paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DYE ROTOR / Dye DYE ROTOR / Dye DYE ROTOR

Dye DYE ROTOR Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DYE ROTOR

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DYE ROTOR
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 60
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
DIMENSION & WEIGHT

* Rotor Length 8-1/2"
* Rotor Height 4-3/4"
* Rotor Width 4-1/2"
* Empty Weight 1.3lbs
* Loaded Weight 2.6lbs
* Power Source 3 AA Batteries
* Battery Life 50,000+ Shots
* Capacity 200+
* Feed Rate 50+

TECHNOLOGY

* Patented Rotor Technology
* Cross Rotor action feed system
* Eye-less, pulse-less and sound sensor-less!
* 50+ bps feed rate
* The most consistent feed rate of ANY loader on the market

FEATURES

* Made from a durable Nylon material
* Low profile
* Spring locking lid
* Speed Feed compatible
* Collapsible spring loaded feed tray
* See through windows
* Jam release trigger
* On/off button with bright blue LED display

CLEANING & MAINTENANCE

* 15 second disassembly
* Broken down and taken apart with the push of a button
* No tools needed
* No screw disassembly
* Fast & easy cleaning

You can strip it down in about a minute and there are no screws. Only uses 3 AA batteries. It holds 200 paintballs and there is a larger top half in the works so it can carry 250. Very low profile.

Colors: Black, Blue, Red, White, Green


Here are the specs off the box:

01 Revolutionary Patented Rotor Technology
The ROTOR LOADER far exceeds pro level feed requirements with an impressive 50+ balls per second feed rate. The constant feed rotor carousel combined with the opposing rotation of the center rotor arm provides smooth, consistent, rapid and dependable feed performance shot after shot. This new technological design provides unmatched performance over any other loader on the market

02 LOW PROFILE
Designed with the professional player in mind, the unique center feed design of the Rotor pushes balls straight down over a short distance allowing the loader size and shape to be small and low profile.

03 200 BALL CAPACITY
Play longer without reloading. The ROTOR holds up to 20% more paint than most loaders, while having the lowest profile. Additionally, the ROTOR is also the lightest 200 round loader available. Simply smaller, lighter and faster.

04 SPRING LOADED FLOOR TRAY
The patent pending revolutionary collapsing floor tray allows for maximum ball capacity, while ensuring constant, reliable feeding down to the last ball. The spring floor tray also ensures ball feeding while shooting at elevated targets by raising the floor as you shoot.

05 NO TOOLS NEEDED
The ROTOR can be effortlessly broken down for basic cleaning or maintenance with the push of a button. No tiny screws and nuts to loosen, parts to lose or break off. Just smart and simple engineering with the player's needs in mind.

06 SEE THROUGH WINDOW
Provides you the ability to monitor your paint level visually so you don't get caught without paint. Windows available in different colors (sold separately).

07 INTERCHANGEABLE CARRIER WITH SPRING LID
The transparent locking lid is integrated into an interchangeable dual density carrier. The spring tension lid allows fast loading and secure lock on the loader. The carrier design allows you to quickly change between your lid or speed feed. Additionally the removable upper shell allows you to use a high capacity upper shell that will hold 250 rounds (sold separately).

08 POSITIVE PUSH POWER BUTTON
Single push Power On/Off button with an LED display. The positive push button and bright LED informs you when your loader is on or off.

09 JAM RELEASE TRIGGER
In the rare event of a ball jam caused by an oversized or out of round paint, simply give the jam release trigger a quick pull and you are back in action.

10 SHOT COUNT
The ROTOR provides an impressive 50,000+ ball shot count on one set of three AA batteries. This new design of efficient power regulation is revolutionary and the first of its kind in loader technology.


Retail price: $150.00
Product Availability 
The Dye DYE ROTOR is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
n3s7rippa Tuesday, August 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B w/ too many upp's to list
VL evolution
Marker Setup: 05 ego
virtue board
Violent se rammer aka "zick" kit
cp rail and on/off
Guerrilla air myth w/ 45/45
stifi 16" barrel or Dye 14" UL
Rotor with Exalt Feed gate and (coming soon) virtue rotor soft cyle
Strengths: Rock solid
Ease of use
Nice upgrades
Very fast
Nice and light
Weaknesses: lid is a PITA to remove
decals are falling off
Review: I have been playing with my halo b for a long time now and really one thing that got me wanting to get a new hopper was the fact that most of the time my halo wasn't feeding consistently. So I started looking around for a new hopper about 5 years ago, but due to real life stuff coming up I had to wait on that for a little while. So now that i can play I decided to go with the Rotor and let me tell ya, It was worth every penny.

Went to my local shop (gogo indy extreme...) and picked this up with Exalt feed gate, took it home and i was immediately impressed. the Construction is very solid it uses an ABS plastic similar to the old VL revvies which are built like a tank and can take abuse. The ease of use is great, in 7 steps and the thing is completely stripped down so in about 30-45 seconds your up and running. The speed of this thing is incredible, my halo would burst up to 25-30 then break for a sec then go again, not the rotor. Nothing but just constant feeding. I was literally blown away by this, Dye owes me a new pair of pants after my first drop test (jk jk). Pure awesome, and it weighs a lot less than my halo.

Now playing with it on my Ego (as well as my DM3) gave me goosebumps, I have never had such a consistent rope of paint come out my gats like that before. I mean it was awesome. and it took the abuse like a real hopper should. I really only played a days worth of games with it but I was all over the place shooting people. Also never ran into a single jam with it but word of wisdom don't let it get too empty or you will likely run into jam issues...

For me the Rotor is worth every penny, and you get what you pay for. Dye has made some outstanding products and this is no Exception. Also there are some nice upgrades for it but really stock is what most people will need. And honestly with the money you have to put into a Halo to make it shine like this, you might as well have gotten the rotor instead. Because i had to replace the halo shells way too many times plus it cuts the amount of batteries you use down to 3 instead of 6.
Conclusion: So if you're looking for a rugged, fast and easy to use hopper the rotor is for you, and if you need any other reason to get it just say "cause Vince said so and we cant do this all day..."
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rob0220 Monday, July 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Prophecy- The Empire Prophecy I think is better than the Rotor only because of the weight and the capacity. The Empire Prophecy holds 240 balls and is 1 pound without paint. The Rotor holds 200 and is 1.3 pounds without paint. In my personal preference, the Prophecy is better than the Rotor but only by a slight margin.
Marker Setup: Red Bob Long Protege w/ Virtue OLED Board, a Dovetail On/Off ASA, CP Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: The Speed
Low-Profile
Easy to Disassemble
Weaknesses: Weight
Big Feed neck
Sharktail jams
Review: This is a solid hopper. It is quick, Low Profile and just a great all around hopper. Although it weighs in at 2.6 pounds loaded, it makes up for it with it's speed. They come in great colors and it leads the top of the line markers. Great hopper, Great Speed, Great Looks...
Conclusion: This is a great hopper but it is over-priced. Dye abuses its' name by raising their prices by fooling their customers. Besides that, GREAT HOPPER!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tydo Saturday, June 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert 2 Reloader
Halo Too
Bt Rip Clip
Marker Setup: Bt Tm-7, Bt Flashlight, Ninja HPA tank, Dye Rotor
Strengths: Feeds Fast
Low Profile
User Friendly
Easy Battery Change
Pretty :)
Weaknesses: A little heavy, not noticable though
Somewhat noisey
Review: Bought it because it was half price at the pro shop, will never go back to another hopper again. This thing is SO simple, takes 1 minute to change batteries and sits nice and tightly in the marker, The only complaint is its noise which is not noticable when shooting but if you had an empty hopper could give you away when reloading :S
Conclusion: Would recomend to anyone who can affoard it, anyone who cant, save up!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pball14 Wednesday, April 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Magna Drive
Empire Prophecy
Pinokio
Spyder Fasta
Eggy
Marker Setup: PE Etek2
Virtue Board
Clamping Feedneck
Virtue Eyes
Techt Hush Bolt
Zick Kit
Virtue Feather Lite Microswitch
Strengths: Fast
SEXY
Battery Efficient
Low Profile
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Jams
very expensive
Review: I just recently bought this rotor at the west point scenario game, for 150 and my magna drive because my magna broke on me. I was able to put about 3000 balls through it and it kept up with my gun on every mode i played with. It jammed on me twice so that is why i am not giving it a 10. But it does have an anti-jam that works flawlessly. As soon as i bought it i took it apart and what i noticed first is that you can take it apart without any tools so that was very nice to have considering i dont usually carry tools around with me.

I also did notice that it doesnt do 50+ bps it does more around 40
it can fill a pod of 140, with paint in about 3.7 seconds.
Conclusion: Its an awesome product if you have the money, aside from it jamming
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhorgan Monday, April 12th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Prophecy, Halo/Reloader B, etc
Marker Setup: Cyborg RX, Droid and 06 Cyborg

Strengths: Simple, sturdy, small, easy to assemble/dissasemble
Weaknesses: Jams, picky with paint
Review: I have had the Rotor for about 3 months and it has been a decent loader. I've used it in just about every type of paintball game. Here is my review:

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: The Rotor has a very nice finish. The shell is very sturdy and looks like it is made of quality materials. The loader is small, simple, and sits well on the gun. I put 3 AA batteries in the Rotor and went out to the field to get some game-time in.

ON FIELD PERFORMANCE: After putting the Rotor on my Droid I went to the chrono to check my speed and shoot a little paint prior to my first game. I was using XBall Bronze (or whatever they call it now) and the first stream of paint went out without a hitch. The rotor did not miss a beat. Then I tried a second barrage of paint...I had my first jam of the day. Pulled the lever and it seemed to unjam the paint. Ripped off another string and no problems. Time to hit the field. During my first game I had a jam right after I slid into my first bunker...pulled the lever and nothing. I took the loader off to try and get the jam out...I had to empty all the paint out. Poured in another pod and played the rest of the game without any problems. It jammed off the break on my next game.

BELLS & WHISTLES: The Rotor does not have any bells and whistles in it. The only adjustment that you can make is the tension. This can help with jamming issues (which it did for me to a point). It pretty much has 2 modes: on and off.

TOOLESS: The Rotor is completely tooless and can be completely taken apart in about 5 seconds. It is a really nice feature and it is pretty much idiot-proof. The only thing I did not like about the design is that if you do not put the shell top back on right (and in some cases even if you do put it on right) it can pop off if you dive or hit the loader. The happened to me during a game (I had the shell top on correctly) as well as other people at the field I go to.

BATTERY LIFE: The Rotor absolutely shines in terms of battery life. I have had the same set of batteries in this loader since the day I bought it and they show no signs of wearing down.

OVERALL DESIGN: Thr design of the Rotor is exceedingly simple. Just add batteries, paint, and a gun and go. The shells are durable, the internals are idiot proof, and when it does not jam it works very well. The Rotor is extremely picky when it comes to the kind of paint put through it. I have personally found that it likes pretty much premium grade paints. Anything less and it tends to jam.

THE ONLY DRAW-BACK: I see 2 draw-backs to the Rotor:
1. The Dye label makes this loader $160 when in reality it should be about a $60 loader at the most. But just like anything else when it comes to the Dye name brand you will pay for the name plate.
2. The Rotor is very finnicky with paint. If you plan on using field-grade paint or Wal-Mart paint forget about it. You will have nothing but jams all day long. If you use primium-grade paint you will be pretty much jam free.
Conclusion: The Rotor is reliable as long as you have primium-grade paint in it. And even then it was reliable about 85% of the time. Jamming has been a very common thing for me. I would only recommend this loader to people who can afford the paint to feed it.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 12th, 2010 at 2:58 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

fernando8877 Friday, March 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo, Vlocity and Pulse, but really nothing close to it.
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 Phenom w/ AA barrel and BT TM7, Profiler mask, SpecOps vest and camo.
Strengths: Light weight, easy to field strip and uses little battery power.
Weaknesses: Cant really think of any I had with it.
Review: I bought the V3 version and used for about 6 months. This thing is very light weight when compared to other loaders that others had around me. It never jammed or broke any paint inside. It also took a few direct hits to it and not one scratch or crack on it.

It's been the best loader I've ever owned or used. I know this is sounding like I'm just bragging about it, but I cant think of anything bad to say about it. The only reason I got rid of it, is cause I bought a Phenom and cant use it anymore. The TM7 has a RipClip on it and cant be used with it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this loader to anyone wanting a great hopper for speedball or recball. You wont be disapointed with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VanDamage Saturday, March 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-View Loader 9 Volt
-View Loader 12 Volt
-Halo B
Marker Setup: -Dust White w/ Polished Silver EGO 09
-Matching Dust White Shaft 3 Barrel Kit
-White Camo Dye Rotor w/ White Dye Quick Feed
-Eclipse Zick 2 Rammer
-Eclipse Cure 3+ Bolt
-PMI Pure Energy 45 4500 Carbon Fiber Tank
-Gray Dye Rhino Tank Cover
Strengths: -Rapid consistent feeding
-Platform springs up as paint decreases
-Simple break down/clean
-Batteries
-Appearance
Weaknesses: -Cost
Review: Recently I purchased my Dye Rotor, upon arrival and looking through the manual, I quickly dissected the system and installed the Dye Quick feed system.

I did some tests and just poured paint into it and turned it on to witness the stream of balls from the Rotor. Man was it amazing! Not like the old school View Loaders inconsistent feed pattern [for they agitated not force fed] and is way faster than my Halo B.

Moreover, I used it in game for the first time today along with first time usage of my new EGO and it worked flawlessly. I love the de-jammer on the bottom but have not had to use it yet.

Product appears to be well manufactured of quality composites, looks great, works great..what more can one say!
Conclusion: I paid $139 for the Dye Rotor with the Quick Feed for free, I think it was worth every penny; however, I feel the product could retail for $99-$119 to make it a bit more affordable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Viettmai Thursday, January 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Magna/Halo B, Halo v35
Marker Setup: Etek2/ Tippy A5 ( my main, and a lot more)
Strengths: Disassemble, battery, unjamming, low profile
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Ok everybody has said that the mouth is too small... yes it is a bit but if you can load, it shouldn't be a problem, granted a bigger mouth won't hurt. I drop MAYBE 3 balls IF that on a QUICK load useing dye lock lid pods, and 1 or 2 balls on a normal cheap pod. 3 batteries last around 3 cases till might start jamming, but i change my batteries every once a month of playing 3-4 times a month on a normal base. so basically every Sunday.
So when low battery it seems to jam. (3 AA)

Low profile... not much i can say here be it's sits lower on your marker then any other loaders i've used. about 1/2 an inch lower vs my Magna i didn't measure but it's a noticeable difference .

Un-Jamming: the quickest unjam mech ever!, no wheel to turn over and over and over, just ONE pull on the unjam and it clears it all!!, if that doesn't work it's FAST disassemble, but you risk losing paint of course.

Cleaning, no screws(mostly), the only part that has screws is the piece that holds onto the lid, 6 screws easy ones, under this piece is the hardest to clean because of the screws other then that everything is easy and fast 7 mins tops with removing the top lid and cleaning under it

It would work with any kind of paint, never had a break inside had only 1-jam that required removing the top half and 2 times unjamming with the puller, 3 jams total out of a rough 6-7 months i'v used it about 18 cases of paint 3 jams. not too bad i have to say.
Conclusion: Lastly, my going from halo B to Halo V35, to Magna....the Rotor is now my main hopper and my Magna as my backup.
I would give this product a 9 due to the price, however this is a product review not a cost review so it gets a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

superpaintball Tuesday, December 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
MAGNA, REVOLUTION, HALO B
Marker Setup: SL 94,
PE TANK
ROTOR LIQUID GRAY
Strengths: eXTERIOR DESIGN
QUALITY OF MATERIALS
Weaknesses: iNTERIOR DESIGN
MANUFACTURE
Review: i DID WANT TO CHANGE MY MAGNA LOADER. THE ROTOR DESIGN IS VERY NICE SO I PICK UP ONE FROM ACTION VILLAGE.

MY FIRST IMPRESSION WAS SO GOOD. THE EXTERIOR DESIGN IS AMAZING AND FITS VERY GOOD ON THE GUN.

FIRST 20 SHOTS GOOD, AFTER THAT, THE LOADER DOES NOT DROP A SINGLE BALL. I TRIED TO UNBLOCK , THE TRIGGER DOES NOT WORK NIETHER UP AND DOWN.
IN THAT MOMENT I WAS IN THE X. MANY BALLS COME TO ME. I HIT IT SEVERAL TIMES WITH MY FIST AND FINALLY IT RUN FOR A COUPLE BALL AND AGAIN JAM.

AFTER THE GAME I SHARED THE BAD EXPERIENCE WITH OTHER ROTOR OWNERS. WE REALIZED THE PIECE WITH THE ENGINE WAS OUT OF PLACE IN ONE SIDE.
WE TRIED TO PUT IN THE RIGHT PLACE MANY TIMES. FINALLY IT FITS BUT LATER IN OTHER GAME A FRIEND OF MINE GOT THE SAME PROBLEM.

IT IS A BAD INTERIOR DESIGN. WHEN I PUT THE SHIELDS TOGHETER I CAN SEE A BIG LIGHT BETWEEN THEN. IT IS A PRODUCT OF BAD MANUFACTURE . IT IS MADE IN CHINA. SORRY ABOUT THAT.


Conclusion: i REALLY DO NOT RECOMEND THIS PRODUCT IN ANY WAY. IT LOOKS VERY NICE
THE QUALITY OF THE SHIELDS IS HIGH. THE BOX IS EXCELENT. BUT ITS PERFORMANCE DOES NOT MATCH WITH THE REALLY OF THE GAME.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

True Empire Saturday, November 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Re-loader B

Electronic View Loader B
Marker Setup: Shocker NXT
Virtue Russian Legion Board
Virtue Eyes
Q-Lock Feed Neck
Custom Products Mini Rail Drop
Empire Revolver Barrel Kit
Ninja 50/4500psi HPA Tank
Dye Rotor

BackUp Setup

Smart Parts Nerve
Q-Lock Feed Neck
Smart Parts Drop
Smart Parts Shocker NXT Stock Eyes
Freak Barrel Kit- Freak Front
Freak Barrel Kit- All American Front
Empire Re-loader B
Speed Quick Feed
Strengths: Feeds Fast, Quick and Easy to take apart and put together
Weaknesses: Wish it Used a 9v Batt
Review: Vary fast Hopper, Ease and fast to take apart and clean, No tools truly needed, When playing on the field it feeds as fast as my gun shoots. My eyes are set to 2 and stock setting is at 5 and if u have a slow hopper u have to raise the setting so its quick. Another great thing that my empire re-loader B was unable to do was fire balls with the hopper completely sideways as long as the hopper was near full.
Conclusion: The Rotor is a great investment if you can afford it its a bit pricey at stock price around 150, i picked up mine brand new for 100 bucks on ebay so i wasn't able to pass it up. it out preforms my Re-Loader B anyday. its more reliable and not sound activated or eye activated it just keeps feeding. With the Reloder B and my friends Halo B we have problems with them once in a while but the rotor is so far perfect and gave me no problems so far.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media