paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI / PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI / PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI / PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI

PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New 2008 model Piranha with A.P.E. Rampage Board and Anti-Chop eyes. Includes eight different firing modes: Semi-Auto, Burst, Reactive, Full-Auto, Turbo, Rampage, PSP, and NXL. A clamping feedneck will secure your loader in place.

Features:

Firing modes: Semi-Auto, Burst, Reactive, Full-Auto, Turbo, Rampage, PSP, and NXL
Modes of fire from 15-25 bps
User Programmable Ramping and Turbo mode
Tournament grade electronic paintball gun
Powered by either CO2 or compressed air / nitrogen
Interchangeable threaded high-performance aluminum barrel with muzzle break
Corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
Flush cocking bolt system
Durable compact polymer with double trigger and guard
Bottomline adapter
17 inch overall length
Clamping feedneck
Anti-chop eyes
Anodized aluminum body
Stainless steel braided hose
Anti-chop flushing knob
Velocity adjustment screw
45 grip electronic trigger frame
Gas-thru foregrip
One year manufacturer warranty
Product Availability 
The PMI Pirahna Rampage GTI is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Wehepaintballz Sunday, July 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Kingmans
Smart Parts
etek ego
Marker Setup: EGO with 14 inch barrell and VLocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrell and rampage board if you bought the gun by itself
Strengths: Fast
looks nice
lightweight
very durable
Weaknesses: None really??
Review: This is a nice sleek gun! You can really save money when getting a good gun like this!! I would HIGHLY recommend this gun to any recreational team members. Even if you have already been playing paintball for a little while you will know this is a good gun period. So why waste your money on some smart parts rip off??
Conclusion: Dont waste money get a Piranha GTI!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Young Guns PB Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL protogey, proto SLG, Ion(horrible), and invert mini(tested)
Marker Setup: I use the Proto SLG with a Pinokio hopper with Virtue and Freak barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell
Strengths: Fast, No chops, Durable, very simple. You can make your own ball burst
Weaknesses: None really to mention
Review: I Have had this gun for a little over 6 months and I really like it, some people might think that its not a good gun be cause of its low price, but they are extremely wrong!! I would take this gun over any smart partsvibe or Ion. This gun is Durable, fast, and looks very nice. I think it shoots up to 30 bps with a good hopper. I would suggest a Eggy. Its Co2 compatible and its the perfect gun for any paintball player.
Conclusion: Dont waste your money on tons of upgrades when you can get this for only 150 dollars plus the rampage board!! So get this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thepbownerzz Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Planet Eclipse Ego, Spyder electra, invert mini, DM9
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse Ego, Spyder electra, invert mini, DM9, Ion but i sold it cuz it sucked!
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrell
Strengths: Custom modes, 30 bps, cheap, and looks very nice, Very Durable
Weaknesses: Comes with crappy barrell but thats easy to upgrade
Review: I love this gun!! Its cheap and has never ever messed up on me!! Its great for players who do not want to spend a lot of money, but Want a great gun. I would defintly suggest this gun to anyone who is wanting a good cheap gun!If you want to get this gun you can get it pretty cheap on actionvillage.com.
Conclusion: Get the gun, get your moneys worth, and get in the game!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ThePainter1234 Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-X, Smart Parts Ion, Invert Mini
Marker Setup: use my Invert mini with virtue board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrell and Probably a drop forward
Strengths: Fast Shooting, Very Durable,and you can make custom modes
Weaknesses: Not very great stock barrell, and akward trigger that isn't too great
Review: I really like this gun, It sells very cheap and it performs very good. I have carried this gunto the Airball field and I really did very well. Its better than some high dollar guns too, like the smart parts Ion. I wouldnt recommend that!! Its a great gun for budget ballers who do not have much money for paintball.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good cheap gun get this, you will not regret it!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedballer8940 Saturday, April 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye mr8
Smart parts epiphany
Smat parts vibe with blackheart board
Marker Setup: Dye mr8
Halo b with rip drive and victory board
crosfire 68ci 4500 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
a new trigger (if you can find one)
Strengths: Very good feel
Shoots very fast
Never chopped once
Weaknesses: Bad trigger design
Review: I had a great time with this. i use it with reballs to practice at my house with because i live in a cramped development. i have fun everytime even though it is very hard to learn to walk this trigger but after using it for about 10 days straight after i got it i became a master at it now i use it at my house and my friends house when we mess around but i use the mr8 for tournaments and the epiphany i at smart parts to get fixed (broken board i dont know how it happened but it did)
Conclusion: I would recomend it to beginners because of the price and the ease of using it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tinman Wednesday, December 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2 pirahna gti's
pirahna sts
pirahna evo
all are similar but not as fast
Marker Setup: Detroit thunder impulse (stock)
empire reloader b2
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast loader
angled asa (for co2)
a little patience
Strengths: Ape rampage board
Clamping neck feed
Weaknesses: Im not wild about the silver barrel,grip,and asa
Review: I think this marker offers some nice options for the $120 dollar price point.
-the clamping neck feed is usualy an upgrade at this level
-this type of board can cost $120 bucks on its own
-the internals are solid, easy to disassemble
-marker itself is competitvely light
-runs on a standard 9v.
-pmi (kee) best costumer service on the planet

a few concerns
if this is your first marker it maybe difficult to program the board
-this manual is a bit of a let down compared to the past
-my marker seems to eat 9v, so bring some extra the feild














9
Conclusion: I belive this is a good first effort by pmi to revamp their line. For the entry level player thats budget minded this is en excellent choice.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmiboyz Sunday, December 28th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
most spyders
Marker Setup: Pirahna Rampage GTI
Pronto Barrel
Pure Energy 3000psi
Evo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Trigger
Weaknesses: Chops
stock electronic settings
inaccurate
loud
Review: I got this gun because my friend has the mechanical version and i tried it out and it worked flawless. So I ordered this gun. I got it and shot it in my backyard. i only noticed one chop and i oiled it up and cleaned the eyes. it worked fine from then. The next day i went to the field. It chopped like crazy. Just about every 3 or 5 shots. When it didn't chop is was still very inaccurate. So i got a longer barrel. It still was very inaccurate. All of the upgrades I put in this gun it still did not improve it. I got a new bolt new barrel new hopper, new grips (there not really new they were just sitting there and i put them on). I put more money in this gun then i have ever put in before and in return it gave me nothing. DO NOT GET THIS GUN IT SUCKS!!!!
Conclusion: Do not get this gun get a Spyder vs3. The only reason i give this gun a 3 is because of the trigger.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

CarbineKid Thursday, September 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
PCS US-5 Electronic
ICD ProMaster
BT-4
Tippmann pro-lite/carbine/pro-carbine/M98C
Marker Setup: My current set up is the piranha with a proto barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel is a must
A drop forward could be helpful
Strengths: Build
Board
Grips, and clamping feedneck come standard
Weaknesses: Does not come with a rechargeable battery
The trigger is HORRIBLE!!
stock settings slow
Review: The body of the gun is a black anodized aluminum, that is well made and looks very nice. The body itself is very small and measures only 9 1/2 inches. The trigger frame is a high quality plastic and has the typical double trigger. The internals, like all other Piranhas, are Teflon coated(no delrin bolt). The stock barrel is really the only part of this gun I think needs to be upgraded. Its Okay though.

The guns board is made by A.P.E(Advanced Paintball Electronics). I don't know much about them, but they seem to have a good reputation. There are a few things I like about the board. It really seems to be a quality board, and has 8 different firing modes(semi-auto, burst, reactive, full-auto, turo plus, rampage, PSP3 and NXL ). I really like the variety of firing settings you get with this gun. The stock settings are slooow. However you can reprogram it, and once you do the gun becomes very quick. Reprograming the board is not to hard once you understand how to do it. Its all spelled out in the directions.
However there are a few things I don't like about the board. The tourney lock is on the inside requiring you to remove the grips. The lock must be turned off before you can adjust the firing modes and settings. The lock is not the easiest thing to turn off, especially if you have large fingers. Second the modes are all color coded. A different LED light tell you which mode you are in. It gets tough to remember which color is what firing mode.

The gun has a great clamping feedneck. The grips are also very nice. I swear they are made by dye. It seems to be made the same way as my dye sticky 3 grips, without the logo. Keep in mind these two features come standard. The one thing I really don't understand is why PMI did not include a rechargeable battery with this gun. Instead they packaged a standard Duracell 9v battery. The gun will work on either Co2 or HPA.

EDIT 11/05/08
I'm editing this review because I feel I must point out the biggest flaw in the Piranha. The Stock Trigger is horrible. It is near impossible to walk, and can not be adjusted. At first I thought it was me(Im not the greatest at walking), but after letting several other players shoot the gun...they all agree the trigger is just a bad design. There are no after market drop ins that I know of.


Conclusion: Overall I really like this gun. I'm certain there are better out there, but they cost alot more too. Again I must point out the trigger is pretty bad, and because of it I can only give the gun a 7. I originally gave the Piranha higher marks, but the trigger is this guns major flaw. Especially when I compare it to others in its price range.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 5th, 2008 at 8:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media