paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI / PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI / PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI / PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI

PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New 2008 model Piranha with A.P.E. Rampage Board and Anti-Chop eyes. Includes eight different firing modes: Semi-Auto, Burst, Reactive, Full-Auto, Turbo, Rampage, PSP, and NXL. A clamping feedneck will secure your loader in place.

Features:

Firing modes: Semi-Auto, Burst, Reactive, Full-Auto, Turbo, Rampage, PSP, and NXL
Modes of fire from 15-25 bps
User Programmable Ramping and Turbo mode
Tournament grade electronic paintball gun
Powered by either CO2 or compressed air / nitrogen
Interchangeable threaded high-performance aluminum barrel with muzzle break
Corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
Flush cocking bolt system
Durable compact polymer with double trigger and guard
Bottomline adapter
17 inch overall length
Clamping feedneck
Anti-chop eyes
Anodized aluminum body
Stainless steel braided hose
Anti-chop flushing knob
Velocity adjustment screw
45 grip electronic trigger frame
Gas-thru foregrip
One year manufacturer warranty
Product Availability 
The PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
RedFlyerX Monday, February 21st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Piranha GTI Rampage
14" DYE barrel
48ci Guerrilla HPA w/ Myth Regulator
VL Force
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel is a MUST
Strengths: Insanely accurate
Very Fast
Easy to field strip
Many programmable settings
Weaknesses: Rampage board not the easiest to program and somewhat confusing
Review: Make no mistake...this marker will shoot a WALL of paint! I have no problem keeping up with the high end electronics on the field. I started playing paintball in 1997. Back then, practically no one had electronic markers, and only sponsored teams ran HPA-- they were the only ones that could afford it (the cheapest HPA tank 14 years ago was over $100, and even if you had one, only very advanced paintball fields could even fill it). I've seen it all.....and when the young kids are sitting around the picnic benches chilling out, showing off their $1,000 markers to other envious young players, I'm actually on the field blasting my opponents with the Piranha Rampage-- kind of ironic.

This gun is fast, accurate (with a new barrel), and very simple to operate and clean. The stock barrel (like most out-of-the-box markers) is junk. Make sure you order a new barrel when you place your order. The Piranha uses Spyder threads, so finding an upgrade is a piece of cake.

Two things you MUST have to run this marker efficiently: (1) Buy a force feed loader. I have the VL Force, which in all honesty, I'm not very happy with. Buy one with eyes. The Piranha WILL shoot up to 25 BPS on full-auto, which means you can empty a loader on this gun in 8 seconds. Having said that, (2) You MUST run HPA/Nitro with this marker. Yes, technically, the manual states you can use Co2, but trust me, Co2 will freeze the Piranha instantly and will not keep up with the demand of the fast shooting this marker is capable of. If you don't have an HPA tank, either get one or don't buy the gun.

TIP: As of now (2-21-2011), this marker is on clearance at most paintball stores because it's a couple years old, which means it's been sitting in a box for at least that long. Before you go out and play with it, field strip the marker and oil the hammer o-ring extensively, as well as the bolt o-rings. Without a fresh dollop of oil, the hammer o-ring will have a tendency to get stuck on the sear when the gun re-cocks after fire. The result: the marker may not re-cock during play. Oil will fix this.

The Rampage board itself has many different firing modes, which are easy to adjust. Many of the technical settings, such as eye/bolt delay are somewhat confusing to customize-- all you have to go on are various blinking lights and colors, rather than an actual screen. The tournament lock is VERY difficult to get to and adjust. I finally figured it out after watching a You-Tube video...the manual wasn't very clear.

Conclusion: Overall, this marker is a great buy, and you will have no problem keeping up with the higher-end guns on the field. Right now, several websites have this for sale at about $100 (including a force loader). For $100, you get a marker that shoots and operates like a high-end electronic.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

team J Thursday, October 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot
tippman 98
automag 68 classic
Marker Setup: automag 68 classic (stock)
nitro tank 3000 ninja
all american barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel ,Barrel,Barrel
Strengths: Speed,Light,easy set up on bps.Price
Weaknesses: Barrel,non rechargable battery.
Review: Easy to use,trigger is tricky to use have to get use to it, The price is hard to beat ,very light ,Looks,durable Pmi guns are heavy duty,the must is a Barrel ,Spyder use the same thread so not a big deal,User friendly on the bps set up ,nothing to envy for 120+tax compare to medium end electronic markers ,300 to 400 bucks I bought mine 2 week ago, works perfect in a tournament mode ,a couple chops in full auto no big deal,final word best deal for the buck ,keep mine as a back up marker ,I would suggest use this gun with a nitro system PMI markers use a lot O rings .so watch . good deal
Conclusion: yes I would recomend this marker for a beginner speedball player even a back up for a tournament.player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tallsmallboy123 Friday, July 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha gti+ (mech version)
invert mini
Marker Setup: Invert mini
50/4500 ninja hpa tank
Invert too loader
14 inch freak barrel
Virtue board
Invert mini accent kit
Custom products invert mini sling trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Trigger if you want
Strengths: Price
Board
Trigger (sorta)
Weaknesses: Barrel
Stock settings are a little slow
Review: This is a great great great beginner marker. I first bought the mechanical version and was a little nervous but it was great. Later I bought the electric gun in a heartbeat. I was very happy. I was a little disappointed with the barrel so I bought a new one and it is a overall great gun and I still use it today sometimes to mess around.
Conclusion: If you are a begginer or looking for an upgrade from a mechanical marker or a budget baller GET THIS GUN!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vududoc Sunday, March 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders and clones alike
Marker Setup: 07 gti
Pirahna 07 GTI
evil detonator reg
eforce trigger
Scenario dreams Tboard
Volumizer
Turbo valve Currently @400psi
14" J&J Ceramic (quiet) & Evil Pipe kit
Lapco clamping feed neck
Trinity Gauge
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
trigger
low pressure conversion
Strengths: Cheap
good quality
all older mods and add ons work
Weaknesses: Trigger- get a boss blade
Review: I picked this up just as a starter marker instead of using rentals. Its lightweight and has a nice overall balance. works great on HPA. Easy field strip. The lack of a clamping feed neck left much to be desired.
-getting the feed neck off requires a bench vice due to the threads (ION threaded) being superglued.
-i have used both the J&J (quiet) and Lapco bigshots on this marker and both being very please with the results and accuracy.
very efficient on gas and is very quiet with the J&J if you care to sneak up on someone.
recommend an electronic hopper to keep from chopping balls on a high rate of fire.
Recommend a drop forward for extra balance and compactness as i use a 14 inch barrel. consistent with avg chrono at 290-300 .overall AAAA++++.
Love the marker in general after its upgrades i like to toy with it alot more than my other markers some trigger mods made it a primary. Its price is great compared to a cocker mech however i love tinkering with my 2k3 and 2k1 pump.

3/07/10
Decided to go low pressure and give it a try...... even at 400-500 psi quieter then a stock etek. it has a lower sound signature. Velocity and consistency are great. using the white spring currently.

weighed in at 2lb 11oz with J&J barrell and batt. pretty good against my 3.4lb cocker
overall feel and weight dispersion are great.
Conclusion: you figure you can get this marker pretty cheap. I priced out most of the mod upgrades and one would be at a reasonable 200 bux low pressure with quality reg and barrel. instead of starting at 200 on a marker just to do the same thing. I highly recommend it for the newb not having all the $$$$ to buy the 500 dollar markers or even less.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 7th, 2010 at 9:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SEAlpaintballer Friday, February 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha GTI plus mechanical marker
Marker Setup: piranha GTI plus rampage
14' ceramic barrel from jj performance
20 oz pure energy co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Good range
Doesn't chop
User programable
Rampage board
Anti-chop eyes
Weaknesses: Runs on every now and then
Review: I bought this gun off of discount paintball. I was very satisfied.

Accuracy: the accuracy is pretty good

Durability: this gun is durable

Build: a good build, it looks really cool, its matte

hardly ever chops

runs on co2 nitrogen and compressed air

the gun is cheap

the piranha is consistent

it is consistent in cold weather




Conclusion: my final conclusion is that the piranha GTI plus rampage is a good buy
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Roctronic Sunday, December 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego and many others
Marker Setup: '05 Etek Ego with Freak Kit, Prophecy and Pure Energy Carbon
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Eyes
Great Design
Extremely Accurate (with a new barrel)
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Review: This marker is very very top of the line of its class. It has many features that tournament players use for less money than they paid for their pod-pack. What else could you want, style, performance, reliability for a cost that is minuscule. If your looking to compete on a budget, this kicks the crap out of anything in its price range and up to 10x it. Its that good.
Conclusion: Get it, right now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

piranha1994 Wednesday, October 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman custom pro-not even close
spyder sonix-o.k.
piranha gti plus-same but no rampage board
Marker Setup: piranha GTI plus RAMPAGE
14' smartparts AA barrel
Crossfire 68ci 4500psi
Viewloader EGGY 3 clear
smartparts DEFENDER jersey-neon green
smartparts DEFENDER pants-black and white
NXE Elevation Pro Pak 2+1+2
JT Proshield Thermal
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel (like almost all stock guns)
new trigger (if you can find one)

Strengths: Price
Rampage board
Firing modes
Overall design
Weaknesses: stock trigger (hard to walk)
stock barrel (its OK)
Review: Overall, this is a great gun, especially for the price. I have put well over 2500 paintballs through this gun, with only one chop, and thats because my hopper was running on low batteries. I would not reccomend using this gun with co2, as HPA runs cleaner, and is more consistent, and does not have pressure spikes.
Conclusion: I give it a 9, because nothing is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ScottyDaSlayer Saturday, July 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every markers different but proberly similer to this would be a Spider Imagine (no where close when it comes to the Board)

Stock Ion-Plastic Trigger
Marker Setup: 09 Proto SLG
11' Proto Barrel
Dye rotor
3000pci 47' CrossFire Reg bottle

(Marker and Hopper Sponsored)

*Back Up*

Piranha GTI Rampage (A.P.E Board)
Egg 2
Same Bottle

(Back Up Sponsored by local Store)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
If you can get a trigger-Go for it!!!
Strengths: APE Board
Weaknesses: Trigger + Eyes ? (see review)
Review: Ok So Id been out of the game for a year due to finacial aspects but as fate would have it Im back to what I love doing.
Thankfully back when I was playing I had good "reviews" so I was able to pick up some slight sponsors for starting out.

Ok firstly what drew me to the Piranha was the Price and the "performance" for that price, I had one brand new team mate and I convinced him to get one with me, call it luck of the draw but from the first day-his gave grief, I however was lucky (kinda).

My team mates bolt kept and still does, getting "stuck" and meaning having to re cock the marker every couple of shots, mine however for my first Tournament in 16months went completly perfect, not one prob all day.
The next Tourney however the problems started, chop every few balls-pain in the neck eventually found out that my eyes were screwed. My team mate used a back up gun for the next tourney and so I stole his eyes- Worked like a charm again.

This Board is by far one of the easyest to set so thats a huge win.

We got offered a nice deal from Proto so we went with that but I keep my Piranha for a good decent backup.

Here's my list of suggestions for marker :

Always play on a ramp mode because the trigger is to wierd to walk properly on semi (my oppinion) PSP3 works the best then reactive with following the below.

Shoot with middle finger at the top of trigger (My fastest with this marker)

Get a faster hopper than an egg, mine keeps up but with the feed neck there's too much of a drop for the balls to get into the chamber, I suggest a Rotor, Empire, Halo etc.

Always Check your eyes.(You should on any marker)



Conclusion: Other than the slight few probs we had, this little thing is freaking good for the price so like I say this is my perfect Backup. Otherwise I would Proberly still be using her.

On a Budget ? Take it and test it at the field you buy it from.
New to the sport ? No better way to start.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mynamesbob Monday, July 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL protogey
Stryker
Ion
Vibe
Marker Setup: I use a Shocker with CP tank and Evo eggy 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
You should probably get a new barrell asap, maybe a new asa
Strengths: Extremely fast
anti chop
unlock tournament mode!!
Weaknesses: There arent any!!!
Review: I love this gun! its best best gun in the 100 hundred dollar range!! you cant get a better gun than this for 120 dollars it comes with an awesome Ape rampage board, that is extremely sick!!! You can unlock the tournament mode on it so u can Increase the bps on this thing big time!!!
Conclusion: OMG i love this freakin gun!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tyler3334 Sunday, July 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot Acs
Spyder electra
Spyder RSV
Marker Setup: Spyder RSV with Empire reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell but thats it
Strengths: Rampage board is amazing
really fast
cheap
Weaknesses: Uhh stock barrell???
Review: Good, nice cheap gun, It comes in green blue silver and black. Buy this gun with rampage board for 120 dollars wich is the best deal reall or you can buy just the gun for 70 dollars, and u can go from a beginner to a pro with the very nice rampage board!!!!!
Conclusion: Buy this gun now!!!! im not even kidding go to action village and buy this badboy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media