paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3

Dangerous Power G3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dangerous Power

Buy Dangerous Power G3

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dangerous Power G3
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 59
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new 2008 Dangerous Power G3 paintball marker weighing in at only 1.86lbs (fully equipped with the patented clamping feedneck, barrel and patented flip lever ASA) DP's latest creation may be the world's smallest and lightest paintball marker in existence!!!
Derived from the highly successful and limited production Threshold painball marker, the G3 benefiting from having only six o-rings in it's entire operation based upon two precision crafted parts by turning one screw; the user can access the entire bolt assembly for easy maintenance and service. The new G3 utilizes a .45 grip frame for easy customization and comes standard with Dangerour Power's highly acclaimed flip lever ASA (RAPS) and ultra low rise clamping feedneck.

G3 (black, blue, red)
weight: 1.86 lbs
length: 19.5 inches
height: 7.84 inches
operation pressure: 180psi
firing modes:
NPPL/SEMI AUTO, PSP, MILLENIUM AND NXL MODES

Product Availability 
The Dangerous Power G3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
24/7reviews Monday, January 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts Ion , Ego 08 , spyder pilot acs , phantom , piranha .
Marker Setup: Dp g3 - Dynasty viewloder jr. - dye ultralite barrel - carbon fiber 48/3000 psi tank - NxE tank cover - Vitue bord
Recommended
Upgrades:
If your just a rec baller i suggest keeping the setup the marker comes in the box but as you progres i suggest getting upgrades to your personal needs as every body has a different say.
Strengths: Barrel
Clamping feedneck
Wiegth
Size
Conssitency
Asa
Weaknesses: Efficensy
Review: This is a must buy product as it is being sold at a verry low price (299$) and how it functions like a high end marker wich sell at the 800 - 1500$ and you get it for ony 300 bucks.

Now this gun is said to be able to shoot rigth out of the box. But that is not entirely true , I had to call teh dangerous power tech support line as my gun would not fire but he said their was a easy solution. What you need to do is ture the velocity knob counter clockwise for about a hole turn then it will finally be able to shoot. But the blue ligth never turns on it just stays green meaning the eyes see a paintball.

Another thing is you need to break in the on/off button as when you will first receive your marker you will need to hold it down verry firmly for about 5 sec and then it will start to react faster but your fingers will be in paint the first week when you try it out in the backyard.

One thing i did not like and i was verry upset was that in my box i received a macroline that was cut inproperly so i was not able touse my gun with out a leek untill 2 weeks ago as i bougth my self a nice 12 inch blue macro to go with for sure i cut it but just in case.

Now on to the good stuff about the gun.

The first thing i noticed when i took the gun out of the box was that it is so ligth that even with a alluminum tank and a halo b that wiegths alot it is pretty ligth.
i also looked at the asa and i thougth it was incredible how all you do it lift it up and it degassed. the barrell did not look as nice as i thougth but it performed much greater then i thougth so it even out.

The clamping feed neck graps on to my hopper verry well as it has the extra grip in side. i live how all you do is unscrew the back cap and pop out the bolt for maitnence and once and a while I need to do the reg as well.

Pretty much what i am trying to say is at the start you experience some ruff patches but as you move on you will be smooth salling.
Conclusion: I recommand paintballers from all levels to purchase this out as for rec ballers it is already perfect and for tourny player just get the virtue bord and your set.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drayton13xpb Sunday, December 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
G3>05 Sft Shocker
G3>Invert Mini
G3>Fully upped Ion
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3(Black)
Empire B hopper
48/30 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board and barrel.. Everything else is pretty much perfect.
Strengths: See Review!
Weaknesses: Board, needs Psp 3-shot!!!
Review: First off I have to say that this is a great gun, and probably the best one I've ever shot. It's just so comfortable and fits in my hands perfectly!

-Regulator: When you first air up the gun and fire, it will most probably not shoot. Just turn the regulator counter-clockwise until you get it to cycle properly. The first reading on the chronograph were 280, 263, 260, 260 and 264. I'm not sure why it jumped so high.. maybe because is was the first shot with it. But let me tell you, this gun is efficient! I was only expecting to get 400-500 shots with it, but instead i got 700! Love it!

-Asa: Not much to say about it really.. Just an overall great Asa and I have yet to have any problems with it.. It is in no doubt in my mind the best Asa I've ever used.

-Barrel: Great, just great barrel. It's no stiffi, but it's pretty close. You couldn't ask for a better stock barrel.. DP has done a great job!

-Stock board: Overall this is a great board.. The only downside to it is that there is no Psp 3-shot mode. This is what turns many advanced players off about this gun.

-Trigger: I LOVE the trigger.. I took it up to my local paintball shop today and everyone was in awe of it telling me how sweet it felt.. The trigger feels heavier, alot heavier than the mini, but I like the G3's more.

-Feedneck: What can I say, its a feedneck.. You can't find any better ones out there, and it's just another great feature by DP.

-Overall Feel: This gun feels just great in my hands. I couldn't have asked for a better fit for me and I just love it.
Conclusion: If you're debating on whether to get this gun or not, I say GET IT!! You will not be disappointed. If you run into any problems, any at all that you just can't figure out, contact me and I should be able to help you.

-I give this gun a 9/10 because there is no perfect gun, and the board just really puts me down..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ionic Moron Monday, December 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion - G3 blows it out of the water
PMR - G3 is better but Ion is a great starter
Marker Setup: G3 (Main) W/:
Hyper 2 Reg

PMR (backup) w/ :
Blue Proto On/off
Clear CP Trigger
Blue Ndz Backcap
TechT L7 Bolt
Vlo Hopper
Empire Fuel 45/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Free V2 Reg Parts from the dangerous power website so you dont crush your reg seat.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Reveiw
Review: I bought this g3 from my teammate for the INSANE price of 70 dollars and a hybrid tank cover. This thing is crazy efficient...1200 shots off a 68/45.
The barrel is better than my lucky un1tec I use on my PMR and the bolt on this thing is so light and simple! I've never chopped a ball or gotten a barrel break!

But i need to spend $100 to get a new board and trigger so I can use it in tournaments.

Strengths:
Insanely Light
Low Rise Feedneck
Pretty fast for a mid end spooly (on 25bps ramp I got 23 consistently with paint)
Awesome R.A.P.S On/Off ASA
Great-Stock-Barrel
Nice Grips
Simple Bolt (4 orings to lube on the entire thing!!)
Optional carrying hatch
Great Colour Manual

Weaknesses:
Board has no psp3 or other commonly used tournament modes, solved with a 99 dollar APE board and trigger kit.
Some might not like the optic eye sensor trigger
Conclusion: Product is perfect for any baller experienced or new but make sure you have an extra 100 dollars for upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Keith20 Tuesday, November 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Mini
Marker Setup: DP G3
CP Shorty reg
Hybrid Grenade grips
CCM Mid Rise
Lucky 15 Barrel
Pure Energy 68/45
TurboRev
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Reg
Strengths: Small
Fast
Light
Accurate
Cheap
Weaknesses: side to side trigger play
Inconsistency in stock reg
Review: I havent had the gun for very long but so far its been amazing for me. Its super light, its accurate and i think its pretty much perfect out of the box. The effeciency hasnt been that great so far, but i'm hoping that will improve when I put a few more cases through it. Its also very well priced, it fit my budget nicely and performs better than most other guns i've shot in my opinion, and i've shot most guns on the market. The accuracy for me has been dead on. From about 25 yards away I was shooting the rope we use to hold up the X on our x-ball field, and was nailing it ball after ball, I managed to shoot it soo many time with one hopper i cut the rope in half, and all this is without the reg even being broken in.

Update: After using this marker quite a bit i've noticed a few things. The stock reg seems very inconsistent over the chrono, but I will admit this is something i have always been picky about. I upgraded to a CP reg and that seems to of fixed the problem. Also the effeciency isnt the best in my opinion, I can get about 6 pods and a hopper off a full 68/45 tank which in my opinion isnt that great. Normally id hop for 7-9 pods and a hopper off a 68/45 tank maybe my standards are just too high though. I also contacted DP about the side to side play in the stock trigger and was informed that it was due to the way the trigger was made, and thats why they now offer and upgraded trigger for a little bit more. I was also having problems with my raps lever constantly blowing orings, so again i contacted DP. They informed me that this was due to the set screws holding the raps in place and all i needed to do was adjust where my raps was. I did this and it fixed it. There customer service so far has been amazing, very friendly and eager to help. But in performance i still think this marker cant be beat. I used it in a tournament in january and it was keeping up with all other highend guns no problem. I think thats pretty awesome for a $300 marker.
Conclusion: I'd say buy it, it's definatley worth the money and in my opinion just cant be beat. I'm leaving it at a 9 due to the regs inconcistency and its air effeciency. But other than that i think the marker great and definatley worth the money.

-I'm only giving it a 9 because of the efficency soo far.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 9th, 2009 at 11:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

illini trilogy Monday, November 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like this
Marker Setup: dangerpus power g3
XSV velocity
70 3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a board if you wnt to use this in a tournment
Strengths: Very light
Tight like you mom
Pretty accurate
Weaknesses: The 2 ball ramp but that does not bother me but maybe you.
Review: This gun is very good, but my gun was broken when i got it, but we fixed it. After that i shot it all day and I had to lube up the bolt once after that it shot good. It is easy to get this gun going. This gun rips. If all you got is $300 and you want a new gun I would totaly buy this gun.
Conclusion: Deffiantly buy one. Not that dumb spyder rsx that rsx gun can go to hell for $300 you get a really good gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evoluti0n36 Tuesday, November 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
05 ego
Karnivor
Promaster
DM5
Invert mini
sft shocker
sl66 xsv ego
other low ends
Marker Setup: DP G3 stock with hyper 2 reg
05 ego with cure bolt and hybrid grips
68/4500
Empire B reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock it is simply amazing
But the trigger, reg, and board(microswitch) would be the only things I would change.
Strengths: VERRY light and compact
EASY to maintain
very fast and accurate
Weaknesses: reg
trigger
but they are VERY minor things
Review: Writing this review I am coming off of shooting an 05 ego with a cure bolt as it's only internal upgrade. Don't get me wrong the gun shoots wonders. But I played a scenario with it while it was raining and the whole time I was worried about water and mud getting into the internals...

That's when I gave into a spool valve with the enclosed bolt and bought the DP G3.
I purchased this gun used with the hyper 2 reg on it.
When I brought it out of the box the first thing I said was "wow". This gun is so light and so compact in my hands. Now I'm 6'2 with a built body. And it felt so good in my hands to a point where I was considering becoming a frontman(I play dorito side mid).

I turned it on to mess with the board and trigger and the stock board was VERY simple to use. I figured it out within 2 min without the manual. Started wlaking the trigger and noticed it had a little side to side play to it but I found that the trigger is so sensitive that I could walk the side of the trigger and rip out the ropes.

I finally got my tank and hopper on and the weight distribution was very even. A little bit better than the mini I used. I put the paint in and turned the air on and away I went. I was putting out ropes no problem across field and with my scepter kit it was ball on ball action.

I am VERY impressed with this marker. For the price you can get it at now it is def up there with my 05 ego. The only cons I see with this marker might be the trigger but I'm not going to jump to get a new one. The other thing I have read about the gun is the reg seat might get ruined if you don't have the upgraded one. I haven't experienced this since mine came with the hyper 2 reg.

Conclusion: All in all if you're looking for a gun within the G3's price range, PLEASE do youself a favor and pick up one of these. I think now they have SE's out but I'm not sure what the difference is.
I give this a 9/10 because nothing is perfection and I haven't shot every gun out there (yet)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

djh860 Monday, November 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ions smart parts nerve PM5 PM6 PM7 invert mini . In my opinion only the PM5 and the ion are not competative in this group. For the most part these markers are still too good for me in terms of my finger speed on the trigger and my shooting accuracy. The G3 is easily as good as the PM7 or the invert mini and it is far better looking than any out there.
Marker Setup: All stock except the barrel. I use evil pipe and freak. Good paint and good barrels are key to success.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I got the new stock board for $35 and the new regulator seat for free from DP. I am considering the pressure gauge. It looks nice.
Strengths: Rate of fire under 2 lbs. looks. workmanship very easy to work on. DP service
Weaknesses: Its loud and there are not a ton of upgrade options.
Review: I love this marker. I am proud to be seen with it. People ask me if they can hold/shoot it. People who see it tell me that they are going to buy one. At $299 its the best buy in paintball . I love the stock trigger. To be specific I love the milling on the side. I strum this edge with my figer tips and I'm getting fast. The marker is still faster than I am. The stock barrel is very accurate . DP service is fantastic. They have all day to spend with you. I love that its a small company. I feel like part of the family. The new stock board is great because I don't have to open the marker to change settings (no dip switches) I also love the ASA on off. The flip off/on lever on it is better than any I have seen. Every marker should copy it. The milling and the annodizing is beautiful. It has no kickback.

I am a noob in that I am still not very good at speedball or woodsball but I have owned 10 or 20 markers in 6 months , starting with tippmans and moving up to Proto ,invert mini and Dangerous power. So I know a little bit about markers. Right now I own all the markers I just mentioned and this is the one I love. I still have a lot to learn but I shoot a lot more players now.
Conclusion: At $299 this is no doubt, hands down, the best value in paintball today. If you go pro spring for a $800 marker but until then this will not hold your developement as a player back one bit and you will kill alot of suckers and look damn good doing it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 3rd, 2008 at 5:26 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

rainbowsixvegas Monday, October 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fusion,f8, mini, rail
Marker Setup: g3, dye ul, custom ano grip frame , custom grips, personaly tuned board, crossfire penut tank, velocity jr gansta chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Light, fast, ease of maintanace
Weaknesses: Detents
Review: This marker worked wonders for me. i play psp 13 so i dont care how fast a gun goes as long as it goes that fast and with teh new board they provide it is great. This marker is extremly light and 10 x better than the mini i shot rails minis and it is even better than all of those combined. It is the best marker i have used and i herd about the reg messing up but thats cuase every model has those lemons mine wasnt bad but i got the free reg part that fixed that problem. The customer service is great i have never seen any better group of people than that of dp they really care about the customer over there sales and i ve dealed with customer sevices from other companys and even from companys outside of paintball and all they want is to make money. DP is the way to go
Conclusion: Get the marker thats all i have to say but get a new barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

whitenoise08 Friday, October 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-upped ion
-pmr
-mini
-etek
Marker Setup: -dp g3
-urban vlocity
-crossfire 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, and if you play PSP, board.
Strengths: -Weight
-Speed
-Looks
-Feedneck
-Bolt
-Pretty much everything...
Weaknesses: -Barrel
-Board
Review: When I opened the well packaged DP box, i was blown away from the sight of the G3. the G3 is extremely sexy, and small. I picked it up and was blown away from the weight, 1.86lbs, which is crazy-light. The trigger is really nice, and feels good. The barrel is okay for a stock. Its 14" and relatively accurate. When i first shot the G3, it shot very smooth and fast, after some semi i decided to try it on NXL capped at 15bps. The gun handled it very well, and was very consistent. The RAPS asa is awesome too!!!!!!!
Conclusion: I recommend this for all types of play. Its cheap enough for rec-ball, but its great for tourneys too. I have not used it in a tourney, just scrimmages, but i will soon, and im sure it will be great...soooo BUY IT!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kenny13 Friday, October 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years28 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders-Not even close
Piranha GTI E-force w/ evil venturi bolt-A decent marker for when you live in a HPA deprived area as I do
Diablo Slayer- Not bad, but quality control is terrible
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3 w/ CP sling trigger, Techt Bolt Engine and Virtue grips
Dye Rotor
Pure energy 68/45
WDP barrel kit
Hybrid Contract Killer tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't find much to be wrong with the stock marker, but I love my CP sling trigger and Techt bolt engine.
Strengths: Small but feels good in the hand
Feel of a spoolie, simplicity of a poppet
Weaknesses: How easy it is for idiots to screw up their regs.
Very picky about lube.
Review: Upon opening the box, I was immediately impressed. The G3 felt amazing in my hands, yet was incredibly light and small

When I first aired it up, the marker would not cycle, but it only took a glance at the manual to figure out why. DP sets the reg to the closed position while it's in the box, which means that it'll need a little fine tuning before you go out to play with it.

When I actually got into a game with this thing, I was very impressed with it's fast rate of fire, low kick, low noise and the consistency from the reg. At least I was, up untill all I began hearing from my maker was a faint "puff puff" when I pulled the trigger, and a persistent hissing noise. Panicking, my first step was to flip the RAPS (a great little asa)lever to off and then back on, reseting the marker. Again it shot amazingly until the little "puff puff" had me paniced again. I flipped the RAPS lever again and once again it shot fine. This little scenario happened a couple more times, but seemed to work it's way out after that. Back in the staging area, I traced my problem to over lubing. I had been using a dow 33 as the manual recommends, but I had added a little more than what was necessary. Luckily the gun was able to work through this, most likely due to the Anti-Bolt-Stick funtion DP helpfully included (ups the dwell 2 milliseconds upon first shot). However remember to go very sparingly on the lube, and only use a DOW 33 marker grease, or DP's recomended 2/3 dow33 +1/3 standard marker oil (mix well).

Other features on the marker include an amazing little no rise, leverlock feedneck that clamps onto a hopper with a lot of force, a nice carry hook on the back(removable), the aforementioned RAPS on/off ASA, an excellent set of eyes, spring loaded delrin detents, and a reg that *should* get good consistency, which brings me to my next point:

The reg on the G3 is a very nice reg that most people will tell you gets +/-5 fps out of the box and a very respectable +/-3 after breaking in. However, a lot of people will try to tell you, (imagine in a very nerdy, whiny voice) "The stock reg sucks! It has horrible consistency, like +/-30fps!" which I would like to calmly respond to with "No, you're an idiot, you turned the reg screw in too far and messed up the reg seat, pay DP $5 for the replacement part that doesn't let you do that anymore."

-Edit- 10/15/10

Have now acquired the Techt Bolt Engine and have been using for some time now. Dramatically smoothes out the shooting cycle. Haven't done efficiency tests, but I'm pretty confident I'm getting more shots per fill now. Also the CP triggers offer a much smoother and more refined trigger pull.

-Edit- 8/26/12
The marker's still running strong, even in it's fifth year of use. No major problems to speak. The occasional O-ring replace and lube job, but that's it. Also added virtue laser eyes, because I like 'em.
Another pointer for anyone that's using the Techt Bolt engine- Unlike the stock bolt, the bolt engine likes lots of lube! If you're having problems with balls jamming in the feedneck due to a bolt not fully retracting, lube it like crazy.
Conclusion: If you're willing to spend the house payment for the latest hardware and gadgetry from Dye or Eclipse, this marker isn't quite what you're looking for. However, if you're like me and want a marker that performs similarly but for a fraction of the cost, the G3 is definitely worth your time to check out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 26th, 2012 at 8:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media