paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX

Tippmann TPX Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann TPX

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann TPX
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $230

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new TPX™ .68 Caliber Paintball Pistol boasts an innovative, compact design, specially engineered to be lightweight, easy to maintain, customizable, and best of all, dependable. Check out more exciting features below, or click on the pistol features above and watch for the official launch planned in mid-April.

• Metal Trigger Punctures C02 On First Pull
• 2 Self-Locking 8-Ball Magazine Clips
• Quick Release Magazine Feed System
• Under Barrel 12 Gram C02 Air System
• Easy To Load 1/4 Turn C02 Cap
• External Velocity Adjuster
• Internal Regulator
• Ability to Add Remote Line
• Ergonomically Designed Grip
• Covered Ammo Windows
• Removable Barrel with X7 Threads
• Maintenance kit is included
• Deluxe carrying case is included
Product Availability 
The Tippmann TPX is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Franklin Co. PB Tuesday, July 5th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Project Salvo with ?? 18" barrel w/ Apex 2 barrel tip, remote line, foregrip, red dot sight and Tacamo hopper.

Tippmann Alpha Black Tactical Edition all stock w/ militray grade spring loaded bipod, remote line and Tacamo hopper.

Tippmann TiPX w/ RAP4 rifled 10" barrel w/ Apex 2 tip, remote line adapter, remote line and 4 mags.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra Magazines, Remote Line Adapter kit.
Strengths: Heavy duty
Comes apart for cleaning easy
Fits A-5 and X7 barrels
Weaknesses: Eats CO2 cartridges
You must be very consious about paint
Review: I just barely got my TPX and put it to work int the feild the other day. Needless to say, I am impresed! I was thinking of this to be a little dinky pistol that shoots 50fps and has no range. But no. Tippmann (the best gun maker in the world), designed the gun to shoot just like any other gun they make. Thats right, this baby can shoot 300fps and is effective up to 150 feet. Its a handheld paintball marker! It is semi heavy, but is lighter than any other regular marker.

There are a few weakensses however. One is gas consumption. You can get around 20 shots on a CO2 cartridge, depending on velocity. Mys suggestion would be to buy the remote line adapter kit. $50 on eBay from 'famousguy' and you get the adapter and a remote line. Then you can just use a 9oz CO2 tank and get 450 shots. Another downfall is you get a magazine. 8 or 7 shots, depending on what mag you get, and you get two with the gun. Extra pairs cost around $25- $30, and its worth it. It may be worthwhile picking up another pair of mags or two, because when you get in the heat, you forget all about your paint restriction and you run through mags quick.
Conclusion: Overall, this is the best paintball pistol out there. If your looking to be a runner in a woodsball match to flank everybody, or to get that flag, or whatever, this gun is for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RO0sTer Thursday, December 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none, first pistol ever.
Marker Setup: TPX w/ 7 tru-feed magazines
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lapco's Front Block with Picatinny rail
A new barrel, something like the BigShot or Hammerhead
Holster could be useful, especially in mil-sim or woodsball. I like to have 2 hands to climb and crawl so it could be beneficial.
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Consistent
Ease of use
Very solid
Weaknesses: Harsh on paint (need to buy paint with strong shells)
Review: Alright...

Durability: 10/10
Tippmanns are always renowned for their great durability and the TPX is no exception. I don't think I can say much in this section other than repeating it's a solid gun and that's that. 600 shots through and still have yet to find breaks.


Accuracy: 8/10
The accuracy on this thing amazed me. Didn't ever think it would be so accurate. Using the stock barrel only, I managed to get very tight groupings from a distance of about 20-25 meters (65-80ft)as I mostly play on an indoor field where engagements are CQC oriented. Out of every 21 shots, about 4 are outside the grouping, but that could vary with the paint and/or velocity.

Consistency/Efficiency: 8/10
When I first got this in the mail, I popped in a CO2, loaded up my six mags and went into the backyard for some tests. Out of the box, I could easily shoot 2.5 mags before needing to change out the CO2. After fiddling with the velocity adjuster, I got it to easily shoot close to 4 mags. As the norm for CO2, letting the liquid warm up and expand after every burst is ideal to get range and accuracy.

Customization: 7/10
There isn't too much out yet, but barrels are a good upgrade to this outstanding gun.
Putting on a flashlight/laser/fore grip really enhances the appearance of the gun. I have a NCstar flashlight on the TPX and it looks and performs great when I'm inside unlit buildings.
Another upgrade that is worth checking out is Lapco's Front Block with Picatinny Rail. This allows you to place sights such as red dots, reflexes, and even scopes if you so desire. The Front Block enhances the look of the gun and with a sight, it outperforms the plain iron sights on the gun.

The Remote Line for the TPX is a nice touch for those that don't want to use 12g CO2 cartidges(they're bloody expensive @ $.75/piece at the rate I usually buy em at.)
Using air is the way to go with all guns and having a remote line and an air tank lets you carry more 10 round tubes instead of a mix of CO2 and 10 round tubes, thus more paint you can throw at your enemies with consistent shots.

Other stuff... : ?/?
It is quite loud, not that I care anyways, just don't shoot it around your house without ear protection.(Yes I shoot inside my room for tests when the weather outside is carp)
So far, I have not have any pierce troubles so that probably means Tippmann is using a new adjustable CO2 cap.

For internal maintenance, be careful when pulling the halves apart, the spring will cause parts to fly at you. Also, be weary of the tiny o-rings that are loaded in the gun, always grease them when pulling pieces apart, they will get eaten. I've destroyed 2 o-rings already trying to place the regulator and air valve together.

Conclusion: In conclusion, the Tippmann TPX is a very solid gun. There are always pros and cons in any marker and the pros of this pistol outweigh the cons by a large margin. WIth cheap magazines, easy maintenance, and being a very cool gun, what more could you want?

Some things to note; Use strong shelled paint (ie XO's Camotac) and give it some tlc and it won't disappoint.

I highly recommend the TPX for those that want to use a pistol as their primary.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 9th, 2010 at 11:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Invert Omega Sunday, November 7th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman chaser and eraser
Marker Setup: Tippmann TPX
12G Co2 cartridge
8 round .50 caliber magazine
stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really
Strengths: Accurate, EFFICIENT, realistic
Weaknesses: Long Co2 recharge time
Review: This pistol has proven to be a key asset to WOODSBALL. it's durable, fast, and accurate. it is magazine operated and runs on a 12g co2 cartridge. but this gun can operate with aIr hoses. it's metal trigger punctures Co2 with the first pull, so you have air when you need it.
this gun weighs, with the Co2, clip, and barrel, about 3 pounds. it comes with a padded carrying case, 2 8 round magazines, 5 12g Co2 cartriges, and 75 .50 training rounds.
Conclusion: Over all, paying 250$ for this gun was the best descision i have ever made in paintball. i recommend this only for woodsball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BAGELZ Tuesday, August 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None; this is my first pistol ever used.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Commando Air-Thru Solid Stock + Foregrip, 18" Stiffi Barrel, Remote Line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Leg Holster, obviously... (no way this thing is fitting into your back pocket) Possibly an upgraded barrel, or a TechT Low Pressure Spring Set, but i haven't bought either of these items, so i wouldn't really know...
Strengths: Looks
Feel
Accuracy
Reliability
Nickel-Plated Trigger
Weaknesses: Mag-Eject Button
Ammo Windows
C02 Ejection
Review: Well, after approximately 6 years of playing paintball, I finally decided to get a pistol. During that career i had used a 98 custom for 3 years and switched to an A-5 for the other 3 years and counting. Both of these guns worked fine during their use and the A-5 is still working (98 broke down about a year ago, 5 years of hard use is pretty good seeing as I NEVER CLEANED IT ONCE, just didn't really know how and didn't care enough back then, though now I clean my A-5 all the time).
Anyways my whole career the #1 thing that bothered me about paintball was the vertical hopper that sits on almost every paintball gun. Eventually I got used to it and it didn't bother me very much, but one day i found an A-5 hopper that i just had to have. Why? Because it was pretty much non-existant! Within a week i had my hands on the Opsgear 30-round Tac-Cap, which basically made my A-5 hopper-less and i could see everything. I absolutely loved it... but there was a catch.... My friends and i play a lot of speedball as well as a lot of fast-paced woodsball, therefore a 30-round hopper wasn't ideal. I loved the low profile and the alertness that was needed with a tiny hopper, but it was outweighed by a lack of sheer firepower. So i switched it out for the typical 200-round hopper and now it is used as an ammo scoop to put balls in my big hopper.
Then I saw the TPX in my local paintball store. At first I had no intention of buying it, as i figured the 7-round magazine capacity would be impractical and definitely not realistic for the whopping price tag. However, I had been thinking about buying a new gun for a little while, and at the same time i didn't wanted to give up my A-5 in place for a new one, as it still worked great and i had already dropped 300+ bucks into it. So my mind kept wandering back to the TPX. Eventually I gave in and bought it, and i have to say I'm liking it a lot...!

The TPX is a great sidearm, but there's a lot of others out there...so why the TPX?

LOOKS-
As far as .68 caliber paintball pistols go, this one is probably the best looking pistols out there. Although looks are highly opinionated and it usually comes down to personal preference on what looks good and what doesn't, this one, in my opinion, looks awesome. Of course, it ain't no Desert Eagle, but it does look surprisingly similar to the Halo magnum. I'll take it.

FEEL-
Out of the box, this gun feels incredibly sturdy. When I first held the showcase gun at the store before I purchased my own, the first thing I noticed was how sturdy it was. It almost felt like one big piece, and i wasn't worried that it would break if I dropped it or smashed it into something. Trust me, this thing is SOLID. Enough said.

ACCURACY-
When I first got this marker I was extremely nervous about its performance. Being my first pistol, I didn't really know what to expect from a 6" barrel. Well, after quickly unloading two clips through it at a water bottle forty feet away, my fears were put to rest. Pretty much every shot hit the target. As long as you don't try to snipe people with it, I think it works pretty well.

RELIABILITY-
Well, through my 6 years of using Tippmann guns, I've learned a lot about them and their potential. By far the one thing that makes Tippmann unique from other brands is how much paint, junk, grime, dirt and debris you can put through your gun before it jams up/breaks completely. As I said before, if my 98 custom lasted 5 years without ever being taken apart and cleaned, I have great expectations for the durability/reliability of the TPX. Come on, it's a Tippmann! Jam your barrel into the ground, dump some water and dirt into it, break a ball in the barrel and still watch it somehow hit a guy sixty+ feet away. HAAHAA!

NICKEL-PLATED TRIGGER
I don't even what's so cool about this feature- it just works with the overall gun. It just kinda stands out, and it feels much more sturdy than a generic plastic trigger. Just makes you feel a little more Rambo-ish, like you could somehow take out eight guys with a seven-round clip. Only thing better would been to have made it gold-plated... i so would have loved to take people out gangsta- style!

Sure, no gun's perfect, so the TPX is bound to have some sort of minor issues. These are the only features I seem to have a little problem with...

MAG-EJECT BUTTON
A little awkward to push at first... I either have to (1) use my index finger to push it, which eventually starts to leave a blister in my finger after multiple reloads because of the extra pressure needed to push it in since your finger is already wrapped around the slightly-oversized grip, or (2) slighty rotate my hand on the grip when ready to reload so my thumb can reach the button with enough leverage to fully push it in. Sure, this is actually a very small issue, but i would have liked it to be in a position where I didn't have to adjust my handgrip every time I needed to reload. Also, if you are Big-Handed (...?) then this will probably not be an issue at all.

AMMO WINDOWS
Again, a very small problem, and it ONLY pertains to people using the newer Tru-Feed 7-round Mags for the TPX. The issue is simple- if using the Tru-Feed Mags, the ammo windows on the grip pretty much become useless. It is impossible to see if there are balls still left in the two lower windows, and the 3rd window only allows you to see half the ball. When Tippmann designed the new mag, it seems they did a good job in designing a mag that reduced ball chops/jams, but the open cut where you can see the balls in the mags is misaligned with the ammo windows. By upgrading one feature of the gun they completed negated another. Anyways, I never use those ammo windows anyways, just the one on the top of the gun, but I could see that becoming annoying for someone that used them.

CO2 EJECTION
Sure, a lot of people say how easy it is to change the Co2 on the TPX- and it is, just as long as it is loading it or ejecting it when it is completely out of Co2. IF THE 12 GRAM STILL HAS "ANY" CO2 IN IT, YOU AIN'T GETTING THAT CO2 OFF! This is a big pain in the heat of battle when you have to shoot 5-10 extra blank shots before being able to put in more co2. The 12 gram usually gets about 2-3 mags before losing pressure. Once your gun loses pressure, it'll be another twenty seconds before it fires again. When it loses pressures, it'll make a "pffft" popping noise and the ball velocity will drop drasticaly. Then you have to make sure ALL the Co2 is gone by repeatedly pulling the trigger until the "pffft" noise is gone and nothing happens when you pull the trigger. This is pretty much the only big problem, but there's nothing Tippmann really could have done better because if they didnt make the CO2 chamber that tight then the gun would have air leaks galore.


Conclusion: Overall, if you're looking for an awesome paintball pistol, this is the one to get. My big decision was between the TPX and the Tiberius Arm T8.1. However, since I own all Tippmanns and am familiar with their performance, I knew this gun wasn't going to let me down. Not to mention the mags for the TPX are only $15 each, whereas theT8 mags are a whopping $40 each. Basically it all comes down to those two pistols, preference, and moneybags (which I have don't have, and TPX is cheaper). Anyways, this gun is awesome, I'd give it a 10 but it took a hit for the Co2 removal. Just a sweet, fun, good- looking gun. I wouldn't be surprised if I see more and more people and their mothers buying this gun in the future. The best part is running around pretending its a magnum making gun noises with your mouth and quoting lines from Dirty Harry. Did I mention it was fun?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Amras86 Thursday, June 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Basic
Flatline Barrel w/ Tactical Rails
GTA Expansion Chamber
Double Trigger
TechT Hair Pin Trigger Kit
Cyclone Feed System (Votex Mod, Lightning Rod, Squishy Paddles, QEPH)
Low Profile Hopper
Collapsible Stock
Red Hot Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
TechT Zero Kick Hammer
Response Trigger
Remote Line
Adjustable M16 Sight Rail

Tippmann Bravo One
G36 Barrel
Cyclone Feed System
Aluminum Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
E-Grip
NcStar MARSH Front Hand Grip

Tippmann TPX
Remote Line Adapter
TechT Low Pressure Spring Kit

JT Tac5 Camouflage (Completely Stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Low Pressure Spring Kit
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Great Backup Marker
Weaknesses: Cleaning Broken Balls
Review: I bought this marker to add to my collection and use a side arm when I run out of paint in my primary. Usually when I run out of paint I get rushed by one or two guys and usually end up getting eliminated from the game, but now I have a last resort. This marker works beautifully out of the box. I noticed the last review done on this marker was in April or '09 and I hear Tippmann has worked out all of the bugs since then. I am seeing a lot of negative comments that simply aren't true with this marker anymore.

Strengths:
First of all this marker is light and compact compared to your typical marker. It shoots very straight, I have yet to use a Hammerhead barrel so I am not sure how much better it could be. The clip loading is both awesome and a bit tedious. Overall its just a basic paintball marker, but in pistol size. Its great. I strongly recommend the TechT TPX Low Pressure Spring Kt. Before I installed it, I was getting at most 2 full clips per 12g CO2 cartridge. If I adjusted the velocity to get more shots, the balls didn't go as straight. If I adjusted for more power, the balls would break very easily and I'd maybe get 13-14 shots. With the spring kit, I am easily getting 3 full clips and I am shooting and roughly 280 fps(not confirmed). Not one ball has broken in my TPX since the spring kit.

Weaknesses:
The number one problem for me is when you do actually break a ball in the gun(very rare), you need to take it apart to get the paint out. Typically when you break a ball in your marker, the paint usually just comes out as a blob. Not the case here. In my experience the paint just stays in the gun. Disassembling this marker is not very hard at all, I find all of Tippmann's markers very easy to clean and maintain.
Conclusion: I am sure if you read the reviews you'll learn to be cautious with this marker, but I can assure you that whatever those guys are complaining about, Tippmann has fixed it since the last post made in April 2009. It worked beautifully out of the box and even better with the lower pressure spring kit by TechT.

Score: 8/10

It gets an 8 because cleaning it can be a huge pain in the ass. Once you break a ball you can either sit out of a game for about 20 minutes and clean it, or you can continue to use it and risk breaking more balls. This can render the marker useless once you break a ball. If you dial the velocity just right that you are getting good accuracy and no breakages, you will love this marker when you run out of paint and your enemy is closing in on you.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 24th, 2010 at 7:38 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SpartanA5 Monday, May 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G2+, Tiberius 8, PGP 2K
Marker Setup: Project Salvo w/ upgraded cyclone, JCS powertube, response trigger, rap4 recon 12" barrel w/ apex, CAR stock, and BT carry handle
Recommended
Upgrades:
More magazines, quality paint, holster
Strengths: Solid build
Accuracy
Co2 change
Price of mags
Outstanding looks
It's a Tippmann
Weaknesses: Picky on paint
Mags somewhat flimsy
Field-stripping
Review: At first sight this marker might look like a lot of gun to be considered a pistol. However, as every square cm of space in it went to good use, and the fact that something as small as the TPX needs to reliably shoot 8, .68 cal paintballs per mag, I think Tippmann did an outstanding job in designing the TPX. I have owned a zeus g2 before, and it was about the same size as a TPX without the 10 rd mag on top, but it weighed about the same as 2 TPXs. The Tiberius 8 is also heavier than the TPX, although they stack up pretty evenly as far as size goes.
I have always thought that a marker is only good if it is all metal and weighs a pretty good amount. Needless to say I was worried that the TPX would be cheaply made and the plastic shell would be easily breakable considering how light it was (about 2.5 lbs). Whenever I was first able to hold it, my fears were laid to rest. The TPX is perfectly balanced, it aims extremely well despite the small angle of the grip (about 20 degrees or so). Clips feed very well, and I am curious how the Tru-Feed 7rd mags work in comparison. I am very glad the TPX incorporated the clamshell design, the grip-frame of my T8 is starting to separate (probably because the glue is starting to loose its tension). I love the feeding of the Co2 in the TPX as it has been made super easy; ANYONE can re-gas ANYTIME. I absolutely hated having to gas up my zeus, or T8 for that matter. The T8 still requires tools for changing gas, and unless you spent over $100 on extra mags you will probably have to re-gas once or twice in-game, which takes forever. Granted you have to re-gas the TPX after every cartridge, but personally I think the minor inconvenience of re-gasing after 25-30 shots easily within a few seconds outweighs having to take 30 seconds per cartridge change. Plus the price of the TPX mags means you can get 3 for the price of 1 T8 mag.
I took the TPX out to the range finally and test fired about 300 medium quality paint through it. I shot through some clips as fast as I could pull the trigger, and some I shot very slowly. My aim was to try to make the TPX fail so I could find out what it's limits are. After I finally burned through all my paint it became abundantly clear that the TPX was built for some serious business and not just to look cool. In all sincerity at about 50 ft. its accuracy was better than my cousin's 12" lapco, and we were shooting the same paint. Granted paint-to-barrel match definitely played a hand in the results, I find it awesome that my pistol was able to hit a 1 1/2" knot in the wood at 50' on the second shot while my cousin wasted about 30 or more shots trying to hit the same target. Amazing. Despite the external shell of the TPX being plastic, it has a solid feel to it. The safety and trigger assembly is second to none, it feels as secure as a real firearm. The mag-release button is still a little awkward to access, but is not as bad as other pistols. Also, the TPX accepts A-5 threaded barrels which is a big plus as far as customization goes. (just make sure the barrel's outer I.D. is 7/8" of less)
Conclusion: To anyone that is considering buying a paintball pistol, I would strongly urge them to think about getting the TPX. It does come down to player style and preference of course, if the player wants excellent accuracy, and not have to reload often, and price is no object, the tiberius T8.1 with at least 2 or 3 extra mags would be the way to go. Personally I like the TPX out of all the pistols I've had and/or tried. With just a little practice, reloading co2 as well as the mags can become second nature. The TPX's form and function are both outstanding, I give it a solid 9 and not 10 because I've heard people have had issues with it in the past, it's a pain to take apart, and I have only had it for a little over a month, but if you take care of it and the paint, it will take care of you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Waterbizkit Thursday, May 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Stock Tippmann TPX

Tippmann Custom 98:
- J&J 16" Barrel
- Tippmann Collaspible Stock
- Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
- As many clips as you feel comfortable carrying.
Strengths: - Accurate.
- Durable.
- Easy to load. Both CO2 & Paint
Weaknesses: - Loud.
- Servicing the internals can be a nuisance.
Review: I recently got the TPX as a present for my birthday. My wife knew I wanted the sidearm and also knew I'd been researching the TPX. We both have Tippmann Markers (she has an A5) and so we both trust Tippmann products. The package she purchased with the pistol came with twelve 12 grams and I decided to run through them all testing the gun.

I've reliably been getting three full clips to a cartridge, or 24 shots if you prefer. I can squeeze out a couple more, but I'm a little OCD and enjoy the even 1:3 ratio. In the end you're looking at around 24-27 rounds to a cartridge. I've never used anything else that runs off of cartridges, so I can;t comment on the efficiency in any educated manner, but as a casual player I'm happy with it.

Accuracy is amazing. I'm used to my 98 with a 16" barrel, so I wasn't expecting much from a pistol with a stock barrel, but suffice to say I've been pleasantly surprised. At 30' I was clustering the paint all right on top of itself. Up to 50' I could still hit targets the approximate size of a human torso with greater ease than I'd expect. I suppose an upgraded barrel could only improve things.

I haven't had the gun long, but it's already seen quite a bit of wear & tear. I've put nearly 300 rounds through it with no issues. It's already been dropped (thank you my dear friends) several times. Again, no problems.

Also worth noting, is that for the 288 rounds, or 36 clips, I've put through it I haven't chopped one ball. And I'm not using anything amazing: Inertia is what I had and so it's what I used. A cheap, thin-shelled paint, and no problems. Mind you, I take care loading the paint into the clips and don't let the paint get too hot (no easy feat with the weather being what it has been where I live).

The only downside I've hit, as have others, is that taking it apart and putting it back together is a pain. That said, I hate taking my 98 apart too, so I'm entirely adverse to opening up guns if I don't really have to.

I love this pistol and if I could afford a second you could bet your marker I'd run around dual-wielding a pair of TPX's on the field for Gits & Shiggles.

Edit June 26th 2010:

After putting nearly 1000 rounds through this marker without a break I finally got one not too long ago. It completely changes the markers behaviour and can really be a pain. There's no shooting through a break with this marker and expecting a half-way decent performance. Once you get a break the accuracy plummets and the chances of getting more breaks goes up exponentially.

The only fix is to sit one out and open up the marker. Give it a good clean and you'll be all set. It sucks, but it's not a deal-breaker and I still love the marker. I am however going to lower my rating from a 9 to an 8. The marker can jump from amazing to near-useless in one break and requires opening it up to get it running again. The breaks will come few and far between (for most), but when they do it'll be an aggravating moment.
Conclusion: I love this gun. I've run lots of cheap paint through it and never chopped a ball. I like the accuracy, the look, the weight, and the efficiency. Those having issues have my sympathies, but mine operates like a dream and I'd buy a second if I could.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 26th, 2010 at 7:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PnoyRx7 Monday, May 24th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
KT Eraser
Marker Setup: Spyder E-Mr1 (silver )
Kingman training Eraser ( black )
VL force with eyes ( black )
12oz Co2 ( air soon )
Mr series riser rail
custom wooden stock
2 spare mags for eraser
Spyder 2 pod carrier
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, a nice cleaning and some paint
Strengths: Shoots great, uses 68 cal paint
Weaknesses: Very un efficient, bulky, ugly, magnesium trigger
Review: Well my friend has the tpx pistol and i have the KT eraser, we swap every game we go to and we did this for about a month or so, let me just say compared to my eraser, it is garbage, its too big, very bad on gas, i have to bring 5-10 co2 with me per game compared to my 2-3 for my eraser, no simulated cocking action. it just does not feel like a proper sidearm. it is like tippmann tried to put everything on the gun they could, ex: the side windows to view the ammo left ? i rather think when im playing and remember how many i had shot, it makes you a better paintball player.
Conclusion: Overall i would never recommend this to family or friends, it is bad for the price, price on gas, and is very ugly.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

AngelOfDeath373 Saturday, February 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, tippmann Werks Sniper Barrel

Stock tpx
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extended mags, don't really need a barrel
Strengths: Dead accurate
Kickass looks
No balls breaking
Co2 isn't twist punctured
feels great
Weaknesses: Loud
Kinda front heavy
The spring on the inside screws up the internals (See body)
Review: Well, despite some bad reviews I got my tpx a few days ago and when I first took it out of the box it was amazing. The case was great, it looked kickass, and it had a rail on the bottom.

Later, when I got it out for testing (since it is winter) i used winter formula balls, blizzards. Now I'm not sure if Tippmann upgraded the parts or it was the thick winter shells but no balls broke and it was awesome.

I really like the Co2 puncture because it isn't twist punctured, the first trigger pull punctures the cartridge. In some pistols you have to twist the cap really hard to puncture it.

I like the holster, although it could carry more mags. I rigged it onto my NXE pod belt and now its like a waist holster.

I think tippmann upgraded all the internals also, because there aren't any of the problems any other users complained about.

One major problem (and I didn't see this the first time) is that when you take the gun apart the first thing that happens is the spring just pushes all the internals out every which way and things could break. One way, and i ADVISE YOU DO THIS EVERY TIME YOU OPEN YOUR TPX is that you have to hold the shroud down, and then take out pieces very gently. Putting everything back in is a challenge as well, you have to keep the shroud and the metal housing in, and shove the bolt in from the back because of all of the pressure from the spring.

I love the accuracy on this thing. from 30 ft away I shot a round through a paper towel roll without it touching the sides. It will destroy anything you point it at and pull the trigger. The accuracy almost seems better than the 98.
Conclusion: I'd have to say besides the internals busting which CAN BE PREVENTED, this is an absolute great marker. The accuracy is great, the look is great, and the grip is great. Once again, the mastery of Tippmann creates a great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 13th, 2010 at 7:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iflickuoff Tuesday, January 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rifled barrel.
Strengths: Compact, accurate, maneuverable in tight spaces.
Weaknesses: External mostly plastic.
Review: When I first gassed up my TPX, I was extremely impressed with its accuracy at the range i was shooting it (apprx. 50 yds.). However, I noticed that some balls were broken, which gummed the barrel with paint which made the performace decrease. I took the marker apart and noticed that the front bolt o-ring was gouged do to the faulty design of the reciever. However, I called Tippmann and they sent me redesigned upper reciever parts free of charge and the marker works perfectly now. It's perfect for CQB situations because of its compact size and accuracy.
Conclusion: If you have a need for a sidearm, this is the one to get because of its accuracy, reliability, and size
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media