paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick

ACI Maverick Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI Maverick

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI Maverick
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 108
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It incorporates the patented Tru-Flow™ valve which improves durability and gas efficiency. It features a steel reinforced trigger, an anti-double cocking and double feeding device, factory auto trigger, slotted field strip screws, 12" interchangeable precision honed barrel and a full one-year warranty.
Product Availability 
The ACI Maverick is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
CaptainFuzzy Monday, May 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE pumps, phantom
Marker Setup: FreeFlow Lotus
Recommended
Upgrades:
It doesn't really need anything...
Strengths: Light, inexpensive, quality craftsmanship and smooth
Weaknesses: annoying to adjust velocity
Review: The maverick is a very nice pump marker. I have a hornet which is the exact same gun as the maverick except it is an undercocking marker. It has an autotrigger and adjustable velocity through the bolt. The body is solid black aluminum and the frame is a strong polymer-like plastic I believe. The pump handle seems to be made out of the same type of strong plastic as the frame does. The Hornet/Maverick have maverick/trracer barrel threading. There are no real upgrades for the maverick save some extremely rare barrels here and there, it's okay though, the stock barrel has a very nice finish. Now on to the review:

The Good:
- Light - The gun itself weighs nothing. Couple that with a small hopper and a small tank and it's very easy to manuver and feels very nice to fire.
- Appearance - Very sleek. The anno is nice looking and the finish is very good.
- Quality - The craftsmanship on the gun is very very good. The parts harmonize with each other and every single part is just well made.
- Smoothness - The cocking action is nice and smooth, and the return spring is good and bouncy. The trigger pull is stiff, but it feels natural. The frame is fairly comfortable to hold.
- Ease of upkeep - You don't have to do a damn thing to the gun. A drop of oil a month is more than enough. The simplicity offers very easy maintenance.

The Bad:
- Velocity adjustment - You have to stick an allen wrench though the breech and it is a ROYAL pain in the bum.
- Feeding - May double feed if your not used to the pump action. This is more of a user error though

The Ugly:
- None here
Conclusion: ACI has done a great job on this marker. They're about $60 and I don't see any real advantage to using a $200 phantom over a maverick. These are just plain nice little pump guns and I'd recommend them to anyone who wants to try playing pump. For the great amount of goods and the small amount of bads, the ACI Maverick gets a...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skadadal Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann 98 Spyder Xtra
Zeus Pistol
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom-Drop Forward, Response, Flatline, Revvy......
Zeus G-2- STOCK
ACI Maverick- STOCK
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing(THere are none)
Strengths: Light Weight
VERY VERY Low air use(70 shots 12 gram)
Weaknesses: Distance Sucks
Review: The Gun is good i got it from one of my brothers freinds for free. Didnt expect much exept for it to be crazy amazing because it is pump. After finding out that it gets 70 shots with ONE 12gram tank I KNOW that i am going to use it and the Zeus as my 'Commando' guns to fool around with at Jack Frost
Conclusion: It is a good gun i would spend some money on it. THe gun dosent give you any more or less than you expect. It is good
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

newswami Thursday, May 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Trracer
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel/ drill porting into stock barrel
Strengths: Extremely accurate, if you have a good shot this gun can perform wonders
Easily maintained
Weaknesses: Sound
Setup
Review: The Maverick is an excellent pump gun. Despite its somewhat inefficient setup, it is very light, especially with a small co2 tank and hopper. The marker is extremely accurate in warm weather, but without much of any area for co2 to expand, it is highly inconsistant in the cold. The shots can easily be stacked on top of each other. The placement of the co2 can interfere with the gun's sights, but that can be fixed by using smaller co2 bottles or adding a bottomline. When the gun fires, it is extremely loud. This can intimidate newer players, but it can easily be solved by purchasing a barrel with porting (The stock is a nice 12", but has no porting).
Conclusion: This guns ease of transport and amazing accuracy, with solutions for the other problems, make this an excellent first gun/ backup/ main gun (for woodsball). And it's price of only $65 make this marker an excellent solution.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jsmutty Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tiger shark
Marker Setup: SPO camo System X Vengeance Autococker, 88/4500 crossfire
ACI Maverick
Strengths: Light
simple
accurate
autotrigger
cheap
Weaknesses: LOUD
Review: Its a good solid dependable pump, nothing more nothing less.
You'll witness some interesting responses from players that get shot by a pump.
Just try using a pump, no matter what everyone else is shooting, you'll have fun.
Everyone wants to shoot the lunatic with the pump.
i use mine the last couple of games every time out and its just fun, i play primarily in the woods but don't be intimidated by inflatable fields, just adjust your style, its great.
Conclusion: Pumps are a blast. This one is simply a good reliable pump.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mexical Thursday, April 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: ACI Maverick, 20oz. Pure Energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
i don't no any
Strengths: Long distance, High accuracy
Weaknesses: Loud (but the sound strikes fear into the enemy), some double loadage
Review: This gun sounds like a beast and hits just as loud. I play against all Semi-autos and this gun kills. I am extremly happy with this gun and don't plan on gettin a different one for a while. Its easy to use and I would rather have this gun then a semi-auto, it will waist less paint and less gas.
Conclusion: I strongly recommend this gun to anyone brave enough to run with semi and full auto guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skylinegtr Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Icon e, rebel, talon, tippman 98,
Marker Setup: ACI maverick, 9oz , basically stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and possibly new handle/grip always keep the aci spare parts kit with you because it could save you during a game!
Strengths: Accuracy, it shoots straight for probably around 100ft, cheap, reliable, easy to take apart
Weaknesses: hard to aim with, hard to find parts for i.e barrels,
Review: i have had this gun for over 1 month and have had no problems with the gun. the gun is very accurate and can shoot FAR. But this gun is hard to aim with because the tank attaches to the back, but you can get bottom-lines for this gun so that will fix the problem but i recommend a 9oz or smaller co2 tank if you are keeping it stock, i have tried a 12oz and the co2 tank is too long so i got a 9ox and it is perfect. The stock barrel is 12inches and is very accurate except the i think the barrel is a small bore because when i take the barrel out and try to drop a ball in it will get stuck and is hard to get out with out actually shooting it which is the reason why i think i break balls, but it can be corrected by a new barrel make J&J performance make ceramic barrels for the maverick/trracer. Other than those things i mentioned overall this gun is insane.
Conclusion: If you want either a gun to practice with or you really want a challenge against semi's and auto's buy this gun, it is reliable accurate and shoots far. and all the problems can be corrected by a new barrel and a bottom line
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

imspecil Thursday, January 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Flatline
Reactive Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Light, Accurate and Cheap. Very easy to field strip.
Weaknesses: Loud, screws sometimes loosen, Hard to ajust velocity.
Review: This was my first paintball gun I ever owned and it was great to start off with. Its a very light gun quite accurate out of the box and cheap. A great gun for beginners. It is quite loud (some may call this a disadvantage) and the screws tend to loosen after a few hundred shots (pretty much just an annoynace) I have the original Maverick so the only way you can ajust the velocity is by changing springs. I recommend getting the delux version.
Conclusion: Definately consider this gun if your getting into the sport or are looking for new challenges associated with playing pump and are not willing to spend the extra for a Phantom or the like. (If you got the money get a Phantom)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

autococker567 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, this is the only pump ive tried
Marker Setup: stock everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really
Strengths: shoots fast
really accurate
light
not a gas hog
Weaknesses: its a pump
Review: The only bad thing is that its a pump.

I really liked it because it is very accurate and half of the balls it shoots I cant even see because it shoots fast.

It has a good consistence. I havent seen one ball curve.

The gun is easy to field strip which is good.

The velocity adjesting is weird. You have two different springs, a high velocity one, and a low velocity one.

Definetly not a gas hog, a 9 ounce lasts a good amount of shots.

Its a nice pump ( the nicest pump ive ever seen ). For a good pump its also cheap ( i saw it for $65.00 ).

Its still no match against semis though. Dont get it if ur planning on going against a bunch of semis (my friend found that out the hard way)

Conclusion: If you want a cheap pump then get this one (definetly).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

AKM295 Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: m98C
proteam fx sniper stock
Flatline barrel
Intruder x chamber
12 volt revy
16 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New pump grip
Strengths: Accurate
Light weight
Durable
Co2 efficent
Decent pump stroke
Weaknesses: Pump arm
Too much plastic
No effective ball detent
auto trigger breaks paint
Review: The maverick is an overall above average pump. I found it was extremly accurate when the velocity was around 270. When i play with it i use a 12 once tank with a butt plate and a standard hopper. It is quite balanced and light weight. The main fault i have with the marker is the ball detent. It appears to be a small spring that hold the ball implace when u pump , but when you return the pump arm to the regular position, the bolt depresses it and it becomes covered. after this , there is nothing holding the paintball inside the gun , so if u are holding your gun at any downward angle , the ball simply roles out. It took me a while to get used to this and i am still having trouble remebering to hold my gun verticly when on the field. Also , the pump arm is a little less than perfect due to the arms positioned on the side of the arm, but this can be overcome by choking up slightly on the pump arm.
Conclusion: A good pump for a beginner, new pump player, and the on/off pump player. there really is no need to upgrade it so it is good to go out of the box. Its major problem is the lack of an effective ball detent and a pump arm that has a tendency to slightly dig into the back of a players palm, making it slightly uncomfortable if held incorrectly.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ariade Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantoms, Sniper 2s, Trraccers.
Marker Setup: Phantom (stock and direct feed) with either a 4oz tank or a 9oz. Nothing else (it doesn't need it).
Tippmann Pro/Carbine (stock, needs nothing)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A .45 grip and bottom line adapter, and an after-market barrel.
Strengths: Very nice pump stroke, light, and well built
Weaknesses: Plastic parts and not a power house
Review: Not a bad backup for your high end pump or as a loaner for your friends, or something to just have kicking around in case you want to play pump only. Sturdy, though there are some plastic parts in it. It's hard to find a .45 grip for your gun, as most come with those awful eurogrips. It does have the habit of leaking down the barrel when your tank is low on air.
Conclusion: Decent quality, good rate of fire, this is a good little pump. Try and find the upgraded versions or upgrade it yourself, you won't be unhappy with it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media