paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG

Proto 09 Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 09 Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 09 Proto SLG
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $199

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 2009 SLG is a hybrid construction of aluminum and composite materials, providing you durability with incredible lightweight function. The SLG’s patented Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt system allows the marker to operate at a low 145psi. This low operating pressure provides superior accuracy with less paint breakage, and yields an impressive 1500 shots on a 68/4500. Newly refined features such as the pressure release safety button, clamping feedneck, aluminum trigger, internal bolt silencer, hardened steel sear, and aluminum bolt makes the SLG the clear choice in the sea of introductory markers. The 2009 SLG is a perfect example of unequaled quality, meticulous engineering, and unmatched manufacturer support, the benchmarks that make Proto the first name in paintball.



Features

Single Piece 11" Proto Barrel

New Increased Flow Hyper3 In-line Air Regulator

Anti-chop Break Beam Eye System

Super Low 145psi Operating Pressure

Proto Dual-Density Injection Sticky Grip

LED Program Control with Four Tournament Modes

All New Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt

Ultralite Aluminum Trigger

09 Proto SLG Bottom-Line with Dovetail

No-Rise Clamping Feed-Neck

Multifunction Self-Lubricating Force Button

Bolt Silencer

Orbital Rotating Sear Reduces Wear
Product Availability 
The Proto 09 Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
solce Saturday, June 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 rental
Marker Setup: proto slg CP barrel, invert too hoper, pure energy tank, and virtue board
Recommended
Upgrades:
board and barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Just about every thing else
Review: i bought because i just got into paint ball and it was in my price range and a ref at a paint ball place said it was good and he thought about buying one. so it came and i opened it up and i felt how light it was. My first match the battery went dead so the next match i replaced the battery and after the first 20 shots it pinched a ball. I popped it then cleaned my barrel. did it again in the next 5 shots long story short i played two days of paint ball with nothing but a Sharpe because my gun kept jamming also where the tank connects to the gun i believe thats the ASA it was extremely loose and i had to take it in to have it tightened because the manual didn't say how too. the guy just said clean and lube the bolt it will be fine. i did it was even worse this time im going in to the shop soon to ether get some real help or exchange it because i think i got a lemon.
Conclusion: I would say buy it because when it worked it was amazing and i think i just got a lemon all the other paint ballers at the place said proto was a reliable company and it was probably just a lemon so thats what im assuming.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryanzab Saturday, May 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
gravity hopper dp g3
Marker Setup: Proto slg 09
proto primo hopper
49cu pure energy hpa
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hopper new trigger for better walking longer barrel( this is a preference the 11 inch barrel is accurate for how small it is but 14 would be better possibly a new asa
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: all in all this gun is a very good gun its fast accurate can use co2 but hpa is way better the manual really helps even if ur new tools are good alan keys o rings it is also very light quiet good on air batterie its level when everythings on it it comes all lubed up Possibly get a new asa its not the best but not the worst very good gun for the price a couple of upgrades it would be amazing

strenghts: accurate
light
level when everythings on it
good on batteries air
asa(decent)
maitnece
manual
tools
can use c02

weeknessasa loose when shipped but esay to adjust
comes with co2 if u get pack but you need hpa
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun for a beg-mid because its accurate fast light etc everything i said before a good buy
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

g3freak Saturday, May 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dangerous Power g3
Invert Mini...doesn't come close
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power g3, TechT L7 bolt engine, Virtue OLED Board, Dye Ultralite 14" Barrell
Empire Prophecy Hopper, Pure Energy 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
On/Off Asa
New Trigger
Strengths: Very Light
Amazingly Priced
consistent over the chronograph
gas efficient
Very Quiet
Weaknesses: Short Barrel
No ON/OFF ASA
Trigger Spring is terrible
Review: After putting 1-2 cases of paint through it, I realized that this marker is by far one of the best mid-price range markers on the market. It's very small, so it's much easier to hug your bunker while trying to snap shoot. It's quiet enough that you can hear the players on your team, without having to look where they are.
Conclusion: Get a new barrel, and an on/off asa and this gun will be one of your favorites to use ever.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CallMeAFreak96 Wednesday, April 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
g3... but that things reliable
Marker Setup: Green with black accents Dp G3 with Ape Rampage board with a 14 inch freak barrel,
48/45 Cp tank, Empire Prophecy with Empire speed-feed. ( Tech t bolt engine on order )
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything except maybe board
Strengths: It shot nice and smooth had a decent board
Weaknesses: Bolt, reg, eyes
Review: When i got this gun I didn't know what to expect. At first i was amazingly happy with this gun... But as i used it it became worse and worse with bolt stick leaks fps jumping. I took great care of the gun i got people that were certified proto techs to take care of that gun. After about a month every other shot youd have to purge it. Even with a upgraded bolt and parts it didn't do anything and i didn't just have a lemon i know countless people who have had this gun crap out on them. It had severe drop off, Innaccuracy with ANY barrel ( I tried a lot)



Conclusion: It's great... If you want a gun that works for 3 or 4 weeks of play after that they die
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iTzChase Thursday, April 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Non really. Spyder TS.
Marker Setup: Proto SLG 09 with a Viewloader Revolution Force Electronic Feeder, and a Ninja 3000 psi tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper and a good tank. New barrel if you want, not needed.
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Light, Cheap
Weaknesses: O-Ring breakage, Leaks, Lubrication every other game, Breaks down a lot, Need expensive paintballs
Review: I got this gun about a week or two ago. It broke really fast because of an O-Ring failure. But its running okay now. It leaks every so often. If I try to shoot too fast, it might stop working. You're going to need good paintballs. Yes the ones that cost 45-55 bucks a box. But it is a very accurate gun. But it cost a lot because of the ammo.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a FAST, ACCURATE, CHEAP gun...this is your gun. If not, I say no. The break downs are a pain and the relubrication.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint Baller Tuesday, March 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The slg was created to compete with the Smart Parts ION and did indeed beet it.
Marker Setup: Proto Slg 09 red- stock barrel
Invert Halo TOO hopper
48ci Guerilla HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
If this is your main marker, You should probably get a new barrel. Maybe a 14 inch?
BTW, The slg and autococker have the same barrel thread
Strengths: Everythin!
Weaknesses: Maybe the barrel but still....
Review: This gun is amazing! Evreything on it is good. Even the 11 inch barrel is pretty accurate. The gun is super light. It weighs like 2.2 lbs. That's because it's made of a composite plastic. But the composite plastic is really really durable so don't say it's gonna break. BECAUSE IT WON'T! I have just ordered this gun and played with it. IT"S AWESOME and durable I'm a backman and shoot ALOT of paintballls, and fast. So the slg is perfect cuz it's SUPER fast and super light. It is definately the best bang 4 ya buck. I think everyone wants that with 2days economy.
Conclusion: BUY IT! its the best gun you can get for 200 bucks. super light, accurate, fast, beAstly looking, low air intake, and TOTALLY AWESOME!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

funmatt Friday, February 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
alpha black with 14 in proto barrel, not that good of a gun but really accurate with the proto barrel.
Marker Setup: stock barrel
halo v35 loader
3000 psi pure energy air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Accurate, fast, light, and the stock barrel is really good
Weaknesses: None although every now and then a ball gets jammed in the marker.
Review: great gun for a great price. when i first got this gun and took it out of the box i felt how light it is. you don't even need the UL upgrade. the stock barrel is very small and accurate. you dont need a new barrel for it. the trigger is great. the feedneck is great. the eyes are great. although i don't know if its just my marker because no one ever had the same problem, but every now and then a ball gets stuck in it but its easy to get out. the gun has a really good price, and really good for begginers.
Conclusion: I definetly recomend this for anyone.great gun with a great price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LARONDIE ALPHA Sunday, February 14th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
invert mini
smart parts ion
proto slg 08
dye DM5
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
virtue board
virtue eyes
trinity sick aluminum body
45 angel trinity reg
velocity jnr
redz pepper stix
easy on/off asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger,barrel
Strengths: Weight,back out bolt,feed neck,construction,spool valve
Weaknesses: Trigger travel,leaking
Review: I picked up this marker intending for it to be my back up but in the short time that i have owned it, it has clearly taken the place of my virtue ion. Me personally, i don't know how this could have happened cause i love my ion. But the quality and effort that was put into this marker is well deserved. truly a great buy for $200. When i did my un-boxing i hooked up the air and it was leaking from the hose attached to the hyper 3 reg. All did to remedy this is push in the clamp,pull out the hose,3 1/6 allen wrench in the clamp, tightened the end of the clamp, put the dye lube on the outside of the hose tip and in the clamp. Then i just pushed the hose back in and no more problems. Wiggle the reg a bit once you air up after the change, you should here it hiss with fizzle until you hear it seal. If you don't hear the fizzle and its still loosing air from the area you may need more lube for sealant, so just repeat process and apply more. The manual gives a good explanation of this and roughly explains the same procedure, but the sounds are very important to the remedy of this issue. I also pinched a ball on my 5th or 6th shot, so i had to use a tool through the feed neck to remove the jam. I took the bolt out and applied lube to the back 2 (biggest) o rings.
since then i have played 2 woods ball games and one hyper filed session best of 3 and no chops, no lag and no jams.
Conclusion: Excellent gun for the money, a must for someone who wants to be competition capable for a reasonable price. Overall great easy maintenance pro marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dumpin' Paint Saturday, February 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: Proto SLG Standard 09, Leopard Rotor, 45 cu 3000 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really.
Strengths: Reg, barrel, trigger, feedneck, ROF (rate of fire), board modes, and bolt out the back.
Weaknesses: The gun I got, the board had to "warm up".
Review: I used this gun a tourney and it worked great, then I used it at my local field, and it shot so fast, at first I started laning and thirty seconds later I saw to pods on the ground an I was loading my last pod into my Rotor. I love this thing. It fickin' rocks.
Conclusion: This gun rocks, it is the best for $200.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego09forlife Friday, February 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My only other gun is a styker str-1 and it sucks.
Marker Setup: Proto slg
vLocity Jr
hpa

Stryker str 1
gravity loader
co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a barrel and trigger
Strengths: Speed! Operating pressure, accuracey, and the feel!
Weaknesses: Trigger loosens on mine, nothing else.
Review: I love this gun. I had a lot of problems with it my first few games but i just have to brake it in. It's really fast, it has a nice trigger but i'd get a new one just so that it looks more pro. The trigger is very adjustable but it loosens after a while. It's pretty easy to disasemble and maintain. You almost never chop paint when your eyes are on, but if you do, everything messes up. My ball detents got stuck and some paint got in the bolt so it wouldnt work right. But i fixed it up pretty quick and it was shooting great again.
Conclusion: If your thinking about getting this gun, GET IT! It's so worth your money! I'd probobly spend $400 on it if it was that much. It wouldnt be that much of a rip off even at $600
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media