paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Stryker Paintball Cybrid / Stryker Paintball Cybrid / Stryker Paintball Cybrid / Stryker Paintball Cybrid

Stryker Paintball Cybrid Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Stryker Paintball

Buy Stryker Paintball Cybrid

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Stryker Paintball Cybrid
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Cybrid is Stryker's next generation semi-automatic marker featuring a lightweight metal body and a revolutionary integrated foregrip for maximum comfort. Also features a new blade trigger for faster rates of fire, and a intergrated foregrip for incresed comfort. This kit includes: the Cybrid marker, JT Raptor mask, pre-filled CO2 cylinder with adapter, VL200 loader, Proflex squeegee and a barrel plug.
Product Availability 
The Stryker Paintball Cybrid is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
FiRsTsTrYkE11 Sunday, January 2nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmann 98 Custom
-Spyder Victor (2009)
-Invert Mini (only tested a few times!)
Marker Setup: -Gen X Global 200 round hopper
-9oz Brass Eagle c02
-Standard Stryker Cybrid Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Better barrel, if you think you need it.
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Lightness
-Finish (exotic red)
-Excellent grip in front
Weaknesses: -Loudness
-An occasional chop
-Feed neck sometimes jams
Review: I got this marker when I just couldn't bare the Tippmann 98 Custom rental, because it just plain sucked. A good deal; $50 at amazon remanufactured, normally an $85 dollar value new. So, why wouldn't I get it?! Anyway, soon after we went to Providence Paintball to play a few rounds. I have to say, it's accuracy is superb, comparing to others who said it's accuracy was bad. But my main concern was the chopping; my hopper was splattered in paint and some paintballs got stuck in the feed neck, so I'd shoot tiny paintball pebbles, like a shotgun. This didn't happen too often, but it got a bit annoying. Everything else is good, though. I did very good overall and my friends envied my marker.
Conclusion: If you're on a tight budget and you're a beginner-novice, I'd take a look at this marker. If you're closer to a pro or you play pretty seriously, you should maybe look at this, but you should try and get a better marker, because this gun isn't perfect, but it's far from bad!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamF3AR Monday, October 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing at this price range
Marker Setup: Proto Primo loader (best gravity hopper)
Proto 1 piece 14' barrel (red)
3000psi Pure Energy tank
trying to get a feedneck lately but the cheapest one is a $40 one

Azodin Kaos
Evil Driver barrel
Proto Primo loader
48/3000psi tank

Stryker Cybird(back up)
14" CP one piece
Proto primo
48/3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel(must)
HPA(must)
Better bolt(optional)
Strengths: Cheap
Gas thru grip
Nice look
Weaknesses: Not light
Loud
Chops with co2
Review: Bought this gun from walmart for 70$. feels really crappy, tho there is a decent look. plastic gun shell. trigger is IMPOSSIBLE to double tap or walk. Still, 70$ guns is hard to find so can't really say its crap. to be honest, Stryker never make any good stuff other than their paintballs which is decent. for sure a buy for newbies or someone like me who needs a back up gun. barrel and HPA is a must or it will chop paint like crazy. some time, the paintball will curve, but i guess thats good for woodsball :p
Conclusion: Decent. Efficient for a mechanical gun. Good looking. Awesome price
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintcritic1995 Wednesday, October 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: Styrker Cyrid
good barrel length
accurate
easy to use
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel
Strengths: Strong barrel
Weaknesses: Don't not use a 24 oz tank with this marker or it will freeze
Review: Over all a good gun for beginners. Just don't go too big on the co2 tank. After the pre-filled co2 tank runs out get a new 10 to 14 oz tank. DO NOT put to much money in this gun. It is just lasts about 3000 shots. It is meant for beginners to get an idea on what to buy next.
Conclusion: Good gun just don't spend too much time and money on it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Invertible Tuesday, September 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder mr1
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr1, Reds Pepperstickz Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel might improve accuracy
Strengths: Semi-accurate, solid plastic, looks okay
Weaknesses: Completely wastes Co2, crappy plastic bolt, chops paint.
Review: My friend bought this gun to my house about a year ago and just left it here. I have tested it a few times and it is an okay gun for the price. He says he paid about 50 dollars for it, which is about how good it works.

Accuracy: similar to that of an non-upgraded MR1

Range: Fair, not too good, not too bad.

Speed: You can actually shoot this sucker pretty fast if you have fast fingers

Co2 Consumption: This this destroys Co2, it is a complete waste. I used a 12 ounce tank and it was out in less than a full hopper. I popped the tank into my MR1, and it shot about half a hopper before it didn't work. This thing requires monster Co2 intake to even shoot.

Looks: Looks better than most high-end markers, but doesn't perform like them
Conclusion: Okay for the money, I would pay about 75 dollars for something like this. Pop a new barrel on, get a huge Co2 tank maybe a new bolt and you have something pretty decent.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 30th, 2010 at 5:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

djmay71 Sunday, September 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP's Autocockers, Tippman 98 Custom's, and misc. rental guns
Marker Setup: Custom made iron sights, modified V200 Viewloader hopper, 48cui HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel, rails & scope (if you find accuracy is questionable), sleeker hopper, run with HPA instead of CO2.
Strengths: Great gun, not just for starters. Better quality than other reviewers give it.
Weaknesses: Unclear owners manual, expect user to have previous experience to understand.
Review: So I bought the Stryker Cybrid, and opened up the package. It came with the marker, JT-style mask, 9oz CO2 tank, and a 100-round bag of paintballs.
After setting everything up, I went outside to my shooting range, and set it up to shoot at 30 yards. Disengaged the crossbolt style safety, and pulled the trigger.
Nothing happened.
Apparently, what the user instruction manual forgot to inform is, that a field strip is required to, not only add extra lubrication to the hammer and other parts, but to also properly align the bolt into the hammer.
So, hiccup aside, the gun shoots hard. I ran it on the 9oz CO2, and used the CO2 to break the gun in, and to set the FPS. The only problem being, is that as much as it comes with the CO2, it is much better run on HPA. (High Pressure Air).
Running the gun on HPA, not only makes tuning the FPS easier, but also makes the gun more efficent, quieter, and more accurate.
The finish on the gun, is black and metallic red, and appears to be plastic, but rest assured, is durable than most plastics.
To test the durablility of the plastic, I set the gun, unloaded, with no gas attached, at 10 yards, and fired a series of consecutive 10 round bursts with my friends Ion. The plastic did not break. The only downside of the finish, overall, is the red color, but can easily be sanded down and paint to a color of choice. (I might personally airbrush some camo on)
Conclusion: The Styrker Cybrid, although a cheap looking gun, and cheap (price wise), is not what it seems to be from first glance and will take a tremendous amount of abuse, making it a perfect, starter marker for kids, or the casual player.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wacaca Thursday, September 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a5 Brass eagle raptor Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5
14" smart parts progressive barrel
tac cap
double trigger
spyder to a5 barrel adapter
CAR stock
x7 hopper
48/3000 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Cheap
nice looking
light
Weaknesses: Plastic parts
cheap internals
bad barrel
chops paint
long trigger pull
Review: I have this marker and it is pretty decent I use it as a backup marker. You should buy this gun because it is cheap and pretty decent for the price and you can use it straight out of the box but it is nothing like a tippmann. Some players dont like it because it is $129 Canadian and looks like a gun that cost a lot more. Despite that it is made of a lot of plasic is is very reliable and I have put over a case of paint through this gun.
Conclusion: Its nice go buy one
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a1pharm Tuesday, August 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray 2 (very popular entry level gun about 10 years ago)
Tippmann 98
Brass Eagle Green Raptor (awesome gun, hard to find)
Various Spyders
Marker Setup: Cybrid with JJ Ceramic 14" barrel (longer than 14" will just slow your shots down, or waste CO2)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Upgrade the stock barrel to a 14 inch barrel with sufficient porting
-If you don't like to aim and carefully place your shots, get an electronic hopper so you can spray and pray
Strengths: Inexpensive
Durable construction
Accepts Spyder barrels
Stock trigger is a double trigger
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is incredibly inaccurate
Velocity adjustments are not precise
Review: I purchased two cybrids, two 24 oz tanks, 2 hoppers, and 2 JT Raptor masks off of eBay for a grand total of $65 shipped to my door (that's right, $32.50 buys a gun, a 24 oz tank, a hopper, and a mask). A 24 oz tank costs $35 at the store, so I essentially bought 2 tanks and got the rest for free. Everything was either new or refurbed.

There are many reviews that say this gun is junk, but they are written by people that seem to be blinded by the marketing departments Tippmann, Spyder, etc. I have read that many people say the plastic will break or that it chops balls or that it leaks gas.

The plastic is more durable than metal, because this plastics flexes then assumes its regular shape. Metal does not flex, it bends. So if you slam your nice $800 Autococker on a tree and dent it, you'll have to get a new gun. If you slam your Cybrid on a tree, you can shoot the guy with his broken Autococker very easily. Also, Tippmann uses plastic, and they are regarded as producing the most durable markers.

The accuracy of the stock Cybrid is bad. It may take 10 shots before you hit a target the size of a CD from 40 ft away. To make your marker more accurate, you can do a few things. The only upgrade you should do to increase the accuracy of the Cybrid is to get a new barrel. Spyder barrels are compatible with this marker.

Here are some tips for barrel selection:
-Don't buy a barrel longer than 14" (multiple studies show that longer barrels actually decrease performance because a longer barrel equals more friction)
-Make sure the barrel is ported (has holes in it). The holes allow gas to exit the barrel before the ball does. If by the time the ball leaves the barrel, it is no longer being pushed by gas, it will be very VERY accurate.
-Decide if you want a rifled barrel or a coated barrel. Newer barrel technology has focuses more on creating less friction (using a ceramic teflon coating) and less on rifling because a paintball markers are gas powered muskets shooting round balls and not rifles shooting bullets.

This gun cannot shoot at 15 bps, but can shoot at 6 bps comfortably with stock components. If you like to waste paint, you can buy an electric hopper so you can shoot faster. Do not buy an electric hopper to avoid ball jams, as this marker will not jam balls, because a little bit of air gets shot into the hopper with each shot (similar to the cyclone feed system by Tippmann, but does not have a feeding wheel).

In summmary, this is a well made, durable gun that will outlast most of your friends' markers that cost 10 times more. The only money you should spend to upgrade this gun should be on a 14" ported and coated barrel, and maybe on a remote line if you like a lighter gun without complications of liquid CO2 running through the bolt.

Your friends may laugh at its red color and plastic body, but when you shoot them in the face from 75 ft away with a gun that cost you $35, feel free to laugh right back.
Conclusion: Spend $65 on eBay and get 2 of these complete setups (one for you and one for your friend whose autococker broke).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AznEastside Saturday, May 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Protege
Proto Matrix 6 with UL Frame
Spyder Xtra 07
Marker Setup: Bob Long Protege
Empire Prophecy
68/4500 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (uses spyder threads)
Strengths: Cheap
Easy to clean
Came in a nice package
Light
Small
Weaknesses: Loud
Stock barrel isn't very good
Not a very good feedneck
Review: This paintball gun was my first one, it came in a nice package with a mask and a hopper. Now here is my review

Pros
It is pretty easy to clean, and its easy to get to the bolt (just pull the pin out)
It is pretty small and light, and is pretty cheap as well $$

Cons
Its pretty loud (well its a blowback)
the stock barrel wasn't very good (but not many are under the $300 range)
feedneck is so-so, im sure it will fit most hoppers

Conclusion: If your on a budget and need a nice paintball gun for cheap, go with this marker.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 15th, 2010 at 9:03 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

yrdy66 Sunday, April 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Piranha BL VF
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha with 32 Degrees Expansion Chamber and 14' Lapco Big Shot Assault
Recommended
Upgrades:
See Below
Strengths: Accuracy was fair.
Weaknesses: Very loud
Leaking CO2
Chops balls
Review: I purchased this marker as a starter kit for my wife (I have been nagging her to give paintballing a try - she loved it!). We shot approx. 500 balls. I would estimate one chop for every hundred fired. It began slowly leaking CO2. I field stripped it, cleaned it, and inspected everything. Everything seemed to be ok. The leak became worse. I returned the marker to the store for a refund.
By-the-way, the mask which comes with this kit stops balls from hitting eyes but very little protection for rest of the face. The mask did little to stop a ball from welting my wife's cheek!
Conclusion: Had I taken the time to do some internet research, I would have found a spyder or piranha or even base model tippman for a little more then what I payed for this marker. As for the Stryker Cybrid? I feel lucky the store gave me a refund...
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shep85 Monday, January 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom(rental)
Marker Setup: Completely stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, hopper
Strengths: Price
looks
durability(it would seem)
very easy field stripping
Weaknesses: Accuracy
CO2 efficiency
ROF
recoil(balls shoot up into hopper)
Review: This gun is cheap, and I think that's all it really has going for it(aside from the simple field strip). It has a short barrel, bad accuracy and is really bad on gas. The prefilled cylander will only go for about 80 shots, instead of the suggested 400. The recoil causes balls to shoot up into the hopper and break causing the rest of the balls to to jam the gun and break in the barrel.
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommend this gun. It's only good for impressing friends who have no idea about paintball. It gets a three for it's field strip, price, and looks.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media