paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DYE ROTOR / Dye DYE ROTOR / Dye DYE ROTOR

Dye DYE ROTOR Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DYE ROTOR

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DYE ROTOR
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 60
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
DIMENSION & WEIGHT

* Rotor Length 8-1/2"
* Rotor Height 4-3/4"
* Rotor Width 4-1/2"
* Empty Weight 1.3lbs
* Loaded Weight 2.6lbs
* Power Source 3 AA Batteries
* Battery Life 50,000+ Shots
* Capacity 200+
* Feed Rate 50+

TECHNOLOGY

* Patented Rotor Technology
* Cross Rotor action feed system
* Eye-less, pulse-less and sound sensor-less!
* 50+ bps feed rate
* The most consistent feed rate of ANY loader on the market

FEATURES

* Made from a durable Nylon material
* Low profile
* Spring locking lid
* Speed Feed compatible
* Collapsible spring loaded feed tray
* See through windows
* Jam release trigger
* On/off button with bright blue LED display

CLEANING & MAINTENANCE

* 15 second disassembly
* Broken down and taken apart with the push of a button
* No tools needed
* No screw disassembly
* Fast & easy cleaning

You can strip it down in about a minute and there are no screws. Only uses 3 AA batteries. It holds 200 paintballs and there is a larger top half in the works so it can carry 250. Very low profile.

Colors: Black, Blue, Red, White, Green


Here are the specs off the box:

01 Revolutionary Patented Rotor Technology
The ROTOR LOADER far exceeds pro level feed requirements with an impressive 50+ balls per second feed rate. The constant feed rotor carousel combined with the opposing rotation of the center rotor arm provides smooth, consistent, rapid and dependable feed performance shot after shot. This new technological design provides unmatched performance over any other loader on the market

02 LOW PROFILE
Designed with the professional player in mind, the unique center feed design of the Rotor pushes balls straight down over a short distance allowing the loader size and shape to be small and low profile.

03 200 BALL CAPACITY
Play longer without reloading. The ROTOR holds up to 20% more paint than most loaders, while having the lowest profile. Additionally, the ROTOR is also the lightest 200 round loader available. Simply smaller, lighter and faster.

04 SPRING LOADED FLOOR TRAY
The patent pending revolutionary collapsing floor tray allows for maximum ball capacity, while ensuring constant, reliable feeding down to the last ball. The spring floor tray also ensures ball feeding while shooting at elevated targets by raising the floor as you shoot.

05 NO TOOLS NEEDED
The ROTOR can be effortlessly broken down for basic cleaning or maintenance with the push of a button. No tiny screws and nuts to loosen, parts to lose or break off. Just smart and simple engineering with the player's needs in mind.

06 SEE THROUGH WINDOW
Provides you the ability to monitor your paint level visually so you don't get caught without paint. Windows available in different colors (sold separately).

07 INTERCHANGEABLE CARRIER WITH SPRING LID
The transparent locking lid is integrated into an interchangeable dual density carrier. The spring tension lid allows fast loading and secure lock on the loader. The carrier design allows you to quickly change between your lid or speed feed. Additionally the removable upper shell allows you to use a high capacity upper shell that will hold 250 rounds (sold separately).

08 POSITIVE PUSH POWER BUTTON
Single push Power On/Off button with an LED display. The positive push button and bright LED informs you when your loader is on or off.

09 JAM RELEASE TRIGGER
In the rare event of a ball jam caused by an oversized or out of round paint, simply give the jam release trigger a quick pull and you are back in action.

10 SHOT COUNT
The ROTOR provides an impressive 50,000+ ball shot count on one set of three AA batteries. This new design of efficient power regulation is revolutionary and the first of its kind in loader technology.


Retail price: $150.00
Product Availability 
The Dye DYE ROTOR is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
CHI-TOWNBALLA34 Sunday, November 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B, Viewloaders
Marker Setup: Etek ego
orange bolt
red ccu kit
zick kit
CP trigger
hybrid grips
star frame
virtue board and eyes

PMR 10
Strengths: newer sleek and small profile
FAST
doesnt jam
easy straightforward product
easy assembly
very light
Weaknesses: The side windows are small, buts it not an issue.
Review: After having many difficulties using the halo B i decided that it was time to get a new hopper. I used my friends Rotor at Vicious tactics and immediately fell in love with it. it was unlike any hopper i have every used before. it was then and there where i realized that i HAD to go get one. il go more in detail about each subject.

Speed
By far one of the fastest hoppers every to grace the sport of paintaball. I did a free fall test with a full pod of paint, the whole thing was empty within around 4-5 seconds no joke. On the field it feeds as fast as ur gun can shoot. Providing a very consistant feed i had no jams all day.

Design
unlike my halo B which would always b a pain in the ass to take apart and clean i can disassemble my rotor in about 5 seconds. No tools are required as taking it apart is just as easy as putting it back together. While it doesnt have the fancy boards that my old halo had it works just as well. its a very straight forward hopper, you put to paint in, press the button and presto, nothing else is required of you. Another aspect that i loved was the anti-jam lever. instead of a rip drive or other painful ways to unjam your hopper dye offers a simple lever that you pull back. when the lever is pulled back the state of the art cone inside will re-scoop the ball and recycle it with the rest of your balls. it seems like dye always finds ways to make baller's lives easier.

Other
i have heard that the rotor can be a little bit rough on paint because of the furious feeding speed but i never encountered any problems. the scooping mechanism inside and hopper seems to slide the paint in instead of hitting it in giving it a softer feel. this could vary for each person but seeing how i never encountered this problem i can not say much. if it is breaking paint try to adjust the speed inside the rotor.
Conclusion: Over this is by far the best hopper i have ever used and the 150 dollar price tag was well worth it. this is a sure buy and it will not let you down. easy and simple to use this hopper will bang right out of the box. possibly one of the best investments that i have ever made. i will edit my review if anything changes in the future. forget about emire, halo, pulse or all that other crap. Dye is the way to go
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jebus2 Friday, October 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is in its own league
Marker Setup: Redz Ion
Peperstickz 14"
Luxfer 68ci 4500 w/ Myth Reg
Dye Rotor



Tippmann 98 custom
Vertical adaptor expansion chamber kit
J&J 14" Ceramic barrel
Triumph SSL 200
Strengths: Fast
Looks
No eyes
Easy disassembly
Low profile
Durable
Barely any pressure on the paint
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This hopper is amazing! I have used my Triumph on my Redz Ion and it keeps up quite well. But for the tournament I just went to I wanted something a bit more high end. My friends lent me his white rotor for the tourny and it is so wicked!!

Strengths--

This hopper is super fast, im not sure if it can get over 50 bps but its faster then what anyone could ever need

This thing has got killer looks, best looking hopper out there

Has no eyes which makes it very reliable and always feeds consistently

The no tools disassembly is sooo easy. You better believe it when they say you can pull it apart in under 20 seconds. This makes it very easy to maintain and clean.

Sits low on most markers and presents quite a low profile

You can jam your finger in the actual carousel and there is virtually no pressure on your finger.

Battery life is top level as well, still got the originals from it when I first started using it. Ive had about 3 cases of paint through it.

The only problem for me is that it cost a bit of money in New Zealand to buy one brand new =(
Conclusion: This is the end all hopper. Its got everything you could ever want in a hopper. At the tourny i went to recently, about 85% of people there had a rotor.

Highly recommended
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 30th, 2009 at 12:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tonygpaintball Monday, September 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo,Empire reloader B
Marker Setup: ICD Lasoya Promaster, CP hpa, AKA lp, CP trigger, AKA clamping feedneck, Bob Long cam drive ASA
03 orracle autococker, SST hpa, Trinity clamping feedneck, Bob long cam drive Asa
Strengths: Design, simplicity, looks, low profile, durability,
Weaknesses: Price?
Review: Ivehad the rottor for about 3 months now and ive played least 10 times since i got it.
I did not want to write this review after just one time of using it.
All i can say is that this is my favorite loader out of the ones ive tried.
What i love the most about it, is how simple it is to operate, the reliability of it and the looks.
I have not had a single jam no matter how fast i was shooting. Ive been using mainly PMI premium paint.
I love the fact that you just Push the On button once and you are good to go all day.
The battery life is exelent. I still have the original 3 batteries i put in when i first got it.
Oh did i mention how easy is to take apart.
It will hold 195 paintballs when on the gun. I actualy counted them.
Some people say the mouth opening is small. Well, using calipers i measured the opening on my Realoder B and the Rottor. They are exactly the same.
Conclusion: I highly recomend this loader if you have the money. There are other loaders that will work just fine for less money, but if you want all the things that i mentioned above then get one.
I will give it a 9. Im still waiting for the loader that loads itself.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LWard Wednesday, September 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Egg
Reloader B
Marker Setup: TCP Extreme Autococker
Tickler LPR
CP Inline Reg
CP On/Off
Nexus Kit
E1 frame w/ Zero B board and E1 board as a back up
Samuri Trigger
Strengths: Durability, battery life, ease of maintenance
Weaknesses: Picky on paint used, expensive accessories
Review: I bought this hopper when it first came out thinking that is was made by Dye so it had to be an excelent product. Well I found that I didn't feel it was excelent, not terrible either. For the most part it worked up to my expectations. Until I was at an event and all they were selling was Polar Ice paintballs by RPS, I assume they were only selling this because of a the amount they had left over from winter and spring was apon us. I was going to use my Invert Mini and with the Dye Rotor I was only able to shoot the ball stack before I had to shake the hopper or pull the trigger. So I put the Rotor on my TCP Extreme and it shot just fine. Well that only happened for about half of the day until is started to act up feeding. Now I was thinking it was my batteries, so I changed them, with no change in performance. I used the Rotor before and after this event. Other paints I have used and had to ill effects were Formula 13 by Diablo, White Box and Premium by RPS, and Ramp by Empire. Living in the Norther Lower Penninsula of Michigan I have to know I can shoot whatever paint I can whenever I want. With the Rotor I don't have that security.

All in all it is a good hopper, it just isn't for me.
Conclusion: If you live in a warmer climate then I do or don't need to shoot a ball with a hard shell this hopper will be great for you. If you do have to shoot paint with a harder shell or even reballs I would try another hopper before this one.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ECrognale Saturday, September 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL VLocity, VL Evolution 3 - the Rotor is much quieter, faster, and easier to take apart. It also rides lower on the marker, decreasing the overall profile.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail '09, Claret Dust
Dye Rotor, Red
Guerilla Air 68/4500 HPA
Dye Rhino Tank Cover, Red

Smart Parts Ion Pro
VL Evo3 with Z-Board
360 QEV
New Designz Skeleton Bolt
S.P. Freak Barrel 12"
New Designz Spring Detent Kit
New Designz Razr "Silk" Rolling Trigger
Locking Feedneck
Strengths: Speed (50+ bps)
Low profile
No tools needed
Uses AA batteries
Anti-jam trigger
Weaknesses: Cleaning interior is easy, but time-consuming
Last few rounds may not feed
Review: Out of the box: looks good, and doesn't require any adjustment.

Positives:
In my drop test, I got a 42bps feed rate, which isn't the advertised 50+, but still much better than my VLocity or a Halo. I like the low profile; how it rides so low on the marker. It is lightweight, but very sturdy: it was still intact when it fell off of my marker (read my Proto Rail review), even though one or two balls broke inside upon impact. At this point the tool-less take-down really came in handy; I had the whole thing apart in less than 10 seconds. I like that it uses 3 AA batteries, and I can use rechargeable, which are still cheaper than a single 9v. Although I haven't had any jams, I like the anti-jam trigger underneath the hopper shell, which will "back up" the feed mechanism, clearing the jam. The lid clamps down very easily, but holds securely (until dropped from 3+ feet; my bad).

Negatives:
The only thing I didn't like about the Rotor is the time that it takes to clean out a break. Although it took less than 10 seconds to take out all the moving parts, it took me several minutes to clean them due to all of the small nooks and crannies on the the feed mechanism. Whenever I had fewer than about 10 rounds left, the last few were prone to "popcorning," due to the high speed of the feed mechanism, but I've had this happen with all agitated hoppers.
Conclusion: The fastest and most user-friendly loader on the market today; worth the cost. I would definitely recommend spending the extra dough to get one of these.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Disaster Theory Wednesday, September 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fasta v18
Torque loudmouth
VL eyez
Halo Front man
Marker Setup: Proto SLG 08 (Blue)
Barrel: J&J barrel Auto Cocker
Hopper: Dye Rotor (Blue)
Virtue Quick feed Ultra Soft
ShockTech On/Off ASA (Silver)
Dye feed neck (Silver)
Trigger: new Designz Slik trigger
Strengths: Speed
Consistency
Battery Life!
Easy to open
Easy to Clean
Great Styling
Compact
Durable
Weaknesses: That other players can use it against you lol
Review: This hopper is great and brings me alot of joy! The Dye Rotor also spares you alot of money on batteries!!! It has a constant flow of 30pbs, cant test higher because my gun doesnt shoot faster than 30pbs lol. It is very easy to maintain and clean, also very easy to install a quick feed. It can be taken apart in just a few seconds. The Windows on the Dye Rotor doesnt realy help to see into the hopper, but it does make it look very stream lined and Attractive.

I count the amount of paintballs that the Dye Rotor can take it is 193 paintballs
Conclusion: I think the Dye Rotor is one of the best high class hoppers on the market today! I recommend it to anyone. I know its very pricy but i think it is worth it!
If i have any problems i will let you people know through the review. (going to use it until next December or even longer.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ninjabob Wednesday, August 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet AK - Agitating hopper
eVlution II (Egg) - Weird shape, brittle neck, spill proof lid
Vlocity - Large mouth, short battery life
Halo B - Lots of batteries, heavy
Reloader B - Similar to Halo B, but less batteries and sound activated
Marker Setup: Smartparts Ion XE w/ TechT L7 bolt, QEV, Q-lock feed neck, & blade trigger
Smartparts Freak Barrel Kit
Smartparts Max-flo Mini reg w/ 68/4500 HPA tank
Dye Rotor w/ Virtue Crown speed feed
Strengths: Easy to clean
Long battery life
Weaknesses: Small windows
Premium price
Review: I've used a lot of different loaders and the Dye Rotor is the best so far. The designers at Dye really did their homework when developing the Rotor. Loaders up until now have been vertical split shells held together with glue, screws, or bolts. The Rotor's horizontal split shell requires no tools to disassemble it, so cleaning broken paint is fast and easy. I was sold on the Rotor mainly due to its easy to clean design. The shell also appears to be made of a non-brittle plastic that flexes upon impact instead of cracking. There are no eyes, vibration/sound sensor, or flex switch to activate the loader. It just keeps a constant force on the paintballs. The on/off button is easy to use, durable, and big, but its blue light can be difficult to see in sunlight. The small windows make it hard to tell when you're almost out of paint, so I recommend getting the large capacity shell. Since it's new, the Rotor still commands a premium price. When other loaders got cheaper because of the Rotor's popularity I made the mistake of getting a Reloader B. A couple games later I went back and got the Rotor. Dye claims 50 bps and 50,000 shots (uses 3 AA batteries). I can't verify or dispute their claims, but even half of those numbers is faster than I can shoot and will save me money in batteries.
Conclusion: If you've ever had to sit out a game to clean out a loader, or lost a screw, or stripped plastic threads, or gotten a cracked shell, or had a loader die in the middle of a game, then get the Dye Rotor.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

x i011l01 x Tuesday, August 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B
Marker Setup: Ego etek2 & Proto matrix rail
dye rotor & halo B
45/45 PMI

Strengths: Speed
weight
Weaknesses: Lid
Review: Received Dye rotor in mail I was suprised because it was quite an impressive piece of engineering.

Performance-The dye hopper loads at about 40-50 balls per secound making it the leader in bps for all hoppers

Feel- Made of high quality DURABLE plastic

Price- Got mine for 120 bucks and am quite satisfied as it is about the same price as any other halo B or pulse

Problems- When the lid closes down it doesnt have a very secure click so possibly lid could "pop" open during play.
Conclusion: All in all this is the best hopper you can get hands down. nothing is better easy to maintain and is a simple piece of a marvel in engineering.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SBxJap Sunday, July 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B
Marker Setup: Warsenor Zeus G2+
Warsenor Zeus Quick Cap
Warsensor Zeus Holster
Smart Parts SP8
Smart Parts 20 Progressive Barrel/16" Freak
Smart Parts Adjustable Stock
Smart Parts Smoke Pro Touch Grip
Smart Parts Tactical Rails
UAG Tactical Retractable Bipod Grip
Virtue Blue Eyes
TechT L6 Bolt
New Designz Aluminum STreme Trigger
Generic Red Dot Scope
Worrgames 50ci 3000psi N2 Tank
Dye Rotor Yellow/Red w/ Larger Cap Top w/ Speed Feed
Strengths: Speed
Ease of Use
Battery Power
Speed Feed Fingers Available
Larger Cap Top Available
Weaknesses: Neck a lil small, but who cares?
Speed Feed
Review: There's nothing that I can say that hasn't been already said. I love this thing. I'm using it with my SP8 now, but I'm unloading so fast I'm out of pods in a few minutes... but I bought it because I'm going for the DLX Luxe.

I have a Halo B and Empire Reloader and was going to use them as back-ups... but I doubt I will need them. The Rotor has performed better than I imagined.

It feeds extremely fast and quiet. It has a low profile. It has one button to turn it on and off... it's just that simple. You can also buy different colors pieces to change it up. I bought the red, but changed it to mostly yellow with red smaller pieces (Going to match a DLX Luxe I'm saving for).

I also got the larger top for it, since I'm usually a backup player... it gives it a stranger profile, but still okay.

This is much a con, but it's also something very unlikely to happen a lot. One of the guys on the other team has a Rotor and was tipping his marker downward. Someone somehow shot him right through the speed load fingers... lol. It was amazing. On the bight side, he was able to clean it out within a few minutes.
Conclusion: Great item. People complain about price, but its worth it for how fast and simple it is. It's pretty sturdy too. Also a lot of color options.

Loses one point for me because I had to tighten up the feedneck a lot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mx98ranger Saturday, July 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Evo III
Rikochet
Velocity Jr.
Marker Setup: 2009 Proto Ultralite SLG, 14" Custom Products Classic One Piece Barrel, Custom Products Perfect Drop, Custom Products On/Off ASA, 68/4500 pressure specialist nitro tank, Dye Rotor w/ Quick feed
Strengths: Ease of cleaning
Speed!
Consistency
Styling
Durabilty
Weaknesses: Doesn't really hold 200 paintballs
Expensive
Review: I have had my Dye rotor for about three weeks and have used it for the last three weekends. At this point the quality of this loader is very very good. The big thing everyone has been discussing on this loader is the fact that it is so quick and easy to take apart and clean which is absolutely true. It's set up to where really anyone with common sense can take it apart and put it back together without a problem. But my favorite feature that this loader has is definitely the consistency that you get. So far I haven't tested the speed of the loader by cranking my gun up to 33 bps, but I can attest that up to 20 this loader is right on key without missing a beat. Very impressive. Dye has really put a lot of engineering into the Rotor and that's pretty obvious once you give it a try. On the field, the Rotor doesn't sit too high on the gun like my Evo III did. Running with it is very comfortable and it's nice to know that if I have a ball break inside I can pretty much take it apart during the game and I'm back in business. The only gripe I have is that the loader doesn't seem to hold the advertised 200 paintballs, but these days no loader really does.
Conclusion: All in all an exellent loader. The price is defiitely high, but I don't think you will regret the money spent on the Rotor. Another great product from Dye.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media