paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sterling Sterling Shield / Sterling Sterling Shield / Sterling Sterling Shield

Sterling Sterling Shield Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sterling

Buy Sterling Sterling Shield

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sterling Sterling Shield
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 5.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Sterling’s budget conscious paintball line is perfect for high volume team practice, tournament drills and entry
level field use. Shield is the perfect paintball to choose when lower cost and consistent reliability are in need. Colors will vary, availability is limited due to high demand for quality low cost paintballs.
Product Availability 
The Sterling Sterling Shield is newer, so it should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Stuci Monday, August 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stinger
Some other lowgrade/practice paintballs
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Tippmann A2 foregrip
TAPCO car stock
Trinity sight rail
PBS Red Dot 1x30
Wargear soft paddles
Recommended
Barrels:
i usually play cqb so i use my stock barrels, which is not a precisely made thing..
Strengths: Cheap
Come in nice colours
Weaknesses: Not perfectly shaped
Dont break altough they hurt like hell
Review: First of all, forgive my spelling mistakes i am hungarian.
Yesterday ive been invited to my ex-teams "paintballing day".
It means that there were about 60-70 12-year-old boys and girls playing paintball (i am almost 20..)
my friend bought about 150-200 cartons of this so we had no choice what to use.
its not a terrible paintball if you use scenario markers, but if you are planning to buy sterling paintballs for your tourney gun..forget it.
my biggest problem is that the paintballs simply dont break whent they impact,
i got 3 shots on my head from my teammate (from about 20 feet) ..and no breaks, no paint on my head or on my googles..my god oO
After 3 kills (which were not killss because no paint on the target)i swittched to my 3-month-old noname paintballs..

Conclusion: So in conclusion they are cheap so if you are low on cash, go give it a try if you need it for some recreational paintball.
Not recommended for tourney use, or if you are playing with your team or going to a big scenario game.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Inspyte Sunday, August 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: My friend's CO2 powered Spyder Victor with stock barrel, and both a Viewloader gravity fed loader and Invert Halo Too loader.
Strengths: - Brittle
- No divots or malformed samples
- Well-formed seam
- Inexpensive
- Easy to find
Weaknesses: - Most balls are not an ideal sphere and may even be oblong.
Review: I'm new to paintball; I've only played 3 games - all woodsball duels with a family member. That said, I wouldn't know a good paintball if it hit me in the face.

The time came around to purchase some paintballs for my own setup. I needed to find some satisfactory paintballs that can be purchased at my local supermarket that doesn't specialize in the sport or come anywhere close to providing a variety of high-end products. Being a know-nothing, the only criteria for my purchase was low price and low count. This way I could test the product out before making a more committed purchase.

I was pretty impressed with my batch, they exceeded my expectations. Much like me, my friends and family aren't willing to invest a lot of money into the sport; this results in a few horror stories, particularly a memorable groin bounce.

I'd say its decent product for a good price. The accuracy of the paint and barrel didn't earn our applause, but these balls will break on target, maybe even without exception.
Conclusion: If you've yet to find the perfect paintball regarding performance for price at your local retail outlet, give these a try.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nordashi Monday, May 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Severe Storm
Marker Setup: SP1 with 16" barrel, electronic loader (cca 20balls/sec)
Recommended
Barrels:
smart parts 16" barrel
Strengths: Cheap, good, no paintball breaks
Weaknesses: Some of paintballs are not perfectly round.
Review: This is cheapest and best paintballs ( super price/ quality ratio) I have ever seen. Some people have Bravo One Tactical with "Cyclone" feeder and had good results (other paintballs broke inside of cyclone and had to clean whole marker).
Basicly we tested this paint (minimum 500 on each markeer) on :
SP-1, BT-4 Combat/ Rental, X7, Bravo One Tactical E-Grip, VL Orion 3
and SP-Vibe.

Whole club aggred to use this paint since its perfect for us:
No paintball breaks, compatible with all types of markers, perfect shell thickness for
woodsball yet not to thick, cheap.
We noticed that some of paintballs are not 100% round and some of them
sometimes miss the target (lets say 3 of 500).
Sterling Rec is a better paint than this but costs more and solves the "miss" problem.
Conclusion: Good and cheap paintball. Good for woodsball and for scenario play.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JezyCrezy Sunday, April 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Revolt, Sterling Rec, Feugro Strike
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 7
UL Frame
UL Barrel 14"
Empire Reloader B
Dye Throttle

Dye Matrix 5
Freak Barrel Kit
Evolve Bolt Kit
UL Frame
Empire Reloader B
Dye Throttle
Recommended
Barrels:
Dye UL (.692)
Freak Kit
J&J Ceramic
Strengths: Cheap
No/V.Few Breaks
Various Season Formulas
Flies Faily Straight
Weaknesses: Can Be Oily
Not completely round
Weak Fill
Review: My local site has been using this paint for about 6 months and being a marshal there I have seen and played with it in pretty much every condition.

The paint is relatively cheap but is better than Sterling Rec in my opinion, as it more consistent from box to box and better quality. Having used it in about 4 different guns ranging from Infernos to a DM9 i can say that it is a safe bet if you are strapped for cash, but still want a good day. The fill isn't the brightest and isn't that thick yet it breaks on target about 80% of the time out of a marker shooting at about 280fps.

I have used the Winter, Summer and Interim formulas and was pleased with the interim especially as it was about 11*C and was still breaking on target and not in my marker. The winter paint never broke in gun but was a bit bouncy, where the summer formula broke on target the majority of the time.


Conclusion: This is a rock steady paintball in my experience, yet it would be preferable to use something of a higher grade for tournament or walk on days. But for those with less money certainly give it a try.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ALLGROWNUP Friday, March 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Visible Impact, Stingers, Marbs, Xball, etc..
Marker Setup: SP1, HPA, CP barrel .689
Recommended
Barrels:
.689 ish
Strengths: Cheap, $7.99/500 at Academy
Weaknesses: Watery, thin fill.
Review: What can I say. The balls are cheap. The balls sweated a bit, there was not a broken one, but they were a bit oily, Stingers are the same way. I wiped them off in a towel, and they sat for about a month before I got to play with them.

I found them to be decent. Weather was warm, 65 degrees, being shot out of a low pressure gun. I had 0 issues. They flew pretty straight. I really don't have any complaints but the cheap weak fill.
Conclusion: Great Value at $32 a case.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noob slayer43 Tuesday, February 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stryker
impact
Marker Setup: proto slg
stock
halo b hopper
clamping feedneck

Tippmann 98 custom A.C.T.
Double trigger
JJ 16 inch barrel
Car stock
Recommended
Barrels:
I dont know
Strengths: Cheap (In both ways)
Weaknesses: Dont break (except for in barrel) some werent round dimple easy.
Review: I got saw these for 7$ and i was like what the heck ill get em. So i went home had them for a while (only about 2-3 weeks in the case) i didnt like them i found out some werent round and alot were dimpled and chopped really easy their cheap but in both ways poor quality.
Conclusion: Dont get these they chop and their cheap
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tomongoose Friday, November 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Its the same as a lot of basic paint ie jts cheap stuff etc
Marker Setup: sp-1, 98c, sterling stp, zeus g2+, pt jr
Recommended
Barrels:
Its pretty small so if you stick it anything with a big barrel it goes all over the place
Strengths: Its cheap and they do a good winter version for no extra cost.
Weaknesses: Not very consitent, really varies from box to box some are ok some are terrible
Review: Its cheap, not very accurate but I have not had much problems with chopping and they do a winter Ice version for no extra cost which is a big bonus.

My local site uses this so I buy it for recball and training. It is the cheapest paint I can get hold of so is great for shooting loads (but you have to shoot loads to hit anything) If I am playing a big game I tend to use something better like Draxxus.

Its not great paintballbut it pops on target does not break in the gun to often ( unless you get a bad batch) its better than white box paint. Ok its not very accurate but what to you expect for the money you pay for it. As a piant its only a 3 but for value its an 7 so I will give it a 4 overall
Conclusion: Cheap, you get what you pay for
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 12th, 2009 at 5:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scias Thursday, October 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Triax
Heavy Metal
RPS Stinger
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 w/ metal clamping feedneck, red dot scope, new detent, 9V Fasta Hopper
Tippmann X7, squishy paddles, 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
An oval shaped one.
Strengths: Cheap price
Weaknesses: Horrible Quality
Review: The brand I've been loyal to since the beginning decided to raise their price, so I started trying other brands. These were on sale, so I bought a box.

I opened the box, and the first thing I noticed was an oblong ball yellow, soft and pointy at one end, round at the other, like a tear drop or an egg. This is acceptable for such a cheap box of paint. As I looked through the rest, I noticed more and more of these balls. In fact, most of the balls I saw were not round. I hand counted 75 balls out of all 500 that were completely unusable in any gun. They would have busted. That's 3 out of every 20, or 30 out of every hopper full. Completely unacceptable. The rest were sort of misshapen, but useable.

I emailed the company about this product, and this is part of what they had to say:

"The Shield grade of paintball is our lowest and is intended for Field Operators, who use paintball guns that will fire larger and less well shaped paintballs without them breaking in the gun."

The only problem here, IS THAT THE BOX DOESN'T SAY THAT! In fact, it doesn't say anything about anything, except the warnings and the grade. It says that they are standard grade paintballs. Do these sound or look like standard grade paintballs?

Conclusion: Terrible balls (that's what she said). The website says use them for bulk team practice. So much time would be wasted cleaning out your team's equipment that there wouldn't be much practice at all. Unless you are practicing cleaning your guns. Then by all means, by the 2000 box.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 9th, 2008 at 1:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media