and short
clamping feed neck
maintainability
Weaknesses: The red "a" button will make fingers bleed ,the raps, solenoid, trigger
Review: With rec-ball, the board is the last thing you worry about and probably the only thing on the gun that wouldn't be hurt with an upgrade.Now don't get me wrong this is a great average gun in every sense with a bonus of being light. but it also has its drawbacks like all markers. first of is the raps ,some love it others hate it, i started out thing it would be a great gadget but ended up hating it because it floods the gun immediately with a ton of air making the solenoid and surrounding o-ring very stressed. i actually had the o-ring brake and the solenoid stop functioning because of it.On to the hp reg. it can be upgraded to cp but for what this marker costs it better to leave the stock in. same with the eyes and bolt but what should be changed and will help tons is the pmi devise that replaces the back cap and let you keep track of your air pressure. now the one thing that i did love is the clamping feed neck. it is great it has a thumb screw to tighten as well as being low to the marker but the key to this thing is the teeth inside that latch onto a hopper and don't let go.

Conclusion: Light and cheep but completely average, the gun for people not wanting a ion
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tommygun98 Sunday, May 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini, smg.
Marker Setup: Carbon fiber tank 48ci 3,000 psi, Halo v35 hopper and occasionally VL force.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a hopper and good tank.
Strengths: Anti-chop eyes, very accurate, shoots fast, nice trigger and 6 O-rings
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: This is a great gun never chops, nice barrel, easy to clean, ONLY 6 O-rings, switch to turn air pressure on or off, easy to turn on, does not waste much battery, easy to take apart, shoots fast, fit almost EVERY hopper alot of people at the paintball place put there hoppers onto my g3 and its NOT an air hog.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for $300 you should get it after bout ur first or second year
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CallMeAFreak96 Wednesday, April 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Uppd Vibes, F7, F8, etek 1 and 2.
Marker Setup: Green with black accents Dp G3 with Ape Rampage board with a 14 inch freak barrel,
48/45 Cp tank, Empire Prophecy with Empire speed-feed. ( Tech t bolt engine on order )
Recommended
Upgrades:
board if you do tournaments, tech bolt engine for efficiency and quietness.
Strengths: Bolt system Easy to maintain
Clamping Feedneck Shoots great
On/Off Asa
Weaknesses: I'm not a fan of optical triggers. Efficiency .. other then that nothing
Review: Going to my local field to purchase this gun i didn't know what to expect. I went into the pro shop and bought it. Best choice I ever made. It shoots great all the time. No problems so far. I wish it had a little more efficient but its still great. With the techt bolt engine it is amazingly quiet, I consider it Dm like. With the Ape Rampage board the modes are amazing. Everthing the gun comes with stock is amazing, from the barrel to the o-rings to the feedneck to the on/off.
Conclusion: For 300 This gun is a steal it shoots great and is easy to maintain. This gun is great for players of all levels.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 7th, 2010 at 7:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matthew101 Saturday, January 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: dp g3
reloader B w/ magna clutch upgrade kit
freak Jr. barrel kit
48 ci steel tank
event mask
invert 08 pants jersey gloves 3+2 pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
none out of the box, but the older g3 models dont seem to have a good reg, so you might need one later on
Strengths: light, fast, easy maintenance, small,great for any player at any level, CHEAP!
Weaknesses: No pressure gauge on the gun to tell the pressure o the air flow
Review: This is an overall solid gun that is reliable that is not the most expensive gun. i has many modes on the stock board, has the bet feedneck possible (or so i think), great asa (flip lever) and i highly recommend it to any one. this gun is awesome by the far the best i have ever used
Conclusion: Great gun that will last me a long time and i would recommend to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint freak52 Wednesday, December 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
EGO 9 (rented and used a friends)
ETEK 2 (tested)
DM9 (tested)
tippman 98 and A5 (no comparison)
shocker
Marker Setup: i have the G3 in red. i have only used it like 5 times. right now its all stock except for an upgraded barrel kit from planet eclipse. i also have the vertue OLED board for it and that makes it the best marker i have ever used.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kits are a great upgrade for all guns but not the first thing you should get for this gun.
the only thing that it needs is a new board for more adjustable settings.
Strengths: Great gun for a great price.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: i have used alot of guns before i used this one and i am really impressed by it. DP has really made a great tournament gun that all players of all abilities can use and change the settings really well and easily. the stock board is not that programmable so i would spend some money on a new board. i love this gun because it is really light and fast. in addition to it being really fast and light it is also very accurate. with and operating pressure of 180 psi, i have saved alot of air.
Conclusion: No matter what level you are as a tournament player, this gun will do you alot of good and not clean out your pocket so that you will have more money to play the game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spikerpump2012 Thursday, December 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
][ Mini-very similar
ion-not as good
Marker Setup: Orange DP G3
pure energy 68/4500 w/ redz cover
halo b w/ speed feed
every thing else is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
it is decent out of the box.. i just havent had the money to uprade mine , but a new barrell, grips, need a tank .. and a halo can keep up, but i reccomend a rotor
Strengths: Very light, shoots quick, looks nice, easy to use, realiable, feels great
Weaknesses: Reg problems...thats about all
Review: easy to use dip switch board,but other than the modes CFOA, NPPL,PSP 15bps, Millenium,NXL 15bps, and PSP 13 pbs, and of course semi 25bps. There are a few hiiden modes the manuel does not tell you about, such as DBOUNCE (4th dip switch up the rest down), also my favorite NXL 25 BPS!!!!! that is (first and fourth dip switch up and the rest down). See i play for a team SoDel BlitZ me and my cousin made it... so usually we go out to the local field and practtice, im usin an auto cocker trilogy i turned into a pump and if you have someone out there who is tryin to show you up or bonus ball you i carry the G3 as a sleeper then go bunker that kid give em like 20 balls to the head hahaha
Conclusion: I love this gun, for only 300$ its a great deal and wworks real nice ..gotta love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A142536 Sunday, November 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: -DP G3
-TechT L7
Strengths: -Design to allow Easy Maintenance
-Feed Neck
-Weight
Weaknesses: -Reliability
Review: I have been trying to use the DP G3 for nearly a year. I picked this gun because I wanted a light, easy maintenance gun. From the reviews here and elsewhere this seemed like a dream come true. For the particular G3 I have, this is not true.

Just for your reference, when I first got the gun I ordered the replacement regulator parts from Dangerous Power - I have never used the gun before I installed the new regulator parts. Once the new regulator was installed, I began to use the gun.

From the very beginning I was having trouble with bolt stick. (Pull the trigger, hear the solenoid click, but the bolt never cycles...) I called DP technical support, and they worked through my problem without much success. (Regulator adjustment, DIP-switches to adjust solenoid dwell.) In the end, moving the solenoid dwell to 18 msec kind of solved the problem. I still had severe first shot drop off. I mean severe - many times the first shot just ploops out the barrel and only goes about 10 feet.

They recommended I get DOW 55 lubricant (with an o-ring swelling agent) to fix the problem. I did, and $25+$5 in shipping I get the magical lubricant, and it does make a difference. However, I still have trouble getting the gun to cycle after I first gas up.

I reached out to TechT L7 bolt for help, hoping a lower bolt weight will cycle through. It was, at least physiologically, an improvement. Less often will the bolt stick during play.

Even with the new bolt, I haven't enjoyed playing paintball over the last year. I stopped playing for over a month because of my problems - kind of a break to give it all a rest. When I got my gun out yesterday to play, I put in a fresh new 9V. (I stored the gun w/o battery). The gun refused to cycle. I worked a bit on the gun, but then realized I couldn't hear the gentle click from the solenoid. I have a $50 parts kit for the G3, so I tested the extra solenoid in that system, still no click. The eyes are working, as when I put in a paintball I get a solid light on the control board. So, I am guessing the control board broke while the gun sitting in its foam case in my closet for a month... I contacted technical support, but it is the weekend, so I'll have to wait for a response to see what could have gone wrong.

With all the gassing-and un-gassing, the o-ring on the gas-lever (Part #54 in the manual - Part#20-F01590-000-PFUS0A) broke. So I went to my trust $50 parts kit, and lo and behold, that o-ring is not included. WHAT!!!! Please let me know in the comments below if any of you experienced folks have recommendations on where I can get this o-ring.

So, in short, perhaps I have a lemon. It seems there are very few bad reviews in thsi forum, and the few bad reviews here seem to be automatically "The accuracy of this review is disputed". To most of the disputers' credit, most of the negative review were poorly written.

So, am I a stupid-user, do I have a lemon, or is the G3 unreliable?
Conclusion: I regret my purchase greatly.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

PVBMisfit Monday, November 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto SLG
Marker Setup: G3
Reloader B
DXS 48/4500

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator
Trigger
Board
Grips
Strengths: Lightweight
Flip ASA
quiet enough
Weaknesses: Board sucks
Reg is inconsistent as hell
Review: Ok this gun is decent... Its wonderful for the Recball and not serious player but for someone who wants to play tournaments and plays a lot i say save up your dough and get something that doesnt need so many upgrades. The reg is terrible, it take forever to break in, it doesnt even come with freaking PSP 3 shot! even the SLG comes with that!! The barrel breaks paint and puts wierd spins on it
Conclusion: Its ok, doesn't live up to hype
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ITSRAININGPAINT Friday, October 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, electronic and mechanical- not comparable
Spyder RT- not comparable at all
SP ION- almost comparable
Up'd SP ION- Pretty close, costs way more
Infinity Legend- About the same
Proto 07 PMR- About the same when it works
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
Empire Prophecy 2.0 Red and Smoke
DXS 48/45 HPA with Custom Products Cover
Custom Products 2 piece barrel (.685)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe new board, bolt or barrel if you are serious about paintball.
Strengths: Price, easy maintenance, size and weight, 14 inch barrel, feed neck
Weaknesses: Stock board. Not many upgades available. Barrel isn't true 14inch.
Review: Well, I wanted to jump off the Tippmann bandwagon, so I got this. 1.8 pounds, 14 inch barrel, great ASA and feed neck, I was sold. I got this in the mail with 500 GXG zballz. I immediately got my DXS 48/45 tank out, airred up and started rippin' reballs. My friend wanted me to try his Invert Halo Too on it. Bad decision. It jammed my G3 with about 400psi left in the tank, the bolt was stuck forward but it didn't leak all the air out the bolt. After shooting it some more with reballs, no more jams. Anyhow, this gun is so smooth when shooting and so easy to clean the bolt. Make sure there's no air in the reg, take an allen key and pull off the back cap. Carefully slide the bolt out, clean off the excess oil, and put some more on the o-rings. This gun feels perfect with my 48ci stubby tank.

::EDIT:: I shot some more reballs and it shot great again. This time there was no bolt jam and the shot was super smooth. I think I may have gotten bad macroline fittings, though. I just can't get the macro line out of the fitting.

::EDIT 2:: Replaced the macroline and fittings. Got a 2 piece Custom Products barrel. I went paintballing again, and this gun really shined. No barrel breaks or chops, very accurate, OK efficiency. This gun was also consistant at the crono and had a very smooth shot. The only problem I had with it was that I had to tighten the grip screws during the day. No biggie.

::EDIT 3:: Went paintballing another couple of times, and have had mixed experiences. The first time was miserable, so much first shot drop off, the second time i went I had less first shot drop off but still some, then the low battery light came on. Silly me forgot to change the battery. Anyway, new battery gun shoots wonderfully again, until the sail o ring came out of the slot, then the gun wouldn't cycle but when I noticed that, fixed it, back to normal. No hard to fix problems with this gun.

::EDIT 4:: Went paintballing a bunch more times. The only problem I had was when I turned my dwell down to 12, (normally its at 14) and the sail o ring would slide out of its groove and then the bolt would not fully cycle. I turned the dwell back to 14 and we'll see how it goes.
Conclusion: If you have $300 dollars, save yourself the hassle, just get this. Ease of maintanence, a smooth shot, and a beautiful, light body make this the best choice. Pair it up with a carbon fiber tank and mid range hopper and you're set to rip. 9 of 10 because of the bolt stick that wasn't entirely the guns fault.
::EDIT:: When the bolt sticks like I talked about, just stick your finger into the breach and push it back. (Ta-da) My G3 still works great and I have not had any issues with it when I was shooting real paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2010 at 7:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media