paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail

Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Unequaled quality, meticulous engineering and impeccable design are just a few of the reasons why Proto is the first name in paintball.

Redesigned for 2009, the Proto Rail solenoid features increased durability and air flow. We've also lowered the dwell from 25 to 18 milliseconds resulting in faster cycle speeds. The smaller, lighter Hyper3T In-Line Air Regulator comes standard. This new regulator provides higher flow, more consistency, better ergonomic grip and smoother velocity adjustment. The new solenoid doubles the air flow through the marker and makes it more reliable on the field. The solid construction consists of an aluminum body and bolt, and Ultralite 45 frame and trigger. We've designed the Proto Rail with the goal of providing you with tournament grade performance at a reasonable price.

Features:

Two Piece 14 Proto Barrel
New Increased Flow Hyper3 In-line Air Regulator
Anti-chop Break Beam Eye System
150psi Operating Pressure with Boost Forward Technology
Continuous Three-Dimensional Contoured Body Design
Proto Dual-Density Injection Sticky Grip
LED Program Control with Four Tournament Modes
Ultralite 45 Frame
New Solenoid with Increased Durability and Air Flow
Ultralite Aluminum Trigger
Proto On/Off Airport
Adjustable Aluminum Clamping Feedneck with Thumb Screw
Stamped Metal Insert Logo
Compact and Lightweight Body Styling
Metal Eyeplates and Back Cap
Product Availability 
The Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
pmrfan Thursday, April 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot- great gun but not too good compared to 09 pmr
tippman a-5- great fast but heavy gun
bob long vice- almost perfect
Marker Setup: no upgrades on the marker doesnt really need any
i use:
Dye rotor hopper
guerilla air tank 4500 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
none people say it needs new feedneck but the feedneck is great and reliable
Strengths: Fast, light, sleek, 13 bps stock setup, easy to clean/take apart
Weaknesses: People say its air effieciency is bad but they dont know what they talking bout
Review: I am known as a picky paintball marker critic by some of my teammates (Team Point Blank at the 23 bps az pb field) but i am so dam happy with this gun it has been my sponsor gun for about 2 months now and me and my team love it. The gun is great i cant say anything bad about it. it always works fine and never chops. this is better then some high end tournament guns out there that cost up to 400 dollars more than this gun. Proto has impressed me and I will be willing to have proto be the team sponsor for a long time.
Conclusion: Buy it it is pretty god gun and you wont need loads of cash for upgrades
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PMR09 Wednesday, April 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert mini
EOS
PM8
Marker Setup: Vilocity xsv
70/45 crossfire peanut
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Accuracy
Wieght
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: This gun is awesome if you like speedball!!!!!! Can shoot almost any kind of paint and can shoot very very very fast!!!!! 34bps baby!!!!!!!!! This thing is amazing. The board is nice, and easy to change.bolt is very easy to clean and lube! On off ASA is great too. Trigger is great for nppl rules!
Conclusion: I would reccomend this crazy sweet gun to anyone who wants a gun for speedball for shure! it shoots great!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

facacc Monday, March 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker Nxt
Dangerous Powers G3
Marker Setup: 09 Proto Matrix Rail
Empire Magna RFed
45 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Clamping feedneck
Strengths: Looks Great.
Fast.
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Clamping feedneck.
Review: The Matrix comes in a nice case. It is kind of like a CD case. The Matrix barely fits inside of it, but it velcrows in securly. Proto sends you everything that you need, a nicely anno'd two piece barrel, allen keys, lube, orings and a battery.

I got the Claret Matrix, but I live in OH IO so no other color would be ok. The milling is smooth and the anno looks good. The frame is the most comfortable frame I have ever held. Like every other marker out there putting an RF chip in the frame is like stuffing 10 pounds of poop in a 5 pound bag, but that is to be expected. The good news was it was plug and play for my Magna kit. Unlike the shocker that I had to solder in, the Matrix was much easier. The trigger is smooth like butter and has a three points of adjustment.

So I put my Magna in the feedneck and I screwed the thumb screw in as tight as I can and my Magna spins in the feedneck like I never even tightened it. So I break out the allens and have to torque the thumb screw down tight just to get it to stop spinning. I pull the Magna off and look inside, there are no teeth on the feedneck. No wonder the darn thing spins. This could be a real problem if you ever needed to take you feeder off in the field.

I opened the grip and the manual and messed with the settings. Very easy to understand and program. A four year old could program this marker. Slap the Magna back on and throw on the peanut and take it out for some trigger time.

This thing shoots smooth and fast. The stock barrel shoots fairly accurate, and the vision worked perfectly. I never broke a ball in a whole case. I thought that it had some mild kick and as I shot it would rise up and to the right., but not much. I think a lighter bolt would fix this problem. Although it was so little that I am not sure I could call it a problem.
Conclusion: I think this is a great marker. A great value. If you are looking for a solid marker with solid performance, at a price of only $450, it is worth the money. But buy a new feedneck.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 23rd, 2009 at 4:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1991stang Sunday, March 22nd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
09 Proto SLG Ultra Light
Marker Setup: 09 Proto PMR
Virtue board and eyes
Dye Clamping feedneck
Spring detents
Dye Rotor
Crossfire 45/4500

Smart Parts Ion
14 inch Smart Parts Freak 2pc. barrel (black and red) with .693 insert
Virtue Board
Upgraded regulator
Aftermarket frame
Clamp feed neck
New Dezigns ASA
Custom Parts Blade Magnetic Trigger



Recommended
Upgrades:
A Dye clamping feedneck
Spring Detents
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Weight
Cost
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Cheap Detents
Review: Picked this up a few days ago and put a case threw it and i love this thing. I havent taken it out on the field yet just shot into the woods but the aim is consistent and the speed out of the box 14Bps is perfect. The price of $450 is a little steep but its well worth it and when compared to any Dye gun this is a steal. I was looking at getting the Proto SLG Ultra Light which was $300 but with a better barrel a on/off, a light frame the extra $150 was well worth it

**UPDATE 3/1/2010**

So i have put about 15 cases of paint threw this gun and besides having to replace a few o-rings here and there which all these guns you have to do i still 100% love this marker. Only other flaw i found is the Detents do not last long at all but i bought spring detents for 5 dollars and those are perfect.
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN!!! Tournament ready right out of the box you will not be disappointed at all
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 1st, 2010 at 4:35 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cjman Sunday, January 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Old Pmr
An Ion XE maybe?
Marker Setup: PMR 09
Halo B w/ Rip and freeway
Deadly Winds 14'' barrel
48ci/3000 crossfire
NXe tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. Really is personal preference to what you add.
Barrel
Board
Feedneck
Fast Hopper to keep up with this thing!
Strengths: FAST
Smooth on paint
Inexpensive (not cheap)
Crazy good looks!
Weaknesses: Inefficient (fine if you play on an Unlim Air field)
Review: Okay so just before Christmas I said, "Hey I've got a few extra bucks, I'm getting myself something cool" Which may have been bad, I felt dirty afterward. But the PMR took some of the guilt away. This thing is beautiful, it feels good in your hands, easy to take apart, and oh baby does it shoot nicely. I have yet to get a bad break. When i first purchased it, there was an air leak coming from the Macroline/Air fitting, sent it back to the proshop and had it fixed for nothing! Anyway I took it out to my local field and really noticed how many people look at it and mistake it for a PM8, dye really outdid themselves on this gun. Great for the midlevel player and up. I find the gun is a bit of an air hog but that could be because the Hyper 3 reg hasnt been fully broken in, we'll see only time will tell.
Conclusion: In short, GET THIS GUN you won't regret it. Speed, durability, SEXINESS!! It loses a point for air inefficiency and another cuz nothing is perfect.... yet, but keep trying dye =)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 18th, 2009 at 11:11 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

termitemfp Saturday, December 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dangerous Power G3- tested
Etek- tested
09 Proto Matrix Rail- own
Marker Setup: Stock Proto Matrix Rail Claret 2009
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
New Feed Neck
New Trigger to make walking easier.
Strengths: Very fast
Accurate
Light
Durable
Weaknesses: Feed neck loose
Needs new barrel
Review: I went out and tested a G3 and a Etek before I bought this gun. I am very happy that I did. This gun is amazing, Dye did a great job. I am going to pick up a Dye Rotor to keep up with this gun. The gun only likes Sleek Grease in the winter time. I went out and shot a couple rounds with the grease that comes on the gun and the bolt stuck on me. The regulator into the ASA wiggles on mine, not sure if there is a way to fix it so I am going to take it back to the proshop. All in all, this is a great gun for the price. I was going to get a DM7 but I wasnt going to pay an arm and a leg.

Go get this gun, NOW!!!!!. You wont be disappointed.
Conclusion: This gun is absolutely amazing for the money. This gun eats Shockers and Ions for breakfast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akaminski21 Saturday, December 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All proto
Dye Dm's
Evil has a gun that is like this too but not even close
Marker Setup: Stock PMR 09
pure energy 68/4500
Halo b w/rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck. Im going to get a new one.
Nothing else
Strengths: Barre, Low kick, Light, Style, Speed.
Weaknesses: Feed Neck
Thats all
maybe sucks to much gas
Review: -Out of the box this gun shot 256-270 fps. very good for not even broken in. right away after 500 rounds i ripped it to the stock 13 bps the board is set at. very clean. i shot 1500 right away and not one break/chop gun is very strong.
-The feed neck is the only thing i dont like to much. it props the hopper up a little and wont take it all the way in. i have a halo b and it doesent fit very snug. i mean it gets the job done great, but i want one more secure.
-All stock parts are very good. the case it comes in is beautiful and the grips light up which is very good. it makes it easy to use with the ul frame.
-Gun accuracy is very good. i like it a lot. also the reg is very good. right when i gassed it up the first time i felt it was like the 1000th time i have done it. it was so smooth and with no proublems. proto did a very good job on it.
- the weight of the gun is perfect. many companies want to have the ounce or two advantage, but really when you playing, whats a ounce of weight. if you are looking for a light gun, this gun is light.
- The quick strip part for cleaning is great. i use to have an ion and it was a pain to take apart. this is just a quick unscrew and bam. its all done. very nice
- the kick to this gun is very low. when fired it is quiet and very smooth
-looks to this gun are sexy. i love it. the colors are not very much but you shouldent buy a gun focused on a color.
Conclusion: Stock parts on this gun are great. everything is user friendly and works great. the board and lights are good for telling what mode you are playing.
IF you want a new gun for under 500, get this gun. you will LOVE it.
When buying a new gun i didnt want to spend the $449 for this one, but it was worth it. Because it is so new not many people got to play with it yet and everyone that has is like WOW. even a buddie of mine with a pm8 was like DAMNNNN wanna trade........
JUST GET THIS GUN. i would give it a nine because of the feedneck, but just replace that like i did, and you have a TEN.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nunatak Saturday, December 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5.
07 PMR w/ UL frame
Marker Setup: Spyder Fasta loader (Reball)
68/4500 PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
I plan to switch to a RAPS ASA. The Proto ASA is decent, but I love the flip ASA.
Strengths: Value.
Soft on paint.
Smooth action.
Weaknesses: Air efficiency
Review: I've mostly had long term experience with blow forward designs, such
as tippmanns. I recently cameback to playing paintball and picked up a Tippmann A5. But found myself mostly playing speedball, so after 6 months of getting myself
used to playing again, I felt it was time to step up in the ROF department.

I was stuck on several choices for months.
Etek 2, used PM8, G3, 07 PMR w/ UL frame. And then I saw the newly released 09 PMR.
When I saw what they were offering with the marker, and eventually the price. I knew this
was going to be my choice.

I eventually picked the claret colour, mostly due to my soft gear setup, and when I finally
saw the colour first hand, I was very satisfied. The red is a nice dust colour, and the graphite was lighter in colour.
I play reball exclusively from October until May. So I picked up a Sypder Fasta loader. Which dollar for dollar is probably the best loader for VERY used reballs.
I'll probably be going to either a Dye Rotor or an Empire loader with a magna clutch kit.
Although, considering how well the Fasta works, a Pinokio is very tempting.

I waited 6-7k shots before I started to mess with the settings.
The stock dwell is set at 18MS. I tried the recommended 10MS start point
for tuning, and it wouldn't fire. It immediately started to cycle at 11MS but it wasn't pretty.
I increased it to 12MS, but it was still inconsistent, nearly +/- 15FPS.
I jumped it to 14MS, but it was +/- 3. I then dropped it to 13MS and it was still +/- 3.
And that's where I've kept it.

I mostly play in PSP mode. So I haven't been too focused on tuning the trigger for semi-auto walking of the trigger. But the 3 points of modification does allow for tuning
to almost any player's desire. Although I do find the double bow style of trigger harder to walk with, compared to a more straight forward angled one.

And the newly designed solenoid is a very nice change over the 07 PMR with it's 25MS stock dwell setting. I can honestly see myself running at 10MS dwell
once the marker is fully broken in and I switch to a lube with lower viscosity. Which I'm hoping will help ease the only real negative aspect of the marker. Air efficiency.

****NOTE****
The manual has PSP and Millenium modes reverse.
And you can set the max ROF to 33.33 BPS on full auto, for the kiddie in all of us!
Stock PSP setting is 13.3 and does indeed have PSP 3 shot, which I use exclusively.
Conclusion: For a mid-range tournament marker, I highly recommend the 09 PMR.
For the price you're paying you are really getting your money's worth.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 13th, 2008 at 12:36 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

GOO-SLINGER85 Thursday, November 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
08 ego
etek 2
smart parts sp1
tippmann x7
Marker Setup: 09 Rail , velocity jr , 45/3000 , J.J ceramic barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
mabey a barrel... i did on mine and it made a slight diffrence but its a self cleaning barrel ...the stock one isnt

also the Reg its not very air effecent but its only had 5000 shots threw it
Strengths: Looks
speed (13 bps on semi)
Full metal bolt
price
feed neck
size
Weaknesses: None realy ,had some air leakage but its fine now
Review: Go get this gun ... for the price you cant beat it .....i dont care if you have a shocker its not close ...ive shot them and they are not as comfotable to hold and walk the trigger ....but the proto is sick it can keep up with the best.
But not many colors to chose from red. black , camo, and air force blue
Conclusion: when i went to buy a new marker i asked about the shocker NXT ,and the guys at the shop said why! youd have to upgread it to even come close to a Proto they said it was the same as a DM9 with a diffrent barrel, reg. , and board ...so you could up grade all that for 300 the proto is 800 less then the DYE and made by the same company so for the price there is nothing better its tournament ready or great for anyone realy..

i gave it a ten because its a big step forward for Proto and i belive the best gun for the 400 to 700 price range ....there are better guns!! i just cant justify the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tyholtgrewe Tuesday, November 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 Proto Rail, Dye DMC , Dye DM5, Invert Mini, ICD Promaster, Diablo Wrath, Shocker, Impulse, Autocockers, and Intimidators.

The 09 Rail Definately holds its own. It is light, quiet, and efficient enough to my standards.
Marker Setup: Empire Magna Loader, 68/4500 Pure Energy Tank, and Evil Pipe Kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far maybe a diffrent asa and feedneck. Maybe better board, could use 3 shot psp ramp for tourny use.
Strengths: Weight, Accuracy, Durablity, and Beauty
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: I have only shot a case through this marker so far, and am impressed. Its much more lighter than the older rail. It also feels much more durable and has a sleeker look to its body. I would recommend this gun to any player. It is definately going to be a hit this christmas!
Conclusion: Very well thought out design, go buy it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media