paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG

Proto 09 Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 09 Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 09 Proto SLG
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $199

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 2009 SLG is a hybrid construction of aluminum and composite materials, providing you durability with incredible lightweight function. The SLG’s patented Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt system allows the marker to operate at a low 145psi. This low operating pressure provides superior accuracy with less paint breakage, and yields an impressive 1500 shots on a 68/4500. Newly refined features such as the pressure release safety button, clamping feedneck, aluminum trigger, internal bolt silencer, hardened steel sear, and aluminum bolt makes the SLG the clear choice in the sea of introductory markers. The 2009 SLG is a perfect example of unequaled quality, meticulous engineering, and unmatched manufacturer support, the benchmarks that make Proto the first name in paintball.



Features

Single Piece 11" Proto Barrel

New Increased Flow Hyper3 In-line Air Regulator

Anti-chop Break Beam Eye System

Super Low 145psi Operating Pressure

Proto Dual-Density Injection Sticky Grip

LED Program Control with Four Tournament Modes

All New Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt

Ultralite Aluminum Trigger

09 Proto SLG Bottom-Line with Dovetail

No-Rise Clamping Feed-Neck

Multifunction Self-Lubricating Force Button

Bolt Silencer

Orbital Rotating Sear Reduces Wear
Product Availability 
The Proto 09 Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
c.palmer19 Saturday, July 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns (98, A-5, Alpha Black)
Various Spyders (Sonix, MR2, VS1)
Indian Creek Designs (Only tested)
Marker Setup: Proto SLG 09 Olive
ANS 68/4500 HPA tank
Vlocity
Vents Avatar mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
The UL frame if you really want to, it might help you shoot faster and it weighs less but the gun is light anyway. (UL is also more durable)
Strengths: Light
Pretty Fast
Feels good
Pretty Efficient
Weaknesses: No real big issues
Review: This gun is a pretty good deal for $200. It has everything a beginning to intermediate paintballer on a budget needs. It shoots pretty straight and is most suited for speedball but you definently could use it in woodsball. The only issue I can see is the frame is a composite material, but thats no big deal, its pretty sturdy any way.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any paintballer who wants a great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zeroskater95 Friday, July 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Nerve
Smart Parts Ion
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: 09 Proto SLG- CP on/off asa, Dye feedneck, CP 14in barrel, Dye Rotor, and Pure Energy 68/3000

or

Smart Parts Nerve-Freak Barrel, Q-lock feedneck, Same hopper, and same tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
feedneck
whatever u want
Strengths: Cheap
Tough
Fast
Weaknesses: None
Review: The 09 Proto Slg is a great gun. Its easy to take apart and clean. The manual is great. Its a good speedball marker for the price. As soon as I got this gun I shot in my backyard.
The stock barrel is pretty accurate but I suggest getting a new one. If u want the gun to shoot fast Youll have to ajust the setting because out of the box its a little slow
Conclusion: If your on a budget or want a good back up, buy it. You wont be dissapointed
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bad_Company1 Sunday, June 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS2(Hated it)
Marker Setup: 09 Proto SLG
Halo V35 w/rip drive
68/4500 Pure Energy Carbon Fiber
REDZ4+1 vertical harness woodsball
Karnage 3+4 harness speedball
Kingman Java Remote coil hose
Recommended
Upgrades:
14 or 16 inch barrel
Strengths: Speed 4 modes of fire and efficiency
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: I bought this gun because i hated my Spyder Vs2 so much because it wouldn't recock. And i love this gun.It is fast enough to reach 33.33bps or you can set it to almost any bps you want because it has 41 speeds.The only thing i don't like about it is the stok barrel its fine for speedball but i play mostly rec ball and its not accurate at long range.
Conclusion: Get it is fast enough for woodsball and speedball you just need a new barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 29th, 2009 at 12:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dblk22vball Thursday, June 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6
PM5
PM6
Promaster
Piranha
Marker Setup: 09 Proto SLG Basic
CP On/off
J and J Edge Elite Barrel Kit
Halo/Empire Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off ASA
"Real" Clamping feedneck (metal collar)
Strengths: Quiet, efficient, light.
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel, no on/off
Review: I have used this for a couple of months now. I am very impressed with the performance of the marker, especially for the price point.

I was able to get a hopper and roughly 6 pods from 1500 PSI on my 88/4500, which I thought was outrageous. I had to count it twice, but it was accurate.

It is nice and quiet, especially with a decently ported barrel. With the barrel kit, I have no problem staying on target, very smooth shooting.

Make sure to tighten the rail when you first get it, it seems a lot of the markers had the rail loose from the factory.

I have actually sold my DM6 in favor of this marker, since I feel I get the same performance, for a fraction of the cost.
Conclusion: A must buy for any beginner/mid level player and will be rock solid. Great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyogie12 Monday, June 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix 2005, Ion, Tippmann A5, Tippmann 98, Dangerous Power G3
Marker Setup: Proto Slg 09 Basic
Halo w/ rip drive and carbon shell
Crossfire 68ci/4500psi HPA
Redz Pepperstix
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
ASA
Strengths: Light
FAST
Accurate
Conservative(gas)
Feedneck
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Review: I got this gun as a replacement to my PM5 and my A5. I need a gun that does well in Airball and Woodsball. This gun is it. Very lightweight, great feel in hands(i have big hands too), well balanced.

The one complaint i have on this gun is the stock 11" Barrel. GET A NEW ONE. The stock barrel isn't terrible but you are undercutting the performance by a lot if you choose to use it. I have tried Smart Parts Freak and Redz Pepperstix on this gun and the Pepperstix win by far. I was able to shoot within a foot grouping from 150ft away.

Feedneck is awesome. Fits my Torque Loudmouth, Halo B and Prophecy loaders amazingly.

If you really care about it get an ASA. It doesn't make a huge difference but by now all guns should come standard with one.
Conclusion: Great gun. Great Value. Get a new barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

taboshnic Friday, May 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann x7
tippmann 98
tippmann a5
smart parts ion
tippmann triumph
bt-4
all these suck compared to the slg

Marker Setup: tippmann x7
response trigger
collapsible carr stock
ak-47 apex barrel

-or-

proto slg 09 basic
empire b reloader
virtue crown
proto 2 piece 14" in barrel

-or-

tippmann triumph eXT
proto 1 piece 14" barrel
(back-up)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue board/OLED board
some 2 piece barrel
that is it
Strengths: Super light
very fast
easily adjustable/good trigger
clamping feedneck
durable
Weaknesses: Stock barrel (not much of a weakness)
Review: AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! please do buy this gun. i absolutely love this gun. it's performance is just awesome. it is super and i like that. it fits in your hands nicely and is very lightweight. it isn't much heavier, at all, than the ultralite slg. i love the trigger. it is very nice for walking. i am one for upgrades to a gun and i'm not getting a new trigger for this. it is easy to adjust to make it a lot more sensitive. you can adjust it with how far you can pull it back and how fast it will react after you pull the trigger. it is also very easy to adjust the board. with the stock board you can get 33 bps (duh.) You can set the bps to basically exactly what you want. you can also change the mode (as in psp,millennium, nxl, etc.) i love the fact that it comes stock with a clamping feedneck. it fit and held my empire b just fine. it has a hyper 3 inline regulator so it is more efficient with shots, which in turn saves you $. it is very easy to take out the bolt to lube or fix something. it has eyes so it avoids chopping balls and you can also turn them off (another duh.) it is very durable so it won't fall apart diving into a bunker or the snake. small. light. fast. durable. what more could you ask for?
Conclusion: Buy it. period. this is a great gun from beginners to pretty experienced players. it is the best possible gun for the money in my opinion. it is awesome and a must buy. get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TriggerFinger19 Sunday, May 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Cybrid
VL Charger
Marker Setup: Proto SLG 09
Invert Reloader 2
Stock Barrel
Pure Energy 48 CI 3000 PSI Nitrogen Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe A longer Barrel
Strengths: Accuracy
Weight
Speed
Trigger
Design
Weaknesses: On mine, it is a little difficult To put on My nitrogen tank.
Review: This gun Is amazing. The first thing I noticed was the sexy body and design of the gun. I held it and it was suprisingly light and easy to maneuver. I went outside and shot a few and its accuracy amazed me, along with the fire rate and how great the trigger is. I played a 1 on 1 with my friend, with him having an ION, and I lit him up. The gun is pretty straight forward and easy to understand, except the circut board. Idk about that but im really new to the whole circut board thing and i dont know how to work it.
Conclusion: In conclusion, This gun is the sexiest ive ever seen, its really Accurate And Fast, comfortable, and Durable. I reccomend this gun to Any Paintballer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ray7587 Saturday, April 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, 14 in. cermamic J&J barrel, 16 oz. compressed air. Not nearly as good as the SLG.
Marker Setup: Proto SLG 09, 72 ci. 3000psi Pure Energy, Empire Magna hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel...but its still very accurate with the stock.
Strengths: Accuracy, speed, weight, everything really.
Weaknesses: Where my tank goes in seems to be stripped. Maybe just me?
Review: The SLG 09 is definitely the best gun that i have ever used. I have only had a tippmann custom in the past but I have used a few others and this is by far the best. The ref i had took my gun after I got shot one of the times and shot it a few times and looked it over. He said that he would choose the Proto SLG 09 over the DM8. The only thing he said was better about the DM8 was the grip.
This gun is very very accurate. In a woodsball game, you can shoot across about 50 yds or more away and be able to adjust your gun to hit someone that hasn't spotted you yet in just a few shots. Obviously it wont be perfectly straight for those people that like to put their guns up to 400fps and then say a place sucks because they turned it down to 275fps (yes, someone has said this to me). Speed is good in my book. Finally got a new hopper which is the Empire Magna Drive. I haven't had any problems with the gun as of speed yet.
The only problem I have right now, is that during the middle of my first day of playing, it seemed that my nitro tank started to screw further into the gun when I was screwing it in and I heard a grinding noise. The very very bottom of my nitro tank is rough and not smooth now and it seems like it is being stripped. This could be just my gun cause I have never heard of this before. Also, there is no leaking at all, so I'm not positive what is wrong with that right now. Other than that, this gun has been perfect for me. This is a great gun for any player of any experience and is in a great price range.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone. Like I said, I believe my tank problem is just my gun since I have not heard this problem ever until me. It is very accurate, speed is very good, and the weight is just over 2.2 lbs. I believe. Amazing gun overall.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 5th, 2009 at 12:45 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Matt Pritchard Saturday, April 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month25 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader tritan 2....haha what can i say, worst gun ever
spyder victor.....sucks
spyder imagine.....sucks
spyder electra 08......better
none of these compare the the speed and accuracy of the slg
Marker Setup: Poto SLG 09 stock
viewloader eVLution 3
48ci by 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck is all i could think of. If your heavy into paintball i would probably recommend a new barrel, but it is a pretty accurate little thing.
Strengths: Every thing besides the feed neck.
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: The slg isnt a bad gun by any means. it was either the slg or the epiphany and i went for the slg after spending about 2 weeks reading reviews. im happy with my decision. The gun is very efficient with air, i threw on a cheap guerrilla air 48ci 3000psi tank and i got, which i culdnt believe, about 650 shots from it, i have two and i got about 630 from the other one. i am amazed at this gun. the only flaw that the gun seems to have is that it seems a little weak where the grips meet the main portion of the gun. it seems like it has to much give from side to side, and when i first gassed it up it had a slow leak coming from where the micro line attached to the reg. After 1 game of playing, my eyes stoped working, i immediately called dye and they sent me a new pair no questions asked, dye has with out a doubt the best customer service ever. other than these minor flaws the gun rips, it says its capable of 33 bps but i dont think its that fast, ill give it 28bps on a good day. love this thing. there is no reason for the "pro/sponsored" or even the "paintball know-it-all" to be slaming this thing because it is a sear tripper, honestly if you say its a "jazzed up spyder" like ive heard others say, you should be slapped. I have shot the rail right before i shot the slg, and i honestly couldnt tell the difference, the slg seemed just as smooth and as solid as the rail. the rail was out of my price range but even if it wasnt, i still would have gone with the slg.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for the price of it, just make sure you have a fast enough hopper to keep up with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 27th, 2009 at 8:15 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media