paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick

ACI Maverick Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI Maverick

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI Maverick
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 108
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It incorporates the patented Tru-Flow™ valve which improves durability and gas efficiency. It features a steel reinforced trigger, an anti-double cocking and double feeding device, factory auto trigger, slotted field strip screws, 12" interchangeable precision honed barrel and a full one-year warranty.
Product Availability 
The ACI Maverick is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
pulseXX Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI phantom.
ACI Hornet.
Marker Setup: Stock Aci Maverick.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrell.
Or bottomline if you wish.
Strengths: Loud.
Accurate.
Auto trigger.
Closed bolt.
Weaknesses: Comes with 2 springs one is a pointless weak Spring used for about 150FPS.
Review: If your looking for a pump i would get this its cheap and preforms the same as all other pumps all you pay for is the name(cough Phantom cough) get it u will be surprised. this gun is slick looking and the pump stock is about a inch a little more then the width of a paintball and this gun is Closed bolt.................Accuracy is good!
Conclusion: amazing pump for the price i think you should get this before you think about a 300$ pump this one cost me 68 U.S.D$$ // 100 C.D.N$$
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dlitz Sunday, February 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Testing of a Phantom, Sniper 2
-Sheridan PGP 2002
Marker Setup: -ACI Maverick
-PMI Pure Energy Regulator with bottomline set-up
-Allen Paintball Products .45 grip
-Dye Stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
-All of the above I've added. Though the .45 grip isn't in production anymore, there are other solutions like adding a raised sight, or purchasing other kits made for it if you can find them. Raised sight best solution anymore though.
Strengths: -Very Accurate
-Cheap
-Durable
-Simple internals
-Anti double-feed
-Character!
Weaknesses: -Parts increasingly hard to find
-Loud
-Back bottle gets in the way
Review: I bought this gun a few years ago on a whim when a friend of mine purchased his Sniper 2. While it has been a bit of a pain to get the gun put together, I am relatively satisfied with my purchase even still.

First, the bad, because they're not going to kill my review for this gun at all. If anything, they all can be worked around or just simply ignored.

The ACI Maverick is no longer in production, so if you find and buy one, you might have a little trouble finding parts for it. I've spent the past few weeks trying to find things and have had relative success, but it is an out-of-production gun so parts are simultaineously out of production.

This is also a very loud gun. Any sense of trying to be stealthy is very hard to entertain, as this thing sounds like a slightly quieter shotgun whenever you shoot it. However, if you're playing a lot of semi players, half the time they're not listening for a single shot but a series of shots, so you're not at that much of a disadvantage if you miss.

This gun has its air attached in a simular manner to a Phantom, as if it were made to be played stock with a 12g adapter. If you use a bottle that is larger than 4oz, you're going to have a lot of trouble seeing and, specifically, aiming. I recommend trying to get a bottomline set up, if possible at all, or getting one of those raised sights you see on some markers that make them look all like sniper guns or something. It may look dumb, but it will save your aim. Regulators can be attached to the back there if you can find a grip to put your bottom-line into. Or, buy a 4oz, which are readily available still if you can find a good online store that sells them. Or, play stock, I guess.

Didn't mention this in the weaknesses either, but the screws that keep the pump handle on have a tendency to come loose. Tighten them after EVERY game! With the increasing difficulty of finding parts, you seriously don't want to lose one of these things. Not hard to hold onto though if you remember that.

Now, the good.

The stock barrel, though incredibly loud, is at the same time extremely accurate with the right paint in it. So, finding a new barrel isn't entirely necessary unless you're looking for a genuinely quiet shot. At the same time, the stock barrel is VERY small, so buying paint that is too large will cause an incredible number of breaks in the gun. The only paint I have found so far that will fit it is Diablo paint, and that rolls right through. I don't have a barrel size yet on the stock barrel, but when I do I'll post it here. Irreguardless, if you can find the right paint for this barrel, don't switch it because it will shoot straight and true almost every time. I used an Armson Pro Series barrel for a while until I tried the stock again today, and I would honestly say this is almost as accurate as a Phantom or simular quality gun with the stock barrel. It is stunning what a $60 gun can get you in terms of accuracy.

I bought this gun a few years ago for, as said before, it was only about $60. For a Phantom-quality shot, that's nothing less than freaking awsome. Today it may be more expensive as it gets rarer, or maybe the opposite, but it is an excellent gun for the money.

It is also rather durable and is made simply. Though the bolt is exposed, which can allow stuff to get into it, it shoots very simply and only has about four parts in it. Hammer, bolt, air feed, spring. These simple internals make finding any sort of problems very easy and simultaineously very easy to diagnose. The bolt, which has a hole for the incredibly large allen wrench they made for the gun, is used to up and reduce velocity. Two springs are given to you, one which is a lighter stroke and one which is heavier, and though they both have their qualities, the heavy spring is probably the only one worth using to get the velocity you probably want. I believe this sort of gun is called a Nielson clone, the Neilson being what a Phantom is.

A nice addition is the anti double feed which keeps you from putting two rounds in the barrel at once in case you forgot you had pumped. I find this a handy addition, but not vital, and it is not something you find on Phantoms or Sniper 2's.

Finally, this gun has character. An excellent shooting little gun like this will give you both kudos for playing pump and garner you respect from even the more knowledgable pump veterans because you use something other than the common (common for pumps, anyway) Phantom or Sniper 2. Upgrading a gun naturally gives it a bit more character than you'd get stock, but even stock you'll be shooting great.
Conclusion: I don't like giving guns high numbers, because they all have their flaws, and the Maverick is no different. Irreguardless, between the price, the accuracy, and the notoriety, it's an excellent gun for a new pump player or a veteran looking for an excellent marker or a fill-in for a Phantom. Just make sure you get the right paint!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 11th, 2005 at 6:43 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MaverickSniper Saturday, January 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: ACI maverick Co2 (Getting Armson stealth barrel) selling Spyder Xtra
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel,thats about it
Strengths: Light Cheap
Weaknesses: Barrel
Review: Its a nice pump to get , its afordable , accurate,but your better off getting a new barrel for it. Make sure you know how to ajust the volocity on the gun. You have to un screw the barrel and stick a allen wrench down it. All together its a good gun.I never had a ball brake , one got jammed.
Conclusion: Go buy the gun its great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pori9392 Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Sterling Bronze
Marker Setup: Sterling bronze, want an upgrade to semi.
Strengths: Very accurate, very intimidating, due to the noise.
Weaknesses: Very loud, sometimes chops if used in a frenzy.
Review: I have not done much paintball, I am strating to get into it, this is a very good gun for beginners. And you could easily take out a semi with it. Easy to strip and maintain, the sound it makes is amazing, it will scare the crap out of most players. I recomend this to all players, its the best pump I have used.
Conclusion: The only I can say is, you wont be disapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

superd Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trracer, Phantom
Marker Setup: WGP BOSS Xraider, nothin special
Recommended
Upgrades:
A different barrel, and a remote, and maybe a stock for those that prefer it.
Strengths: -Light
-Accurate
-Durable
-fun to use.
Weaknesses: -Loud
-barrel is innefective
- Air fitting is awkward
Review: For the most part i liked this gun. There was nothing wrong performance wise except for the barrel is prone to break balls. The other thing with the stock barrel i found is that there are not a lot of other barrels that will thread right into the gun, so finding a replacement can be tricky. The other annoyance is the part where you attach your tank, its angled at a point so that anything bigger than a skinny 9oz, will effectivly limit how you aim this gun. I had to use a remote to rid of this problem. Otherwise, i found this gun to be very accurate, and the rear sight rail is an effective tool to aim this gun.
Conclusion: I reccomend this to players who have been playing for a while, and are looking for an inexpensive pump for whatever their reason may be. For a new player, it may be a bit of a pain in the neck to overcome its shortfalls without buying some upgrades.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pnda_express Sunday, October 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
All pump basically.
Marker Setup: 2004 bko with j&j, egg II, cp drop, cp on/off, dye stickies, bulldog hpa, superfly, bob long torpedo.

98 rainmaker with dye stickies and a j&j and 12vlt revolution.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barreel with smaller bore.
Strengths: Smoothest pump ever, light, cheap, accurate.
Weaknesses: Barrel bore!!!
Review: When i got it i put some paint in and shot. Nothing. The paint went about 7 ft and then fell going 20 fps. So i tried all different paint i had, even some big bore. Not even the biggest bore i had worked. So if ound out that you need to get a really really big paint. Stiff like afterburner and that crap. They even put a note in the box that it comes in talking about this problem. You deffinetly need a smaller bore barrel. You have to otherwise leave the paint in humid air to swell a little.
When the gun shoots with a big bore, its perfect. It goes just as far as any other gun, just as accurate, and prettty fast. I can probably get 4 bps with the auto trigger. The pump stroke is so light its not even funny. No too light to where you cant pump well but just right. Doesn't chop much either. I shot a case and never had one.
Conclusion: If you can get a good bore paint or a new barrel, your good to go. GEtT SOME GOOD PAINT OR A NEW BARREL.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lucien762 Sunday, September 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a spyder compact,tipman 98 custom, sheradin, pirahna, talon,stingray,stingray 2, saber .. i think thats all
Marker Setup: I use a ACI-maverick with absolutly no modifications
Recommended
Upgrades:
i recomend a red dot sight and maybe a litle bit longer of a barel if your REALY into sniping but its a great gun for all around playing and sniping just how it is
Strengths: This gun is an awesome sniper gun but also great field use.
Weaknesses: I cant realy find anything wrong with this gun .
Review: I use a ACI-maverick with absolutly no modifications.i recomend a red dot sight and maybe a litle bit longer of a barel if your REALY into sniping but its a great gun for all around playing and sniping just how it is. this gun is an awsome sniper gun but its also great for just runing around the field. i cant realy find anything wrong with this gun . the only thjng i would change would be the triger. i would like a double triger so i could shoot with 2 fingers
Conclusion: This gun is realy a great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crashtestdumme Wednesday, August 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI phantom
Marker Setup: 1. Adrenalin Impulse, shockteck superfly bolt, eclipse titanium hammer, smart parts max-flo 68 4500, smartparts low pressure chamber, adrenalin magnetic trigger, cricket board and vision eye, stainless steel freak kit, Halo B
2. CCI Phantom, CCI stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock or buttplate for co2
Strengths: durability, accuaracy, Value, and good training tool
Weaknesses: Not as accurate as a phantom, open bolt allows dirt/debris to get inside.
Review: First of all, this gun is a PMI trracer with a different name, but thats a good thing as the pmi trracer is a great gun. This gun is somewhat accurate and better than most semi autos because of the closed bolt design. However the barrel could be a little better ( I probably am spoiled cause the phantoms stock barrel is the best stock barrel ever made). The biggest and best asset of this gun is accuaracy training. It makes you re-aim every shot which military groups call sight acuisition. The more you play with it the faster this becomes and the less balls you need to tag an opponent. In this regard the maveric is better than most semis at developing players.
Conclusion: I'm giving this gun a nine out of ten. The phantom is a better gun in every sense, (there handmade what more do you want) And if there is a gun better than another one it should get a lower rating. Good gun, very solid.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tabby Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: just a stock maverick
Recommended
Upgrades:
none that i can think of, i would recommend using a remote line to get the tank out of the way and gain view of the sights
Strengths: Accurate as all hell
light
sights are right on
easy to take apart and reassemble
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Well, after paintballing a few times with a stingray i decided it was time to upgrade. i decided i was gonna go pump supposing that i'd save paint and air. right out of the box, this marker is dead accurate, i was hitting hockey pucks at 20-30 yards away. the first times i used it was in the winter, so obviously it broke a few balls here and there. and once you break a ball, you can kiss your ass goodbye. it will either continue to break balls over and over or the balls with swerve like a corkscrew. i usually unscrew the barrel and am forced to squeegee it out to gain some of your accuracy back. of if i don't have time, i'll try turning the gun upside down and dry firing a few, but you really can't aim until you clean out the barrel good with some water. also, the first time i used this marker in a game, i lost one of the pump arm screws and am currently using a regular old stainless steel bolt that happens to fit. you can actually spit out paint at a good speed considering it's a pump action marker.
Conclusion: I've had excellent tiems with it, and terrible times, i'd strongly suggest it if your the guy who likes to make his shots count. it'd dead accurate. and for 80 bucks, how can you go wrong?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

weltedone Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon (if you could say that)
Marker Setup: PMI Black Maxx Stock
ACI Maverick / Trracer Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a ported barrel.......maybe
Strengths: Accurate
Great on Gas
Easy to break down
Light
Weaknesses: Its a pump
Review: Once my brass eagle was finally about dead, I decided to buy a new gun. I bought this gun used for one game and a 9oz tank for 70 bucks. I mainly used this gun for sniper purposes, the most accurate gun I have ever used. My friends still comment on how accurate this gun is. I had a little trouble with the side screws (one eventually fell off so I retired it instead of paying 20+ for a screw with S&H). The gun is a little loud but it gives off no smoke, in the hills the sound doesnt matter much. You also have to get a feel for the screws because overtightening one will make the gun almost impossible to cock./shoot. I didnt like how it was a metal safety pin but a plastic trigger connection, mine eventually started to show some wear after many uses. RPS Super Swirls/Marbilizers are the best to shoot through this gun.
Conclusion: Best pump you can buy, check the side screws often in a game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media