paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3

Dangerous Power G3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dangerous Power

Buy Dangerous Power G3

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dangerous Power G3
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 59
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new 2008 Dangerous Power G3 paintball marker weighing in at only 1.86lbs (fully equipped with the patented clamping feedneck, barrel and patented flip lever ASA) DP's latest creation may be the world's smallest and lightest paintball marker in existence!!!
Derived from the highly successful and limited production Threshold painball marker, the G3 benefiting from having only six o-rings in it's entire operation based upon two precision crafted parts by turning one screw; the user can access the entire bolt assembly for easy maintenance and service. The new G3 utilizes a .45 grip frame for easy customization and comes standard with Dangerour Power's highly acclaimed flip lever ASA (RAPS) and ultra low rise clamping feedneck.

G3 (black, blue, red)
weight: 1.86 lbs
length: 19.5 inches
height: 7.84 inches
operation pressure: 180psi
firing modes:
NPPL/SEMI AUTO, PSP, MILLENIUM AND NXL MODES

Product Availability 
The Dangerous Power G3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
jcramrod15 Sunday, April 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
epiphany ion ego etek fusion f7 and f8
Marker Setup: dp g3 rotor 68/3000 pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
board maybe
Strengths: Fast light accurate small great on air
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is perfect. it is the best gun i have ever shot. i even tested my friends ego7 and etek. the only bad part about the gun is the board. it is easy to use but there aren't many settings for tourny locks. if you plan on playing tournys you want a new board. other wise this gun is perfect.
Conclusion: If you want a great gun cheap, get a g3.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 27th, 2009 at 4:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

krazyker Sunday, April 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Smart Parts Epiphany
Planet Eclipse ETEK 2
Smart Parts ION
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3 (in orange...pictures up in the gallery)
Dangerous Power Rear Pressure Gauge (RPMD) black
14" Stiffi Carbon Fiber Barrel
Halo v35 w/ Rip Drive
DXS 48/4500 carbon tank
Camo Invert Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
-- The RPMD is cool to monitor your shots and air usage.
-- The APE upgrade board will give you more firing modes.
-- New Barrel

---While I would recommend the first two upgrades I would only consider them optional. The one that will serve the best purpose is a new barrel. Like any new gun the stock barrel it comes with usually does not have too much design behind it. Although the stock barrel is not too bad compared to some others around, an upgrade here will help increase your overall accuracy, as well as help quiet the gun.
Strengths: Lightweight
Great Feedneck
Very Accurate
RAPS is AWESOME
Very Affordable
Fast Trigger
Weaknesses: May need to change macros out of box.
Review: The Dangerous Power G3 comes straigh out of the box light, accurate, and effiicient. The gun has a great clamping feedneck, beats out any other gun in in the proce range's stock feedneck. The RAPS on/off is also a great feature, and is very easy to use.
After using several guns in the 250-550 price range, I have settled in with the Dangerous Power G3. It is very accurate, quiet, and easy to maintain. In the box is a great manual with pictures and explanations for every feature of the gun. The gun is very easy to use and maintain.
When I first opened my G3 i took it out and fired off a few pods of some old paint with a lot of dimples. The accuracy of the G3 was still amazing, with the balls breaking one on top of the other.
I primarily play woodsball and love taking the G3 out in the woods with me because of how lightweight it is. Our typical game lasts anywhere from 20 mins to 90 minutes, so to be able to hold such a light gun with a high performance level is great. I highly recomend this gun to any woodsball player due to the weight, accuracy, and air efficiency.
This gun also looks GREAT. It is very stylish and has some cool upgrades you can also add to help personalize it. For $300 this is the best gun on the market.
Conclusion: The Dangerous Power G3 is great. It is easy to use, easy to maintain, performs great, and is affordable compared to other high end markers. The G3 is tournament ready out of the box, and is also great to take into the woods for some woods/recball due to its very light weight.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 20th, 2009 at 6:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

applesrtastyxD Wednesday, March 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
mini<<g3
fully up'd ion<<<<<g3
shocker<= g3 (shocker and g3 were REALLY close)
Marker Setup: Dangerous power g3 blue
Virtue Board
Halo B
Ninja tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board, trigger if u really must x]
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: When i first got this marker I was absolutely thrilled. I took it out of the box, which came with nearly everything u need. It has a barrel sleeve, allen keys, extra o-rings, barrel, stickers, and few other pieces. This gun was amazing. The flip asa is the best asa u can ever get and it was shooting extremely accurate and consistent. At first you might have to adjust the pressure but after that it shoots like a dream. Alright lets break it down.

Pros:

Accuracy: 10/10
Amazing. Just amazing! this gun was shooting a sheet of paper from 50 yards away! The barrel that comes with it is a 14" and just absolutely amazing.

Speed: 10/10
Shoots 25 bps on nppl mode, and has other modes such as psp ramp(not that great more later), nxl, mil, and cfoa (something like that 15 bps cap semi-auto)

Maintenance: 10/10
Are kidding me? What maintenance...?
Nah just kidding, you remove two screws, wipe a few parts and lube a few o-rings. done.

Mobility: 10/10
LIGHT AS A FEATHER! this thing weighs NOTHING! I picked it up and was shocked! its LIGHT LIGHT LIGHT!

Price: 10/10
This thing is dirt cheap for the quality u get. Its like buying an ice cream cone and finding diamonds inside. Amazing price for the quality. Spectacular.
Support: 1000/10
The company will be your new best friend. Got a problem? call them and they'll do EVERYTHING and ANYTHING to help you. All the people are nice and quite often you will hear, "oh yeah we'll send your (whatever you need) to you, free of charge no shipping either!

Cons:
Psp mode kills... You have to crank 5 balls per second and it starts ramping unlike the usual 3 shot psp. REALLY really annoying if ur gonna play a psp tourney.
Just get a virtue board for it and it will be fine
Conclusion: Amazing product, amazing customer service from company, ease of maintenance, accurate, light, fast, cheap, amazing milling. Get this and you won't regret it. Trust me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 11th, 2009 at 3:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matkat Friday, February 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Anything and everything...
Been in industry since early 90s.
Marker Setup: Dangerous Products G3
Dye Ultralite 14" .688
APE Upgrade Board
Ruthlesspaintball.com Vampire G3 Trigger (derlin, ball bearing, magentic return(like same as in luxe as far as postioning, can do both micro and optical by changing a set screw) - Best triggers EVER... visit ruthlesspaintaball.com all his stuff is custom and made to order.
CP Drop
Halo B
Pure Energy 68/45 Stubby
Dye Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Overall fine out of the box...

The Gun is fine out of the box, even for a tourney. I cannot stress how much value this marker has for the money. I am the type of person who would spend the money on a EGO/Luxe/DM9, but after witnessing its performance on a field full of tourney players using those guns and others, I must say I was confident my gun was the best performing on the field. I am not upgrading, this is and will be my gun of choice for a long time to come.

Aftermarket Barrel a must

I think 99% of players, even tourney would be fine with this out of the box and a aftermarket barrel... (Dye, Smart Parts, Stiffi < my reccomendations) 12"-16"

For people wanting to make this the end-all marker (IMO better than Ego/DM/Luxe with these upgrades)

Trigger

A upgrade trigger of any kind unles you got the $499 SE. DP offers a upgrade trigger with less side-side play, IMO they should have offered that with all markers, it feels like they purposefully handicapped it, knowing full well its too small and force you to buy the upgrade. It isn't horrible, but there is obvious side2side play. The gun is freaking awesome, but DP upgrade trigger is no different than stock other than its the right size, which should have been there already, the design is the same... visit ruthlesspaintball.com for some awesome triggers, micro or optical, the right dimensions, ball bearing rotation, magentic or spring retun and many designs and colors, can't be beat. I am telling you visit rutheless... its includes magnets

Board

I don't think most players, even tourney players need the upgrade board, more of a preference of microswitch feel compared to optical and modes that are fun in the backyard, but not allowed in most games and tournaments Semi/PSP mode aside. If your a really advanced player/play tons of tourney/like microswitch, then maybe an upgrade for you. Quite honestly the stock has a few advanatges... simplicity... the dips are easy for anyone to understand, grips must be removed so they are tourney appropriate and it includes most modes anyone would want, Semi, PSP, Full Auto, NXL and millenium. Being optical there are no mechanical parts to fail, so I would say reliability (upgrade boards use microswitch).

However, those of us that want are marker to be MAXED up in upgrades get the....

APE - one DP and my local shop endorse and I own, more than I need $85 retail
Virtue Redefined - few more perks, IMO adds more complextity.. $114 (reccomended by most; I saw no need)
Virtue OLED - Coming soon, same as redefined with a few more features (the list is ridculous long and has a Organic Display

I will say that even the APE is overkill, but I like the microswitch with magnetic return feel... that being said virtue is just too much features and too much money.. the OLED would be great, but it is near 3 times what I paid for my APE... just practically useful instad of memorizing colors and such.

A drop depending on whether your old/new school and your hieght. A nice 2" CP drop allows the barrel to be in line with my eye straight and my nose tilted, it is way more comfortable than the no drop feel. I figure since I shorten the marker 2" with the drop, I can add 2" on the barrel and keep the same marker profile as someone not using the drop with the added advantage of either a longer quiter barrel or a shorter marker profile. Comfort is key, the CP drop works well for me.
Strengths: Lightest Marker
Very Fast
Accurate and quiet /w right barrel
$$$CRAZYPRICE$$$PLAINCRAZY$$$
Simple
Everything
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel/Trigger Could be Better - they are easily upgraded
Review: My god am I impressed with this marker. I went to my local pro shop (I worked there 7-10 years ago) and talked with the owner. I was like where is all the thousand dollar markers, I am looking at getting back into the sport, he handed me the G3 and said he buys them (Ego/DM9/Luxe), but mostly they just sit on a shelf. He explained the guns that compete with this are in the thousands and this will meet my needs. This gun is worth thousands. Thanks DP for offering such a great gun at a great price, paid 330 for mine, they are down to 299.

He proved me wrong, this gun has outperformed any angel, cocker, or mag I have used and I have owned 20+ markers in my time. It is so quiet with the Dye Ultralite you cant even tell its firing, same goes for the recoil. It has no extrenal moving parts or eyes, is very streamlined. It is lightest there is, kind of a mute point i think anything below 2lbs, because your tank and hopper with paint/air wiegh more than the marker, clearly. It has one moving part, the bolt... like fool proof gun, easy to maintenance, upgrade.

There was not an Ego, DM9 or Luxe that outperformed my gun. I was thinking about getting one of the more expensive guns above when I had the money, but after witnessessing its performance and feeling/seeing the perfomance of mine, I will not be upgrading. I acutally really believe it is SUPERIOR to those markers, with the right upgrades although I am sure many will disagree. From what I saw all those guns should be named Ego because thats all they are about... my DP can fire 36bps, but why the hell would I want it to... everyone there was a tourney player and firing a high end electro of some kind, fire rate was locked to PSP13BPS. Fire rate is a mute point in most real fields and tourneys because it is limited. It is quiet, light, accurate, fast, great out of the box, minimal upgrades preffered/needed, feature rich, yet simplistic. I simply can't belive the price point... don't let it feel you with a high end barrel, upgrade board and trigger from ruthless, you will not have any complaints.
Conclusion: Buy this gun...it has cocker threads you can probably use some barrels you already own. If you have a Ego/DM9/Luxe buy this as your backup because of the price point, throw the upgrades on it and it may become your primary. I love it.

If your a rec baller, tippmanns and pball guns that look like real guns are a joke get this, in black, it will blow your friends away, tourney players will not be dissappointed read my review in detail you will see what upgrades are needed for that level of play.

It cannot be beat for the money. IMO it cannot be beat with the right upgrades. For about $500 without air/hopper you can have this thing outperform anything on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyehardamerican Wednesday, February 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything from DM's to Egos To angels and cockers
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
Halo hopper w/ victory board
Freak Barrel kit
68/4500 N2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Macro fittings
maybe the barrel or trigger
reg
Strengths: Light
simple
easy to clean
Weaknesses: triggers a little wobbly,
The macro fittings are terrible
The reg breaks easy.
Review: All in all this is a great gun, expessially for the price. I personally would rather shoot a g3 over most high end guns, mostly due to its ability to keep up in preformance and how light it is. Since I got mine ived loved it, I havent had any problems with mine yet, but the macro fittings are known to blow out and the reg needs to be replaced, but DP will send u a new one for free. The macro line will also leak a small amount, but it can be fixed by playing around with the position and angle of the line/fitting.
Conclusion: Easly one of the best guns for the price, customer service is great, defffinatly great for a back-up or a primary if ur just not that into the game.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike_serafin Sunday, February 15th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Bob Long Intimidator, Proto PMR, and Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: G3 with a Gorilla Air/ Myth Reg., Halo V35, and Smart Parts Freak Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Put new Macro Line Fittings on before you play with it.
Strengths: Cheap. Fast ROF
Weaknesses: CHEAP, Inacurate, Loud, Kick, Air Hog
Review: I played about 10 games with it and I liked it other than the it was a loud and had alot of kick. When I started playing with it I noticed it was inaccurate it had a spray of about 3 ft. at 50 feet away. The gun was shooting around 270 +-10-15. I ran about 3 tanks full through the reg and it was still shooting about the same. Then I let my wife use the gun and the macro line fitting exploded and cut her leg. I figured it was a fluke, although I've never seen one break before. I replaced it and when I was trying to get rid of a small leak from the hose the other macro line fitting broke, luckly nobody got hurt this time. I feel this gun was put together as cheap as possible and am not happy with it. My wife likes the gun now that I replaced the Macro Line fittings with some that won't break, because she can shoot it faster than her bob long.
Conclusion: I would not recomend this gun because it is poorly put together and they do not test there guns before they ship them out.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

G3owner34 Sunday, February 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM6-to me G3 feels better and isn't as loud
PMR- bunch bigger, again the feel
a lot of markers in the $300-$400 range but I like the G3's feel over them all
Marker Setup: Red G3
Pinokio
48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
For a recballer like me none. But if you play tournaments definitely get the upgrade board from DP or the APE board. Possibly barrel if you're an bore freak but my stock shot perfectly fine.
Strengths: Feel
Trigger
Feedneck
Weaknesses: Some prefer microswwitches but for recball the board is fine
Review: First Impression:
HOLY BOOGERS (apparently we can't cuss*) this thing is small!!!
Dry Fire:
Dung (yet again*) I love this trigger!!!!!
Feedneck:
Wow I got a $50 feedneck on a stock gun!!!!!
Manual:
Whoa

The barrel was extremely accurate. I was picking guys off from across the field and the marker was way light. I believe that it is lighter than the mini and I like the G3's trigger over the new SLG's.
Conclusion: Okay so earlier today was the first time playing with my G3. Bear in mind that this was reball so the speed wasn't amazing or anything. The trigger was amazingly light practically allowing me to shoot as my hopper could feed also the gun was amazingly light and compact. I did have some trouble with the feedneck though. The screw that tightens the neck kept on coming loose. The manual is amazing and extremely helpful. If wondering which marker to buy, forget the mini, forget the slg, and forget the pmr because the g3 will smoke all of them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crudeidol Sunday, February 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
'02 Angel LCD - really heavy, but the same sweet 'lectro feeling
'06 Invert Mini - similar weight, decent triggler, a little awkward to hold/shoot
ReTro Automag - it's similarly shaped (rather gunlike)
Marker Setup: Stock G3, 1st Gen board, barrel, & trigger, V35 Halo, 3A 68/3k w/ Micro Max-Flow

Recommended
Upgrades:
I plan on getting the APE board and an upgraded trigger (I think both come stock now). Also, probably a barrel kit and the TechT L7 bolt
Strengths: -Size
-weight
-almost idiot proof
-stock barrel
Weaknesses: -Trigger is a little sloppy and feels weird
Review: First of all, I did replace the RAPS ASA with a Micro Max-flow. I like the way the gun feels with it all together that way. Just personal preference.
I absolutely love the way this thing feels and shoots. I have the old-style DIP switch board set on 25 BPS and I can rip it quite nicely even with the 1st-gen trigger. That said, the triggle isn't terrible. The gun is very light and snaps very well. Compared to the Mini the weight is about the same, but the feel is SO much better. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed by Mini when I had it, but I feel a lot better about selling it to buy school books!
More on the G3. I bought the black/silver model, but DP now sells special edition models with nifty colors and the upgraded stuff, and that's just lovely.
Dangerous Power has really made an impression on me with this gun. I've researched their previous offerings and have yet to find one that seems to be of any less quality than this one. It's beautiful and fits together very very nicely. Even the stock barrel is great! I have even used it on my Automag and it is quite accurate.
Conclusion: For the low price of whatever they're going for thesedays, you cannot go wrong with a G3. Light, easy to use, tasty.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

steiner92 Friday, January 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Epiphany
Ion
Fusion
PM8
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
-Proto 2-Piece Barrel
Viewloader Vlocity Jr
-Gangstar Chip
-Virtue Crown
Crossfire 70/4500 Stubby
-Dye Rhino Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Trigger maybe
Strengths: Light and Tight
Speed
Price ($300)
Accuracy
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Ok, we'll start from the top and work our way down from there.

Feedneck. DP did an amazing job on this feedneck, its ultra low-rise and clamping with a locking screw, unlike the Invert Mini feedneck that would progressively unscrew itself.

Barrel. The barrel itself is accurate enough, but very heavy. The day I got this gun I traded it out for a Proto 2-Piece. Any light barrel will do though, although this is not a pressing issue.

Bolt. This gun comes stock with an Orange Bolt. The bolt has very little recoil, although it could be replaced by a TechT L7. This is unnecessary unless you are twelve and have trouble carrying your though, as the recoil is minimal, way less than the Invert Mini or the Ion for those who know these guns.

Trigger. The trigger feels amazing to me, and my personal favorite style of trigger is a snappy, responsive trigger, not the feather light kind that most are so obsessed with. DP makes an upgrade trigger, but I seriously doubt I will buy one. There is minimal side to side play, just enough to notice it is there.

Board. The board that DP put in there is a very versatile board. It has a system of three microswitches for choosing the modes, and is very easy to get used to and change modes, unlike the Ion or the PM8. The board will allow ramping up to 25bps, and comes stock with PSP and Millenium Settings, as well as adjustable caps for the modes.

Regulator. The regulator so far has been very consistent, even while playing in sub-freezing and temperatures in the 90s. There is a +/- of about 3 or 4 and I chronographed this gun once and haven't had to do it since, it still holds steady at 290-294 every time. I've heard of people over-tightening the adjustment screw on the marcroline elbow and stripping the regulator, but this shouldn't be an issue if you have any common sense.

ASA. DP's famous flip lever ASA works like a dream. Rather than turning the side of your ASA's on/off knob, it is just a flip lever for pressurizing the gun. You can get an aftermarket on/off, but there is no point, this is a great ASA.
Conclusion: This gun was worth every penny of the $300 I spent on it, and has caused no problems so far in the six months of me using it. I definitely recommend this gun to anyone looking for their first speedball gun, to people sick of all the problems caused by the super high end guns, and want one that will shoot with the best of them without breaking out the repair kit 4 times a day. 10 out of 10 absolutely
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AGGRESSION Wednesday, January 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: G3, CP 16 inch , Halo B, Crossfire Custom 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue Board, Cp one piece Barrel, maybe a cp reg.
Strengths: Fast, Light, Comfortable on the hands, GREAT feedneck and asa
Weaknesses: Trigger is a bit sloppy... easy to rip with.... but a little sloppy
Review: I've been a fan of this gun ever since i shot it. You can easily shoot ropes with it and its very very light. Some say it looks ego-like and when i went to the reball field some kid asked if it was a geo. This gun shoots perfectly fine with reballs and i only had one stuck ball in the stock barrel after 3 hours of play. This gun is very easy to maintain.

I really cant find any real weaknesses.
Conclusion: Buy this gun! great for the price, shoots like you would expect a super gun to shoot like.
(I AM RATING THIS GUN FOR THE PRICE AND PERFORMANCE FOR THE PRICE)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media