paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI F4 Illustrator GS / ACI F4 Illustrator GS / ACI F4 Illustrator GS / ACI F4 Illustrator GS

ACI F4 Illustrator GS Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI F4 Illustrator GS

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI F4 Illustrator GS
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It is anodized by ACI. It has all the standard features of the F4 plus a pressure gauge and High Volume Cell. The GS includes our Zero Gravity Combo Barrel and Sub Zero 4 Stage Expansion Chamber with matching finish.
Product Availability 
The ACI F4 Illustrator GS is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
remingtn457 Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker 03 vertical feed, Psycho Ballistic Lightning( both much better but more expensive.)
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistic Lightning, Black Magic regulator, Phat on/off bulldog 2 68 ci/ 4500 psi, Viewloader revolution 12 vlt w/ x-board

(back up) F4 illustrator, same tank and hopper as above
Recommended
Upgrades:
high volume cell to keep consistent shots, new quieter barrel
Strengths: the most reliable gun I know of, not an air hog, cheap
Weaknesses: loud!! trigger pull is damn long
Review: its a good gun for the price, nothing compared to my Psycho Ballistic, but it can still get the job done. You MUST get an electro hopper. I got one for both of my guns and it will eliminate the ball chopping problem almost completely. Also, zero grav barrel is good, but loud. I suggest the Smart Parts All American barrel
Conclusion: good, reliable gun. If I was comparing it to my Psycho Ballistic it would be a 4. But I'm not, now am I.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mry7 Friday, May 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder AMG
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: never breaks, looks cool
Weaknesses: cost too much, and not worth it
Review: ive had this gun for 3 years, it has yet to break, so it is a consistant back up gun. it has a very long trigger pull, even with my revvy on it it breaks balls if i pull the trigger more than 4 times a second, so its not made to shoot fast at all. The stock barrel is very nice, and this is one of the quietest guns ive ever seen. But for $200 (thats what it was 3 years ago when i bought it), its a ripoff. My new spyder AMG breaks less, runs at 225 psi, has built in regulator, shoots way faster, is more accurate, more consitant, and cheaper, dont buy this gun, go buy an electro spyder
Conclusion: this gun is good, but not for its price, should cost $100, also it eats up gas becuase there is soo much porting in the barrel
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 30th, 2003 at 7:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaRaptor Monday, July 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder compact, Tippman Pro-carbine
Marker Setup: ACI 4x chamber, HVC, Venturi bolt, Zero-G barrel, Psycho-Ballistics drop forward, 20oz anti-siphon On/Off tank, Ricochet 2k hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
The GS (or TP now I guess they are with the X-chamber, V-bolt and Zero-G barrel) is great out of the box, and doesn't really need any upgrading. I got a drop-forward, just because it felt a little back heavy with the 20oz tank, but that's a matter of personal preference. I'd also recommend the Ricochet, even though I've never had a chop in about 5 cases, I have had feed problems which robbed me of a few easy eliminations.
Strengths: Great package out of the box...but ONLY if well lubed, otherwise, you will bust seals. Velocity consistency is great once properly adjusted, although I had to clip the spring to get the thing under 350 fps the first day I played with it. Other than that, it's stayed fairly consistent +/- 5fps. Very easy to completely strip and clean.
Weaknesses: The trigger pull is a little heavy and difficult to rip off long strings of paint, but it's just fine for snap shooting and short bursts. Also, the enclosed cocking system is great, BUT.....I took a hit to the powerfeed tube and it was extremely difficult to get the inside of the quick-slide rail cleaned out after that. I'd recommend making a small wooden block to go in the front and caulking it in with some clear silicon caulk (so that if you should ever need to...shudder...remove the sight rail, you can use and x-acto knife to remove your plug). Bad idea to remove the sight rail, as it's very difficult to re-attach without stripping out the screws. Remember they're steel into an aluminum body, so you'll strip the reciever before the screws. The same thing goes with the trigger frame, be careful and you'll be fine.
Conclusion: Great package....the best you can get for under $300 (that's the whole package, not just the marker), ballistics wise, it shoots just as well as the average autococker or other mid range ($400-700) marker without expensive upgrages. Obviously it's not an Angel, but it IS the best of the blowbacks, and competitive with many more expenive guns. Sure, you can't shoot long strings of paint, but that's just wasteful anyway......this is a semi-marker that is quite accurate, yet allows players to develop their skills rather than just hide behind ROF. For what it's worth though, I've had some friends with VERY fast trigger fingers, and they couldn't get my F4 to chop paint, no matter how fast they shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
F4 only
Marker Setup: HCV, 6-xpans, Smart Parts All American 14", Drop Foward, Micro line
Recommended
Upgrades:
All aftermarket parts if you can afford... Bolt, HVC, Barrel(though 0grav is good)
Strengths: The F4 is a gun which excels in every field. Shot for shot the F4 outguns all markers within 500 dollars of its own price. Accurate as hell with Smart Parts all American 14"(Don't go with 16" too long, causes pb breakage) One shot on kill at 50 yrds. Great for burst shooting. Priced well for what the gun comes with. Most reliable pb gun. Owned one for 5 years not one problem, NOT ONE!
Weaknesses: Can be a little loud at times w/ stock barrel. Chops balls 10%% of time with stock bolt.
Conclusion: Bottom line is this is the greatest marker. Go with the F4 it rivals all. F4 Owners let their skills do the talking.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 -- This gun was way too big and heavy, Spyder TL -- The trigger is too heavy and it chops balls constantly, The F4 beats these easily.
Marker Setup: Stock, 20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop Forward, Agitated hopper
Strengths: This gun is my first semi. I have rented and played with friend's gun's, but the f4 just feels better. I love the paint job and the trigger is the lightest one I have felt in this catagory (obviously electric guns will have a lighter trigger than any blow-back gun), I bought mine in early 2001, so the trigger pull is not heavy like the earlier ones. The expansion chamber is great, I have never had any probs with freeze ups or really erratic shots. The barrel can be very accurate if you use the right paint, (Medium-Large bore). Stay away from cheap paint!!! I have never broken a ball that was the gun's fault. Awesome gun!!
Weaknesses: The porting in the barrel gives me very bad gas efficiency. I only get about 600-700 shots a fill on my 20oz. You need a good hopper, the only times I have broken balls are when I outshot my hopper! But this isn't the guns fault, so there is really nothing wrong with the gun.
Conclusion: This is THE BEST gun for under $400! Unless you just want to buy an expensive gun to show that you have the money, there is no reason to. The f4 provides great results for an awesome price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zee Saturday, July 28th, 2001
 
0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It is an inexpensive gun that is very reliable. It doesn;t have many after-market parts, but the good thing is, it doesn't need much. A venturi bolt and I added a regulator and I get very constant velocity. Even with a cheap Pure Energy Reg I usually get +-3fps per shot now.
It's accurate!
Very gas efficient. I use a remote and even with the line waste, I get about 1,200+ shots per 20 oz!
Easy to clean and low maintainance.
I have broken maybe 3 balls in it in about 10,000 rounds.
The Zero Gravity 2-piece barrel has great distance and is reasonably accurate.Far better then most barrels that come on guns.
Weaknesses: When I got mine, there was a sear problem. (from the early 2000 batch) but ACI went like lightning to fix it and has worked flawlessly since!

The barrel has very small ports, and if you do break a ball you'll have to basically wash the barrel out to get it back to 100%%
Conclusion: The GS model has almost everything you need. Like I said, the Venturi bolt is nice, and adding a regulator just makes it even more consistent.
When you get one it may need some adjusting to get things just right, but once adjusted all you have to do is keep it clean!
I see a lot of similar priced guns on the field where I play (no names, I HATE flames) and they are falling apart on the field and blowing o-rings. It is very worth it!
I got mine for only about $217.

I just recommended the F-4 to a friend and 3 friends. I recomend it all the time.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DiStUrBeD kId Saturday, June 30th, 2001
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: What's good about the F-4 GS is how easy it is to take apart on the field for field stripping. The paint job is pretty cool. The stock Graffiti Barrel is good, but replacing will have to be done sooner or later.
Weaknesses: The SEARS!!!! I'm on my 3rd sear since I got it at christmas time. The sears are bad *most of the time* on the earlyier models (1999). The trigger is pretty heavy. Not much besides that.
Conclusion: This gun can make it for years to come as long as you oil it and take care of it. This gun can compete in tournes all stock. It's okay stock. I belive this gun is better than any Spyder or Tippman. I have owned a Shutter Before and traded it for my F-4, I have shot my friends, 98 and 98 custom and *in my mind* the F-4 is a whole lot better. This gun can be the best in he world with a few upgrades like Barrel,Nitro,Nice Regulator. Overall I give it a 9 because of the sears. BUY THIS GUN!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 18th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun rocks. I have owned an F4 illustrator GS for about 6 months now and i have not had a single problem. The Stock barrel is very nice, i can hit a 12 ounce can from 30 yards with about 2 shots, very consistant. The Expansion chamber is great. I have never frozen the gun and during a 6 hour day the fps span has never gone over 15 fps. This gun has won many games with me. This gun competes with even the best of them. I have schooled quite a few autococker, angel, shocker, and other thousand dollar gun owners on frequent occasions with this bad boy. Put it up against any spyder or tippman and it will win every round. I hardly ever have any ball breaks. I can go through an entire day without a single break, many times in a row. If you are looking into getting this gun, look no further.
Weaknesses: The gun is somewhat loud. It also has a heavy trigger pull, but what blow back gun doesn't. It is also pretty expensive, but i got mine off ebay new for 180, so if you look around you can probably find it for a lot less than retail price.
Conclusion: This gun has all sorts of goodies and upgrades. I would take this gun over any other blow back gun anyday.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 1st, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I love this gun it's great i've played with spyders,tippmans,autocockers and i have to say it will go up against any of these guns and perform just as well if not better than all of them. Theres not many ball chops comes with a great barrel that you may never replace. Plus the look is great giving it a unique look and cool design. I really enjoy this gun.
Weaknesses: nothing more than any other guns
Conclusion: I would highly suggest this gun it's EXTREMLY accurate and not very heavy either. For it's price range it can't be beat. I don't think any big upgrades are needed like I said it comes with a great barrel, but it's really up to you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Project-Alpha Monday, March 5th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Its got good accurcy good trigger for this price over all its a good begginer to advanced player besides a couple of problems that can be delt with some experience
Weaknesses: -First off if you don't like ball chops this is not your type of gun because my ACI chops ball every couple hundred shots which could Jam up your gun by getting the paint in the bolt and around it.

-if you have preoblems and nothing seems to work check if your bolt is upside-down which can be responsible for most problems.

-Barrel can strach easily

-Make sure that your paint fits that barrel I've had that problem

Conclusion: In conclusion its a nice gun with a paint Job I mean besides a couple problems I'll have to say that can be delt with if you know how to maintain your gun
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media