paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG

Proto 09 Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 09 Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 09 Proto SLG
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $199

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 2009 SLG is a hybrid construction of aluminum and composite materials, providing you durability with incredible lightweight function. The SLG’s patented Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt system allows the marker to operate at a low 145psi. This low operating pressure provides superior accuracy with less paint breakage, and yields an impressive 1500 shots on a 68/4500. Newly refined features such as the pressure release safety button, clamping feedneck, aluminum trigger, internal bolt silencer, hardened steel sear, and aluminum bolt makes the SLG the clear choice in the sea of introductory markers. The 2009 SLG is a perfect example of unequaled quality, meticulous engineering, and unmatched manufacturer support, the benchmarks that make Proto the first name in paintball.



Features

Single Piece 11" Proto Barrel

New Increased Flow Hyper3 In-line Air Regulator

Anti-chop Break Beam Eye System

Super Low 145psi Operating Pressure

Proto Dual-Density Injection Sticky Grip

LED Program Control with Four Tournament Modes

All New Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt

Ultralite Aluminum Trigger

09 Proto SLG Bottom-Line with Dovetail

No-Rise Clamping Feed-Neck

Multifunction Self-Lubricating Force Button

Bolt Silencer

Orbital Rotating Sear Reduces Wear
Product Availability 
The Proto 09 Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
pb addiction Sunday, January 23rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
azodin kaos, 98 custom
Marker Setup: empire 68/4500
viewloader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
16' barrel
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Everything(bad gas efficiency, leaks, skips shots, etc.)
Review: This gun sucks. I brought it to a proshop to get a hpa tank and it just started going full-auto w/o the gun even being on. The guy at the proshop said he sold 13 and had to send 10 to the factory. So he sent mine to the factory, and when it got back, i went to play. When i started playing the gun stopped shooting and everyone laughed at me. This gun sucks. Don't get it.
Conclusion: Don't get this gun
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 12th, 2011 at 1:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kulabear3 Thursday, December 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rs (heavy as crap)
Marker Setup: 09 proto slg basic
with vurtuie board two peice barrel and cp on/of asa
with dye rotor and 50/4500 ninja tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
and if you want asa
Strengths: fast
accurate
VERY light
board
regulator
Weaknesses: Barrel
Asa
Review: This is the BEST 200$ gun out there.You got 200$ the slg is calling your name awsome gun.
This gun is for intermedite players or pro.Has the best borad for a 200 gun.It kills any other 200$ gunThat is a FACT.I play local turny player on my friends team.
Conclusion: get this gun if you do not want to break the bank.Because it has every thing u need for a turny or rec balling on the airball field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DonaldMaguin Sunday, December 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts ion, Smart Parts Vibe, Tippmann a5, spyder pilots, pmr
Marker Setup: Proto Slg, Cp 14in one piece barrel, cp clamping feedneck, cp sling, virtue board,empire prophecy, crossfire 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck, trigger
Strengths: Accuracy,
Speed,
Feel,
Customer Services
Weaknesses: Bolt,
trigger,
Feedneck
Review: I bought this gun in loyalty to Proto paintball.
My first thought were "WOW'
it felt just like the pmr and I loved
it.
Then i took it to the field and learned it had a boltstick problem.
So I called Dye Precicision and they sent me a knew bolt and o-ring kit.
Problem was solved and I now adore just as much as my pmr.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun After you get exsperience on Proto paintball
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pbman2010 Saturday, November 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts vibe- way better
Marker Setup: proto slg 09- everything stock
invert halo too
3000 psi hpa tank
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: Everything except accuracy
Review: This is by far one of the worst guns i've used. I paintball once a weekend and it jams at least 3 times throughout the day. the trigger sucks and its very problematic. it leaks every other weekend and even if you lube it up, the bolt still gets jammed. i was paintballing this weekend and was bunkered because it jammed. very unreliable.
Conclusion: If you want a problematic gun that has nothing going for it except accuracy get this gun. Otherwise save up your money and buy any other gun there is.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaMoparMan Monday, October 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99 Avant (Upgraded)
Tippman Model 98 (Stock)
Bruizer Outlaw with Boo-Yah Lcd E-Trigger (Upgraded)
Bruizer Dark Raider
Bruizer Bandit
Bruizer Wiseguy
Bruizer Outlaw (Stock)
Bruizer Fugitive
Bruizer Pro



Marker Setup: Bruizer Outlaw with Boo-Yah Lcd Trigger(back-up) / 09 Proto Slg UL
Kingamn Fasta 9v (Back-up) / Pinokio Hopper
(2) Wgp Stratos 68ci 4500psi HPA Tanks
32 degrees whisper barrel 14" (Back-up) / Stiffi Money Stick Carbon Fiber 16"


Bruizer Pro (both black)
32 Degree Nightstick Barrel 12"
Empire Autococker Twister 13" Rifled Barrel Black
Lapco vm-68 to Cocker adapter
Lapco Cocker to Spyder adapter
Psycho Ballistic on/off Drop Forward
ASA and expansion chamber from Spyder Imagine refurb body
12oz Co2(both)
Tamaco/ Archon's Dual feed Hopper(both)
Buna-Nitrile o-rings(Fastenall.com)
Jt Raptor masks
Daisy lazer sights

The Fleet of loaner Markers
Bruizer Outlaw with Boo-Yah Lcd E-Trigger (Upgraded)
Bruizer Dark Raider
Bruizer Bandit
Bruizer Wiseguy
Bruizer Outlaw
Bruizer Fugitive
Bruizer Pro
Too much to list for upgrades on these markers.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Drop Forward, and On/Off Dye Ultralight Asa
On 08 models you should change out the bolt to the newer one with a baffle to quiet down the marker. If I played in more tournaments I would probably upgrade the board and trigger... but the stock components are fine as long as you tune and adjust your marker to your personal preferences.
Strengths: Accuracy, Dependability, Price, and Performance. Dye Parts, Cheaper Proto nameplate.
Weaknesses: Battery goes dead if left in marker during storage.
Review: I have shot over 20,000 paintballs with this marker and played in numerous games, which include speedball, scenario paintball, airball, and woodsball. I am not an expert, but I do repair equipment and understand the basics of paintball. I am not a front player, I have tried and usually end up injuring myself. I am a mid range player that sometimes plays towards the back when the ranks are running thin.

Now for the review of the paintball marker. The first game I played with this marker was more of a test than a game. I found out that I needed to tune my gun and by the second game I had the best players on the field paying attention to me. The refs and other players came over to look at what I was shooting. They found out that a tuned Proto SLG UL can keep up with a markers that was 400 dollars more expensive. Saying that will undoubtedly get people with higher end markers immediately mad ... but at this field the players seemed more interested in the sport of paintball and not why a well tuned SLG UL was pinning them down. The marker has jammed three times on me in the entire time I have used it. NO DISASSEMBLY was required to clear the jams. The Proto SLG with a small nipple on the back of the bolt cap and by depressing this button you can "reset" the bolt thus effectively clearing the jam in seconds. I would say that if you don't read the manual on any paintball marker you will have problems with the marker no matter what you pay for it. If you read the marker instruction, learn how to adjust your marker, and get some tips from your local paintball field... this marker is an amazing option to the high-priced markers. It is easy to disassemble to clean and lube. The stock parts are adequate, but every marker can be upgraded to make it better for your personal taste. This is not a DM9 or SL74, if you are trying to buy a 1,000 dollar marker then stop reading this review, not everyone has that kind of money to spend. I play for enjoyment, not for the money, and this gun has impressed me completely. I would have researched the competition in this price range and find that most are just as amazing as the Proto SLG... but I like Dye and Dye is the parent company of Proto.
Conclusion: I conclude that if you are looking for a newer marker that can keep up on the field for occasional playing, go to your local shop and hold it in your hands. I personally would recommend this marker to everyone, but the truth is that your personal feeling about how the marker balances in your hand, feels, sounds, and performance is relative to your personal preference.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DogsofWar Thursday, September 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
First electro marker so I cant make a fair comparison to others
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
Invert Halo Too
Ninja 48/3000
Stock Barrel/Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really. Maybe a new barrel but the one on it is good enough
Strengths: Light
Accurate as a marker can be
Decent trigger
Good Barrel
Weaknesses: Not many
Occassional Pinching
Review: This marker has proved to be a consistent and solid piece of paintball gear. I havent had any problems with the marker itself other than a few pinched balls every now and then. It is any easy fix though with the purge button on the back. Im not sure why everyone seems to hate this marker. Maybe I just got lucky. Every thing has worked flawlessy for me so no complaints. Trigger feels a little cheap but thats about it for negative things.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this product to someone looking for a decent electro marker. Nothing wrong with it, just take care of it like you should and you will be fine
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

neb55 Sunday, September 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5, Invert Mini, Etek 3, 98 Custom
Marker Setup: A5- Polished Internals
JCS Gold Powertube
Delrin Bolt
NDZ Valve assembly
Tech-t Zero Kick Hammer
Trinity rear spring
Complete Tech-t cyclone mod
HE-grip
APE Board
pen spring mod on e-grip
Trinity 14'
APE double trigger

SLG 2010
Dye Air Port
Virtue Laser eyes
Virtue Featherlite Microswitch

Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off ASA
lighter Trigger
Strengths: Price
performance
Weaknesses: Heavy trigger pull
Review: Have now put over 6 cases of paint through this gun without a single ball break, jam, leak or other negative experience.

I have put 600 balls (cheap paint too) through at 25bps setting without a break. It chrono'd consistently throughout the day without fluctuations of more than 8fps. Can't say that about my son's Mini that chrono'd at 287 at check in and 330 ninety minutes later.

This gun at $200-$225 has got to be the best deal out there. Experienced players that I played with this past weekend were completely impressed with the accuracy and tight patterns this gun was throwing and thought it was a $1,200 gun. Now, I don't know about you, but compliments like that make me pretty damn happy when I only spent $200. The stock barrel performed extremely well considering it is only 11 inches long, however I may try a barrel upgrade, but cannot imagine it would make much of a difference.

After dragging around an A5 for the past 2 years (along with a tool box to fix it and the cyclone), this gun brings a smile to my face every time I play with it. Functional simplicity.

Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone looking to save a few $$$, and have a great time doing it. I cannot imagine that a $1,500.00 gun could play $1,300.00 better than this gun... get one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

steriodaided Friday, July 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye NT-can't compare, although there is a slightly similar feel.
Planet Eclipse Etek 2- the etek2 is much better, although louder.
Spyder Elektra
PMI piranha
Proto matrix rail 10- go with this, if you have the budget
DM8- blows the slg out..but, well. there's a four digit price on it for a reason
Marker Setup: Proto Slg
Stock barrel
Dye Rotor
Crossfire 3000 steelie
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new trigger for sure
maybe a barrel, but thats for later
Strengths: Light
Silent
Weaknesses: Board
Trigger
Problematic
Choppy
thats it for now
Review: My friend ordered this gun, but since he's not here, he let me test it out. When we took it out of the box, the gun was being really troublesome. When connected to an air tank, the gun would not shoot, but just leak and leak. We spent quite a while, before we figured out what it was (inline regulator).
After this, we took it down to shoot. I didn't care for the board, as it's basically as simple as it gets, with the worse being that you have to open it up to switch the firing mode.
It was a silent shot, which is nice. I used the slg for the entire day, about ten games, and put plenty of paint through it. At the beginning, it shot smooth, though the ball tends to curve a bit when your pressure is lower. However, i don't know if its just my gun, but it really chops paint. Say..., every 100 rounds or less, it'd chop some paint. It could be my hopper, but i really don't think so.
the efficiency on the gun is good too.
Conclusion: The proto slg is an okay gun, good for the price. My friend might be a luckier guy, as i've heard that the slg can break down easily. But hey, i've only shot a case or so, so we'll have to see.
At first i was reluctant to use the gun, afraid that it might break and cost me 200 dollars to pay back, but i don't think that's that much of an issue.
If you're on a 200 dollar budget, i'd go with an invert mini, a used intermediate gun, or if you have to, this slg.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbxsv14 Wednesday, June 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMRs, DMs
Marker Setup: 2010 SLG, Tadao board, hybrid clamping feedneck, DP raps asa, virtue laser eyes (red), virtue microswitch, cp rolling trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Strengths: Fast, light weight
Weaknesses: Durability
Review: Im writing this review to tell you NOT to get the SLG. Instead get the G4. The SLGs crappy feedneck broke on my first dive into snake because its purely made of plastic. Next a week a go, I was shooting and the gun started to run away on me. This explained by dye is a fault in the solenoid to push the sear up to catch the bolt. And is an expensive repair. Shoots nice though.
Conclusion: Dont get it
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StevenChristou Tuesday, June 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix Rail 07
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Halo Loader
Ninja Air Tank

Back Up
Proto Slg
Recommended
Upgrades:
EVERYTHING!!! ]
Virtue board, even though it still wont do much for it
New feed neck,
new board,
new barrel,
new asa,
new eyes,
new bolt,
o-rings,
basically get a new gun.
Strengths: Light
Cheap

nothing other than that......
Weaknesses: Feed neck breaks easily
Bolt keeps jamming
ASA becomes loose
Review: I bought this gun as it was a cheap gun and had many good reviews on it as I was joining a paintball leage for my first time. My buddy also decided to get this gun also and hates it also. This first game went well, but during the second, everything went wrong. My gun kept jamming over and over again. I took it apart cleaned it, put it back together, still jammed. the bolt would always still and jamp. Also the o rings would ALWAYS rip and break on this gun. It was such a pain to always have to go home anc change them, and also costly. Now after a month and a bit, I started to get really peeved at this gun, so I decided to by a virtue board for it. The installation was one word..... IMPOSSIBLE! It was so sensitive and the slightest thing you would do could break it. After a long half an hour I finally got it installed, tightened the grips and went to turn it on but of course, the buttons were stuck.... Then I had to send it in, so after a week I got it back and the word was "It is fixed". So I put my hopper on and who would think, the feed neck broke... So then i grabbed a bunch of balls and manually feeded it in, I went in to shoot it, annnnd it doesnt work. The ball kept jamming after three shots. I gave up. I put this gun up for sale and sold it. Never will I ever buy this gun again!
Conclusion: My final conclustion on this gun is simple, dont buy it. Its true when people say you get your moneys worth and thats what you get with this gun, garbage. If you want a good gun, go for an invert mini. They arent really expensive, a sold gun, have an amazing performance, and I have NEVER had it jam on me.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media