paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI Griffin / ACI Griffin / ACI Griffin / ACI Griffin

ACI Griffin Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI Griffin

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI Griffin
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 58
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features include: 45 frame with wrap around grip, Vertical bottle adapter and bottomline, Patented all weather valve, 10" barrel with muzzle break, Extruded all aluminum body with raised sight rail, Operates on CO2 Nitrogen or compressed air, Velocity adjustment from below 160 fps to over 300 fps - with no spring change, Ambedextrous cocking, and No tools needed for field stripping and cleaning
Product Availability 
The ACI Griffin is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
fcatman Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C
Tippmann Pro-Carbine
Spider type rental markers
JT Protium (but that has electronic trigger / grip)
Marker Setup: ACI Griffin
Drop-forward (but I usually leave the bottomline off anyway)
Clamping elbow
CO2, 9 oz tank usually

Spyder Rodeo
Trigger job
J&J Edge barrel kit
Evil delrin bolt (with venturi drilled out)
Stock bolt with venturi removed

JT Protium (stock-not worth upgrading except to use the barrel kit)

Archon / Zap hopper
Revolution with X-board loader
VL 200 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit. I don't have one by the way.
Strengths: Simple.
Reliable.
Ejects paintballs in a forward direction.
Weaknesses: Spring ball detent tricky to adjust.
Power feed tricky to adjust.
Review: First the bad:

The ball detent spring and the power feed are tricky to adjust, and misadjustment of either one and you chop like crazy, with lots of paint up into your hopper.

The stock barrel is big enough to drive a Volkswagen through.

Now the good:

This marker just keeps going and going and going. I would have thought it would be retired by now, but I still keep it as my standby next to my Protium. When it might rain or the sand is blowing, out comes the ol' Griffin with a 9 OZ tank on the vertical adapter ready for action. The bolt and receiver look like they have seen better days, even with good oiling and o-rings, countless cases of paint take their toll. But it still fires great, and it is my go-to-gun when I don't feel like baby-ing the electronics in the other marker.

UPDATE 12/27/06:

Went to play at Ricky's in El Paso over the Christmas break. After a while of playing, we started trading markers around our group. So I got out the old Griffin for a run. A 15 on 15 game of elimination and things were going great. I forgot how fast this thing can put out paint, for a mechanical single trigger old marker. It was a lot of fun too because it is so LOUD! I was playing with a 9OZ vertical tank. Playing was good then, oh &%#^%$, the bolt mangled the ball detent spring thing. End of the game for me (actually I sacrificed myself by standing up and drawing fire so my teamates could get some good shots in / see where the opponents were). Hmmmm.... that ball detent has been my downfall with this thing for years. Oh yeah, that is why it is not my primary marker. (reliability will leave you out in the cold).
By the way, has anybody converted to a spyder type detent??????

UPDATE 3-5-2007: Hey, I got the ball detent replaced and adjusted correctly. The marker played well all day. I played a couple of games then lent it to my nephew. He held his own and had fun the rest of the day. I have learned that the powerfeed can make aiming different than what I am used to.
Conclusion: If you find one for like $20, buy it for a backup gun or as a loaner marker for a friend. You won't have to baby it. Obviously there are better markers out there, but it does what it is supposed to ------ throw balls of paint straight and at 280 fps. Oh, but that ball detent spring is a loathsome thing indeed!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 8:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

violetcobra Sunday, October 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom with flatline barrel upgrade and bt combat stock, it is much better
a slingshot, it is about equal buts chops less balls
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with flatline barrel, bt combat stock, and rifle sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
none dont waste your money
Strengths: Light and you can take it apart easily and almost impossible to break
Weaknesses: Chops balls and uncocks without tons and tons of oil between games.
Review: My full review is that this gun was definately the worst gun ive ever seen beside a pump
it freezes, chops balls, sucks at long range, sucks at short range, balls spiral, shoots 2 or 3 balls at a time, the safety come loose, the feed tube is really bad, it uses a ton of oil and air to keep it from uncocking, and finally the o-rings blow out about every 2000 shots, all in all if youve never ever ever seen a paintball gun this might look kinda impressive when you go to the store and buy one and this is the only one there.
Conclusion: Save yourself some money buy a slingshot or throw the paintballs cause this gun is pathetic
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

To_PB,OrNottoPB Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Low end Piranha's
Marker Setup: VL Pro Series Maxis
Stock Barrel
12 oz Gameface Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Although I have heard its tricky, the sonic conversion kit and e-grip
plus i bought a bottomline + gas thru foregrip
Strengths: Built solid
Good feeling grip frame
decent stock barrel
Pretty cool looking
Weaknesses: No gas thru foregrip on stock.
Feeding system isnt the best it could be
Review: Okay, i got this gun a little while ago. Its a good gun, i would say better than the low end piranha's. It doesn't come with a bottom line or gas thru fore grip which is fine if you're comfortable playing like that (and looking pretty dumb). So i paid about 30 bucks to slap those on. After that though, i noticed a problem. It was leaking from where the gas thru was put on. This most likely isn't the gun's fault, but just to let you know, mine had a slow hiss. The stock barrel will put the paint where you want it most of the time. I'm on to bigger and better guns now, but this gun was a great starter gun and i have some great paintball memories with this thing.
Conclusion: Bottom line: If you are beginner to intermediate and are looking for the cream of the crop of low end semi's, look this one up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KORN89 Monday, April 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees icon-tested, brass eagle samuria-tested, kmart guns-tested
Marker Setup: Regular
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel, some kind of trigger upgrade
Strengths: Pretty acurate, can get very high velocity, doesn't chop balls often,
Weaknesses: weird feed system,feed system gets in the way of the sight rail
Review: Not great gun, gets better when velocity isn't too high though, good for begginers, doesn't have many upgrades, the upgrades it does have are extremely expensive, it eats o-rings like crazy,it is pretty good with CO2 efficiency, not very loud, asdfpojusdlfjlaldsjfopeiulasdjflaskjflskdjfalskdfjlaksjflk;a
sdjfl;kasdjfl;kasjfl;kasjflaksjflk;sdjf


I only wrote that b/c it tells me that i need more to write in order for it to be posted
Conclusion: For another $20 u could a tipp. m98 custom,
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

White Dragoon Monday, February 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray, Talon, Jackal, and Diamond GT
Marker Setup: Griffin W/bottomline....looking for mod ideas. I only use a 45 round hopper, makes moving easier, and less paint is wasted
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have had good use out of this gun stock.
Strengths: Gas efficient, few ball breaks, Accurate, easy to modify, easy field stripping.
Weaknesses: Screwy powerfeed, low sight rail (makes a scope useless)
Review: I love this gun, the only thing i have had that even comes close to this in performance in it's class, is the Diamond GT. Can be easily upgraded. This gun is solid, and accurate. It is a little small, more pistol than carbine, but that is easily fixed with a stock in the back. I would recommend this gun to any newbie, or any experienced player, looking for a cheap gun. That is worth every Penney
Conclusion: If you have $100.00 bucks to spend, simply put this is your gun. May require a few mods. Only if you rely on equipment before skill though. Any and every body should get this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

El chupacabra Tuesday, June 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: I have a piranha ext pro g3 stock

had a griffin but sold it :-D
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, new bolt, expansion chamber electronic hopper


Strengths: distance isn't bad, easy to field strip, very upgrade able. cheap 100$
Weaknesses: loud, inaccurate, bolt scratches upper chamber, leaks air, bolt jams easily co2 hog
Review: this gun has pretty good distance it is easy to understand the parts and is easy to field strip their are also many upgrades available out their for this gun gun but on the negative side this gun does leak a lot of air but that can be fixed. get a better bolt the stock one scratches internals easily if not properly lubricated. even though this gun is very upgradable it is hard to find the parts that will fit it. the gun is pretty loud and stock barrel is inaccurate.
Conclusion: overall i give this gun a seven even though it does have a lot of weaknesses it can perform well when you get the proper upgrades i would recommend this gun for newbies (this is the gun i started out with) and for the price i would say its a good deal.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 4th, 2003 at 4:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JustinStuffI Friday, May 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: ACI Giffen ,ACI Sub-Zero 4 Stage Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt, Barrel, Expansion chamber, Low compression chamber,
Strengths: -ok distance
-ok price
-upgradeable
Weaknesses: -loud
-unaccurate
-uses alot of CO2
Review: It is a good beginer gun because it teaches you the basic of cleaning,shooting, and aiming. If you are going to tournaments it would be a good idea to get a syder or something. If you are already good you can get it and fully upgrade it but that will cost alot of money but it is your choice not mine.
Conclusion: If you get one use it and get good at the sport and then get a better gun when you start being more competitive.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeathCard85 Saturday, March 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Marauder
Eradicator
PMI Phirrana
ACI F4 illistrator
Sypder
Talon (nice gun for the price $25 bucks)
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: ACI Griffin- Stock
12 oz. Pure Energy CO2
KAPP gravity feed Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel- J& J Ceramic is decent
HPA- Don't use CO2 this thing burns it like mad
if you must use CO2 get a regulater this will help
Dye Sticky Grips
DO NOT get the conversion Kit
Drop forwards are nice
You will absolutlely need an electronic Hopper
Strengths: Cheap about $110
Looks nice
usually easy to feild strip
easy trigger pull
Pretty light
Weaknesses: Sucks air like crazy
Chops balls constently
Review: Continued Weaknesses:

The plugs for feild stripping will strip and you can't get them off (THIS IS VERY BAD)
Stock barrel is spuradic and can't hit the same place twice
wierd bore size
VERY LOUD
the power feed gets in the way of being able to see to aim
aluminum so it scratchs easy



This gun is about one of the most terrible things to buy. For $40 more you could get yourself a really nice pirahhna or sypder. Which is what i'm doing soon. Don't even listen to the sales guy when he tells you about all the WONDERFUL features this gun has because it doesn't have any. Have a good day.when you upgrade the gun enough for it to be nice you could have already bought a really nice piranahh or sypder
Conclusion: Do not buy this gun get a pirahhna or spyder you'll be much more happy with your purhase
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BoyWonder8789 Monday, December 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
hmm.........well........... i guess you could compare this to a 98 custom
Marker Setup: im soon gonna get a spyder xtra and an electronic trigger with a 20 oz and a 16 inch taso eliminator and a 14 inch taso winforce
Recommended
Upgrades:
an expansion chamber and a barrel
Strengths: the trigger pull is light
cheap
stock barrell isnt too bad, but you will need a new onei
i think the grips are neat
Weaknesses: it is loud. very loud
wastes gas like crazy
not very accurate
i tried to hit a tree from 35 feet away and i missed
Conclusion: definately a newbie gun. im giving it a 7 cause it has some potential, but not very much
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

blessed one Wednesday, July 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 - a much better buy
spyder TL+ - the griffin doesn't even compare
Marker Setup: straight from the box, i have no upgrades - for the most part they'd be a waste of time and money. you'd be much better off just buying a new gun.
Recommended
Upgrades:
with the amount of upgrades you'd need for this gun, and the amount of money it would be, you might as well buy a new gun.
Strengths: -one good thing i noticed, was the speed. when you get hit with a ball from this gun, it STINGS. a lot more than from any other gun i've been shot with.
-also, this gun is extremely easy to field strip- which is really good since you need to do it quite often with this gun.
-you can only go thru a game without a ball break if you lube it up REAL good. to some people that's good, others it's bad. this should really belong in the 'BAD' section. oh well.
Weaknesses: nearly everything.
-i had to send this gun back numerous times. it spent more time being "repaired" then being used.
-the accuracy isn't consistant at all, making it very frustrating when you've cornered a guy and you can't hit him! the balls would spiral, drop, or zing sideways. it could have been the balls, but it happened with most brands of balls. brass eagle balls being the worst.
-the trigger pull is very slow and chops a lot of balls if pulled quickly. i haven't gone one game without having many ball breaks. it seems like you can only shoot one ball every few seconds, meanwhile you could have shot 10 times if using another gun.
Conclusion: this was my first gun, and i don't believe it is a good newbie gun because if you don't have patience, using this gun might turn you away from the sport. you are much better off spending a few more bucks on a tippman or spyder. they will last a whole lot longer. but for a person who just likes to play backyard paintball, it wouldn't be too bad until they gain experience. but if you're planning on playing in tournaments or speedball, or anything outside backyard pb, don't even think about it.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media