paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DYE ROTOR / Dye DYE ROTOR / Dye DYE ROTOR

Dye DYE ROTOR Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DYE ROTOR

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DYE ROTOR
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 60
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
DIMENSION & WEIGHT

* Rotor Length 8-1/2"
* Rotor Height 4-3/4"
* Rotor Width 4-1/2"
* Empty Weight 1.3lbs
* Loaded Weight 2.6lbs
* Power Source 3 AA Batteries
* Battery Life 50,000+ Shots
* Capacity 200+
* Feed Rate 50+

TECHNOLOGY

* Patented Rotor Technology
* Cross Rotor action feed system
* Eye-less, pulse-less and sound sensor-less!
* 50+ bps feed rate
* The most consistent feed rate of ANY loader on the market

FEATURES

* Made from a durable Nylon material
* Low profile
* Spring locking lid
* Speed Feed compatible
* Collapsible spring loaded feed tray
* See through windows
* Jam release trigger
* On/off button with bright blue LED display

CLEANING & MAINTENANCE

* 15 second disassembly
* Broken down and taken apart with the push of a button
* No tools needed
* No screw disassembly
* Fast & easy cleaning

You can strip it down in about a minute and there are no screws. Only uses 3 AA batteries. It holds 200 paintballs and there is a larger top half in the works so it can carry 250. Very low profile.

Colors: Black, Blue, Red, White, Green


Here are the specs off the box:

01 Revolutionary Patented Rotor Technology
The ROTOR LOADER far exceeds pro level feed requirements with an impressive 50+ balls per second feed rate. The constant feed rotor carousel combined with the opposing rotation of the center rotor arm provides smooth, consistent, rapid and dependable feed performance shot after shot. This new technological design provides unmatched performance over any other loader on the market

02 LOW PROFILE
Designed with the professional player in mind, the unique center feed design of the Rotor pushes balls straight down over a short distance allowing the loader size and shape to be small and low profile.

03 200 BALL CAPACITY
Play longer without reloading. The ROTOR holds up to 20% more paint than most loaders, while having the lowest profile. Additionally, the ROTOR is also the lightest 200 round loader available. Simply smaller, lighter and faster.

04 SPRING LOADED FLOOR TRAY
The patent pending revolutionary collapsing floor tray allows for maximum ball capacity, while ensuring constant, reliable feeding down to the last ball. The spring floor tray also ensures ball feeding while shooting at elevated targets by raising the floor as you shoot.

05 NO TOOLS NEEDED
The ROTOR can be effortlessly broken down for basic cleaning or maintenance with the push of a button. No tiny screws and nuts to loosen, parts to lose or break off. Just smart and simple engineering with the player's needs in mind.

06 SEE THROUGH WINDOW
Provides you the ability to monitor your paint level visually so you don't get caught without paint. Windows available in different colors (sold separately).

07 INTERCHANGEABLE CARRIER WITH SPRING LID
The transparent locking lid is integrated into an interchangeable dual density carrier. The spring tension lid allows fast loading and secure lock on the loader. The carrier design allows you to quickly change between your lid or speed feed. Additionally the removable upper shell allows you to use a high capacity upper shell that will hold 250 rounds (sold separately).

08 POSITIVE PUSH POWER BUTTON
Single push Power On/Off button with an LED display. The positive push button and bright LED informs you when your loader is on or off.

09 JAM RELEASE TRIGGER
In the rare event of a ball jam caused by an oversized or out of round paint, simply give the jam release trigger a quick pull and you are back in action.

10 SHOT COUNT
The ROTOR provides an impressive 50,000+ ball shot count on one set of three AA batteries. This new design of efficient power regulation is revolutionary and the first of its kind in loader technology.


Retail price: $150.00
Product Availability 
The Dye DYE ROTOR is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
danhhutch Wednesday, July 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo b, egg
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Crossfire 68/4500
dye rotor
Strengths: Feed rate
tuff
Weaknesses: Quick feed
Review: Great loder beware of quick feed beacuse of the angle of the lid paintballs are prone to hit the inside of the hopper (big mess) great feed almost never jams only had one jam when i chopped a ball and my bolt got stuck half way back (guns fault) the loder is tuff i went for a slide and the hopper slamed into the ground shoud of broken but still works great
Conclusion: Yes
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 8th, 2009 at 11:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jcramrod15 Tuesday, June 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo eggy magna drive
Marker Setup: dp g3 with sl barrel kit rotor 68/3000 pure energy tank
Strengths: Fast small light easy to tear apart
Weaknesses: Doesn't hold 200 balls like it is supposed to
Review: I uesd my rotor a few times alreadt and i love it. It looks great and works even better. The only comlpaint i have is that one pod almost fills it. It doesnt hold close to 200 balls. Otherwise it's the best $150 i've spent on a piece of paintball equipment. Don't get the quick feed though. Everyone i have talked to has many complaints about them. PS the virtue crowns look horrible but they do work.
Conclusion: Buy a rotor they are well worth the money
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 30th, 2009 at 3:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wisconsinballer Sunday, June 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo
Evolution
Marker Setup: ion
113CI 3000 PSI
rotor
special ops vest
V-Force Vantage
Strengths: Light
Fast
Cool Looking
Tooless dissasembly
Weaknesses: Small ball capacity
Review: I used this loader for the first time in a 5 hour scenario game and overall it worked flawlessly. It kept up with my ion all day and did not jam once. If you do not know what loader to get, I would put this loader up in the top 2 best.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone who likes to shoot lots of paint and want a loader that is quiet, fast, and effiecent. Hands down this loader takes it all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CaseyMagoo Sunday, June 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B
Evolution
Marker Setup: Dye DM6
Angel A4
Smart Parts Ion
Pure Energy air
Strengths: Made of durable, shock-absorbing material; easy to break down and clean
Weaknesses: Windows useless, anti-jamming mechanism locks repeatedly, small loading mouth
Review: I was very eager to purchase this loader, based on the reviews and the fact that "DYE" is well-known for it's quality product. At the same time, I was apprehensive since this was DYE's first version and would undoubtedly have some issues. At a cost of $149, I expected that DYE went all-out on this loader so I took a chance.

Well, I was very impressed with I first removed it from the box. It felt solid and the material used could obviously withstand a lot of abuse. It was easy to disassemble and required no tools whatsoever, allowing any player to break it down mid-game if necessary.

Loading:
The mouth of the loader is smaller than others and a fast reload on the field will definitely result in the loss of a high number of balls. Acceptable, but not desired since the loader (as-is) only accepts up to 200 balls.

Windows:
Useless, unless you hold the loader up toward the sun and project light through the windows.

Speed:
Amazingly fast! A pure stream of balls unload with this loader.

Jamming:
Even with some high-quality paint, the loader jammed my DM6 several times. The loader exerts a lot of pressure on the balls in the neck and this might have played a factor. When I tried to use the anti-jam slide mechanism, it failed miserably numerous times. I found that I had to power down the unit, shake the loader and/or turn it over to move the ant-jam slide switch.

Popcorn tendancies:
This loader uses a spring-loaded floor plate that keeps popcorning to a minimum. No complaints, they did a good job at limiting this problem.

Conclusion: Overall, not a bad loader, but I quickly returned it to the store for a refund. By looking at the display case, it appeared as though I was not the only one that decided to get my money back!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Quatreux Friday, May 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann cyclone system on my a5
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Dye Ultralite 14in
Dye Rotor
Seventh Element Board
Strengths: Speed
Slim
Lowish profile compared to most other hoppers
Weaknesses: Just the price
Review: Well first thing i tried was loading a pod with the rotor on top, and i kid you not that it will fully fill the pod up in around 3 secs. It is ultra fast! I havent had it jam or have it slowing down. This loader is the shiz!!
Conclusion: It does cost a bit, i should know i live in New Zealand and everything is double the price compared to the states because of the dollar. It cost me $300 plus post but i am yet to feel regret, this thing just owns
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodShotRed Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B
Gravity Hopper
Revvy
Marker Setup: F.E.P. Quest Blue
CCM Mini Rail Drop Forward
Custom Products On/Off ASA Blue
Custom Products Shorty Regulator
Hybrid Hedlock Clamping Feedneck
EZ Strip Bolt Guide
Goldmember Bolt
Redz Barrel Kit
Dye Rotor Blue w/ Virtue Crown
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Well, I had my Halo B for the longest time, and with the frontman style of play, due to wear and tear, I had to replace a lot of parts, and became a very close friend of mine. It started to get expensive to maintain it, so, I decided to get a new one.

Strengths

The strengths are a definite improvement, I have been keeping a somewhat cynical eye on Dye for a bit, but this hopper really stood out before the Pinokio and the Prophecy for me. First off, three AA batterys to power it through 25 cases of paint is spectacular, the ability to strip it down in mere seconds instead of the hour it would take with the Halo B is also a welcome addition, and the fact that it breaks down into only 7 parts, that is besides the screw on top, makes it quick. Its durable as well, I remember the material from my Revvy, and that thing it still sitting in my room after so many shots in woodsball. The lack of eyes is very welcome, I am no longer limited to somewhat bright paint, if its black I can use it no problem, and the feeding system is incredibly fast.

Weaknesses

I have noticed that you should only turn it on, when its in the feedneck on your gun, right before the game, because the pressure stop system it has creates a lot of ball stack tension on the top after a bit, and makes me chop when it does. Its a minor thing, and nothing I will worry about after finding that out. My second trouble is the anti-jam trigger works only sometimes, but it rarely jams for me anyway.
Conclusion: If you don't mind using less battery's, quick break down, and tough hopper, I would recommend this product. I give it a 9 because of the anti-jam trigger issues, however there may be upgrades in the future to put a stick in its tires.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbf_98 Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo, Halo V35, Empire Reloader B, Egg 2 and 3
Marker Setup: SLG UL 09
Dye Rotor
48ci 3000psi PE (steel)
Strengths: Fast to take apart
Weaknesses: Anti Jam Trigger
Review: Let me start by saying Wow!
I was starting to get a little irritated with Dye for some of my own reasons, but when I got this hopper it made me start thinking positive about them again.

I'll start with what I love about this hopper, and that is of course 15 seconds and under to take the whole thing apart, they are not lying when they say you can completely take it apart in 15 seconds, I have personally done it in 10. Its so simple, if you have a problem with the anti jam trigger, you can take it apart on field and put it together quick enough to not miss much.
Some other traits this hopper has, Small profile, light weight, quiet, and and batteries... so much nicer only having to use 3 AAs vs. 6 AAs or a 9v or two 9v. It is noticeably different in weight compared to a Halo, and the sound it puts out is much less then any others.

The only problem:
I have only had one small problem, and that was the anti jam trigger not doing its job, but it was with free fall test to see how fast they would fall, and I was using old paint, and one of the balls got jammed between the rotor arm and the rotor, and the arm was in the forward position, and with the anti jam trigger it can't be in the forward position, because the trigger moves the arm in that direction.

Conclusion: I have not had any major problems with this loader, and none of the problems have happened on the field.
Dye makes great products, I would definitely recommend this to any one considering on it that has the money, because it is the same price as all the other loaders in its category at this time
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KINGLERMAN Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B, Reloader, Egg2 a bunch of others, I was using my halo for 3 years lol...
Marker Setup: Infinity legend + Worlock board
68 Cu Max flo
Dye rotor
Ropes of paint? No, they're not part of the set up.
Strengths: Tool-less strip features are awesome
Bloody fast
Super low profile
Weaknesses: Well mines been jamming quiet a bit
nothing else really
Review: Excellent loader when it works
very fast
very easy to clean and fix
SUPER low profile
Looks sickkkkk
Padding on the ears could use a lot of work as anyone will tell you if they have been shot in the ear while wearing these goggles. Really really hurt and i couldnt hear for a bit.
Conclusion: I have been playing for quiet a while and I have never had such problems straight out of the box... First day I played with it the thing jams, yes it was raining but that isn't an excuse to keep jamming. So when I got home cleaned it out stripped it and made sure everything was ok, but ever time I use it about 3 games into the day it just starts jamming again. I have pulled it apart and cant see a problem from where I am but o well seems I got a lemon... All my friends love theirs and haven't had a single problem with it. Id give it a 10 if mine had been the same but I can see the potential in it and I Wouldnt want to give a product a bad review just from my single experience but I will not give it above 8 because of this.

Otherwise I'd recommend buying it. Avoid the lemons where possible.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Vertigo_07 Wednesday, April 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feeds
Cyclone feed
AIC Q-Loader
Empire Reloader B2
HALO w/Rip drive
Pinokio

The Rotor is leaps and bound ahead of ALL of those.
Marker Setup: Stock Planet Eclipse Blue/White SL8R, DYE Rotor, DXS 48/3000 N2 Tank

Backup marker:
Tippmann X7 w/ Vortex mod, E-grip, 1x30mm Red Dot Scope, 14" Inch DYE Ultralite barrel, G36 folding stock, and vertical grip.
Strengths: -FAST.
-Reliable
-Ease of maintenance
-low profile
- Silent
-low ammo warning
Weaknesses: - Simplicity leaves no room for fine tuning.
Review: I'll try and keep this short.

The Rotor is possibly the best bit of paintball kit I've ever bought. This thing is brutally fast- fast enough to max out my gun on unlimited ramping (I realize this would be a bigger feat for an Ego than for a Shocker, but it still stands). Seeing as how most tournament rules limit your rate of fire to 15 bps, this spells out some serious feed consistency, and more speed than you'll ever need. Reliability is ROCK. SOLID. It uses a pressure sensor in the feed system to sense whether there's any resistance, and goes off of that. This sensor is fool proof. No laser eyes to muck up. No sound sensors to be fooled by a spool valve that's too quiet. Just fast and worry-free operation.

Maintenance- in the rare event that it's needed- is simple. Unless you're changing from lid to speed feed, the whole thing comes apart with no tools. taking it apart, cleaning it, and putting it back together is a process that could easily be accomplished in less than 15 seconds.

The Rotor has some pretty impressive profile and angling. More than once I've gotten a hopper hit, only to have it glance off the angled front. The thing sits down and far back- meaning it won't stick out when you're snapping from a bunker.

EDIT: I forgot to add this at first. The Rotor is absolutely silent when running. The only exception to this (and this is why I have no gripe about the oft complained about feed "windows") is when you're down to the last fifteen shots. The inner Rotor will rev up, giving you a sort of low ammo warning. I far prefer this. With sound, I don't even need to look at the thing to know I'm almost empty.

UPDATE (7/31/09): After having used this on my new SL8R, I figured I'd update my review to reflect my experience using this on a truly top end marker. To test the speed, I put my gun on unlimited ramping, and let loose. Peak ROF surpassed 35 bps, and that was with settings stock. I'm pretty sure if you tweaked the settings down a bit, it could fire closer to fifty. I have no doubt that DYE's claim of 50 BPS is true. Note that during all this, there wasn't a single misfeed, shot lag, or jam.

Without a doubt the best loader I've used, again.

Conclusion: The Rotor is the ultimate in paintball loaders. Its 150 dollar price tag may scare the average player off, and this is fine. This is a high end product, with a million justifications for the price tag. You get more than what you pay for here. I'd recommend this for anyone who wants the simplicity and rock solid reliability of a grab-and-go gravity feed hopper combined with the awesome performance of a top level electronic loader.

If you've gone out and bought a high-end marker, but want your loader to be as simple and rock solid as possible, do yourself a favor and grab one of the best products the industry has come up with.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 31st, 2009 at 2:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mdf44 Friday, April 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy, Eggy, Empire B, v35 Halo B, VLocity (all worse)
Marker Setup: Etek 2 (red and white)
Freak barrel w/ 14" all-american front
68/45 PE nitro tank
Dye Rotor w/ high capacity shell
Strengths: Fast!!
Easy maintenance
Light
Consistent
Tough
Battery life
Lots of colors
FAST
Weaknesses: Small windows
Bit fugly
Price
Review: I had an Empire B for the better part of my three years of paintballing, and it served me pretty well. But it started to fall apart and the performance decreased, so I finally reluctantly jumped on the rotor bandwagon with the rest of my team and am not disappointed at all. This is much faster than any other hopper I've used (never used the prophecy or pinokio so I can't say how it compares to those), and you absolutely never have to wait for this hopper. It can keep up with any gun on the market and then some. I wanted the prophecy because the rotor is kind of ugly, but I was convinced to get the rotor because of its simplicity and reliability, and I don't regret it at all. Also, the rotor is much, much easier to take apart than any other hopper I've ever used. It takes seconds to get to pretty much any part of the hopper. Furthermore, three AA batteries will last you several months of regular play, unlike Halos or Empire Bs. Finally, you'll never have to replace your shell like you probably have had to with other hoppers. It's almost impossible to break a rotor shell. The jam release trigger is also nice.

I only have a few minor complaints about this hopper. First, the windows to see the paint are kind of small, and it's hard to see how much paint you have through them sometimes. You can always look through the lid or judge by weight, though. Also, the rotor only holds 180 paintballs, which honestly is average for a hopper. Not 200. I counted. I usually play back at tourneys so I solved this with high capacity shell, which adds at least 70 shots for the somewhat reasonable price of $25. Which brings me to the biggest weakness of the rotor. It costs over $150! But it's still worth it, and I can't really count that as a weakness of the product itself.
Conclusion: If you play tournaments and you have a gun that can rip, it's worth it to make the upgrade to the rotor. This hopper is lighter, faster, more reliable, more durable, easier to take apart, and more efficient on batteries than anything I've every used. The only complaints I have about it are very minor, so I'm giving it a rare 10. Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 17th, 2009 at 5:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media