paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX

Tippmann TPX Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann TPX

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann TPX
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $230

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new TPX™ .68 Caliber Paintball Pistol boasts an innovative, compact design, specially engineered to be lightweight, easy to maintain, customizable, and best of all, dependable. Check out more exciting features below, or click on the pistol features above and watch for the official launch planned in mid-April.

• Metal Trigger Punctures C02 On First Pull
• 2 Self-Locking 8-Ball Magazine Clips
• Quick Release Magazine Feed System
• Under Barrel 12 Gram C02 Air System
• Easy To Load 1/4 Turn C02 Cap
• External Velocity Adjuster
• Internal Regulator
• Ability to Add Remote Line
• Ergonomically Designed Grip
• Covered Ammo Windows
• Removable Barrel with X7 Threads
• Maintenance kit is included
• Deluxe carrying case is included
Product Availability 
The Tippmann TPX is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
AccessTime Monday, January 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon Overlord
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 Phenom with flatline barrel.
Strengths: Good, solid pistol.
Weaknesses: Price.
Review: No complaints. The puncture system, the clips, all that stuff seems to work well. The pistol is accurate (as pistols go) and makes a very distinctive 'pop' when fired. On the downside, this pistol is expensive. I personally have no problems using this pistol even with cheap paint (weapons grade). But then I don't take a lot of longer shots when I'm playing with this gun either. The basic accessories, like extra clips, are widely available. The important parts, the gas system, the barrel, etc. can all be upgraded.
Conclusion: If you want a semi-auto pistol and are willing to pay this much, it's not a bad product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brian dyas Monday, December 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: sp-1 98c stock adaptor, carr stock, clamping feed neck, halo loader, virtue board, tech t upgrade bolt, c-series stiffi barrel with apex adaptor,apex head, cp regulator,custom paint job
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel !
Strengths: Lightweight, easy to use
Weaknesses: Finicky on paint, accesory rail design
Review: I cant believe that I bought another Tippmann. I have a Kingman training pistol, which I love. But haha, my wife loved it more and took it away from me! So, in revenge, I bought the tpx (haha that will teach her). The first thing that I noticed is how lightweight this pistol is. Its all composite, so yeah duh, it is very light. I've heard that it is sensitive to paint, but arent many Tippmannns? So ok, no big deal there really. The case it comes in is nice, and there is room for extra mags, which is something you will want to get right off the bat.It comes with everything you need to get started, so no problems there. Tippmannn has always been good about well diagramed instructions, so you shouldnt have a problem figuring out how to clean and lube this marker. What did surprise me is the location of the accessory rail. If there is NO moving slide on top, why mount the rail under the pistol? Makes using a scope kinda wierd. When I took it to my local field, it was a no show day, and a bit cold. So the field owner and I screwed around with the tpx, and we had NO problems working this pistol, even at a quick rate of fire, even with the cold. Bravo, Tippmann, you have impressed me! If you are only planning on using this for short/medium range, the stock barrel is just fine for that. Anything more,get the hammerhead barrel.It is accurate, but a little on the loud side for my tastes so if you like playing a stealth game, good luck with that. It has a distinct sound signature, so not the best for you snipers out there.But other than that, this is the PERFECT field backup to your regular marker. As the other reviews mention, ease of use is paramount. Loading co2 is a breeze, and the spring fed mag pops out nicely. I doubt you would have any trouble with this marker, it is a good investment
Conclusion: I would suggest this marker to anyone who is interested in buying a pistol, as it is easy to use,maintain, and a hoot to play with! I have to admit, it is better than my kingman
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Loki33 Saturday, November 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None. This was my first pistol
Marker Setup: Stock TPX. No mods.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trade it in for something that works
Strengths: Balanced
Smooth Trigger pull
Weaknesses: Jams
Air Leaks
Tear down and rebuild is difficult
Review: I purchased the TPX to use as a backup to my X7. Thought it would be handy to have a small weapon for use in CQB situations plus it adds to the milsim look. I have always been happy with the quality and functionality of Tippmann products. The TPX changed that opinion forever. I have never been able to take it out on the field due to several issues.

1. Constant jams in the chamber and the clip. I have tried using several different types of paint. From soft shell to hard shell paint. Hard shell works best, but still jams.
2. Air leak. I have yet to resolve this air leak. Cannot find any busted o-rings or lose fittings. Being this is my first pistol it could quite be my fault, but have never had any issues with my X7 so am not sure at this time.
3.Poor customer service from Tippmann. I was very shocked at their lack of caring to help me resolve my issues. When the jams occurred I was just told to try another type of paint. When I stated that I had tried 4 different brands I received no other response. I really hate dealing with poor customer service. So far I have not gone to them for the air leak, but will be doing so soon.

I do have to admit that the look and feel of the marker is wonderful. Feels about as close to a real pistol as I have seen. Problem is that now it's nothing more than an expensive paperweight. I wish I would have waited a year or so until all the kinks had been taken care of.
Conclusion: If you must have a TPX I suggest two things.
1. Wait for the next generation to come out.
2. Buy one for super cheap on E-bay because I'm sure people are going to unload these by the truckload.

I am in the process of getting a Tiberius 8.1 players pack for an amazing price. Have a friend who is sponsored by them and is getting my team a sweet deal. The Tib is a bit larger in the grip, but I know they work. See them on our fields every weekend.

In my opinion stay away from the TPX. It's not worth the headache and uncertainty.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JOEY243 Friday, October 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Tippmann X7, 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Stock TPX
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hammerhead barrel
Strengths: Kinda accurate (depending on paint)
Weaknesses: Squeaks,Chops,Jams,hard to unscrew Co2 cap
Review: You must use very hard shell paint, or use this gun when it gets cold out. If you leave the paint in the clip too long, it will deform. If the paint dosent have good paint in it, it will probably chop or just not load. The gun is very good when it is working but besides that, this gun is good for cold climates.
Conclusion: If you get this gun,I would say to change out the barrel to the Hammerhead and buy good hard shelled paint.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GOARMY Saturday, October 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippamnn x7, us army alphablack tatical, us army project salvo, bt-4 assult,
Marker Setup: i use the TPX w/ light or laser.
Recommended
Upgrades:
get the hoslter
get a second magizine
Strengths: Accuarcy
Fast rate of fire
Weaknesses: Breaks paint alot
Gets jamed
Review: this is AWESOME PSITOL!!!! it is relieable and good. i personily have hit people from 100ft or more. the gun is very consistent as far as accuracy and you can put shot after shot on target. it's only draw backs are that i dont know if it's just my pistol but the only draw back is that it breaks paint alot inside the gun and there really isn't anyway to clean it. and the only other draw back is that the speed ajustment value is really touchy so if you even trun it a little it makes a funny sound and starts to break paint every 20 balls. but if you dont touch the speed seting you really dont have to worry.
Conclusion: Great gun. Tricky to get use to at frist but overall one of the best if not the best paintball pistol's out there today.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SLO Tuesday, October 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Overlord- which also is a great gun
-less moving parts
-accurate

cons-
-heavy
-its a bigger handgun
-sight rail catches holster on quick draw
Marker Setup: -TPX w/ Hammerhead Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Hammerhead barrel
-Dont know about the rest yet,
I assume the springs would be a nice upgrade
Strengths: Look in Review body
Weaknesses: Co2 cap freezes
This is the ONLY TRUE problem

SEE REVIEW BODY
Review: -Accurate
-Paintball view window is great
-Light weight
-Co2 in the barrel
-Handle fed clip
-Looks great
-Feels great
-Easy take apartand put back together(inbetween games)



I love this gun
-The problems i listed are NOT problems with the gun with the exception of the Co2 Cap freezing but..., come on, when i play with it im shootin rounds off fast so its expected to have some freezing issues

-I would like to see Tippmann make some sort of insulated Co2 Cap to keep the
pins in the cap from freezing so i can get the cap off when I need to change Co2
in the middle of a fire fight


BULLETS AND BARRELS 101
-THE BULLET SHOULD ALWAYS BE BIGGER THEN THE BARREL ITS
BEING SHOT FROM.
-LOOK IT UP

- For everybody that is having problems with the paintballs breaking,
its cause youre using low end or old paint
- I have the hammerhead barrel,
1.Take your barrel off the gun
2.Drop a paintball down the barrel,
-If the paintball drops all the way through, then the paintball isnt going to work.
-If tthe paintball gets stuck then you have some good paintballs
3. The rifling does no good if the paintball is not a tight fit
-The shot will be wild because the paintball is bouncing around in the barrel


*************HINCE WHY THE PAINTBALLS ARE BREAKING IN THE BARREL**********

- I believe its the same if you have the stock barrel.
********X-Ball paintballs seem to do well****************

- And finally it seems the BIGGEST PROBLEM people are having is the Co2 is not puncturing.
**************PEOPLE PLEASE OIL YOUR GUN**************************************

- The oil lubricates your guns working parts and PUNCTURING PIN

-Its easy drop 2-3 drops of oil on the puncturing pin before you put a Co2 in
-You will need to do this about every 6 clips to keep your
puncturing pin working properly.
-This means you need to carry oil out on the field with you. You
should put the oil in a ziplock bag so it won't leak on you.

-As long as your gun is oiled well you can pop off as many rounds as fast as you
want with NO PROBLEMS.

- The rest of the gun will oil its self as you shoot
************************NOTE********************************
*************

-Dont put any object into the Co2 compartment to get a better puncture,
it has nothing to do with it, Tippmann knows what they are doing , theyre not going to make a mistake that big. Doing this could cause damage to your gun, which could in return HURT YOU. We are dealing with compressed gas, which is nothing you want to get on you. So dont put things in your TPX's Co2 chamber to try and get a better puncture.

AND if your not oiling your main gun then you need to
-Just drop acouple of drops in where you attach your air supply
Conclusion: I hope i helped a few of you out with the problems that youre having with this great gun. If you are haveing problems with your TPX that I didn't help you with then please call Tippmann's tech dept. They've always been very helpful to me.

I love this gun.
The hand gun makes the head shot all that much better.

all of the problems ive had and heard about are human error
oil your gun and get good paint

this gun was everything i was hoping it would be

its fun playin woods ball with nothing but duel TPX's, alot of extra mags, and some grenades.

tpx is a great buy

i honestly give it a 10
See ya on the field
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 6th, 2009 at 2:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mac75 Saturday, September 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tac 8
Marker Setup: tiberius tac 9, t8, tpx,
Recommended
Upgrades:
moree clippsss!!!!
laser sight if you prefer for the bottom rail
Strengths: See body
Weaknesses:
See body
Review: Strengths -

The tippmann tpx pistol has many advantages to it, first off the grip seems to fint in almost anyone's hand nearly perfectly. Off the field i often find that i just want to hold it because it's so comfy. The tpx is a light pistol, but it still packs a punch, it can shoot with reasonable accuracy for a pistol, and it handles GREAT.

Weakness -

The co2 loading system in my tpx has one issue, fresh out of the box it doesnt puncture the co2 cartridge correctly resulting in a verrryy high drop-off rate and very slow air-up. To solve this problem at least temporarily i wadded up some paper from the reciept and stuck it behind the cartridge so it would be pushed further into the gun, my sonution worked perfectly for me except that reloading the co2 takes a few more seconds. ( i believe in newer models they fixed this problem as i have one of the first sever hundred serial numbers).

This weakness is about the ONLY reason i give this product an 8 as opposed to a 10.
Conclusion: The tippmann tpx is the kind of pistol you find always wanting to have with you because of its dexterity and dependability which shine through any shortfalls.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Blister Monday, August 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Warsensor Zeus
Marker Setup: SP-1

Stock TPX
2 Mags
Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a more accurate barrel
Strengths: Compact
Consistent
Well-Balanced
Light and Easy-to-Carry
Weaknesses: Hard on old paint
Time-Limit in magazine
Over-priced
Review: The Good:
I really like the feel of this pistol. Some people have complained that it is front heavy, or that the grip angle isn't right; to me, this pistol feels great. I have had no problems with the balance or the shape of the marker interfering with my ability to accurately use this marker. Also, its light weight and magazine-fed design make it an easy backup to pack around.
Another thing I like about the pistol is that it's consistent in CO2 usage. I've put probably a few hundred rounds through it and I get 22-23 shots each time before I notice a drop from the velocity. When the velocity does drop, I only have to squeeze the trigger real quick a few times to relieve the pressure in order to take the CO2 out.
I also like that it is an enclosed design. I play in Oregon year-round, so alot of times it is wet outside. While this gun is NOT waterproof, I do like the fact that the paintballs aren't directly exposed to the elements until they leave the barrel.
Lastly, I really like how the squeegee fits right up through the handle and out the barrel to clean a broken ball. As long as the break is above the magazine, this is a quick process.

BAD:
When I first tried this pistol out, I was breaking at least 1 ball per magazine, which was frustrating. However, I was shooting cheap old paint and once I switched to better ammo, I broke far less balls. This is not a pistol to skimp on the paint with as it seems to be rather rough on the cheap and old stuff.
Another thing I found out the hard way was to not leave the paintballs in the magazine for very long. The last big game I went to, I didn't use my pistol for the first few hours, which meant that they were sitting in the magazine being compressed by the spring that whole time. When I did go to use it, the balls either flew in crazy directions because they were dimpled, or got jammed and broke in the magazine. This was easily remedied by using my pistol more frequently.
Once a ball had broken in the magazine, the pistol required a more thourough cleaning involving taking the whole thing apart due to the location of the break. Lesson learned and easily fixed.
Finally, I think this gun is a bit over-priced for what you get. If you compare this marker and its price to a whole list of other markers and their price, this pistol is not worth the money. BUT, if you really want a pistol and a good backup marker that feels great and functions well, try to grab one of these. After all, most things in paintball are over-priced, not just this marker.

EXTRA:
If you get one of these pistols, take everything apart and lube it up (get out the snap-ring pliers). I did this and have not yet had any problems with my puncture pin or any other internal mechanisms.
Conclusion: If you can get past the price tag and are willing to learn how to overcome some of the little quirks of this pistol, I would definitely recommend this marker; I'm really enjoying mine.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 31st, 2009 at 3:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pr0freestyler Tuesday, August 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months29 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus
Marker Setup: Pistol: TPX pistol, 5 mags, remote line adapter(not on yet), tippmann sniper barrel

Rifle: Tippmann a5, Full freak kit with All American Apex tip, car stock, 3-point-sling, ricochet hopper, a few homemade mods, remote line, Lapco 45 degree offset sight rail with a dye izon sight, green laser attachment, and a HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a barrel, the [OLD] tippmann sniper barrels work amazing, haven't tried the new model yet.

A few extra mags too so you don't have to reload them during a game.

Must use marbalizer or equivalent paint (read below)
Strengths: Small
Lightweight
Easy to Hold
Feels durable
3 Solid Magazines before shots start to drop
Weaknesses: Puncturing sometimes
inaccurate stock barrel
NEED to use hard shell paint
Review: Okay, so I'm gonna try to talk about a lot of issues everyone else seems to have and how to correct them but first a general review.

**Durability 10 out of 10
As with all Tippmann products you can expect the TPX to be just as durable as any of the other markers. The frame is plastic, but I trust that Tippmann used a very durable type.

The magazine aren't as strong a material as the pistol itself but at the same time, those are generally in the gun or in a pouch so I don't see any need to make those out of titanium. Plus they are very inexpensive and if it breaks tippmann is good about replacing parts free of charge. For the games I've used it for which have incorporated a lot of diving and rolling the TPX holds up great.

**Functionality 9 out of 10
The quick turn cap for the c02 is amazing, it is very easy to replace the cartridge when you need to. And the spring loaded magazine eject is amazing. The magazines literally shoots out from the bottom making it very easy to quickly change out mags. Loading the mags is fairly easy. However, you have to make sure that the balls sit offset left then right the entire way up the magazine and the ball at the bottom needs to be at the lowest point in the magazine. If you don't load them properly you may have the balls jam in the magazine causing breaks in the chamber and on the mag itself. I give functionality a 9 out of 10 just because you have to be conscious of how the balls load into the mags.

**Style 10 out of 10
Just look at a picture of the pistol. Enough said.

**Skill building 10 out of 10
This pistol really forces you to work on being a better and more aggressive player. Since you don't have many rounds per mag, you will have to make more runs on people hiding behind cover to get them out and you will have to learn how to conserve your rounds and take only the shots that count. Plus it makes you feel like a hero when you come around a bunker and get all three guys hiding behind it with your pistol.

**Rate of fire: 10 out of 10
As fast as you can pull the trigger (with good paint, [read below])

**Accuracy: 7 out of 10.
You can't expect much from a 6 inch barrel. So for 6 inches I guess its good. I HIGHLY recommend getting an upgraded barrel. However, I have a gut feeling against the tpx hammerhead simply because it is still a very short barrel. I believe you need at least 8 to 12 inches of barrel to get maximum range, but I'm not positive. If you happen to know the exact lengths leave a comment of the length needed. I haven't used the hammerhead though, just a personal thing. And I do understand that it is a pistol, not meant for long ranges, but I've played over 15 games with the pistol and have needed the extra range that I couldn't get with the stock barrel more often than I thought I would.

**Cleaning: 4 out of 10.
Best bet would probably be to stick a squeegee through the grip and pull it out the barrel to make sure nothing gets in the grip, or worse, on the rest of the internals. I'd highly recommend taking it apart if you have a break in the chamber and cleaning it after the game even if you have to sit one out to do it. The reason for this is so that you don't accidentally get some paint on the next magazine. This will cause the balls not to load fully into the chamber then get chopped making your problems worse. If it just breaks in the barrel though, just take it off, clean it, put it back on and you are good to go.

**Upgradeability: Hoping for 10 out of 10
I'm sure Tippmann has a few things coming that are gonna be pretty awesome, hopefully a rifle conversion like the T9.

Fact or Fiction?

*The TPX breaks almost every ball it fires*
-BOTH Fact and Fiction.

It all comes down to paint. One of the cons of this pistol is that you MUST and I repeat MUST use paint with a hard shell in order for the magazines to load the gun properly. Which is evident because almost every negative review you see has to do with balls breaking and jamming. I used to think the same way till I tried a different type of paint. In my experience the best paint was Marbalizer. It has a hard shell and its a smaller ball so it fits better in the magazine with minimal pressure on the other balls. If you want to know WHY you need a harder shell, read on, if not, skip to the next paragraph.

So the purpose to the hard shell is this, when you put the 8 balls in the magazine they press up close against each other and can put dimples on the paintballs. If the balls "dimple" too much, it may cause them to not feed all the way into the chamber before firing. This will cause the bolt to hit just the top half of the ball causing a break. You'll know that this happened if you take out your magazine after a break and there is paint and shell covering the top of the magazine.

Another very important thing to keep in mind is temperature. You MUST keep your spare magazines in a place where they will not heat up too much, and that includes the time between games when you have your equipment sitting on the table. Make sure the extra mags are in the shade. The reason for this is that as the paintballs heat up they become sticky and more malleable (they squish into different shapes easier) So, when the magazine spring engages you don't just get dimples, you get very warped, sticky paintballs. This will stop the ball from loading fully into the chamber and you'll get paint all over the magazine just like before. If for some reason you're still not sure why this happens or what I mean, the next hot day take a few paintballs and put them out in the sun for a few minutes. Then press them together and watch how they stick together. Now imagine that happening inside your magazine; There is no way those balls are going to feed into the chamber sticking like that.

My advice, spend the extra cash and get the marbalizers. If you are using them in just your pistol, 500 rounds will last a long time.


*There are defective internals. ie: the oring on the bolt keeps breaking, the co2 doesnt always puncture, various orings are breaking*
-Fact

It's true, SOMETIMES there are defective parts inside the TPX. However, just call Tppmann and tell them what your problem is, they will send you whatever part needs to be replaced for no charge. I know this first hand. After about 7 years my a-5 finally needed a new linkage arm. I called tippmann and they sent one free of charge. I did the same with a TPX magazine and a few o-rings for the TPX. They are very hospitable at Tippmann and stand behind their products 100% Treat them well on the phone and they'll treat you better.

On some specifics now, the first thing is be honest with yourself. Is there a possibility that you might be putting something in wrong, did you change anything or scrape anything on accident? Even if you did, Tippmann will help you out.

As for the co2 not puncturing, I've experienced this a few times and realized that the reason was because the tank was being punctured off to the side for some reason. To fix this either, try pulling the trigger very hard once (if you can), or take the co2 out and rotate it about 90 degrees, reinsert and try again, or lastly, there is a mod you can do by simply placing a piece of tinfoil or some other material behind the piece that engages the co2. For more detailed instruction on that just google it and you are bound to find it.

I personally haven't experienced the bolt breaking the o-ring, but just make sure that when you put the pistol back together that the oring sits in the pocket made for it on the back of the silver piece where the balls load into. If that doesn't work, call the friendly people at Tippmann and they'll definitely help you out.


Lastly, I want to start a running tally of paint that works great in the TPX so just add a comment when you find one that works great for your TPX and we'll just keep it going.

STRONG RECOMMENDATIONS
-Get a better and longer barrel
-MUST have Marbalizer or equivalently hard shelled paint
-Keep your spare magazines somewhere cool. NOT in your front or back pockets or anything that will keep the magazine close to your own body heat. At least try a cargo pocket if you must. Once those paintballs get too warm you wont be able to use the magazine. Period. I keep mine in a mod I made in my pod pack. So I just wear that with no pods, just the magazines.
-When loading the magazines, make sure that the bottom ball sits as far to the bottom as possible, then each ball after needs to be offset from the previous. So left, right, left, right all the way up or vice versa depending on how you are holding the mag.
Conclusion: If you want the challenge of using a pistol as your main, or want a fun sidearm and have the cash, this pistol is great. I've had a ton of fun with it, especially with the upgraded barrel. My recommendation is get this pistol and a better barrel to go with it, preferably a longer barrel (longer than 8 inches) and MAKE SURE you get marbalizer or equivalent paintballs to use or you won't be happy. I give the TPX a 9 out of 10 because an upgraded barrel and marbalizer or equivalent paint are a must. Other than that, I love using this pistol.

And one more thing, if you disagree with something in this review, don't dispute it, just leave a comment on what needs to be fixed and I'll fix it. Thanks and I hope this helped you guys. If anyone wants me to add anything just comment and I'll do my best.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 12th, 2009 at 4:56 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

SplitFinger Monday, July 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman C98, A5, X7
Delta 68
Marker Setup: Tippman TPX Pistol W/ undermount laser sight & Python barrel system
Recommended
Upgrades:
some kind of barrel system (Python Kit)
undermount laser sight
holster
Strengths: Lightweight
Looks sexy as hell!
Weaknesses: Breaks paint
Doesn't puncture CO2 well
Loud
Review: I've had this pistol for coming close to a month now and have mixed feelings about it after playing a few games with it.

The Good :

This things looks like something out of a dream, in other words, simply gorgeous. Feels great in your hand even if it's a little top-heavy. The quick reloading is definately great too.

The Bad :

Out of the box the marker wouldn't pierce the CO2 cartridges well (if at all) which led to weaker shots, the marker making a farting noise when fired and a long recharge rate. This problem was easily fixed by stuffing a little paper towel in the cap covering the piercing pin. After fixing that problem, I was faced with the problem of breaking paint. About 90% of the time, my first shot wouldn't even fire, it would just break, and even worse most of the time it would break right in the clip, jamming it up badly. If it didn't break in the clip, it would break in the barrel, making it so inaccurate that you'd be lucky to hit water while falling out of a boat. In fact, I have yet to fire off a full clip without a single break and I have no idea what I can do at this point to fix it and I've tried nearly everything. My last conclusion is that maybe CO2 simply shoots too hard and maybe using HPA with the remote line would fix the problem, but that's just a theory and I don't have the money to test it.


I've used pretty much every single kind of paint I can find, and none of it wants to shoot without breaking and I've almost reached the end of my rope. I'd dearly love to find a solution to this breaking problem
Conclusion: Considering that I have yet to fire a full clip of unbroken paint through this thing, I can't really say whether it's good or not. It's got the makings of a great pistol, but until these issues are resolved, I'll be sticking with my Delta .68 (Which has never given me problems and can shoot a quarter off your head at 100 ft, consistently)
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 24th, 2009 at 3:47 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media