paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP

ACI F4 Illustrator TP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI F4 Illustrator TP

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI F4 Illustrator TP
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 41
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: 45 frame with wrap-around grips, ambidextrous 10" custom 2 hole bottomline, patented all weather valve, quick slide cocking, gas-through stock, high-volume cell and ACI custom color transparent elbow.
Product Availability 
The ACI F4 Illustrator TP is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, May 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have previously used a spyder compact 2000 (no comparison), tippman m98, tippman m98 custom, nova 700, rebel, and an alleycat. compacts are good beginner guns, but are a bit on the loud side, and I have no use for a double trigger. tippmans are pretty good, but are a bit tricky to field strip without loosing parts because of the way they are put together. my friend's nova is essentially worthless, other than having pretty good accuracy (might as well be a pump). rebels are alot like spyders, and finally, i like how simple alleycats are, and how well built they are (my best friend has had his for about 5 years now and it works almost flawlessly) but he still envies my f-4.
Marker Setup: I have an f-4 TP, stock at the moment (i'm planning on getting a boomstick soon). i have a 12 oz, and 32 oz tank, and a 200 rd hopper w/o revy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
only get the basics (tank, hopper, etc.) unless you have money to burn, in which case get a nice barrel, maybe a reg.
Strengths: the first thing that comes to mind is the accuracy of the stock barrel, it drops a bit after about 20 yd. but it doesn't curve with good paint (unless you break a ball, which will usually be the paint, or dirt in the barrel). the only time i've really had a problem with paint was when it got too hot and expanded/ softened. i've even run out of paint before, and i just started scavenging paint off the ground, cleaned it off and stuck it in my hopper (as long as it was still reasonably hard, and hadn't expanded) and the gun didn't break any paint at all. a couple guys i war with have boomsticks, and i can still outshoot them, one of them has a titanium and is a sniper, so he's good at sneaking around, and hiding everything, only leaving his gun out while it's pointing at your head (which is what i have to shoot at). he got me pinned, and all i could see was the tip of his barrel. i just popped out from behind my tree, and we fired at about the same time, his shot just missed my head, but mine actually went down his barrel and into the chamber.
Weaknesses: if you want to rapid fire go out and buy an angel, this is the weapon for a steady shot who isn't going to just go around wasting paint. if you're breaking paint, it's probably either your velocity being too high, something in the barrel, or the ball retaining spring is tweaked. the only rival for durability that i've come across for this gun is the alleycat. i've never had to open this gun up, other than taking out the bolt a couple times to clean it. if you remember to lube the gun, and clean the barrel after breaks or if dirt gets into it. There is a lack of upgrades for this gun, but it doesn't need them (a heavier barrel is a good upgrade, the stock is about 2oz)
Conclusion: this gun is well worth the price, around $160, but beginners may prefer to have a gun that has a higher rof (rate of fire). i compete with this gun against higher end markers including agd's and autocockers, dont blame things on your equipment, unless it's brass eagle, but then again.... blame yourself for buying it in the first place. overall, if you want an affordable semi with good accuracy, get this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wenninjj Saturday, May 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippys, Piranah's and Spyders
Marker Setup: 2001 ACI F4 Illustrator TP, ACI Venturi Bolt,12" Smart Parts Progressive barrel, Palmer Stabilizer,68cu 3000psi Crossfire Stub Air Tank, VL 200 and Dye stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Regulator, HPA system
Strengths: Very reliable. This marker requires very little maintenance. It just seems to work every time I play. Fires smoothly and I have put about 4000 rounds through this marker and I have never had ball break.
Weaknesses: Parts are more expensive for this marker than most others of similar design. Also, the range of aftermarket parts for this paintgun is relatively small.
The striker spring is way too long. It's hard to get your velocity under 300 unless you cut down the spring.
Conclusion: This is a great marker for people that just want something that works all the time. It works well and fires nice and I would reccomend it to anyone interested in paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PiranhaPete Tuesday, May 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Sonix, Spider Aggressor, Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Besides the all black F4 Illustrator TP... a venturi bolt, 12" Small Parts stainless steal one piece, and a chromally 16oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetly a new barrel for accuracy, venturi bolt helps for less ball breaks and quieter shots.
Strengths: Incredible gas effiecency (espeacially with a effiecent barrel) Easy fieldstrip, durable and reliable most of all. With a new barrel the gun can the most accurate I have seen anywhere.
Weaknesses: Trigger is alittle slow, but my style is sniper or play stick and move so it does not bother me. I had a problem with ball breaks because there was a lip of metal in the powerfeed that would hold the balls from falling completly in the chamber. I easily sovled that by sanding down the lip.
Conclusion: The ACI F4 lIIustrator TP is great because the marker already comes with a magnificent expansion chamber, and neat looking High volum chamber. All you need to have a kickin gun is a good barrel, and the venturi bolt for $15 does not hurt.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mghull_14 Wednesday, May 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Avenger(sux) didnot compare at all to this gun
Brass Eagle Blade(sux also) I don't think you can call a blade a paintball gun ,it more or less rolls them out of the barrel
Kingman Hammer or Trracer, whatever its called: pretty good pump
Marker Setup: ACI F4 Illustrator TP,stock barrel,9oz Co2
*soon to come: 9v Revvy,Expansion chamber, 32degrees Nyte Stick Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a 9 or a 12 volt hopper it'll help keep pballs from breaking(not that a lot do)
Maybe a new barrel, stock barrels OK but just if you wanna upgrade(Get a 32 degrees Nyte Stick)
Strengths: Very Durable
Looks Awesome(get the blue or the red, not easily camoed but looks cool)
Shoots consistent
Has an External Velocity control
Field Strippable
Keeps up with other semis
Weaknesses: Just the chopping pballs issue but the 9 or 12 volt will fix this
Doesn't have a 2 finger trigger but that doesn't bother me( I like the regular trigger just fine)
Nothing else i can think of
Conclusion: I really think this should be a top contender in your search to find the right paintball gun. It is Reliable and Durable and looks awesome. Overall, I think it is a very good gun, and I think you should consider this gun before buying a Spyder or Pirahna.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact, Tippmann Model 98 and 98 Custom
Marker Setup: ACI F4 Illustrator, VL200 Hopper, 20oz. C02 Tank, 12" Dye Alluminum Barrel, ACI Venturi Bolt, ACI 2 Finger Trigger Frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would definetily reccomend a new barrel, and a two finger trigger to upgrade the F4, the venturi bolt also is good. (A 9 or 12 volt revolution to help ball chops)
Strengths: This gun has a good shot, is very easy to clean and field strip, and is very durable.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel isn't too good (fixed easily), the velocity always seems kind of low, and balls chop without a revolution. The only problems I've had have been that the ball retaining spring was snapped, but i replaced one for about 2 bucks.
Conclusion: This is a good marker for the once and a while player, but I would not reccomend it to the seasoned veteran or someone who is playing every weekend. Good for a $130 marker though. (Some are better)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jofus418 Saturday, April 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: F4 Illustrator TP with 12" CP medium bore barrel (blue), 12v Revy (blue), DYE Sticky Grip (blue), KAPP Apocalypse dropforward, and Crossfire 68ci Steel Nitro tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel definitely.
Strengths: It's very durable. The field stripping system is also very handy when you need to clean your bolt or something like that in a short amount of time. It's consistent with its shots most of the time, and it doesn't hog your air.
Weaknesses: The sears wear down quickly, so you'll probably find yourself "farting" a good many times after about a year's worth of play. I had to buy and install a replacement, but I haven't had any problems with that since. Also, ibe careful with how fast you shoot. The F4 IS NOT A FAST SHOOTING MARKER! Many a time have I over-done it and end up with a pinch, chop, or jam.
Conclusion: This is an excellent for the beginners who want to step it up a notch from BE and other things of that sort. It has served me well, and has even won a tournament with me. If you're looking for durability and reliabilty (exception to the bad line of sears) for cheap, turn to the F4 TP.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder classic and TL plus, model 98 and carbine
Marker Setup: 2002 ACI Illustrator TP w/ 14" AAmerican. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
not many needed. a trigger job maybe.
Strengths: the 2002 model comes with many more features than the previous ones. these include a matching aci combo barrel, aci venturi bolt, and a 4-stage aci sub zero expansion chamber. for some reason mine came with a double trigger installed. i didn't complain :). as you can see the gun is already nicely upgraded right out of the box. it has a very nice design - no outside moving parts. the price is also good for the amount of high quality parts that come stock on it.
Weaknesses: i don't like the trigger pull at all. it's long and hard to pull off a fast rate of fire. i also have the new aci double trigger. if you don't like to shoot fast then this isn't a problem.
Conclusion: from what i can see this is a solid gun with many very nice upgrades. considering the low price, this gun is a great value. i wish the trigger pull was better, other than that, there's nothing really bad about it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shmoo Saturday, February 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the spyder Xtra, SE, TL plus, 2000, and Compact. Also the Tippman 98, and PiE2 Black Dragun
Marker Setup: PiE2 Black Dragun with smart parts stainless barrel, 48ci nitro tank, and 12 volt revolution hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
For this gun I would truley reccomend nothing- dont waste your money, but if your intent on buying this marker, I would suggest a venturi bolt and revy (to stop ball chopage)
Strengths: The stock barrel is pretty good considering it is stock and the gun looks beuatiful! It is pretty durhable compared to other guns and is easy to field strip (but not compared to newer guns)- no tools required to feild strip. When it is shotting correctly I guess it preformed up to par. Barley though.
Weaknesses: Where to start. The trigger pull is really long and the gun comes only with a single trigger. Its kind of heavy and you need tools to change the velocity. But the main problem, the thing that makes this gun a low number on my scale is its unreliabailty and incrediable ball chopping rate. I was chopping balls like crazy. Every game. The ball shell would be trapped inbetween the bolt and chamber and it would not only get paint everywhere inside the gun, I could not reock it and would have to call myself out. The manual (which is good actually) told me that my hopper was not feeding fast enough. So I got a 9volt reavy. Even this and a later addition, a venturi bolt, would not fix the ball chopping problem. This would cause the gun, even If I shot through the break to have horribly erratic accuraccy. The rof fire sucks, but no one excpects high rof from this gun. Did I say the trigger pull is long. I am giving it a 2 because I have to save one for a marker that falls apart when I pull the trigger.
Conclusion: This gun really is a piece of garbage. I see no reason why anyone should get it. It has no advantages to speak of. All it does is chop paint and cause problems. There are much better markers for in the 150 price range. Seriously, dont buy this marker.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
F4 illustrator, griffin, spyder compact 2000
Marker Setup: i have an aci combo barrel 14". and they lcd phat frame electronic trigger frame.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: This gun is awesome. It shoots straight. It dosent chop balls and its reasonably inexpensive. i got mine for 180.
Weaknesses: You have to take real good care of it or it breaks down.
Conclusion: This was my first gun. It is awesome. I've took good care of it and it works. I recommend anybody whos looking for a relatively cheap gun to get this one or the WGP B.O.S.S. X-Raider.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j*friz Sunday, February 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Its beter than,,the VM 68, stingray, talon, tippman and the basic spyder
I've used guns from the Angel on down.
Marker Setup: F4 red TP, 12in CP barrel, 10in smartparts teardrop, 12v rev hopper, venturi bolt, drop forward, custom fitted 2-finger trigger, 68ci N2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel....Rev hopper...2-finger triggger
Strengths: The trigger pull is smooth, and the gun does'nt recoil as much as a spyder therefore it is easier to stay steady while firing. the gun has nice pretty finish.
Weaknesses: The vertical ASA/foregrip works loose causing a leak so you have to keep your eye on it,but putting some Locktite on it will fix it. Not coming with a standard 2-finger tigger, every other brand of gun does.
Conclusion: Its good for the money, its reliable and not a bad looking gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media