paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX

Tippmann TPX Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann TPX

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann TPX
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $230

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new TPX™ .68 Caliber Paintball Pistol boasts an innovative, compact design, specially engineered to be lightweight, easy to maintain, customizable, and best of all, dependable. Check out more exciting features below, or click on the pistol features above and watch for the official launch planned in mid-April.

• Metal Trigger Punctures C02 On First Pull
• 2 Self-Locking 8-Ball Magazine Clips
• Quick Release Magazine Feed System
• Under Barrel 12 Gram C02 Air System
• Easy To Load 1/4 Turn C02 Cap
• External Velocity Adjuster
• Internal Regulator
• Ability to Add Remote Line
• Ergonomically Designed Grip
• Covered Ammo Windows
• Removable Barrel with X7 Threads
• Maintenance kit is included
• Deluxe carrying case is included
Product Availability 
The Tippmann TPX is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
gumby13 Friday, June 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
core zx pistol
Marker Setup: tippmann pro-carbine
after-market barrel
two tpx pistols with custom holsters
Recommended
Upgrades:
more mags !
longer barrel
Strengths: Doesn't leak
Mags are easily changed
Good warranty
Weaknesses: chopping !
its big
Its a bit pricy
Review: Hello ,

I found out about this gun in march , I placed a pre-order and waited . when I got the gun it came in its own case with two magazines . I tested it out and it worked just fine .
the fact that it doesn't puncture the CO2 cartridge right away was a big bonus for me , for it would cut down many leaks. And the number of rounds you can put down range with one co2 cartridge is about 19-20
Now the first time I played a game with it , it worked perfect ! i was running with it in one hand and my carbine in the other . the next game I put old paint in the magazines .
this was a major mistake ! The first shot the gun jammed , not just chopped but jammed ! I was dismayed .could I have made a mistake in buying this gun ?
when I got home I took the gun apart , it was amazingly simple to clean too . the firing chamber comes right out !
the next day I tried the same old paint and was rewarded with more chops and jams.
I then formed a hypothesis . I went to the store and bought some new paint .
When I tested it this time , there were no chops or jams . the next game it worked perfectly ! The only other problem is the amo cap. of the mags . eight rounds , nine if you put one in the chamber , but its only one shot down from the norm of ten shots.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this for a good secondary weapon . It won't fail if you give it what it needs . just be sure to get more mags for it because 16 extra rounds in a fire fight is not going to get you many kills .
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 12th, 2009 at 9:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KemperC Thursday, June 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
most other tippmann guns
Strengths: Operates like a real hand gun.
Weaknesses: Very paint picky. Viewing window top of gun. Must fire off remaining CO2 to remove
Review: this is a review i did not want to be writing. I was so excited to get the new TPX pistol. My brother and I both have one and both of our guns chop paint like crazy. I'm not giving up on it yet but its pissed me off enough now that I'm writing a bad review. I've had to take it completely apart 4 times to clean the paint out just in the last 2 days. I've fired off 1 clip without a break but every single other clip it chops paint. I've messed with the velocity and tried 2 types of paint, both of which never chopped in either of our A5's or 98's. I will keep trying, get different paint etc. and will take it to the local field on the 20th for the next scenario game and see what others think. Everything about the gun is awesome, except the part about breaking paint but if this is how it performs it isn't worth 2 cents. The gun is a 10 if I can get it to stop chopping paint every clip but if not than its a zero. Hopefully someone disagrees with this review and has some advice but my brother's gun is doing the same thing.

Edited addition: Ok after alot more testing it has chopped less and less balls. I had been adjusting the velocity before I wrote the 1st review and I don't think that was the issue. I think the gun is just very picky about its paint. Does anyone know what paint tippmann used in the testing? I will try and find out that info and post when I do. When you load the clips the paint looks a bit mashed in there. Also I feel the viewing window on the top of the gun is a weakness.(not talking about the windows on the grip, just the 1 on the top) Its a very small piece of plastic easily could be lost when disassembling the gun. I just think the cons outweigh the usefullness of it. The location of the ball detent is a little difficult to keep in place while putting the gun back together and it seems like it can slide forward or backward just a few milimeters, I don't know if this affects the choppping but I would think if the detent isn't holding the ball in the exact spot it needs to be it could easily be broken. You must fire off the remainder of the CO2 in order to remove the canister, I wish there was another method. Other than those things its a sweet gun and I can't wait to test it in the game this weekend. let you know how it goes.
Conclusion: Its a sweet design, operates really nice and everything but if you're actually trying to shoot paint outa it then it fails horribly. I HOPE I am wrong and will be following up this review with a change b/c I love the gun and the way it works like a real handgun, its what I've been waiting for but its gotta stop chopping paint every clip i load. The gun is a 10 if I can get it to stop chopping paint every clip but if not than its a zero
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 15th, 2009 at 11:55 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Delux247 Wednesday, June 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac 8
Overlord
PT Enforcer
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom

Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: Light
Comes with two mags
Grip fits hand a little better than other pistols
Weaknesses: Hard to take C02 out
Cleaning
Mags
Review: One of my buddies bought this pistol as soon as they came out. At first glance they look very nice. I like the look and the weight of the pistol. I am usually more of a fan of metal paintball markers, but for a side arms I don't mind. The TPX is as accurate as any other pistol I have used. These are made for close-range shooting, so as long as you shoot up close you'll hit whatever you aim at. This comes with two mags which is awesome, however, they aren't metal so you need to be careful with them while playing. If you drop one on the ground make sure you don't accidentally step on it, they look like they might break easy. I watched a review on you tube about these guns and I heard that the mags don't release balls if you remove the mag with paint still in the mag. If you don't shoot any paintballs the mag comes out with paint intact, but say if you shoot a couple of rounds and then you want to take the mag out, be prepared for a couple of balls to drop out. Having the C02 in the front of the gun does make the grip more comfortable, I like this, but it is a pain to take the C02 out of the gun. You have to shoot ALL the C02 out before you can easily replace a new cartridge. Sometimes my buddy had to shoot the pistol until there was no more pressure left, then wait for 5 seconds, and shoot again because there's still pressure inside the pistol building up inside. It's time consuming, especially while playing in a game or during a battle. If you are a player that plays with C02's a lot with your markers, you know that it's wise to replace the C02 after 25 shots or so because anything after that the FPS will begin to drop. So if you try to replace the C02 on this pistol early be prepared to fight with it. If you break a ball inside be prepared strip the gun apart to clean it out all the way. The barrel doesn't take very long to clean (unscrew the barrel), but if you are like me and take great care of your gear and clean everything inside and out, you'll be cleaning for awhile.
Conclusion: Cool pistol. It has it's pluses and minuses. If you were to compare all the pistols and choose which one is the best, it all depends on the user. All of the older pistols work fine, but they aren't mag fed. The TPX and Tac 8 are the best overall, but they both have issues. Do your research and find out which issues you don't mind on both pistols. I give this rating an 8 mostly because of the C02 replacement issues. All of the other issues to this pistol would give it a 9, but the C02 issue tops it off. Perhaps all of your TPX's have no issues with replacing the C02's, good for you, but for me being a player that uses C02's all the time with my pump it's a big deal.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 15th, 2009 at 9:20 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

TerribleTom Monday, June 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RAP4 - Walther P99 Replica .43 caliber
Marker Setup: Primary Marker: Tippmann 98 Custom, Pro Team Commando F/X kit (14 inch barrel, adjustable stock), Dark Horizon Titanium Lite Hammer, custom trigger sear spring, Cyclone Feed hopper, BossMan M16 mag kit - I've never had a ball chop in my Tippy.
Strengths: Well built, easy to use, adjustable velocity, light weight, .68 cal ammunition, MADE IN USA!
Weaknesses: So far, only noticed that its slightly nose (tip) heavy, due to 12g chamber
Review: After my lousy experience with the RAP P99 .43 pistol, I was very leery of buying another pistol of any brand. The desire still lingered however and when I saw the TPX reveal - I knew I had to give it a try. I've had nothing but great experiences with my Tippys in the past and had confidence they would make a great pistol.

After waiting for the preorders to fill, my TPX arrived today (6/1/09). Easy load, easy gas-up with the 12 grams, easy operation. I had not even fired a round and I was impressed.

I set up a paper target in front of a sheet of plywood in my garage. At about 35 feet, one round at a time, while aiming careful...it was very accurate. I watched at least two rounds go through holes made in the paper target from the proceeding round. Granted you could call that luck, but I was attempting to aim as accurate as possible, not rapid fire.

Under rapid fire use, the grouping at 35 feet is excellent. I plan to do more in depth testing this coming weekend, at targets greater than 35 feet. But I already suspect that the results will be good. I will post updates as I test it in greater depth. Keep in mind however, that a pistol will never have the range and accuracy of a well set up traditional marker. Simple physics (length of barrel) will determine that. Don't take a pistol, compare its accuracy to that of a traditional marker, and expect them both to perform the same.

Using cheap Walmart Copperhead 12 grams, I was able to consistently empty three clips. The fourth clip would get off anywhere from 2-5 more rounds before giving out. I had hoped for a little better performance than that. But I'm not giving the TPX any poor marks for it.

The TPX has a pressure valve designed to bleed off any excess pressure. I noticed that the marker did just that. Its good to know it does what its designed to. Pressure spikes can damage internals and cause chopping. Kudos to Tippmann for that thoughtful feature. I did notice velocity changes when firing rapid VS slower one-at-a-time. After a three shot burst, velocity dropped. I waited a moment for the liquid CO2 to warm up and expand, and velocity was back up again. Nothing new to most users of CO2.

I doubt paint quality will make all THAT much difference in accuracy, simply because it IS a pistol. But always recommend a good paint if only to reduce the chance of chopping.

Conclusion: I am VERY glad I bought it, can't wait to try it in woodsball scenario play! I highly recommend this marker. It is cheaper in cost than some of its competition, but not in its quality and performance. The TPX is better served as a back up marker, or for those who prefer to move light and stealthy and go for the one shot kill method. I feel confidant that I could use the TPX as my primary marker in a game and perform quite well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 12th, 2009 at 6:05 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

jake357 Monday, June 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost every other paintball pistol made......
Marker Setup: everything was stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing for the actual gun except a hammerhead. a holster would work nice too.
Strengths: Accuracy, air efficient! (4 clips, 1 cartridge!) very little kick, comfortable grip and awesome look!
Weaknesses: Havent found a single weakness yet.
Review: the first thing i have to say is W00T!!! my friend was lucky enough to buy the only tpx that they had in stock at the bunker paintball course near where we live (lucky...... *grumble*) he has let me use this gun several times and I love this pistol! i have used so many paintball pistols and none ( and i mean NONE) can compare to this one! this one even makes the Tiberius T-8 look like junk.... sorry for all the Tiberius fans out there.... I used to be one too till this gun came out..... lol. All i really have to say about this gun is that it is AMAZING. I love it. thats all there is to it.
Conclusion: Worth the money, no doubt! Deserves an 11!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

merkh Friday, May 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: TPX stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Lays ropes.
Light
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Can't really use imperfect paint
Review: Its just an awesome gun. Its that simple. It's light, comes with an extra clip and has a carrying case as well. You know it will be reliable because it's a tippmann! I'm considering selling my other markers and just buying a second pistol and running around with duel pistols.
Conclusion: If you have the money, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psycosocial pbc Friday, May 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ariakon overlord
Marker Setup: alpha blk all upgrades i have the e grip also the cyclone with tech t vortex and rufuss paddles red!!! also have for the marker rufus dawg bolt with a new designz lightweight hammer.
and just got it yesterday THE NEW TIPPMANN TPX stock
Strengths: Light even when loaded
Weaknesses: None
Review: Tpx let me tell u i had the overlord for a while it was a good side arm when i need it, now i have the tpx and let me tell u this thing is sweetttt. key features like everyone knows by now is the mags light compact and easy to put anywhere u like the only thing that worrys me is the the top ball might break but if u got the holster no sweat haven't shoot it on the field but shoot it at home this thing is pretty accurate even with the stock barrel and easy to switch out with a a-5 barrel or x-7 barrel thing all around is sweet.
Conclusion: Light easy to conceal and great back up gun with alot of upgrades
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ziie Saturday, April 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested64 of 67 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac-8
Marker Setup: Right out of the box TPX
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hammerhead Barrel
Strengths: Extremely Light
Easy to hold
Dead Accurate
Easy to reload both Mags and 12grams
Weaknesses: Needs good paint (if you call that a weakness)
kinda loud
Review: -First a side story-
While playing paintball at my local field, my SP-8 stopped working during a game. I called up at the pro-shop and asked if they would take a look at it. Turns out the board was fried but the owner asked if i wanted to play for the rest of the day. He pulled out the TPX and said "we just got this in yesterday and we need someone to field test it.. you want to?" Needless to say, i said yes.

So, for the rest of the day i main'd the TPX with only two mags but i couldnt have been happier. The pistol is extremely well made and dead accurate. I had a blast using it in both 'city ball' and woods ball.

Strengths

The main thing i was worried about with the TPX was how accurate was it going to be. I was impressed. The first mag I put in it didnt have the greatest of paint in it but the first three shots were right on top of each other. However, you need good paint to put in it to keep it consistent. If you have good paint, where ever you aim, the paint is going straight there.

The magazines are easy to load and release from the marker. When you push the mag release, the magazine pops out just like the Tac-8 and your ready to pop another one in. Nice and Quick. The magazine itself doesnt feel flimsy or could break easy. They're not as solid as the pistol, but i had no worries that they were going to break if i dropped them.

You can get about 25-30 shots off one 12gram Co2, depending on the velocity. I was having no problems putting three mags through before changing the Co2. Changing the Co2 isnt hard or time consuming at all. The 1/4 screw is easy to do, just push down on the cap and twist and it pops off and then you pull the 12gram out, pop another one in, put the cap back on and ready to go. The first trigger pull punctures the Co2 (which you can actually kinda feel it do) and the next pull you sending paint down the field. Beautiful system. Quick and Easy to do.

One of the cool features of this gun that i used a lot more than i thought i would was the little "ammo windows". There are three on the side and one on top. I used the top one most often because i only fire one ball at a time usually. It was just really helpful just to look down and see a ball in the chamber.

The pistol itself is a well made and solid peace of engineering. I was impressed with it. From just holding it to using it in the field it felt and performed great. After the first game i felt like i knew the gun back and forth and have been playing with it for months. I was automatically popping on the safety after the game was over, loading the mags, and putting new 12grams in. Just a well made gun overall.

The case is nice too. Just like the Tac-8's, it is a hard plastic black case with padding in it. Basic maintenance tools, extra mag, and instruction booklet.


Weaknesses

If you want nice consistently accurate shots, you need good paint in this marker. The first magazine had decent paint in it but was 'winging' paint every other shot. The second magazine had a lot better paint in it and all 8 shots were right on top of each other. This may or may not be a weakness but you need good paint.

The pistol is a LOT louder than i expected. Its not much louder than a Tac-8 but you can easily tell the difference. Im not for sure if the hammerhead barrel will make any difference, but when i get mine, ill come edit this and give you an update.

---

To finish up my story. At the end of the day, I brought it back and and pre-ordered one with 4 extra mags and the hammerhead barrel.
Conclusion: This is a Great paintball pistol. All my worries about this marker have vanished and cant wait to get mine when the pro-shop gets them in. If you want a great pistol to main or have a really good side arm. The TPX is for you. Its extremely well crafted and dead accurate pistol.

Im giving it a 9(.3) because no marker is perfect so i wont give it a 10 but its close. I knocked off a tad bit because of how loud it was. Everything else about this marker is solid. From how accurate it is to how well it was crafted. I am extremely impressed with this marker and it has surpassed my expectations. If you are wanting a pistol, the TPX is one of the top paintball pistols out (or coming out) right now. You wont be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media