paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3

Dangerous Power G3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dangerous Power

Buy Dangerous Power G3

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dangerous Power G3
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 59
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new 2008 Dangerous Power G3 paintball marker weighing in at only 1.86lbs (fully equipped with the patented clamping feedneck, barrel and patented flip lever ASA) DP's latest creation may be the world's smallest and lightest paintball marker in existence!!!
Derived from the highly successful and limited production Threshold painball marker, the G3 benefiting from having only six o-rings in it's entire operation based upon two precision crafted parts by turning one screw; the user can access the entire bolt assembly for easy maintenance and service. The new G3 utilizes a .45 grip frame for easy customization and comes standard with Dangerour Power's highly acclaimed flip lever ASA (RAPS) and ultra low rise clamping feedneck.

G3 (black, blue, red)
weight: 1.86 lbs
length: 19.5 inches
height: 7.84 inches
operation pressure: 180psi
firing modes:
NPPL/SEMI AUTO, PSP, MILLENIUM AND NXL MODES

Product Availability 
The Dangerous Power G3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Publicenemycpt Thursday, October 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Epiphany, Eos, Threshold, Fusion, Ion, Mini, other guns
Marker Setup: Red G3, Smart parts Epiphany Reg, Critical Rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definantly get a rail and Barrel, Also check out the New Ape Board for it.
Strengths: LIGHT AS F*#K, Amazing ASA, Good Grips
Weaknesses: Barrel, Regulator (see Review) Feedneck (See Review)
Review: Ok heres my review

The Good:
This gun is fantastic, extremely light and fast out of the box. Board is very user Friendly and easy to program. Cleanup is a breeze as the Back cap comes of so easily, all you need to do then is remove the bolt, thats it! No Springs, or Sears, or anything else in there, the gun comes with all tools needed to service the gun completely. Trigger is very nice and easy to adjust, after little tinkering i could walk the trigger with ease. The overall best part of this gun is by far the new RAPS asa. This thing is the greatest ASA ever made! Periode. If i ever sell this gun I will definatly keep the ASA. Also the Regulator was Very consistant out of the box, i was shooting +/- 7 out of the box at about 250fps. It is also very good on gas, as out of the box i could get about 1500 shots of with my 68/4500 pmi tank.

Ok Now on to
The Bad:
The barrel has a very large bore size making it not very accurate with most paint.
The Feedneck has such a low profile that it is too low. I had to sand the feedneck down on my VLocity to make it shorter to get the feedneck to have a tight enough fit.
While the regulator is Extremely efficient out of the box, be VERY careful about the locking screw. Overtightening it will destroy the reg seat perminantly cause the gun to not fire, but DP has just manufactured a new Reg Seat for exactly this problem so give their customer service department a haller if you need it.
Conclusion: In Conclusion this is a fantastic gun, and customer service from DP is great! Do not let its price fool you this gun can keep up with any high end marker out there. But remember the gun is only part of the game, the player has to do the rest.

I give this gun a 9/10 because it wasnt perfect but still an excellent gun. Congrats DP on an amazing Gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

outkastmike Saturday, September 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
sft shocker
nxt shocker
droid
Marker Setup: G3
PMD
Betterone trigger
DXS 1.1 bottle
Magna hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
board
possibly a vert reg
possibly a better barrel
Strengths: lightweight
compact
RAPS asa
Feedneck
Stripping/mainenance
Weaknesses: Vert Reg
trigger
90 degree elbows
Review: I bought my G3 as "nearly new" with only a pot and hopper shot through it before purchasing it at a "discount" so i was happy at the price i got it for.
My first impressions were of how small and light it was in my hands,and the overall finnish of the anno is good also the build quility is also very good for a marker at this price point.The first thing that really impressed me straight away was the RAPS asa system,i have to say it's first class how it degasses your gun after use with a flick of the lever and the feedneck is of a quality you would normaly find on a high end marker i just cant fault either of them.

THE TRIGGER is not the best neither is the build quality with moulding marks which only make it look and feel cheap this is one of the first things i plan to replace.

THE BOARD is a simple dip switch type affair which is currently outdated with the new psp and millinium modes for 2008 this is another update that is required if you plan to play psp etc...there is currently a stock update board available and also a APE board which fullfill these issues.DP cannot reflash the original board so a new board purchase is nessesery

THE VERT REG is good but there have been issue's such as crushing the reg seat when dialing the input pressure up and down which causes poor performance and supercharging of the selenoid causing seizing and the inability to fire the marker ,so yet another possible upgrade,but only if issue's arise.
The elbows on the G3 suck,there have been numoures complaints about them by G3 users so get a couple of spares.

PERFORMANCE....This is were the G3 shines,even with a sloppy trigger it's easy to rip in semi mode and can keep up easily with markers twice its price,the barrel is good and there is no need to replace it straight away,over the chrono ithe G3 is consistant with no major spikes or short stroking..overall excellent

MAINTENANCE......Easy peasey...degass and unscrew the bolt guid and bolt then lube up and screw back in ...and thats it ...very impresive.

Just a word of warning ..for some reason DP guns tend to come from the factory a little dry with regards to lube,so it problems arise from new its probably lack of grease.

Conclusion: Overall this marker is good but not fantastic,having owned a couple of mini's in the past i would be hard pressed to say its any better than a mini but it's not any worse either,there is a small amount of kick but it's livable for me.
If the G3 had the updated board and a bearing trigger and better elbows that didn't leak after 2 or 3 uses then i could easily give it 10/10
Remember you are not going to get the smoothness or performance of a $1000 marker you get what you pay for and for the price point you get a very good marker.
Overall...The G3 is not trying to be nor is it pretending to be a ego or droid or dm8,but a good mid priced marker giving you good overall performance at a low price point.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 27th, 2008 at 6:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Viper10882 Tuesday, September 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom ACT
Tippmann Expansion Chamber
TechT Hair Pins & Fang Trigger
Empire Magna Loader
Pure Energy 20oz CO2 or Guerilla Air 70ci 4500psi Tank
Marker Setup: G3 Black
Dangerous Power PMD (Pressure Measuring Device)
Dangerous Power / APE Board
Smart Parts Freak 14" Barrel
Dye Hyper3 Reg
Shocktech Drop Forward
Empire Magna Loader
Guerilla Air 70ci 4500psi Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dangerous Power / APE Board
Dangerous Power Pressure Measuring Device (PMD)
Barrel
Regulator
Strengths: Small, lightweight, easy to shoot, easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: So far I have found no problems, have shot 6000 rounds
Review: I have played 10 games with this gun before all the upgrades and have been very happy with its performance so far. I have put 2000 rounds through it after the upgrades and have been very surprised at the performance. I would recommend this gun to anyone. I play against some friends that shoots a Shocker NXT & an 08 Ego and I can keep up with both of them.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone looking for a small, lightweight, upgradeable, easy/fast maintenance gun that they wanting to add to their arsenal. DP has truely made a wonderful gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 29th, 2009 at 1:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vendetta-rw Friday, August 8th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned:
DM's, shockers, droids, egos, pretty much everything
This marker's shot feels like that of an impulse
Marker Setup: Stock G3
Halo
45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator
Strengths: Very light
Small yet easy to hold
Weaknesses: Consistancy: Reg
Accuracy: Barrel/Reg
Review: I was very impressed with this gun upon opening the box. It was small, light, and easy for an adult to hold. The trigger frame and trigger felt a little cheap to me. The trigger had some side to side play and had that metal on metal click. The grips did not fit flush against the frame so there was a little give when you squeze the grip. Also the ruber grips are extremely hard.

I took the gun out and shot it. It wasnt great over the chrono 5 +/- but it was alright. The gun has a little bit of kick about like a impulse or automag. As far as accuracy, using ultra evil left over from chicago, I could hit 4 in tree consistantly. The verticle accuracy of the gun was unacceptable due to the 5 +/- though.

I took the gun to mess around with it on wednesday practice. I still could not get consistancy. I lubed the reg and dry fired the gun through a couple of tanks. The gun then started shooting 8+/-. I put a dye reg on the gun and the consistancy improved alot 3+/-. On the field the gun performed well, it was easy to shoot and includes psp ramp settings. The accuracy of the gun was decent but not up to par with the mini in it's class.

In closing I was not to thrilled with the marker. I talked with my team mate who techs guns at the field and he said he noticed a lot of the regs coming back with problems, and problems with the front O-ring.
Conclusion: I grade guns on an even playing field according to the year they came out. This gun being an 08 model has some pretty stiff competition. A perfect mid range gun deserves a 7. Due to the fact that the gun has a couple of design flaws I am going to give it a 5. This gun is not the magic marker we have all been waiting for that has the quality and performance of $1000+ dollar guns with a $400 price tag. Between other guns in its class- rails/slgs, minis, ions, ect... it scores in the middle of the pack.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

zensins Thursday, July 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month46 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Warped Sportz Rocky Cagnioni Angel IR3
A5 w/too many upgrades to name
DM4
06 MacDev 'Borg
Marker Setup: Dangerous Parts G3 w/updated APE stock board
Vlocity Jr. w/Gangsta chip (not installed for this review)
4500/45ci Angel Air tank with no-name $50 reg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
DP's new "stock" APE board ($35 if it didn't come stock on your G3)
CP trigger
$3 Macro fittings
Strengths: Super-simple operation
Bolt out back
LIGHT & TIGHT
Clamping feedneck
RAPS ASA
Weaknesses: Macro fittings suck
Trigger is fast but cheap
Review: There are endless videos of the G3 blowing out a hopper of paint at 25 BPS. Most look like people who stepped out of their nice air conditioned house shooting great paint into a box in their manicured back yard or driveway. Then, there's the real world. Try 94 degrees woodsball in North Florida with around 100% humidity. Best fill I could get on my 45/4500 was 2500 psi. I'm keepin' my paint in the shade, but it's 94 in the shade.

I was feeding my G3 with a stock Vlocity Jr. using 18bps PSP 3 shot ramping. I went through about a case of Proball, alternating between woodsball and recball. This was my G3's debut. My marker is straight stock, with stock barrel and the newly improved APE "stock" board with all "default" settings except MGRF and Firing Mode, this includes the dwell.

Things started out rough, blowing the DP stamped macro fitting's sleeve, sending it flying. I had read a thread on PBN started by another G3 owner complaining about that, so I double-checked the macroline to make sure it was fully inserted. It still blew off. I am 95% sure it was seated all the way in. Interesting note on this is that I had only gassed it up with about 500 PSI previously, and had no problem. I would guess that 850 PSI blew it where 500 PSI could not. Anyway, having read about the problem, I was half expecting it and had packed a spare 90 degree fitting just in case. 3 minutes later I was gassed up again. The macro fitting on the reg wasn't sealing right with the piece included in the box, so I threw on a slightly longer piece. That solved the problem.

After that minor glitch, I put it on the chrono. +5/-5 Frankly that's fine for a crispy new reg that hasn't been broken in yet.

I walked out onto the field for the first time and took a test shot about the width of the field and was able to put 2 out of the 3 shot burst on a 2X4 with the other two balls (1st + 3 shot) missing it by less than an inch. That's with the stock barrel. Mainly I was happy with how well the gun "fit" me. I had to sell an Angel IR3 because I just wasn't accurate with it. The gun was accurate, but I couldn't snap up and hit my target with it. Not so with the G3. It was like it was built for me. Even with the stock barrel, accuracy was surprising. I brought a Freak kit out but left it in the car all day. I didn't trust my paint tolerances and decided to err on the side of no breaks since the accuracy was already impressive.

The rest of the day: Perfection. From snapshooting around the snake on the recball field to ambushing people in the woods, it performed flawlessly. God help anyone peeking at me from behind a tree at 75'. Not a single ball was broken in the barrel, hopper, or gun. I did not use a squeegie even once. Not a single shootdown. Not a single FSD. Nothin' but nasty 3 shot groups that were taking out hands, hoppers and goggles. I ran out of air ONCE but with 45ci at 2500psi, what did I expect. A 68ci tank is in my near future. But the point is, consider the conditions. We got to the field late, around noon, so our table was in the noon-day sun. So the flat black G3 is sitting in the sun with a half-full black hopper of paint on top. I put a bag over the hopper to try keep it out of direct sunlght, but who am I kidding. Humidity is so bad that on the first game the guy next to me with the SL8R got shot out before he could get a shot off because his thermal-lensed mask fogged up. So after 3-4 hours, there's no way that paint is in good shape. Plus, I was mixing in some "medium grade" paint from 2 months ago that I still had in my pods. The G3 shot it all without the tiniest hic-up. Also, it was just so LIGHT. With the Vlocity Jr. and 45ci tank it was by far the lightest setup I've ever picked up. Carting it around the woods, holding it steady for long periods of time, like when posting... By the end of an insanely hot day lugging my A5 around gets old. The G3 was featherlight in comparison, and yeah, it made a difference.

It did have a little bit of kick compared to my DM4. It was loud compared to the SL8R, but I wouldn't say it was "loud". The A5 is far louder, even with the low pressure kit installed. I'm pretty sure my Angel IR3 was about as loud.

-- UPDATE --

I have owned my G3 for around a year and a half now. It is still performing beautifully, and I have not given serious though to buying a new marker. I bought an 06 Ego as a backup and installed a Zick Kit in it. After using it a couple times it now sits unused. It works great, it's just not my G3.

The CP trigger is the only upgrade I have done to the marker aside from the improved reg part free from DP, the $30 stock replacement board from DP (both standard in the G3 SE by the way), and the macroline fittings. The CP trigger is DA BOMB and really "finished" the marker in terms of making it perfect for me. I have been accused of ramping while in semi using this trigger. If anything ever happened to my G3, I would buy another G3. Maybe an SE, but I'd still put a CP trigger in that one, even with the "improved trigger". Nothing beats a bearing.

There have been no mechanical problems with the marker, at all. The sail o-ring needed to be replaced a couple months ago, but that's no surprise, since most of the stress of operation lands on that one o-ring. It did last over a year. So if your G3 starts giving you any crap, replace the battery, and if that doesn't work, swap out the sail o-ring on the bolt with the replacement that comes in the box. That has been the extent of my troubleshooting on this marker. No calls to DP service. No need to send it in.

The G3 continues to perform great, shooting whatever paint I put in it without breaking, to the point that I don't bother to carry a squeegie on the field most games. No first shot drop. No shootdown. I never replaced the stock reg after installing the upgraded part supplied by DP. Some say it needs a CP reg. My experience says that's just bull.

Design: Take a look at xluben's animation of the G3's (Threshold) operation and you can see why this marker is giving me no trouble. It's simple simple simple. I'd post the link but the rules don't allow it. Google xluben threshold animation. Then take a look at some of the other design animations. It's self-evident, even for people with no technical experience. Why DP doesn't point this out is beyond me. Poppet valve designs are supposed to have less o-rings than spoolies. Not true here. The G3 design is the most simple poppet valve design I have been able to find.

Efficiency: The 68 cubic inch tank was a welcome improvement over my 45. Mainly that's because my local field fills from SCUBA, and 2500 PSI in a 45 CI tank doesn't last long with a spoolie, and the G3 is no exception there. However, I typically get 2-3 average-length games out of my 68. Most people have a 68 so this really isn't an issue.

Cost: At $300, you can't beat this marker. It was a bargain at $430. Durability & reliability have been phenomenal. There has been no anno wear. The marker looks like it is still brand new, but I do take care of my equipment. It shoots like it did straight out of the box, except a bit more consistent over the chrono now that the reg is broken in.

Two other players at my field have bought a G3 based completely on how well mine has performed. One sold his PMR, the other was a new player upgrading from a Tippmann. Both love their new markers.
Conclusion: Buy it. Just do it. If you have any probs, check the Dangerous Power forum on PBNation. DP actually has a tech monitoring the forum (DPServiceBrad) answering questions. If he can't solve your problem, he will personally handle your return and make sure things are done fast and right. This company actually CARES about you. For $300, you can't beat this marker. You can't beat it for twice that, seriously. Forget the Mini. Forget the PMR. Forget the etek. Forget any of the half-plastic garbage other companies are selling and get this. You will be shooting DARTS instead of spending time on the sidelines cleaning your gun. Simple as that.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 29th, 2009 at 4:11 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

jhony115 Friday, July 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego 05,06
etek and etek 2
dangerous power f7,f8 and threshold
Invert mini (G3 is a better bet tho)
Marker Setup: All stock parts
steely air tank
empire b2
Recommended
Upgrades:
magnetic trigger kit
Strengths: ASA
speed
weight
size
accuracy
price
very reliable
feed neck
Weaknesses: Im not a big fan of the regulator
Review: once i got my gun and hopper i wanted to use it right away so i bought a case of paint gased up the gun and went to the nearest field i was happy with the results very fast and light also extremly accurate it wasnt the most consistint on the cronograph (not the bad ether) any way that was the best day of paintballing ive done even the Refs were impressed...back to the gun. The special "Raps ASA" is very good all u got to do is flip a switch to gas and degas the gun.The feed neck is very good grips Empire/halo b's very well.heavly ported 14" barrel pretty good.I dont like the trigger because its not magnetic but its still decent. over all its a very sturdy gun.
Conclusion: I would highly reccomend this for anyone woods ball or X-ball. Great gun Great price i would suggest you get your self one of these.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

born2dive Tuesday, June 24th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 66 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have this marker for about 8 weeks now.
Invert Mini is the closest match that I used.
My other markers:
EGO SL74
Etek
A5 (lots of them)
ICD
Marker Setup: Empire Magna
68ci 4500psi
Freak Barrel
Strengths: Light
Somewhat affordable
Weaknesses: Bolt design
HPR
Electronic Board
Grip
Review: I gave this marker a try after reading all the positive reviews.
Well, it is quite a disappointment.

Bolt O-ring:
I had to replace the front O-ring of the bolt already 4 times. Only 2 replacements came with the gun. The size of this one is a dash 15 just in case someone has the same problem. The pseudo user guide says it in metric (14x1.78)
The O-ring gets pinch at the feed neck and get chopped off. This occurs roughly every 1000 shots.
Luckily the bolt is easy to remove and the replacement is swift. However you will not go through a game with this marker.

HP Regulator:
The shots are totally inconsistent. This must be coming from the reg which is horrible.
It takes a lot of tinkering with a 1/4 inch allen wrench to get any kind of mandatory speed.
A 1/2 of a turn makes your velocity jumping from 350fps to 200. Then once you think you have it expect +/- 30fps in your testing.
So if you are aiming for 280 you better tune for 250. No need to say that the range of your shots will be somewhat random.

Dip switches:
Taking the grip apart to change settings isnít very user friendly. I guess it keeps the electronic cheap, simple and reliable. Definitely low tech

Grip:
I donít like the exposed metal part in the palm of my hand. They should wrap around.
the rubber is very hard and get slippery when wet.

Trigger guard:
Some sharp edges. My finger got cut once. I had to sand off some the edges. Of course the anodizing went off with it. But at least I am not getting cut.

ASA:
This is a very well design part. Very quick to take the tank on and off or depressurize the marker.
However the ASA came loose after the first hour of play. I had to remove the gripper and bend off a little capacitor in order to tighten the screws.



Made in USA?

I don't think so. There were no marking on the gun that specified the origin.

This was a actually a key selling point for my purchase. In the end this marker is like any other poor quality gun made in China in my book. Most likely that is where it's being manufactured.


Hey I am just honestly reporting my findings about this marker. It's not easy to swallow a 400$ pill that goes sideways.
For all of you that really did purchase this marker and are happy with it, great. I'll meet you on the field but I will be shooting my eclipses.

Conclusion: Obviously I could not recommend anyone to buy this marker. (Unless they are playing for the oposite team)
I am giving it a 1 since it is a non functioning marker.
You cannot get it to shoot to the appropriate velocity and then in the middle of the action you have to take it apart to swap an O-ring. Lovely.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 3rd, 2008 at 1:24 pm PST
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

Pballer-Mike94 Sunday, June 22nd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
Marker Setup: G3
Empire Reloader B
45/4500 Crossfire Fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck
New Reg
Barrel
Strengths: Weight
Mobility
Accuracy
Easy to maintain
a little kick
trigger (personal preference)
Price
Weaknesses: Feed neck ( see review )
Trigger frame (see review)
Reg
Barrel
trigger
Review: To start off this gun is a amazing! Its super light and good gun over all. I went through so much paint with this gun and it shot like a dream. Also that the bolt didn't come lubed enough so i had to put a little on but still very good gun. I'd say that it is worth the money.

The reg is very inconsistent.

Barrel if you want to be more accurate.

About the feed neck... My empire reloader be is a pain to get in the G3 also that when i put it in and take it out it leaves a bunch of scratches. Also i couldn't get my hopper outta my feed neck and broke off part of my shell.

And the trigger frame help up for like 6 matches then it came loose so i tightened it
but after like 4 matches it was loose again
so you cant play your best when you are afraid of loosing one screw that can put you out for the day so i thought that was a weakness. Edit: I fixed this, no problem anymore.


the trigger has side to side play but i dont mind it


Also there is a little kick but thats cause its so damn light.

But besides that its an amazing gun if you got $430 get it you wont regret it.


Strengths i couldn't mention cause i didn't have enough space:
Good on Air
Cheap
Conclusion: I recommend this for any person who is into paint ball and wants to shoot better and doesn't want to spend like $500 or higher. So its a good gun try it out.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 24th, 2008 at 7:36 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

spguy4458 Monday, June 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts epiphany tons of ups ( no where close)
Invert mini
tippmans
Marker Setup: Dangerous power g3, hybrid contract killer grips, vlocity jr w/ virtue, 16 all american barrel, 3000/48 pmi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board
Strengths: Quality, speed, ease of maintenance
Weaknesses: Programmability, little upgrades
Review: I recently purchased the g3 because iw as getting very annoyed of the constant leaks and other issues with the mini. Several people had them at my field so i picked one up. upon opening the box i found a pretty nice stock barrel and the gun. I gased it up and ran about 5 pods thru it. i fell in love with it and immediately sat down and tried to find a good mode for it becuase the modes in the instructions are few. i then copltely dismantled the marker and was amazed to c that the entire bolt assemply was only 2 pieces and required only undoing 1 screw to acess. I have heard that dp is puttin out a new board that will model various features of a virtue board like trigger programming and many of the modes. I am planning on getting this board due to the lack of programming on the stock board. Also the feel of this gun rivals that of the mini in that it is extremely light even with my crappy aluminium tank. It also feels much sturdier than the mini.
Conclusion: I would definately recomend this gun to most rec players due to its speed and reliability but not to tourney players bc of its lack of programming and 3 shot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Evil_Raven Thursday, June 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Old Omen, Cockers, Proto Matrix Rail, PM6, Automags
Marker Setup: Stock DP G3, 72/45 Crossfire Stubby, Halo w/ suicide shells,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit... like ALWAYS,
and a new Board/Bolt when they come out, but nothing for now
Strengths: Fast, Simple, Low maintenance, more unique than other markers
Weaknesses: Setting the Mode, Consistency
Review: I think this Marker is one of the most fun little guys Ive shot in a long time, I would reccomend this to anyone looking in this price range. I tried the invert Mini as well, and the main difference for me is the extras. The ASA on the DP is vastly superior to any others. Also the Clamping feedneck is sweet for a stock marker. Only 6 O rings is right, also no tubes in the gun, the air moves through milled ports in the body. nothing to break! I am going to use this as my main gun, and don't see myself needing any more for awhile,

The only problem I see is I don't like how the Board works, it is a combination of a poor manual and less options than I would like.

I played over the weekend, and had NO chops, through 2 cases, and using a 12v revvy... the only hold up was the input pressure was a little finicky at first, Make sure it is high enough to return the bolt. Stock it is set far too low (it seems like it was closed)

This is a great gun, a new board and a barrel kit it will be a perfect gun for someone who wants to play intro tourneys.. I wouldn't take it to a pro tourney, but local rookie league this will be more than enough
Conclusion: I would reccomend this product over the Mini (and other guns in this price range) for 2 reasons 1: unique, there are alot more mini's and PMRs than this and 2: simplicity, the mini is simple, this is simpler and better designed (like the ASA and Feedneck)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media