paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG

Proto 09 Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 09 Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 09 Proto SLG
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $199

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 2009 SLG is a hybrid construction of aluminum and composite materials, providing you durability with incredible lightweight function. The SLG’s patented Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt system allows the marker to operate at a low 145psi. This low operating pressure provides superior accuracy with less paint breakage, and yields an impressive 1500 shots on a 68/4500. Newly refined features such as the pressure release safety button, clamping feedneck, aluminum trigger, internal bolt silencer, hardened steel sear, and aluminum bolt makes the SLG the clear choice in the sea of introductory markers. The 2009 SLG is a perfect example of unequaled quality, meticulous engineering, and unmatched manufacturer support, the benchmarks that make Proto the first name in paintball.



Features

Single Piece 11" Proto Barrel

New Increased Flow Hyper3 In-line Air Regulator

Anti-chop Break Beam Eye System

Super Low 145psi Operating Pressure

Proto Dual-Density Injection Sticky Grip

LED Program Control with Four Tournament Modes

All New Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt

Ultralite Aluminum Trigger

09 Proto SLG Bottom-Line with Dovetail

No-Rise Clamping Feed-Neck

Multifunction Self-Lubricating Force Button

Bolt Silencer

Orbital Rotating Sear Reduces Wear
Product Availability 
The Proto 09 Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
XplicitContent Friday, February 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS(yuck)
Etek Ego
Tippman 98
Viewloader Tritan
Marker Setup: 09 slg Basic(red)
14" proto one peice barrel
Vlocity jr
68/4500 PE tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK!.(read review)
Barrel
Strengths: Light
FAST
Sexy
Great deal
quiet
accurate(with 14' barrel)
Weaknesses: gas hog at first
FEEDNECK!!!.
asa wobbles(read review)
Review: Ok so I got this gun for christmas because I was tired of my old ACS.So when I ordered this($200)Puppy I couldnt wait.When it came in the mail I instantly opened it and HLY SHXT its light!.the red accents and milling were great!.it also came with a full allen key set,lube,barrel sock,EXTRA BATTERY(theres one already in the gun and they put anotha one in the box),manual,11" barrel,and warranty card.The manual is very very very helpful.Everything you would need to know about the gun is in the manual(even trouble shooting incase you run into any problems).Ok now to the gun.I had to wait a couple weeks to get my tank filled but when I finally did,I screwed it in.First off I noticed that the tank does not screw all the way in(idk wats up with that so if you know comment my review),and the tank was wobbling with the asa.So I ignored it until later and put my vlocity jr up there.On fresh duracells It was flowing 20 bps no problem.I did have a jam tho but all you have to do is press the little button on the back cap to reset it and ur good.the gun was really queit but had alil kick(not enuff to notice while playing).Ok the feedneck.the feedneck was good at first but overtime theres a little screw inside of it and it WILL strip and come out of the hole.Mines even cracked!.you mite as well save yourself the trouble and automatically upgrade that lil peice of plastic.Ok the effciency.The first time I shot it I had 2000 psi and got a full hopper and two pods off of that.The second time I had 4000 psi and got a full hopper and 4 pods off of it.Im thinking it just needs to be broken in so no worrys(plus I get all day air anyways).This gun is a breeze to take apart and maintain!.almost as easy as a spyder if not easier!.MODES!!.this gun has for modes,twenty trigger sensitivity settings and goes from 10 bps to 25 bps and everything inbetween!.so tournaments arent a problem.
Conclusion: So overall I love this gun.Its cheap,reliable,light,fast,sexi,quiet,and versatile.Everything you could ask for in a gun so go out and get it!.il give it a 9 because of the feedneck,barrel,and asa.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

egierski Sunday, January 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Invert mini
tippmen(98 custom)
Vibe
planet eclipse 06
Marker Setup: ~Invert halo hopper
~steel tank
~formula paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
~barrel
~tigger
Strengths: Lightweight
Nice grip
Regulator
Eyes
Easy disassemble/assemble
Weaknesses: ~Barrel
~Trigger
Review: When I first got it was fine, I had my eyes turned off then I chopping paint because my eyes where covered. but that is all I had issues with now I play tons of matchesand love shooting newbies.it never ever chops paint when the eyes are on the anti air jam makes it super useful during matches
Conclusion: I love this gun (sometimes I call it my baby)it works perfectly but I strongly recommend reading the Manuel and tweak settings if needed This what my first gun (that I owned) I got mine for about $210 but I would pay around $300 for it. this gun is very good
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Logan_pb23 Sunday, December 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Vibe
Smart Parts Ion XE
PM7
Marker Setup: Proto slg 09
vl eye force
ninja 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
like a CP one piece with .693 bore size
New asa
Strengths: Reliable
Cheap $200!
Tournament legal!
Weaknesses: Asa
Barrel

Review: For $200 you cant get any better.I love this gun! The only uprades you really need for the gun is a new asa and a new barrel maybe a new feed neck but you dont need it.You can play in tournaments un like the vibe. The vibe you have to get a blackheart board or a virtue bored for it.The stock boad for it has useless modes like 3 shot and full auto and you really cant use semi because the stock board is capped at 11 bps.So the Proto slg is alot better it with save you money instead of getting a vibe with new board and new barrel and new asa and new regulator.The slg has a great reg on it the hyper 3 same as the NT. Great board already instalted so all youll need is a new barrel and asa so GET THE SLG OVER VIBE!!
Conclusion: I recommend this gun because it cheap its great and it will save you money in the long run.This gun will keep up with higher end guns and whoops the spyder electra
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBking4ever Thursday, December 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
US Army Alpha Black
Marker Setup: 09' Proto SLG with Phat dropforward, DP R.A.P.S. asa, Tadao board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck
Strengths: VERY FAST
accraute
light weight
easy to manuver
board settings
Weaknesses: Gas hog (see review)
Accessing board
Feednecks
Bolt stick
Review: I got the Proto SLG 09/10 for a early christmas present and as soon as i got home un boxed it. I was very impressed on the looks and what came with it. The first thing I did was opened it up and configured my settings. That was very easy with the help of the COLORED manual. That also impressed me. So I had my settings on PSP ramping, level 3 trigger sensitivity, and max of 20 BPS. I was upset with the fact that proto couldnt put an actual clamping feedkneck but for the price was still impressed. Also I noteced that i put maby 3 pods through it and i was dead on gas. (UPDATE- this improved throughout the life of the Hyper 3 regulator.) That disspopinted me very much. The next day I refilled my tanks and brought the gun for a "checkup" as I didnt know it their was a leak or something. The shop put a new 2010 Hyper 3 reg on it and said that the old one had some problems and warrenty covered it. So any ways I rought it home and LOVED the 2010 hyper 3. Alough confused why it is a rotaing reg but W/E. This gun is perfect for $200 and I would recomend it for anyone starter or pro because of its range of firing modes and BPS (Semi,Melinium,PSP,NXL and 33 BPS max). I LOVE THIS GUN!!!!

UPDATE-feedneck made of straight plastic. So get a new one befor breaking your halo on the cement floor. Also I have had a major bolt stick problems and the tech at my local feilds say that it was machined to big. So machining and feednecks are a bit of a problem. Still very fast though. Also my efficency is better it takes about a 5000 shot break in period to fully shoot constiently.
UPDATE- just droped a tadao board in it. It didnt shoot at all because the sear went up at the wrong time and broke. this was with the stock board in it also. The sear is made of the same stuff the body is made of and isnt durable. My major boltstick problem is still there and has gotton so bad (with the new bolt) i have to take it out and reset it befor every game )=
Conclusion: Nice gun for the money. Not durable but to make it $200 what should I expect. Bad bolt stick and sear is why Im changing this from an 8 to a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 16th, 2010 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jwelf Friday, December 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot
Proto Rail
Marker Setup: Proto PMR 09
Invert Halo Too feeder
Freak Barrel
3000psi compressed air tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Trigger
Regulator
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Weaknesses: Loose parts
Bolt Jams
Review: I bought the slg as one of my first electric markers because of the price and sleek design.
After playing with it a few times I found that my bolt would consistently jam after fire twice every time I pulled the trigger so I would have to force the bolt back into position only to have it jam again. Other than that it is a solid marker for $200.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this marker. For all the problems it has you would be better off buying a spyder pilot or an ion xe which are in the same price range but have much fewer problems.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 16th, 2009 at 10:20 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sammynacpb Friday, October 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All markers used or tested:
BT-4 Combat (Owned) Way more kick, not comparable.
PMI Black Maxx(owned) im comparison, piece of crap.
Piranha G3(owned) almost alike but the slg is better designed and has eyes and is also better on paint.
Marker Setup: Proto SLG 09 Basic
Invert Halo too loader
48/3000 CP tank
Stock barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Recball player: above and beyond what you need
Team speedballer: You may want a new barrel and a new feedneck but other than that ur good.
Strengths: Light
Fast
Affordable
Small
Sexy
Weaknesses: dont care what people say:
Sear tripper.
Review: I bought my proto slg about 3 days ago and i was going to write a review yesterday saying it was a good gun after i played with it and stuff and shot reballs. but now i am glad to say this gun if a real ripper and is very good. at its price point nothing compares. this thing scares the poop out of renters!!! just shoot it infron of one and they will fear you!
Has some small quirks with the macro line and the sometimes loose asa aswell as the bleed valve but nothing that cant be easily fixed in 2 seconds by your average paintballer
Conclusion: Love it, take care of it and it will take care of you. This marker is very remarkable in its price range.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Musso3656 Friday, October 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cocker's
Tippmann's
Marker Setup: SLG Basic - Clear
Dye Boomstick
Invert TOO
68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good feeder that can keep up. I put a 12" Boomstick on it and it makes a world of difference so a 14" barrel would be even better.
Strengths: Light
Fast
Pretty Durable
Nice Trigger
Weaknesses: ASA can get loose from time to time...that's it really
Review: The SLG was my first electronic marker to buy. I've used several others but this one really stands out to me. I tested all the other markers in its price range and it blows the competition away. The Epiphany, ION, MG7, Spyder RSX...BLOWS them all away. I don't think there's a better gun for $200...maybe even $300.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for anyone. Newb or Vet. Gets the job done and then some.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chris5573 Wednesday, October 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter-The Proto is better in every way except for the air system the proto will need some airway tape around the airway inside the handle.
VL TRITON ll- The Proto is better than this gun in every way.
Tippman 98- I like the tippman for sniping but the Proto will out snip it with a 14" inch barrel.
Marker Setup: I use the Proto SLG 09" with a 12"inch barrel (stock) but i have a force feed hopper so that i can shoot the Marker faster without having to worry about chopped balls or waisted CO2. I installed a new trigger i bought from Ebay the will make any gun Semi, or fully auto-matic gun shoot faster and the other products will make it more accurate and reliable.
Recommended
Upgrades:
No barrel upgrade,
A force feed hopper,
A tun of ammo,
A waist belt that holds 9, 200 ball tubes
Two Rechargeable 9 volt battries
Strengths: Accurate,
Fire Speed,
Anti-ball chop system
Super sensative trigger
Air Conservation
Only $200!!
Weaknesses: Goes threw alot of ammo quickly
Uses battries
Review: This is the best marker I have ever used I would recomend it over any other marker I have ever used and I would say its better than any other marker you will ever use for under $600 pluse the extra $150 you will spend on gear and upgrades. The proto is only $200.
Conclusion: I think that if you are looking for reliabilaty and very high preformance but you are on a buget this is the marker for you even if your not on a buget. This gun is only $200 and its better than any marker you will be able to get for less than $600 and the accesories are going to cost the same for any high quality gun you will buy.I highly recomend the marker and all of the accesories listed above.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

engtmarines8 Monday, September 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smartparts Ion
Marker Setup: 09 Proto Slg
62/3000 tank
Halo Invert Too
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel-Stock works well its just a bit on the short side
Strengths: Weight, Trigger, Size
Weaknesses: Programming is annoying sometimes
Review: this marker is a-maz-ing. The first day i got it i took it out of the box and hooked up my air it shot phe-nom-inal. Its trigger was amazing and it shot great straight up. It was very light and tight in my hands, but my halo too felt a bit awkward and large but it kept up really nicely. For 200 bucks it was the best deal out there for paintball guns. My only issue with this marker was the programming. It can be a bit tricky but once you get the hang of it, it is quite easy.
Conclusion: For the price this is the most affordable and capable marker on the market today, and who doesn't like to get the most bang for their buck in today's economy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Geterdone07 Monday, July 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Extra- Old and outdated-No Comparison
Spyder Pilot- Meh not nearly as good
AutoCocker- No comparison
Marker Setup: I use the 09 Proto SLG, all stock so far with a vlocity jr hopper and 68/45 tank. Also i have a 14" barrel on it. If you dont have much money, this is a good gun that can stay stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new 09 has much more upgrades/accessories then the 08 version so not much other than a nice barrel
Strengths: EVERYTHING
Clamping feedneck was tight for the 09
Silencer/Kick Resister=Nice
Weaknesses: None
Review: Just buy it. It is a perfect gun for anyone. It is the best SLG so far and perfect for any one who is into paintballing serious or not. Easy to use and fun too. Anyone and everyone can tell you about it. Try it. You'll love it!!!! I would recommend this to no one so i can have them all to myself!!!
Conclusion: Buy it, use it, love it. I do
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media