paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Electra 09 / Kingman Spyder Electra 09 / Kingman Spyder Electra 09

Kingman Spyder Electra 09 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Electra 09

Paintball Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Electra 09
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
NEW Clamping Feedneck
LEAP Circuit Board with Rear Facing Color Access Mode Display (CAMD) Developed by Tadao Technologies
"Synergy Engineering" Low Pressure Dual Air Source System
Break Beam Eye (Anti-Chop System)
Aluminum Eye Covers
3 Modes of Operation (Semi-Auto, Ramp PSP, & Ramp Millennium)
Fast Charge Inline Regulator
Vented Pressure Relief On/Off CA Adapter
Reduced Overall Profile (25% Lighter and 15% Shorter)
Up to 25 BPS Rate of Fire
Steel Braided Hose Line
Quick Release Delrin Bolt
12" Two Piece Micro Ported Barrel
3-Way Adjustable Magnetic Response "Saber" Trigger
All Aluminum Constructed Body
Recessed Dual Texture Grip Panels
All Aluminum Trigger Frame with Integrated Dove Tail
Standard CA Thread Vertical Adapter
Compatible with a Spyder 9.6v Rechargeable Battery or a Premium 9v Alkaline Battery
External Velocity Adjuster
300 PSI Operational Pressure
Operates on CO2 or Compressed Air

Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Electra 09 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
apviger24 Friday, April 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom (stock - no mods)
Marker Setup: Spyder electra 09 with eye
Invert Halo Too hopper
Strengths: Shoots fast - much better than 98
Easy disassemble/assembly
Clamping feed neck screws off
Weaknesses: Uses co2 up very fast
batteries are also used up fast
Review: Ok, im just your standard paintball player. I don't go to tournaments or pay to go to fields or anything like that, so im not very critical of my gun, just wanted something that can shoot a little faster than my 98. Just play to have some fun with friends at courses(mostly built with pylwood held up by a fence post) that we build at our homes.

Now to the gun, i bought it about a week ago and used it last weekend at a war (its only use). Its a great gun and i was very impressed with it. It shoots very fast compared to my 98 and any of my friends guns (15-20 bps with co2 on ramping mode). I was able to take out all five people on the other team by myself in under a minute, due largely to the speed of the gun.

Next, assembly and disassembly of this gun was very easy. I had to take it apart to fix a couple of leaks (all i needed to do was oil the bolt). Disassembly was a breeze because the manual is very detailed.

Also, i love the ramping PSP mode because it alows me to shoot much faster.
Ramping PSP - after you pull the trigger 3 times in one second, it shoots 3 ball every time you pull the trigger
Ramping Mellinnium- same as PSP, only shoots 2 balls every time you pull the trigger.

And finally, i love that the clamping feed neck screws off. I can just leave the feed neck attached to my hopper so i dont have to take the allen screw out to take off the hopper.

The only weaknesses in this gun that i have found so far is that it uses co2 up pretty fast, but most likely due to the fact that you can shoot so much faster. Also batteries (i have used energizer 9v) only last about 500 shots. I plan to get a spyder 9,6v rechargeable battery once i have the money.

One more thing i think i should say, spyder customer service is GREAT! (NOT!!!, read edit below) They answered any questions i had on the gun and also sent my a replacement screw on the feed neck because i lost the old one (free of charge). Just call the number in the manual to get any questions that you have on the gun answered in seconds.

**EDIT**

Ok, i am way less impressed with this gun than a was when i first got it.

I had another war with it last weekend and when i got home and was cleaning my gun i noticed a slow, but noticeable leak from the barrel. Again, i disassembled the whole gun (very frustrating that i had to do this twice) only to find nothing (if anyone knows what the problem might be, please comment). The cup seal, o rings, and everything are fine. So then i went to call spyder customer service and i got a guy who said that they are short-staffed and will call me a.s.a.p. And now, 3 days later, they still haven't called back (also very frustrating). So, i totally take back my good review on their customer service.

So that's it, i'm changing my rating to an 8 due to the problems and the now bad customer service.
Conclusion: Great gun. Great upgrade from Tippmann 98.

Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 10th, 2010 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Hero Of 760 Saturday, March 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot 09
Marker Setup: Spyder Fasta 9v
Pure Energy 3000PSI
Strengths: Lightweight
Speed
Accurate
Price
Weaknesses: Feed Neck
barrel (maybe)
Review: This is a very accurate and lightweight marker. This is a very great gun for its price. Its accuracy is very well and it has a 12 inch barrel. Great gun overall. Recommend for beginner to intermediate players 100%. la la la la la al al al la al al al la la la l a la la l a la la la lal al a la lal al al a lal a l
Conclusion: Great for its price!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

calebwoods Friday, March 5th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, A-5
Marker Setup: electra 09, Vlocity hopper, cp one piece, 48ci 3000psi tank
Strengths: Fast, accurate, sorta lightweight, pretty nice looking
Weaknesses: Does not work well with co2, stock barrel could be upgraded
Review: Played a few games with it and its worked well, except the first time played i used co2 and my hands were like ice cold from holding the regulator lol. but now using n2 its awesome. I Would suggest a cp or a sp progressive or j&j barrel for more accuracy.
Conclusion: Overall good gun. a good buy
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LuckyRicochet Monday, January 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann X7
BT-4 Combat
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra09
48/3000 tank
Viewloader Vlocity Dynasty Version
Strengths: Small
Pretty Light
Feedneck
Weaknesses: Barrel
(Edit)
Leaks
Battery Power
Reliability
Review: Continuing on the reliability thing. When you first get your Electra, there is an O-ring in the ASA on/off thing that you will never really find if you don't ask a gun tech. Unscrew the on off thing, grab a screwdriver and unscrew the bolt looking thing inside. There will be an O-ring there that you need to lube. If you don't lube it, your gun will leak faster than a prison break.

Maybe the grip is too close to the trigger frame for you?? It's just a preference but I dislike it.

I found that if you chrono too high for regular batteries, it eats up batteries like CRRAZY! If you don't get the Spyder 9.6 volt rechargeable batteries you will be really really really really annoyed with the marker.

Problems aside... (edit may 28 problems still)

The marker does have a clamping feedneck, which is convenient.
The marker had 3 firing modes. Semi-Auto, PSP Ramping, and Millennium Ramping. With an easy way to select through all of them.
The stock barrel is 11inches. You might want to get a longer one.
It's pretty light and it might not compete with the mini or higher end markers, but this NOT a high end marker anyway.

(Edit May 28,2011)
Downright pissed off with this. There are consistent leaks if you don't maintain it all the time. There's a leak in the reg and I may have to talk it apart to fix it. I also had a problem with power. The bolt required too much power and I had to get a new one installed that require less energy to use. I'd suggest getting something more reliable.

(edit May 29)
One of the screws in the reg is permanently jammed. I can't get into the gun to fix the leak
Conclusion: (Edited May 28, 2011)
Okay gun. I'm not writing a review until at least 6 months of use anymore.
My previous review was way off.

(May 29, 2011)
Can't fix it.. leaks air like crazy.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 29th, 2011 at 11:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

getsomepballer Thursday, January 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rt
Marker Setup: i have a electra 09 w/ eye and a draxxus gravity fed hopper and 14 0z tank
Strengths: Price
Look
Bolt
Trigger
Weaknesses: Dont like the front of barrel, too many holes and chopped paint gets stuck.
Review: This is a very good gun its sexy and pretty light. The handle gets cold after a few shots but that doesnt matter. the eyes are very nice to have if you have crap for paint and the barrel front has a lot of little tiny holes that when crappy paint gets chopped it all gets stuck in the holes and if extremely hard to clean so i would recomend buying a new front. i love this gun im kind of new to pball so its a good starter gun if you cant spend hundreds of $$$ on an nt or ego or anything fancy so id get this gun
Conclusion: Get this gun if you dont have a lot of $$$ its very good i love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jsekin Wednesday, December 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Impulse ( a while ago)
Marker Setup: 09 Spider Electra W/ eyes.
Freak Jr Barrel
20oz co2
Strengths: Not to pricey for a regular player.no chops yet
Weaknesses: Brand?
Review: Well i think this gun is nice and affordable for everything it brings. i've added a freak jr barrel and that made it look and shoot way better. i want to do more upgrades to it but not sure what to do yet. i am impressed by spider , they aren't top of the line but they came through and made a nice gun with top line specs. hasn't chopped a ball yet. with the ramp selections you can unload a full hopper really fast. i would recommend a electronic hopper for sure the regular one will not keep up with the gun .
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone looking to play normally without getting to serious and not spend a lot of money but still have a cool looking and good shooting gun.The only thing else is upgrades which I am sure there are I just don't know what to do yet.Ill give it a 9 since it doesn't
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rrwilliams64 Friday, November 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vibe
Vibe Blackheart
SP1 Blackheart
Spyder VS1
Proto SLG UL
98C Tippy
Marker Setup: 09 Spyder Electra
Smart Parts All American 12" barrel
Halo Invert Too
16 oz CO2 w/ anti siphon
Strengths: well built, balanced
Leap Tadao board
light
easy change fire modes
Weaknesses: Full auto would be nice
stock barrel just ok
battery space tight
Review: Listen, this is a great addition to the low end electronic niche. Postured basically against the SP1/Vibe, and it does so successfully. Understand it is a poppet valve vs spool valve (the Vibe/SP1) and as such it will be a bit louder and have more noticeable recoil thn the Vibe, but not as much as to be an issue. (and some folks like the "loudness", typical of Spyders). But also, to the good, with the poppet valve design comes a much simpler maintenance wise marker; just a Delrin bolt with one o-ring, as opposed to the multiple o-rings (5 or 6 between the bolt and fire can on the Smart Parts offerings?) Basically, can be safely stated its a a lower maintenance gun than the Vibe at the expense of noise and recoil.
The reg is acceptable, not as nice as the Luxe style reg of the Vibe, but its OK. Firing modes are easy to change, the mag trigger has nice three way adjustment. Barrel? workable, I measured mine at .689. I swtched out to an All American 12" and saw improvement.
I was surprised at how much i enjoyed shooting this gun. Nicely balanced, the PSP ramp mode is well adjusted. The eyes work well, the gun had less "kick" than I expected, and it was a big improvement over some products that have muddied Spyder's rep. (e.g. I own a VS1 to boot. World of improvement)
Conclusion: You'll be surprised at this marker's performance. Just understand its target market and realize you're not firing a tourney level high end marker and dont compare it as such. Against the Vibe/SP1, its a viable competitor (and I own a Vibe and SP1, one with and one without Blackheart). This Electra is my flavor of the moment, as I like the different feel in my hand. Great woodsball gun, have had no issues- and I will note I've been one of the folks that, while I like my Vibe, has had my share maintenance, o-ring issues galore, etc. The Electra seems to be less "fussy" (..and I love the on/off ASA)
So far, all smiles, and this gun has dropped in price and used models can be found on eBay nicely. You wont be disappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coronadopballer Wednesday, November 11th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Spyder Fenix
(see below)
Marker Setup: Spyder electra 09
Vlocity loader
48/3000 pure energy hpa tank
(haven't had time to upgrade anything else yet
Strengths: Easy Mode changing
light
on/off asa
trigger (kinda)
Weaknesses: Lots of kick
Trigger (kinda)
Loud

Review: The Spyder Electra is a very good marker- for those who haven't used anything better. It is a huge step up for me from my tippmann 98 custom (with all due respect, tippmann rocks!). I love my sniper setup with my tippmann, but i just wasn't throwing enough paint at the other guys. The Electra is a great begining electric marker. It comes stock with three modes: semi, psp ramping, and milenium ramping. With the stock trigger, i could probably get up to about 6-8 bps on semi. The trigger has a nice shape (saber) but i was upset it wasn't magnetic like the ion's trigger. Compared to the ion, it is 10000000000 times easier to change the modes. For the electra, all you have to do is press a button. With the ion, you have to take off the grip and go into programming mode. The electra has a ton of kick, and im sorry to say its almost as much kick as my tippmann 98! compared to the ion, which has virtually no kick at all. It is a little pricey for what you get, and could easily get the equivalent of this gun for less (the ion)
Conclusion: The spyder electra is an awesome starting electric marker. It gives perks such as the on/off asa and easy mode changing, but has a lot of kick and is a little pricey for what you get. Overall an okay marker.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

rock the spyder Tuesday, November 10th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tac 5m recon
jt triton
tipman 98 custom
Marker Setup: spyder electra 09
vl eye force
hpa
Strengths: Dove tail
Triger is ajustable
Modes
Two peace barrel
clamping feed neck
Weaknesses: Heavy
R.O.F lock
Dosent come with rechargible batery

Review: I bought this gun about a month ago whent to the feild and the first game i played somethin whent wrong i was try in to walk the triger and it was just clickin (the bolt was back)so i just whent out and changed the bat and it worked fine
Conclusion: I would definetly recoment this to a new playr its a great starter gun
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

surfnpaintball Saturday, October 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Mr1, Spyder Xtra, Brass Eagle Paintball Pistol. None of these compare to the Spyder Electra.
Marker Setup: 09 Spyder Electra, 68ci 4500 psi air tank, evlution 3 hopper, 14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Strengths: Very Accurate, Lightweight, Feels great holding it.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is good but not the best.
Review: This is a awesome gun. I love the way it feels in your hands, its lightweight, and really accurate. I recommend to upgrade the stock barrel (a 14" Smart Parts Progressive barrel would be great on a budget, or get the full Smart Parts Freak Kit) Great marker for its price.
I would also recommended a drop forward.
Conclusion: Buy it. It would be great for beginners and intermediate players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media