paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Proto Ultralite SLG / Proto Proto Ultralite SLG / Proto Proto Ultralite SLG / Proto Proto Ultralite SLG

Proto Proto Ultralite SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Proto Ultralite SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Proto Ultralite SLG
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
-Compact and Lightweight Single Tube Body Styling Weighing Only 2 lb 2 oz
-Composite UL Frame
-Single Piece Micro Honed Proto Barrel
-Anti Chop Break Beam Eye System
-New Increased Flow Hyper 3 In-Line Regulator
-Proto Bottomline with Dovetail
-Bolt Silencer (decreases noise and kick)
-Super Low 145psi operating pressure
-New solenoid with increased durability and airflow
-Ultralite aluminum trigger
-Proto Dual Density Injection Sticky grip
-LED Program Control with four tournament modes
-Orbital Rotating sear reduces wear
-No rise clamping feedneck
-All new Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt
-Self Lubricating Force button
-Improved battery life
Product Availability 
The Proto Proto Ultralite SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Jervix Thursday, August 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2009 Proto SLG UL

Smarts Parts Ion- Better built, not as fast shooting, a lot heavier and a little cheaper
Invert Mini- Longer lasting, sleeker design and will out preform both ion and slg stock
Marker Setup: DLX Luxe la crusaders engraving
basically stock but what really do u need to add to a Luxe.

Autococker Karnivor Pro Edition
E2 trigger w/ Z Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
on/off asa
Strengths: Extremely lightweight
compact
Weaknesses: Not very reliable
Review: At the time i bought the SLG i owned a Smart parts Ion. When my SLG arrived i was stoked. I took it out to the field the first day and it shot pretty good, the modes are very easy to understand it just didnt take very long to set up, However, the second time in went out to the field a week later, this is where the trouble began. My bolt kept getting lodged into chamber and would jam the entire gun causing me to have to take the entire thing apart and fix it. after a while of this happening I was completely fed up with it and sent it back to dye. 1 month later i get my gun back and the whole issue was the little black bumper on the bolt. they said they were doing a recall on them and that is what was causing all the SLG the mess up. ever since i got my gun back it shot normal and everything was fine.

Gun breakdown

-actual gun overall
shoots good, can get up to 20+ BPS, nice grip in hand

-barrel
not too bad for a stock barrel, not a necessity to swap out for something else

-feedneck
im not a fan of the screw in allen key feednecks but it is nice because it wont come loose on the field, just a pain to keep tightening and loosening

-trigger
a bit stiff and a little hard to rock but with ramp its fine

-Body and milling
very small similar to the newer NT and extremely lightweight

-Reg and asa
kinda standard, basically bottom of the line proto

-price
$299
in my opinion, kinda high for what u truly receive
Conclusion: Bottom line, if i had the chance to go back and get something else, i probably would. i just wasnt a fan of the hassle and running around i was doing trying to get this gun working.

If your looking for a gun with low costs, get something a little more reliable than a proto.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Person101 Tuesday, May 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
The Invert mini has the same modes its $320.95. The Proto SLG UL is $!299.95
Marker Setup: Dye Rotor,pure energy 42ci 4500 psi tank, dye rhino tank cover 45 ci.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board!!!
Strengths: Great modes great rate of fire and mostly a great marker.
Weaknesses: There is one thing that really ticked me off when I bought this marker!
Review: The Proto SLG UL is a great marker overall but if you buy this prouduct get a new board and get a 4500 psi tank for this marker and have fun on the paintball field! Also get a well fiting battery and a dye rotor so the gun can shoot as fast as it was made for! GO PBN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: I reccomend this prouduct to my teammates my neigbor and my family about this marker and to buy it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MaleGigolo Friday, April 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM9
Proto SLG (not UL)
Proto PMR
Marker Setup: Dye Rotor
NDZ ASA
Smart Part Freak kit
NDZ Clamping Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
Strengths: Very good report quality vs price
Ergonomic, Low maintenance, Shoot great and fast
LOOKS GREAT

Weaknesses: A little louder the DM series
Needs upgrade.
Review: This gun is awesome. It's keeping from speeding a 1000$ on high end gun.
There is a big dougth that Proto remove the SLG UL from his 2010 product lineup because it was in straight competition with there middle range marker like the PMR.
Both of my firends bought the PMR and they all got a lot of troubles. They both sold it. My SLG UL works great. It is low maintenance. Shoot straight and fast and it's very light.
Conclusion: I rated it 10, not because I think it's the best marker ever, but definitly the best of his category.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pball master Thursday, April 22nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: slg ul stock

boblong intimidator : virtue board, critical trigger, hybrid asa, dye ul 2 piece barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, feedneck and barrel
Strengths: Fast
Light
Tot too hard on balls
Weaknesses: Trigger is no good for semi
Not very efficient
Review: Well i bought the gun about a year ago as a back up gun. It is an ok marker but it does need some upgrades if your going to use it as your main gun. also i highly recommend getting a spare parts kit for it, because it likes to eat o-rings ( well atleast mine does). i get about 5 mayby 6 pods out of my 68 / 45 tank.
Conclusion: Good back up marker but it could use some upgrades
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Inflicted Friday, January 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 2009 Proto SLG
Check it Unimount
WGP Kaner barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tighter barrel.
Strengths: Small, light, and comfortable to use. It's also extremely fast.
Weaknesses: Very finicky, somewhat unreliable, and poorly-equipped for its price point.
Review:
Last May I was in the market for a new "fast" gun to replace my Diablo Wrath. I liked the Wrath, but it had developed a first shot dropoff problem that I couldn't fix and I wanted something smaller and lighter. I eventually narrowed my choices down to the G3, the Mini, and the UL SLG. I chose the SLG because I wanted to buy from my local store and I felt that its Ultralite frame was more comfortable than the other guns'. Also, the gun came with a season's pass to my local paintball field

First impressions of the gun were very good. I like how the gun points with the UL frame, and I REALLY like how low-profile the gun's single-tube design is, putting the hopper very close to your trigger finger. The feedneck is adjustable with an allen wrench and easily accommodates all the loaders I have. It's fairly sturdy too; I took a dive last weekend (ok, I slipped and fell on my face in the mud) that destroyed my VL Revolution's neck but the feedneck of the gun was undamaged.

The gun's trigger is nice too, and I have no desire to upgrade it. It has 3-way adjust-ability using a small allen wrench, and both ends of the travel as well as the activation point can be adjusted without removing anything. I quickly had the trigger set up to my particular tastes. Unfortunately, the poor tolerances of the plastic frame mean that the trigger has a LOT of side-to-side slop, which cannot be corrected with the screws. This gives the gun an unfortunately cheap feeling that spoils the rest of the experience.

The other ergonomics of the gun are pretty good. I like having a good foregrip on my guns, and found that the stylized "nail" on the front of the trigger guard was getting in the way of my thumb. So I dremeld it off.

Stock barrel is wide enough to stick your arm through, and thus useless.

The gun has no "safe" mode, you just turn it on and off by pushing the lower button on the rear of the grip frame. I found that I sometimes had to shield this light with my hand to see it in sunny weather, and that the button was still easy to push even with gloves on.

My SLG has never demonstrated the first-shot-drop-off problems that plagued my Wrath, nor has it ever chopped a ball.

Out of the box my SLG was shooting around 290fps, +- 5fps. I chroned it down to 275 as per the field limit back in May, and as of late December I haven't had to adjust it since.

The gun's ASA is the rail-based DYE airport. It's not an on/off ASA, but you can adjust the length of the activation pin inside, and there's a bit of leeway back and forth in terms of where it sits on the frame. I and a lot of other users have had trouble getting this ASA to be tight enough, but I think I've discovered the problem: Since the frame is plastic, the dovetail rail itself is actually a separate aluminum piece that fits into the bottom of the frame and is tightened with two screws into standard AGD/WGP bottomline mounting holes. If these two screws come loose, the ASA will continue to be loose, no matter how hard you tighten the dovetail locking screw. These screws thread into steel nuts wedged into the plastic of the frame, and unlike some other guns I've recently worked on (Smart Parts SP1) the nuts do not slide around in the frame. Once they're tight and hopefully loc-tited, the problem goes away.

I should note that this is one of two problems that are easy fixes, but not mentioned in the otherwise very nice full-color instruction booklet. The other is the battery. The poor tolerances of the plastic frame as well as DYE's deceision to use battery contact blades integral to the frame instead of a more traditional 9v battery clip, means that most normally-sized 9v batteries are actually too small to fit properly into the grip frame. A small piece of paper wedged between the frame and the battery fixes this problem, but it's annoying that you have to cram cardboard into a $300 gun to get it work properly.

Another downside of the gun is that it lacks an on/off ASA and a lever-locking feedneck, standard features on guns like the Mini and G3 which are similarly-priced.

Now, the good parts! This gun is very, very fast. The board will let you run it up to 30bps and dry-firing it and goldwaving the video confirmed that it will indeed cycle that fast. DYE has put some videos on Youtube of SLGs with Rotors hitting 25bps or faster with no problems. Unfortunately, the fastest loader I have is a VL Force. Besides, my field has a speed limit of 10bps, so I just ran my SLG at that speed.

Although the SLG cannot be disassembled when gassed up, disassembly is very easy. Use an allen wrench to disassemble the backcap and all the moving parts come out in two easy to clean pieces.

I did run into a number of problems with my SLG. The first is that the rear bolt bumper tends to tear itself apart very quickly. My first first one disintegrated after about a case of use, and the second, which is still on the bolt in the picture below, had only around 800 shots.

This seal is unique tire-shaped piece and I haven't found a suitable replacement except from the gun's parts kit and Proto themselves. As the bumper wore out I noticed an audible "pinging" noise when the gun was fired, but the marker's actual function was not impaired. Supposedly Proto has come up with a superior, longer-lasting rear bumper that is orange in color, but I haven't been able to get one yet.

The second problem with my SLG occurred after I cleaned and lubricated the gun. This time I used TAG "Mugg" lubricant instead of the DYE Slick lube included with the gun. After reassembly, I found that the gun was going into runaway full auto all by itself, sometimes after taking a shot and sometimes as soon as the gun was gassed up. I removed the bolt assembly and tried cleaning off the mugg and replacing it with the factory lube, but the problem persisted. After that I figured the problem was the sear, so I removed the grip frame and inspected it. It appeared fine, and I didn't notice any excessive wear either on the sear or the edge of the bolt where the sear grips it. At the suggestion of someone on another forum, I removed the sear spring and stretched it a bit. In the process I later realized that I had to clean off all the lubrication that might have been stuck to the sear. After reassembly, the full-auto problem went away.

Unfortunately, stretching the sear spring had caused another problem and my SLG was now refusing to fire reliably. It now took two or three trigger pulls to get the gun to go off, probably because the solenoid was now having to overcome both the increased tension of the sear spring and the force of the bolt. I was able to remedy this problem by using a fresher battery and increasing the dwell a notch.

The next time I used the SLG, I ran into problems again. The SLG's indicator light was blinking green, indicating dirty eye sensors. However, the eyes were clean and even after cleaning them again to make sure the error light persisted.

I do want to stress that every time my SLG pitched a fit, it did so at the very beginning of the day, so I was never surprised or caught in the middle of an important game without a gun to use. In fact, over the course of all these episodes it never once broke a ball, even when going into runaway full auto.

Programming the SLG is fairly straightforward but somewhat cumbersome. The left side of the grip must be removed to allow access to the dip switch box and the switches put into programming mode. You then use a combination of trigger pulls and button pushes to change the dwell, ROF, and firing mode while watching the 7-color LED for feedback. It's time-consuming, and I appreciate the fact that no one's going to be able to do this on the field. The SLG lacks true 3-shot burst and full-auto modes, but the PSP and Millennium modes do pretty much the same thing and are a little safer besides, since you have to be shooting the gun pretty quickly to get them to activate. I did notice that the 3-shot burst of the PSP mode automatically degrades itself to a 2-shot burst at 10bps, but at that speed the gun's eyes and antichop logic is usually going to even things out into a nearly full-auto behavior anyway.

The last time I used my SLG was last Saturday, about 7 months since I bought it. This time, the gun performed absolutely flawlessly and I put about 1500 rounds through it over the course of the afternoon. I broke 3 balls with the gun, but I believe all three were barrel breaks caused by underboring with brittle paint in cold weather. The bolt itself was clean.
Conclusion: Unless you're determined to have the cheapest-avalailable gun with a DYE UL frame, I would advise you to look at other guns instead of the UL SLG. Perhaps if DYE/Proto can resolve the problems with the sear and improve the tolerances of the frame, the Invert Mini, Dangerous Power G3, or a blackhearted Vibe are all probably better choices.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

capaintballer Wednesday, December 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
borrowed ego 05
Marker Setup: slg ul, invert 2 loader, 3000/48, cp barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
clamping feedneck
new asa
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Good board
Weaknesses: Bad asa
Short barrel
Review: nice gun for 300 its light and for the most part can keep up with fast play. There are improvments for it i would get a new asa and feedneck first. I did have some problems with it. after about 2-3 cases it craped out on me and started leaking all over the place, chopping paint, and i got spikes in velocity. i called proto (dye) up and talked to them i have sent the gun back to get fixed. I am hoping that they will fix the problem. But once they fix it i am going to get a new gun and just use this as a friend gun or backup. good try but still has flaws and by the looks of the slg 10 there isnt much that will be changed.
Conclusion: This is a great gun if you place once in a while. i think this is a good entry level gun with basic tournament features. would i recomend this to a friend? depends on their experiance in paintball.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

frankenstiner25 Thursday, November 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Response, Flatline Barrel - Awesome, Durable, Still used for Woodsball
07 Spyder Sonix w/ Rocking Trigger - No comparison
08 Invert Mini w/ Virtue Board - Okay, chopped like crazy, trigger was terrible
Marker Setup: Proto SLG Ultralite
Ironmen Dye Trigger
Redifined Virtue Board
FREAK Barrel Kit
Kingman Fasta Hopper (Don't hate, 30+ BPS)
68/4500 Pure Energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (see review)
On/Off valve (see review)
Strengths: ReallyFastStock
LIGHT (rivalsinvertmini)
Chopped1ballin2cases
SILENT
Great efficency
Trigger feels Great
Weaknesses: None, really.
(Stock barrel should be changed, see review)
Review: Right out of the box, i ripped through 1000 rounds of the most brittle balls i could find in about 25 seconds. No breaks or chops. The trigger has a "monkey club" design, in which the pivot point at which the trigger is dropped forward from the trigger frame. This makes the trigger feel more natural in the hand, and allows you to tear through paint. Paired with the OLED board, this gun is an absloute beast on the X-Ball field. I play snake, and do not shoot after the buzzer. This gun is so extremely light, it has reduced my time from board to snake to under 1.45 seconds. I also play woodsball, and this gun is perfect. It is so extremely quiet, I could take three shots from twenty yards, and the person wouldnt know where I was. One of the most impressive aspects of this gun is its amazing air efficency. I can shoot a full case of paint (without chops or breaks) on one full air tank. Also, I had a race with my friend and his E-TEK to see who could waste a pod quicher on semi. The SLG UL won by five seconds.

Now, to the upgrades. I would suggest to anyone to get an On/Off valve. It is just easier that way. Not necesary, but it helps. Also, the barrel. It is one of the best stock barrels I have played with, but 11 inches just doesnt cut it.
Conclusion: Amazing gun, for tourneys and rec, for woodsball and speedball. With the right upgrades, the Proto SLG Ultralite will rival Planet Eclipse markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 9th, 2009 at 5:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chuckasaurus Sunday, October 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR2 - No Comparison as this is a milsim

Dangerous Power G3 - The G3 works great, and has never, ever let me down.
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
Dye Rotor
Pure Energy 50 ci HPA tank
APE Upgrade Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New marker - The SLG isn't worth upgrading.
Strengths: None - The gun has no strengths.
Weaknesses: Quality Quality Quality
Review: A kid on my team bought a brand new SLG back in April. The gun never worked right from the day it was taken out of the box. You could pull the trigger once, and it would shoot.......pull it again, and nothing........pull it again, and it would shoot........pull it 2 more times, and nothing.........pull it again, and it would shoot........and so on.

Nobody could figure out what the problem was.......not even the gunsmith where the kid bought it. I went ahead and bought the SLG from the kid, so he would have the money to buy a G3 like the rest of the team. I had no desire to own this SLG, but this kid needed a gun he could count on in tournaments, so I bought it simply to help him out.

I sent it back to DYE, and they fixed it and sent it back to me in about 10 days. DYE customer support was great. When I got the gun back, I aired it up, turned the eyes off, and dry fired it a few times. It worked, so I put it back in it's box, and left it. I never took it back out. We compete in 2 tournament series, and have 2 matches a month, so I didn't have time to fool with the SLG. I really didn't want to shoot, or even own this SLG.....working or not.

I'm going to be honest with you, I had decided that the SLG is a piece of crap. Everywhere I went to try and learn about the SLG, and how to fix it, all I saw were people complaining about how their SLG didn't work, and never worked right from the day it was new, or worked right for a couple of weeks, then stopped working. My opinion of the SLG became that it is the worst paintball gun being made today, and that if you took a really big turd, and put a hopper on it, that you basically had an SLG...........that the SLG was just a turd with a hopper on it. Not something worth throwing your time or money away on.

I was sitting at the house yesterday, and was kind of bored, so I took out the SLG, put a tank and hopper on it, and proceeded to shoot a couple hundred balls through it. It worked fine. The barrel is so short that you really can't be accurate with it, but it shot just fine. I took a 14 inch barrel off my G3, and put it on the SLG, and it was pretty accurate. I actually had a little fun shooting it.

I told my kid about how well the gun shot, and he went outside to shoot it for himself. It shot fine for about the first 15 balls, then started "pinching" balls with the bolt. About every 9 or 10 balls, one would get pinched. And when it would shoot a ball or two, you would have to hit the button on the back cap to release air and "recock" the bolt into place. It took him about 40 minutes to shoot a hopper of paint. It does that every time you shoot.

So now that the board is actually telling the gun to shoot every time I pull the trigger, the bolt pinches the ball before it can make it to the chamber. Nice!

This gun is so gone. It isn't even worth keeping as a backup.

I did a lot of research on this gun when I was trying to figure out what was wrong with it. What I discovered from sites like PB Nation and Tech PB, was that about half of the people who own an SLG can't use it, because it doesn't work. Then I came here, and seen that kids were giving it a 9 or a 10 rating. Do a little research, and you will see that this thing doesn't even deserve a 1, because it doesn't shoot enough to allow for a full review.
Conclusion: SLG = Turd with a hopper.

Do not throw your time and money away on one of these. No matter what you pay for an SLG, it was too much. If someone gives you one for free, take it. But do not spend any money on something that won't work. You'll be standing around while others are playing paintball.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

mulletman72 Wednesday, September 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
compared to:
ego 7
mini
ion
etek
Marker Setup: Ego 7 and proto slg ul
cossfire 68/45
magna'd halo
dye back with stiffy tip on the SLG
Recommended
Upgrades:
first buys are deffenitly clamping feed neck this is a must
others that make it nice are an on off asa and a barrel
other than that its good
Strengths: Great gun, easily programable, light, small but not to small, accurate, quite, fast
Weaknesses: Stock feed neck is junk
They dont make color kits for it yet
Review: Great gun! it shoots increadibly accurate with an aftermarket barrel. the stock barrel is alright but its stock... you can always get better unless your spending 1000+ for an ego or dm

iIam comparing it to my ego 7 and it is slightly wider and longe but its shorter it has a low proile when the hopper is on. its 10x quieter than my ego mainly cause its closed bolt but i dont care.

It is extreamly accurate with my "diffy" barrel (dye back with stiffy tip) lol

Verry light and the bored is easuly programible without an lcd...

Compared to the ion mini and etek/2: this is a deffinite buy! for $300 ha cant beat it!
compared to the g3: everyone says go with the g3 but the g3 has insane amounts of kick and is basically a horrible gun compared to the slg ul
Conclusion: Great gun deffinetely buy it if you got 300 dolleroonies and want a nice gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big_Rick133 Wednesday, September 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion,epiphany
proto pmr
tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: 14 inch cp 693, crossfire 70/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel,feed neck,and a on/off asa
Strengths: Price
Speed
Consistency
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Barrel
Cannot see the status light in the day
Plastic ul frame
Review: The 09 slg is a wonderful gun its a perfect gun for a budget baller or a pro. I took it to the field for the first time a couple weeks ago and i was amazed on how good the gun performed it was very accurate and efficient. The only problem i had was that my loader wouldn't feed paint because my batteries were dead
Conclusion: If you are a player looking for inexpensive marker you should pick one up
BUY IT!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media