paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DYE ROTOR / Dye DYE ROTOR / Dye DYE ROTOR

Dye DYE ROTOR Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DYE ROTOR

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DYE ROTOR
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 60
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
DIMENSION & WEIGHT

* Rotor Length 8-1/2"
* Rotor Height 4-3/4"
* Rotor Width 4-1/2"
* Empty Weight 1.3lbs
* Loaded Weight 2.6lbs
* Power Source 3 AA Batteries
* Battery Life 50,000+ Shots
* Capacity 200+
* Feed Rate 50+

TECHNOLOGY

* Patented Rotor Technology
* Cross Rotor action feed system
* Eye-less, pulse-less and sound sensor-less!
* 50+ bps feed rate
* The most consistent feed rate of ANY loader on the market

FEATURES

* Made from a durable Nylon material
* Low profile
* Spring locking lid
* Speed Feed compatible
* Collapsible spring loaded feed tray
* See through windows
* Jam release trigger
* On/off button with bright blue LED display

CLEANING & MAINTENANCE

* 15 second disassembly
* Broken down and taken apart with the push of a button
* No tools needed
* No screw disassembly
* Fast & easy cleaning

You can strip it down in about a minute and there are no screws. Only uses 3 AA batteries. It holds 200 paintballs and there is a larger top half in the works so it can carry 250. Very low profile.

Colors: Black, Blue, Red, White, Green


Here are the specs off the box:

01 Revolutionary Patented Rotor Technology
The ROTOR LOADER far exceeds pro level feed requirements with an impressive 50+ balls per second feed rate. The constant feed rotor carousel combined with the opposing rotation of the center rotor arm provides smooth, consistent, rapid and dependable feed performance shot after shot. This new technological design provides unmatched performance over any other loader on the market

02 LOW PROFILE
Designed with the professional player in mind, the unique center feed design of the Rotor pushes balls straight down over a short distance allowing the loader size and shape to be small and low profile.

03 200 BALL CAPACITY
Play longer without reloading. The ROTOR holds up to 20% more paint than most loaders, while having the lowest profile. Additionally, the ROTOR is also the lightest 200 round loader available. Simply smaller, lighter and faster.

04 SPRING LOADED FLOOR TRAY
The patent pending revolutionary collapsing floor tray allows for maximum ball capacity, while ensuring constant, reliable feeding down to the last ball. The spring floor tray also ensures ball feeding while shooting at elevated targets by raising the floor as you shoot.

05 NO TOOLS NEEDED
The ROTOR can be effortlessly broken down for basic cleaning or maintenance with the push of a button. No tiny screws and nuts to loosen, parts to lose or break off. Just smart and simple engineering with the player's needs in mind.

06 SEE THROUGH WINDOW
Provides you the ability to monitor your paint level visually so you don't get caught without paint. Windows available in different colors (sold separately).

07 INTERCHANGEABLE CARRIER WITH SPRING LID
The transparent locking lid is integrated into an interchangeable dual density carrier. The spring tension lid allows fast loading and secure lock on the loader. The carrier design allows you to quickly change between your lid or speed feed. Additionally the removable upper shell allows you to use a high capacity upper shell that will hold 250 rounds (sold separately).

08 POSITIVE PUSH POWER BUTTON
Single push Power On/Off button with an LED display. The positive push button and bright LED informs you when your loader is on or off.

09 JAM RELEASE TRIGGER
In the rare event of a ball jam caused by an oversized or out of round paint, simply give the jam release trigger a quick pull and you are back in action.

10 SHOT COUNT
The ROTOR provides an impressive 50,000+ ball shot count on one set of three AA batteries. This new design of efficient power regulation is revolutionary and the first of its kind in loader technology.


Retail price: $150.00
Product Availability 
The Dye DYE ROTOR is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
                            
DcSalem Tuesday, January 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reloader B and Halos-The Rotor owns them all
Marker Setup: Ego8
pure energy 68-4500
Olive Rotor
Strengths: Fast,style(no other hopper has),light and its durable
Weaknesses: Jams if battery's low
price
Review: OK i was at bushwacker with the hopper just got my ego8 back from getting it repaired(bought it used of of pbnation so this is the first time im using the ego8 as well)
and put some used battery's and in one game it jamed i turned the gun up side down to pull the anti-jam trigger(the trigger can turn it the feed tray in the hopper is full).and shook it.....ok done worked fine. the 2nd to last field we played on the battery's died on the field lol and lucky i had some in my pocket so i dump the paint back into a pod and oppened the rotor put the bat's in and pored the paint back in and did great i had thought someone would have gotten me while i was putting the new bats. with it able to feed 50 balls it had no problem keeping up with my ego8 doing 15 bps


for me the hopper did great its sits toward the back of you gun so that if you get into gun fight the hopper wouldn't be the target......has anyone noticed that it looked just like the rotor shoe...or is that just me?
Conclusion: I recommend this to all those serious players with cash i payed 125$ for mine
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thew00per Sunday, January 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
magna but it dosent come close
Marker Setup: etek-2 with ultra light barrel and dye rotor.
Strengths: Light hard plastic and windows oh and very fast!!!!
Weaknesses: Dosent really have any but if i must say the lid..
Review: This rocks any other loader this thing is awesome the speed feed for this thing is great. Ive had no problems with. Ive used another loader but you know you have to hold the buttons to get it going. Then the batteries die thats to much... The rotor has none of that...So my thumbs go up to dye great job on the Rotor.
Conclusion: Buy it 149 is to much but its worth the money if you have a fast gun...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RJH Saturday, December 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire, Phrophecy, 12v Revy, Ricohet,
Marker Setup: 09 SLG UL
Dye quick release feedneck
45/4500 Carbon Crossfire Tank
Dye Rotor Loader
Planet Eclipse on/off asa
dye 14'' dye ultralite Barrel
Strengths: Low profile
Fast
Looks
Quick feed system
Disassembly
Weaknesses: Windows dont help much but who cares.
Review: got this loader the other day and put it though a workout this afternoon, and i can tell you that this thing is sick, the low profile design is great for working around bunkers and the quick feed system which is sold seperatly works great also. I love the quick feed becuase I can keep my lid on the rotor with the quick feed on in case it looks like rain or something like that. also don't even need to mention about the speed faster than you will ever shoot. the built in anti jamming level works amazing too. only had it jam on me once today becuase i forgot to turn the thing on.
Conclusion: Igive it a 10 out of 10 becuase this thing is just that beast get one if you play tournaments and are competitive but if you just like to toy around in the woods save your money and play more. (reccommended for experienced players)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkrnoobs Friday, December 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
halos empires
Marker Setup: invert mini 68 45
Strengths: Really fast long battery life
Weaknesses: Doesnt like reballs
Review: It is awsome. I love it. It has upsides and a downside. The only down side is it doesnt like reballs. But it absolutely rips normal paint. It is so cosistent it unbelievable. But in my eyes its the best loader out there and will continue to be the best for a long. If you want a top of the line product go by it
Conclusion: Awsome product
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ssslither Saturday, December 13th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month31 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo
Halo v35
Reloader B
Vlocity
Torque
Marker Setup: Custom anno'd Dye DM6
- Critical trigger
- Virtue Board
- CP Clamping feed neck
- Laser eyes

Oilslick Dye DM7
- Critical trigger
- Virtue Board
- CP Clamping feed neck
- Laser eyes
Strengths: - Seems lighter
- Seems to feed faster
- Ease of disassembly
- Compact size.
- Reported battery life
Weaknesses: - Windows too small
- Compact size doesn't hold as much as others
Review: When I first received this loader, I was impressed by the quality of workmanship. A lot of thought went into this loader and it certainly shows. The revolutionary design make disassembly easy enough a 5 year old could do it.

The first time out to the field sitting on top of my DM7, I had no problems what so ever. Matter of fact, I found myself shooting a lot more paint than I usually do thanks in part to this loader. Maybe it's the fact my reloader has clear shells so I can monitor how much I shoot where the Rotor is only available with a black body.

The second time this loader saw action was when my son used it in a local tourney. The first couple of games, we had no issues. But trouble was lurking just around the corner. My son was playing snake & when he hip slid into S1, the Rotor split in two! My son hurriedly reassembled the loader, refilled & finished out the game. I saw it split open but thought the loader somehow managed to slip out of the clamping feed neck but my son said the loader split in two. When he slid into S1, the marker was in his high side hand and it did make contact with first his leg & then the back of the bottle grazed the ground. It is entirely possible that somehow the lock lever was moved to the release position but I find it unlikely.

All when well for another few games then it happened a second time. Same scenario he was sliding into his first bunker when the Rotor again split in two. After each separation, we inspected the Rotor looking for something that could cause the shell top to come off & each time everything was secure. After the second incident, we taped the lock lever down & didnít have another problem for the rest of the day.

I contacted Dye who said they would be happy to exchange it but this time, I want to use it a couple more times to see if the problem returns. If it does, then Iíll send it in. I think that maybe the front hook may be a little short to fully hold the nose in place and any jolt may open up the loader. The interesting thing is that thus far I seem to be the only person to have problems so maybe I do have a lemon of a Rotor..? The great thing about Dye is they stand behind their products. Have a problem and theyíll take care of you.
Conclusion: Iím sure Iíll get blasted for this review but this has been experience so far. Overall, I think the Rotor is a very good loader except for the problems Iíve had. And for that I give it an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

outkastmike Sunday, November 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Magna,halo,vlocity,torque
Marker Setup: Geo
DXS 1.1 bottle
Rotor
Strengths: Strong
Durable
Fast
easy dissembly
Weaknesses: Lid feels weak
Expensive for some
Doesnt like Reballs
Review: Presentation.....
The Dye Rotor is packaged in a sturdy and solid looking cardboard box with a color manual and sticker,once opened you are presented with a good looking hopper which looks and feels solid and well built in when in your hands,there is a lid which opens and shuts with very little pressure required,there are also small windows built in to the body to allow you to view the level of your paintballs inside the hopper.

Build quality......
Dye has reputation of making high end products and the rotor is no exception,it is made from a flexible nylon material (similar to the old Viewloader hoppers of old) which it allows it to flex slightly when used and stopping the shells from cracking like halo's and velocity type hoppers tend to do after use.

Dissemble/resemble....
Taking the Rotor apart is a real pleasure,simply lift the front locking tab and puts the plastic tab on the front and the top part comes away with ease then removing the tray exposes the guts of the hopper and by turning the two levers inside the rotor allows the motor and the paddle mechanism comes out with great ease,this is by far the easiest hopper to strip and rebuild to clean or replace battery's.

Operation.....
Dye's claim of 50 balls per second is easy to justify as once you have fed paint through the hopper you realise how fast this hopper is compared to others on the market.A great boon is the lack of programmable modes like speed or tension settings so there is very little the user can do to mess things up,simply fill with paint and switch on and play.

Low points..
The only low points with the Rotor is the feel of the lid it feels thin and could break if its forced or caught on something whilst playing
Also there are issues with using reballs with the Rotor,it simply doesn't like them so if you play at a reball field then the rotor is useless
Conclusion: The DYE Rotor is the new kid on the block in the hopper market and you would expect from DYE it is nothing less than a High quality product.I think Dye have released a fantastic product with great features and is one of the very few products that i believe is worth the asking price...well done DYE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SunsFan Friday, November 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo
Egg
Magna
Marker Setup: Ego 08, Rotor, DXS 68 45
Strengths: Compact
Look
SPEED
DISASSEMBLY
Texture
Weaknesses: Windows
Price
Review: The dye rotor seems amazing. It is incredibly fast although you dont need it near that fast. Although I haven't had a jam yet, I would love to have a hopper that feeds a constant 15 and never jams, but oh well. My halo and magna always jammed up all the time. The only two things I dont like is the price and its hard to tell how many balls you have left. It is kind of pricey,(im sure it will go down eventually) but you definitely get what you pay for. The windows that it has on it are totally useless. It doesnt help you see in at all. Overall, the performance of this hopper is amazing, but you just need to keep up with about how many balls you have shot and your all good.
Conclusion: Buy it. You know you want it so you might as well just buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guncollector1 Wednesday, November 19th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vlocity/and Jr
halo
empire reloderB
Marker Setup: 07 ego
dye Roor
DXS 45/450
peppersticks
14" stiffi

Strengths: Very compact
Easy to use on off
Easy to work on
Just works
fast

Weaknesses: Small mouth size
Small capacity
Review: I like to have 4 hoppers going so that I can have 4 complete setups ready to go. To date I have been using Vlocity's for all of them, but they have been driving me nuts with always having to change the batteries. So I heard about the Rotor and was reading that it was a force fed, long battery life hopper....so I ordered one to check it and possibly outfit all four markers with them. Here's what I found out:

When I opened the box I was happy to see that it looked really sleek with a very low profile. I held it up next to a Vlocity jr and the rotor was about an inch shorter in height than the vlocity and about the same length. 1/2 inch of the height difference is in the neck, so if you haxsawed the vlocity, the difference would be a lot less.

It has a nice solid on/off button that clicks when turned on and a blue light on the button to let you know its on.

It was pretty easy to disassemble as no tools were needed. The 1st time it took me a couple of minutes to figure it out...but after the 1st time it would be less than a minute to either take it apart AND put it back together....so very easy cleaning.

The major shortfall in this loader is capacity. I grabed a Dye Lock lid pod that I had filled with paint (.689) and poored it in and I was surprised to fill the hopper. Now I know Dye
said the pods would hold 160 balls and the Rotor holds 200 balls. So I shake it a little and manage to get a few more balls in...and then I dumped them out and counted....172 was all it would fit.

Also the Mouth seems a little small, so I compared side by side with the V jr...and the mouth was alot smaller on the Rotor...I will update to let you know how that worked out in the field.

Lastly, I did notice you had to tip the marker back a little to get the last of the balls to feed which is a little annoying..and it is also fairly hard to see if the loader is empty.
Conclusion: So far I am reasonably impressed with how it works but the capicity and mouth openings may be a problem so for now I'm gonna give it an 8.5 and since it looks cool I'll give it a...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

piggman2 Wednesday, November 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader 12V revolution, Halo (empire b), Viewloader Velocity Jr. Rotor w/ dye speed feed.
Marker Setup: Vice, critical trigger, 4c eyes, ryujin board (Stock), pillow bolt (Stock),Gear drive, stiffi 14" .689 rotor w/ dye speed feed
Strengths: Compact,
Low Profile,
Fast,
Balanced,
Simple maintenance,
Quiet,
Very low pressure on ball stack.
Weaknesses: Windows, more fashion less function
Price, but with chipping others it equals out.
Review: After weighing the pro's and con's of the Rotor I decided to make the purchase. After seeing it broken down at my local shop and reassembled in quick time I knew it was the start of something good. It does not require any tools for any of the basics, but an allen key is provided for cosmetic color changes. It is exceptionally fast, consistent and quiet. With the feed rate being so fast my first thought was too much pressure on the ball stack resulting in crushed paint but it's got an incredibly soft touch on the paint in the feedneck.

As for the size it's amazing how compact it looks but has the same volume of other loaders. When held side by side to my velocity jr. it sits about a inch shorter. The Rotor boast that you'll get 50,000 shots off the 3 AA batteries so that cuts down trips to the store, always a plus. I feel one of the best features is the material it's made from. It's like a thicker smoother version of what 12v revvies were made of, with a tendency to flex under more pressure than crack, hopefully extending the life of a hopper by aggressive front players. As for players who may be concerned where their loaders are on paint when shooting, the windows don't provide much in the way of letting you know what's going on. They seem more of a flair than function, besides it's too dark inside to get a quick glimpse even if they were bigger. I see the pros definitely out weighing the cons on getting a Rotor. Got a speed feed for my rotor on dec 5th and let me say it's made loading a ton better. It's kind of a ultra soft crown going in but with the harder composite on the top it won't spill any paint, not even smaller reballs with really hard shaking! Get a rotor and a speed feed and you'll never need another hopper.
Conclusion: If your new to the sport and don't want to worry about loaders get one. If you are not mechanically inclined with tools but don't want a gravity feed, get one. If you are mechanically inclined, did some research, seen what makes this work and how simple it is to maintain, get one. More than you'll need in terms of speed but exactly what is needed in all other aspects. I believe the next best evolution in design of hoppers since going from gravity to force feed
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 5th, 2008 at 10:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

echo34 Thursday, October 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pulse, torque, halo
Marker Setup: Nexus DM8 with 09 eye pipe and reach trigger, dye throttle 68/4500, rotor
Strengths: 3 Batteries; Speed; Lid; Ease of use; Capacity; Dissasembly
Weaknesses: Windows
Review: i was originally planning to get a jrny, but after waiting a year for it to be released i was thinking about going with a magna, until i saw the advert for the rotor. i was convinced just by the advert, i am a big fan of dye products, and they always perform, this loader is no exception.
it comes in a very nice box, similar to that which the i3 goggle system comes in, this not only looks good, but holds and protects the loader nicely. inside the box is a full colour 9 page manual with detailed illustrations and instructions as to how to operate, dissasemble and maintain the loader, aswell as a warranty card, and allen key.
the loader is very light, and it is smaller than all other hoppers i have used. it has a capacity of 200 balls, with an additional 50 when the larger upper shell is released. there is a ramp at the back of the loader that flatterns when the loader is full, but when the weight decreases, as you shoot paint, it raises to ensure that the balls roll into the rotor.
the loader does not popcorn at all, the paint is pulled in like a vortex, as can be seen in the videos, due to the upper and central rotor spinning in different directions.
the loader is very easy to dissasemble, just open the lid, lift the locking tab to allow the release tab to move, press this, and lift the upper shell off. you then push forward on the tray bed, and that lifts out, to reveal the battery harness. the loader takes 3 AA batteries, and last a very long time with them. you will rarely break a ball or jam this loader, but if you do, it is very easy to clean.
the anti-jam trigger on the under side of the loader is very easy to use, just slide it back, and it sorts the problem.
the loader sits nicely on a marker, not as far back as the magna, or jrny, but enough to keep your profile small without it getting in the way. it balances very nicely on the gun.
to turn it on you simply press the power button, and the blue light comes on. no boot up, no configuration modes, just turn it on and it works. the rotors do not continue spinning like in the torque, so it is quiet, and saves power, however when you start to shoot it will feed incredibly fast.
the lid is very easy to open and close, not too stiff, but enough to hold it shut. it is nice and wide making for easy loading too. the dye speedfeed will be available within the next few weeks, but several players have glues on a speedfeed or crown.
the loader is made of nylon rather than the polycarbonates used in other loaders, this makes it incredible strong, as it flexes to absorb impacts, you will not be breaking shells on this loader. the feedneck is made of the same material, and is a one piece construction, so your loader will stay attached.
due to the nylon material used, it cannot be made transparent, so dye have put 2 windows in the back of the loader so you can see your paint level. this is a good idea, and works quite well, but it can sometimes be hard to see in. this is really the only downside to the loader, and it really isn't a problem. it comes in several colours (the body is black on all of them, with coloured highlights) olive, grey, white, blue, red.
the loader costs $150 or £90, and is worth every penny, it really is the best, most innovative loader available.


Conclusion: Its the best loader you'll get, it is definately worth the money. If you are looking for a new loader, seriously consider the rotor.

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 6th, 2008 at 9:54 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media