paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail

Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Unequaled quality, meticulous engineering and impeccable design are just a few of the reasons why Proto is the first name in paintball.

Redesigned for 2009, the Proto Rail solenoid features increased durability and air flow. We've also lowered the dwell from 25 to 18 milliseconds resulting in faster cycle speeds. The smaller, lighter Hyper3T In-Line Air Regulator comes standard. This new regulator provides higher flow, more consistency, better ergonomic grip and smoother velocity adjustment. The new solenoid doubles the air flow through the marker and makes it more reliable on the field. The solid construction consists of an aluminum body and bolt, and Ultralite 45 frame and trigger. We've designed the Proto Rail with the goal of providing you with tournament grade performance at a reasonable price.

Features:

Two Piece 14 Proto Barrel
New Increased Flow Hyper3 In-line Air Regulator
Anti-chop Break Beam Eye System
150psi Operating Pressure with Boost Forward Technology
Continuous Three-Dimensional Contoured Body Design
Proto Dual-Density Injection Sticky Grip
LED Program Control with Four Tournament Modes
Ultralite 45 Frame
New Solenoid with Increased Durability and Air Flow
Ultralite Aluminum Trigger
Proto On/Off Airport
Adjustable Aluminum Clamping Feedneck with Thumb Screw
Stamped Metal Insert Logo
Compact and Lightweight Body Styling
Metal Eyeplates and Back Cap
Product Availability 
The Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
True_Reality Friday, November 4th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Diablo /Infinify/Dragun/Rex blow forward markers (my specialty)
Various Intimidator type markers
Angels, Cockers, Tippmans, the works.
How to they compare? This is entirely subjective. Different markers are great for different things. Would I take my Proto or an Angel woodsballing? Probably not. I'd take the A5 for that. Would I take the 98 custom on the pro field? You bumped your head. Of course not. Common Sense applies...

This question is like asking "how does my Corvette compare to your Big Red Chevy 4x4?
Marker Setup: This Marker:
Proto PMR '09 (Black)
Hyper3 stock regulator
DYE Rotor hopper (Black)
Stock Proto 14" 2pc barrel (Black) OR
JnJ Ceramic .689 10" for CQB (even louder)
Crossfire 4500 with DYE Rhino Cover (Black) (see a trend?)
Pure Energy Remote (sometimes) (Black) (Again?)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (Preference?) Not as quiet as i'd like...
Factory ASA- leaky macro fittings (maybe just me?)
Trigger Switch- Trigger very nice and adjustable but switch seems a bit sloppy? no "crispness" to depress. (preference?)
Nothing about this marker functions poorly. Very well put together for the average marker, and the average player.. some people want certain strengths, a matter of opinion at best.
Strengths: See Review Body.
Weaknesses: No real weaknesses, Very thoroughly contemplated marker.
Could use Drop forward.
Review: Great mid-range to upper level marker. With mods, could be a pro marker. Maybe without mods.
With a decent trigger pull (once it's adjusted) This marker will fly as fast as your fingers will.
The modes are easily changed, but time consuming because you need to remove the right side grip to access the dip switches.
Very Accurate, right off the drop. Natural feel allows natural movements which put you pretty much right on target every shot. Feels like you've been friends with this marker for years even if it's the first time you shoot it.

INSERT Key Strengths and Weaknesses here:
Nimble. Easy to play with, goes where you point it. Light, Maneuverable. Especially with remote.
Good modes. Easy to adjust (but time consuming.)
Fast. Sensitive. Gentle. 12 cases of paint (24,000 balls) NO BREAKS. Not ONCE. One Failure to Fire, bolt got stuck forward (low air). One Eye Failure, dirt in the eyes.
Accurate. +/-150 ft cross field( homemade field) other dude shot my team mate w/mask off. staging. I got pissed, lit dude up. 7 0f 10 left marks from same range... No prob putting balls where U want them.
Auto Clear function good. Hold trigger down and it discharges, when you want it to.
Stock barrel kind of loud (preference?) but Very accurate. JnJ Ceramic Much louder. but less accurate, but only use for CQB.

With a few minor refinements, this could be the epic marker of the last generation.
(admittedly) I'm a fan of the blow-forwards. Particularly the Diablo/Dragun/Rex/ Infinity lines.. The engineering there is awesome.
The Proto has the spool valve bolt assy, and the better (") electronics, and overall a much better platform.
But really, for an extra $400 or five... couldnt the user integration be a little better? MAYBE I'm a little biased.
Dont get me wrong, I LOVE my Proto Rail. I will play with it EVERY TIME over my Wrath. But there are a lot of the little things that I think they missed when it comes to setting your marker up...
O how I wish,
"Diablo common sense + Dye/Proto technology"
Heres this in an equation.
((Diablo) - [technical flaws]) +((Dye/Proto) + [common sense x practicality]) = Wonderful.
Conclusion: Overall, for the money, a very capable, functional marker with lots of perks.
Highly recommended as a step up from even an intermediate marker. Lots of potential in this marker, VERY fun to play with but it seems that the idiosynchratic nature of this particular version lends itself to a certain persona, group, etc. that either love it or hate it.
For the marker itself, I give it an 9/10 because it does a phenomenal job of proving itself as an out of the box, you-will-get-better-if-you-use-me crossover marker.
The rail proves beyond any doubt that you can get great accuracy, reliability, and functionality, not to mention various modes and playability options, out of a marker of the "intermediate" class. This marker exceptionally outperforms it's status.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KBug Saturday, October 22nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo slayer, spyder sonix, tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Proto matrix rail, 14" proto barrel, VL evolution 3, crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: Reliable, light, cheap
Weaknesses: None
Review: I've been using this gun for a while now and it's great. I use it in alot of woodsball and occasional speedball. It doesn't weight alot, maybe 3 lbs with battery and barrel. The gun is very accurate and fast. You can turn the eyes on or off and it has several different firing modes. The gun is small too so you can play pretty tight with it. Proto customer service is very helpful and will fix any problems that you have. There are a few things that I don't like about this gun, but they aren't anything major. For one, the feedback doesn't tighten down enough to hold my hopper on but one wrap of tape around the freed neck helps fix that. Also, the gun will drain the battery if you leave it in there to long, so just remember to take out the battery if your not using the gun.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for a great price. Definitely get it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 22nd, 2011 at 9:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chris5573 Wednesday, November 11th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
The other markers i have used are the Tippmann 98" and it is very reliable but i would chose my Proto over it any day.
Marker Setup: I use the Proto SLG 09" with a 12"inch barrel (stock) but i have a force feed hopper so that i can shoot the Marker faster without having to worry about chopped balls or waisted CO2. I installed a new trigger i bought from Ebay that will make any Semi-Auto marker shoot faster or make it easier to ramp your marker to Fully-Auto.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you buy this marker i would highly recommend you buy 5 Pods (ball holders) or more, I would also recommend you buy a force feed hopper, And Change the O-rings in the handle grip where the air hose is and add some sealing tape to prevent leaking air but after you do that its the best gun you will buy.
Strengths: 4 firing modes
Accurate
Reliable
Extreamly light
Weaknesses: Alot of ammo needed
Needs afew upgrades
Review: This is the absolute best marker i have ever bought and i would never trade it for any other marker. This Marker is good for every level of experince with paint ball that how easy it is use.You will be very happy with this marker it you buy and its price is less than alot of other markers that arent half as good.
Conclusion: I do recommend alot of painballs and about $10 extra for the air hose in the handle but other than that you will enjoy this marker for a long time
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 11th, 2009 at 2:28 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

xXBlackAc3Xx Wednesday, October 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sypder Pilot ACS
Spyder Imagine
G3
Bob Long Intimidator
Marker Setup: PMR 09
Stock Barrel
Dye Rotor
Gorilla Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing. comes with metal eye caps and metal feedneck.
Strengths: This gun is much quite then other guns. Unique Design.
Weaknesses: Even with eyes on, it sometimes still chops balls. Changing modes takes a little time.
Review: The PMR 09 is a great buy. For the people who cant afford more then a $500 gun, this is your best bet. This gun has i believe 4 modes. Semi/PSP/Milennium/NXL. One of the flaws that i hate is to change modes, you must open the right side grip. I really dont have time to unscrew 3 screws. It takes me about 3 to 5 mins to unscrew, change modes, the screw back. Anyways, great gun. Buy a hopper that can handle how fast you can shot and this thing will shoot like a beauty.
Conclusion: Buy hopper that can keep up with you. Changing of the options takes a little time. But other wise, great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beyondxlimitz Tuesday, September 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM8, DM9
Bob Long Vice
Eclipse Ego
Invert Mini
Proto 07
Marker Setup: 09 Proto Rail Camo
Dye Rotor Black
45/4500 Cross Fire HP Tank
Custom JT Proflex
Recommended
Upgrades:
No Upgrades required.

Tech T bolt- Awesome upgrade! Makes shooting a Proto feel like a million dollars. The bolt requires alot of tweeking to fine tune but with a little patience, will turn your gat into a masterpiece.

A lever lock feedneck would be nice to have over the screw in but all on prefference
Barrel Kit might be good if you are always shooting different types of paint
Strengths: Feel
Smooth shots
Super soft on brittle paint
Regulator
Weaknesses: Screw feedneck (prefference)
Alot of O-rings
Large bolt assembly.
Ball Detents
Review: So far the 09 Proto Matrix Rail has been an awesome marker

After actually holding this marker, the first think you will notice about this gun is its ultralite frame. It is patented design by DYE that sets it apart from any other marker on the market. Dont even consider buying this marker unless you have held a DM/PM ultralite frame in your hand. If you hate the feel, you will hate this marker. But those who love it the feel, please read on.

Strengths*****

FEEL* Most comfortable frame in paintball( In my opinion) Nothing else feels like it.
I also own a DYE DM9 and feels almost identical in your hand

Smooth shots and super soft on brittle paint. During tournaments that only shoot brittle paint, having a spool bolt design leaves you not worrying about ball breaks. I Never had a chop/break yet over the past year I have used it.

Comfortable and small regulator. Very consistant over the crono. It is backed by Dye so quality, accuracy, and design are among the best. Kick is very minimal compared to an Ego and or bob long vice. TECH T offers a great bolt upgrade that should be looked into.

The stock 2 piece barrel is about the best stock barrels get. Very accurate and made of light weight alluminum. Similar to the Dye ultralite barrel. But no barrel shoots straight if the paint bore size doesn't match.

Weaknesses******

Screw feedneck (prefference)
Alot of O-rings to mess with that might be prone to leaking.
Large bolt assembly.
Consumes considerably more air then poppet style markers. More air=quiter smoother shot
Ball Detents- are effective but are already starting to show some wear (after 1 year of use). They seem like will last about 2 more years till need changing.
Conclusion: In conclusion, I most definitely recommend this marker. I have had it for a year, beat the sh** out of it and it kept on sending people to the dead box. Feels comfortable, shoots fast and reliable. If you dont like the feel of the ultralite frame then consider other markers. But if you like it as much as I do, dont hesitate to pick it up.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 29th, 2009 at 6:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ECrognale Saturday, September 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail '09, Claret Dust
Dye Rotor, Red
Guerilla Air 68/4500 HPA
Dye Rhino Tank Cover, Red

Smart Parts Ion Pro
VL Evo3 with Z-Board
360 QEV
New Designz Skeleton Bolt
S.P. Freak Barrel 12"
New Designz Spring Detent Kit
New Designz Razr "Silk" Rolling Trigger
Locking Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
A lever-lock clamping feedneck; the thumbscrew is difficult to tighten by hand.
Strengths: Lightweight
Quiet
Smooth: negligible "kick"
Fast
Weaknesses: Feedneck thumbscrew (see below)
Difficult to clean interior
Review: Opening the box: Dye included a very nice folding, zipper-closure marker case with two compartments. The main compartment is for the marker, and the other has elastic loops to hold both pieces from your barrel (stock, or your own). The second compartment also has mesh pockets to hold the included tools, lubricant tube, and a 9v battery. The manual is easy to read, and includes all of the instructions for disassembling, cleaning, and adjusting your trigger and board settings (even though you don't need to).

Positives:
I liked that this marker is ready to go right away and requires no adjustment, unless you already know your own personalized settings (trigger pull, dwell, etc). I was really impressed by how quiet this marker is, and by how smoothly it operates. I'm used to the heavy slamming of the Tippmann hammer, so I wasn't sure at first if my marker was firing correctly, due to the complete lack of kick and the soft "pop" when it fires. It is very lightweight; just under 2lbs. The grip is comfortable, even for my large hands. The ASA is already a dovetail mount, so moving it to add a drop is a breeze. I didn't chop one single ball out of 800 rounds, and had only one barrel break. I was still able to "shoot through" the break for a few more shots before I had a chance to swab. The barrel performed really well, even given the field's PMI Premium paint. The bolt-out-back design was helpful in getting the bolt assembly out for cleaning, though it went downhill from there (see below).

Negatives:
I don't like the thumbscrew for tightening the feedneck clamp; it's a little difficult to tighten without tools (especially if you have the aforementioned large hands). The screw actually worked its way back out just enough for my Rotor to pop off while on the field. Cleaning the interior is also difficult: I chopped one ball during my initial testing, because I had turned the eyes off (my bad) since they wouldn't "see" the cheap Wally-world paint that I was using. I had to take apart the WHOLE upper section to clean out the break; paint had worked its way to the back of the bolt, so I had to disassemble the bolt and even remove the O-rings to get it all.

My local field does not allow any mode outside of normal semi-auto, so I haven't been able to test the other modes in an actual game.
Conclusion: Apart from operator error, this is an outstanding marker. I definitely got my money's worth out of this Rail. I would recommend upgrading to a lever-type clamping feedneck, and adding a drop.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mickey703 Wednesday, August 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
eclipse etek 2
pm8
Marker Setup: proto matrix rail 09
halo b rip drive
68/4500 cp
Recommended
Upgrades:
q lock feed neck
maybe barell
a new on/off asa if you want, but stock works perfect
Strengths: Looks
Weight
Speed
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Efficiency
Review: I've had this gun for almost three months now, and ive had no problems at all. the first time i used this gun shot about a case and a half through it and never had problems. the only thing that i've noticed was that the on/off asa was a little loose after the whole day of diving and sliding, so maybe it was just a factory thing that they dont tighten them up when boxing their markers but after tightening the asa everything was fine. never had leaks as long as you lube the bolt pretty well it wont let you down.
Conclusion: Over all i would definitely recommend this gun because its definately a tournament ready gun for under 500 bucks so what more could you ask for.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ALIHISGREAT Sunday, August 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ION XE - worse
Proto PM7 UL - better
Marker Setup: PMR 09 Air Force One
Empire reloader B
PMI pure energy 68/4500
Empire Events.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing urgently required... however:
-Dye clamping feedneck
-Dye UL barrel backs for different bores (proto back is .690) they are interchangable
Strengths: Light
Comfy
Fast
Smooth
Full metal
Quiet
Accurate
UL frame (and trigger)
Beautiful (especially claret)
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Kick
Not a high end/Still only a PMR inside.
Maintenance
Price.
Review: I bought my PMR 09 second hand from a friend of a friend after he shot ~2000 balls (so i assumed 5000.) and it hasn't disappointed.

Strengths:
Well i have already basically covered them all in the above section and there really isn't any more to say... its just a great-shooting, nice-feeling, head-turning marker!

Light
Comfy
Fast
Smooth
Full metal
Quiet
Accurate
UL frame (and trigger)
Beautiful (especially claret)

Weaknesses:
Its probably worth expanding a little more for this section:

Gas Hog
Kick
Not a high end/Still only a PMR inside.
Fiddly bolt maintenance
Price.

The gas consumption is nasty - around 1000 off a 68/4500, it kicks noticeably more than higher end guns, the maintenance is also fiddly - more than an ION XE for example - you unscrew the back cap and take the bolt assembly out (at this point you would have access to the bolt in an XE) then you have to fiddle around taking the o-ring off the tip of the bolt - which is a major pain - to be able to unscrew the 'beer can' to take the bolt out.

Then we come to the fact the PMR is a PMR... and that is it's main weakness in my opinion - this meaning that it is not a high end marker, although you can fool some people it is a high end... it isn't... in fact it is a technically worse design than a smart parts shocker!

The PMR is an Unbalanced spool valve meaning that the bolt is pushed back by air pressure to reset it's position... however when you fire, the pressure in front of the bolt is vented so the bolt moves forward due to pressure on the rear of the bolt

In a shocker, its a balanced spool valve so the bolt is pushed backward... but then pushed forward when you pull the trigger.

The price is also a little high for what you get in my opinion as there is little difference between the 07 and 09 PMR.

In comparison to other markers, i can only really compare it to an ION XE from personal experience and if i'm brutally honest, the PMR blows the ION XE out of the water. It is true that you get what you pay for and the extra cash on the PMR gives you everything you would need to upgrade on the ION (ASA, feednack, barrel and board) in a much prettier package.



Conclusion: In conclusion the PMR 09 is a great marker, although i have commented on the kick and the fact it is a gas hog, it will shoot amazingly all day and in the end, it doesn't matter if the player is shooting a PMR 09 or a DM9 they will perform the same on the field but don't buy the PMR 09 expecting to get a magical $1000 gun... because you won't.

I choose a rating of 8/10 because for the price it is just a dressed up 07 PMR (the only significant change is the solenoid) and for the money, i expect more. However i am happy with the price i paid second hand.


Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andyhannaman Wednesday, May 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Worrbladed autococker
Marker Setup: 2009 PMR
68ci. 4500 psi Ninja Tank
Halo b hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none yet!
Strengths: Weight
Feel
Quiet
Low kick
Looks
Fast
Weaknesses: None yet!
Review: I got this gun for my birthday along with a ninja tank. When i unboxed it, i was impressed. It came with lube, Manuel, Allen keys, 2 piece barrel (practically a dye UL, same weight, only like 1 row less porting), and of course the beautiful pmr!
I got black, which is a very slick color, but the claret and air force are also very slick!.
So i took it outside and put a pod through it, i must admit i was very impressed form the get go. It shot beautifully. It had spot on accuracy from about 15 yards away. It was hitting dead center of where i was aiming, and it had very little kick. I also noticed it was very quiet. No breaks of course, the eyes are great.
Conclusion: If you have the money... GET THIS GUN. it is a great buy... you cant find better for the price.

Proto really overhauled this gun, i am very impressed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Plasma Saturday, May 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DP G3
Proto SLG 08
SP SP1
Marker Setup: Stock PMR 09
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Barrel
ASA
Grip
Speed
Weaknesses: None
Review: Overall the gun is very light, fast, expensive, but worth it. the gun is very sexy and shoots extremely fast, well worth the money. i have seen people say that it uses too much gas, i disagree i think it is a great gun and well worth it. if you are looking for a gun go with the PMR!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Buy it if you have the money, won't disappoint you!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media