paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick

ACI Maverick Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI Maverick

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI Maverick
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 108
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It incorporates the patented Tru-Flow™ valve which improves durability and gas efficiency. It features a steel reinforced trigger, an anti-double cocking and double feeding device, factory auto trigger, slotted field strip screws, 12" interchangeable precision honed barrel and a full one-year warranty.
Product Availability 
The ACI Maverick is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Soyboy Saturday, September 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month55 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The only pump guns that I shot before is the Kingman Hammer and the Brass Eagle Talon. The Hammer was very similar in performance with the ACI Maverick, but the Talon was horrible.

Other guns that compare is the Worrgames Autococker and The Phantom.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98, Green paintjob, Lapco Bigshot Aluminum, Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger, 12v Revolution hopper, JT Mask, Various Trigger Jobs, Rocket Cocker, Maddmann Spring Kit, 20 oz tank, two 9 oz tanks, 12 oz tank, 14 oz tank, and i think that's it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately get a red-dot sight. I never found a use of red-dot sights except with this marker.
Strengths: Durability - The gun is mostly aluminum except for the grip frame which is made out of a hard, durable plastic.

Accuracy - This gun is has amazing accuracy. I have never witness this kind of accuracy before. With my friend's ADCO Champ sight on my gun it would produce ball on top of ball from 50 - 75 ft away from his target. The paintballs would fly perfectly straight from 150ft away.

Maintenance - Very low maintenace. The gun is extremely easy to take apart.

Weight/Length - This gun is so light. I can maneuver well with it.

Looks - If you put a black sight, black hopper, black elbow, and a black tank, thi gun looks like a 'Sniper' gun.

Price - Very low. $65.
Weaknesses: I have a few complaints that really don't bother me that much.

Quietness - The gun is very loud, which can also be a good thing because it scares the hell out of people. This problem can also be solved by getting a new barrel with porting.

Barrel Bore Size - The bore size of this barrel is small bore. The first paint I tried with it was 32 Degrees paint, and it produced horrible accuacy, and ball breakage. With Nitroduck (Severe), and RPS Marballizers the accuracy was superior.

Upgrades - There are almost no upgrades for this gun which is cool because it doesn't need anythng. You can get a bottom line kit which would make the gun easier to aim with, an ADCO red-dot sight works well, and you don't need a barrel really unless you want the gun to be quieter. I've only have seen J&J Ceramics for it.

Velocity Springs - My gun came with two springs (the low velocity spring which was installed in the gun when i got it and the high velocity spring). The low velocity spring was horrible and there is no point of it... The paintballs would literally pop out of the barrel and drop at 25 ft.... So I changed the spring that it came with and now it is shooting perfect.

NOTICE - All of the bad things about the gun can be solved with ease.
Conclusion: After shooting a Kingman Hammer, I knew that I needed a pump gun. I was going to buy the Hammer, but they can't be found anymore. I got this gun and it performed better than the Hammer.

This is an awesome pump gun that deserves more recognition. Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

dromond Sunday, July 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon (blech)
Marker Setup: Stcok ACI Maverick. 12 oz tank, 200rd hopper and a BE red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not sure. Perhaps a barrel but I can't tell if it's necesarry.
Strengths: Cheap
Accurate
Easy to work on/maintain
It's a pump (which I like)
Loud(which is cool :-) + intimidation factor)
Weaknesses: I've broken a few balls (although this is mostly due to my lack of technique)
It's a pump (can be hard to play with if you're unexperienced with one.)Loud (can give away your position)
Conclusion: An excellent gun for the money. Pumps in general helpt to improve your skill whether it be in aiming or moving on the field. If you play semi I suggest trying out a pump. If you're new (like me) I also suggest playing pump. Being the underdog rules :-)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sconic Monday, July 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
talon ghost, vulcan 5000 series, those are the only other pumps ive used. maverick beats both of them by far obviously...
Marker Setup: my maverick is stock but i have a 9 oz tank w/ a butt plate and i put the power spring in and jacked the velocity up
Recommended
Upgrades:
umm bottomline would be a good thing, some kind of sight (not a red dot or a scope, they dont work) just something to line up you're target. barrel cause the stock isnt the greatest. you can also make it into a vertical pumping arm and that makes it look cool but doesnt help much in performance.
Strengths: i play in my woods and i turned the velocity up ALL the way and it has amazed me!! im shooting 350-370 FPS now and it still doesnt break balls. when i played with my trracer s/a i didnt think it was possible for a paintgun to fire 60-65 yards with the gun leveled (long way for a paintball gun). now i can and its cool to show off to my friends with. other than that:

-almost never breaks balls
-auto trigger
-fires really far cause u can turn the velocity up so much
-simple and easy to fix (came to me broken and i fixed it right away, hasnt broken since)
-pretty accurate with stock barrel
-durable so far
-cheap
Weaknesses: bad thing is, when i have it up at 350+ fps i cant use it in a game because it would leave bad marks and hurt alot. so i can only target shoot unless i switch springs.
-wicked loud! i mean like really really loud. sounds like a real gun....sorta
-anti double feed doesnt work well, (only reason why it breaks balls)
-if u have small paintballs they roll out of the barrel. (Premiums work well for not doing that, but diablo dusks roll out)
-not extremely accurate, but could be with a better barrel
-cant aim when you have a big tank on the back.
Conclusion: a really nice gun mine has some problems but i dont care because it can break no paintballs shooting 350 fps and above. thats worth all the bads. but other than that its good for woods games and for newbies and good so you can get better.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brett56 Saturday, June 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've use some semi's but you can't compare them to pumps.
Marker Setup: ACI maverick stock (getting bottom line setup) 12oz tank, BE 45 rnd hopper(you don't need the weight and profile a 200 rnd hopper gives you!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-A new barrel. The stock barrel is loud
-bottom line setup (tank gets in the way when aiming with no bottom line)
-45 rnd hopper they work good
-Venturi bolt unless your's already comes with one
-some sort of better aiming system(scope, fiber optic sight, laser sight
Strengths: -gun is accurate(shot a birhouse about 120 ft away and hit the little hole three times out of 5!)
-Efficeint on co2 and ammo(that's cause it's a pump!)
-easy to feild strip a (three year old could do it, the gun consitses of 12 pieces including screws!)
-cheap, I got mine for about $65.00
-lightweight it only weighs about one and a half pounds
Weaknesses: -hard to aim w/out the bottomline setup cause the tank gets in the way w/ your mask.
-alot of people say the pump screws tend to fall out but that hasn't happend to me
-The srock barrel is loud (stock barrel sounds like a frigin 30-06 high powered rifle)
-Parts can be hard to come by like a barrel or bottom line
Conclusion: I really like this gun it is accurate lightwieght and easy to field strip. I give this gun a 9 because no gun is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Peter Rix Thursday, May 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Before my Mavrick i used a Traccer, similar design and grea durability accuracy and efficiency.
Marker Setup: Using the Mavrick now that i smashed my traccer on a rock when i hit the dirt, i've added some nice little diddies to it. i've got a 16" sniper barrel, along with a 12x bushnell rifle scope, sling, bottom line, verticle cocking handle(to replace the old horizontal handle. For the original barrel i made a silencer and a 9" barrel extension which works like a charm, the only thin i hear from that thing is the hammer.
Recommended
Upgrades:
i really reccomend a sniper barrel, bottom line, and at the least a red-dot laser sight. These were my first upgrades. to say the least i'm not done working on my deadly rifle. i'm in amidst of encorperating a laser pointer onto the barrel of the gun.
Strengths: the accuracy of this gun is quite amazing, even the stock barrel has a shot that amazes me. in the term of sing my mavrick i've never broken a ball, NEVER!! long-balling is a breeze. the gun is quite light and very adaptable to just about anything you wish to put on it.
Weaknesses: i've not encountered many big problems with this gun, other than controlling my velocity on a temp. varied day.
Conclusion: Overall the things i've looked into about this gun i've found it to be one of the most outstanding guns i have, going from a sheridan Equalizer, to PMI Piranha, to Model 98, Spyder One, Traccer and Mavrick. Out of all the guns(in which i still have all of them)i find that my ACI Mavrick, predesessor to the PMI Traccer i've found it to be my favorite and best gun to have.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gothic goat Sunday, May 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BE Blade and talon
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 custom ACI F4
12 in. 32 dgrees nyte stick barrel 12.5 ACI Zero Gravity
GTA double trigger ACI 4 stage chamber
VL 9 volt REV
8 stage X-chamber
rocket cock

ACI maverick Deluxe
32 degrees whisper barrel 14
Spin Loader
Venturi Bolt
shoulder strap
camo all over
Recommended
Upgrades:
Venturi bolt
long barrel black of course
Strengths: Shots very accurit
Light
$70
Easy to work on if you ever need to
Made by A.C.I.
Weaknesses: Pump handle had to broke in like every pump out there
Conclusion: This is my sniper gun. I go in a small custom made ghillie suit mostly made to be cool. I Have the gun on my back until I find a good spot. It is wrapped in camo. that I made to be removed so it can go in to the wash. This gun has never let me down. If you do buy a pump to not get one that is made by BE. They are plastic and give pumps a bad name. My other opertions for a pump where the Hornet( same thing) Tippmann SL-II, Sheridan PGP, Kingman Hammer and the Diablo pump at 888paintball( who makes this gun).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

[UR]-Phantom Wednesday, May 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Hornet, Diablo pump gun (anybody know the company?) , SL-68, CCI-Phantom, Talons ...
Marker Setup: - Maverick main frame (gun itself)
- 12oz Co2 bottle ( 2 others 7oz as spare)
- Smart Parts 12" barrel (ventilated)
- venturi bolt
- bottomline kit
- lasersight (real funny!)

I got it used, it was in a crappy state. I changed almost everything inside of it for all brand new ACI parts. Now it works great.
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Barrel ! get a longer ( and ventilated, of course ) barrel if you can, the stock 11" barrel isn't bad for the price of the gun, but its loud and shoots kind of randomly from left to right. You can't really aim with it. I took a Smart Parts cannon and now it shoots straight up to 30 yards, no drop, nothing.
- venturi bolt : now this is my opinion, may people say a venturi bolt on a pump marker is useless, but I like to put one, it helps a bit in accuracy, and it will never make any ball explode when your Co2 hits the ball.
-spring kit: better springs are great if you want your gun to be a bit more
powerfull. I had some problem os ball exploding when I first changed my springs in other guns. I then put my venturibolt in the maverick and can now use springs to crank my gun up to 325 fps. BUT, without a good ventilated cannon and a venturi bolt, stiffer springs may end up real boring since you'll more likely break one ball every 2 shots ... With my setup, I did not break a ball since about ... 6000 last ammunitions I fired =)
Strengths: - The price: this gun is really affordable.
- Co2 efficiency: my maverick outclass any other pump I have used when it comes to Co2 savings =P I can easily get 550 shots out of my 7 oz bottle. I'm about to get an expansion chamber to reach around the 600 shots from my 7 oz. =)
- factory auto-trigger (oh man, did you ever try a pump without that, ahah, you don't even want to!)
- anti double-feed works really well ( REALLY useful ! )
- the gun shoots pretty fast (for a pump), I can get easily 3 balls / sec. with mine
- the pump is really smooth ( comparable to the phantom's)
Weaknesses: - The gun is loud, I tried almost everything, but it still does that big "KABOOOM" !!! It's even worse with the stock barrel...
- in game you have to watch the screws holding your pump in place ( somewhere around every 100 shots... ) losing one of them make the other loosen twice as fast, its real bad.
- you can't shot as fast as a semi, its a pump! and please don't try to pump it frickin' fast, because it will chop a ball or 2 right in the feed tube and then you're out for the round (duh!)
- the ( factory ) bolt inside of the gun (where the trigger releases it) will wear down kind of early, even brand new (but that's jsut my opinion)
-large Co2 bottles can get in the way when you aim; a bottomline gets every thing clear for that ;)
Conclusion: This gun is simply good. Its not perfect, but its not the worse either. Right out of the box, its a good entry level gun for newbies or seasonal pump players. You can modify it very easily to fit your needs. I am now playing in pump tournaments and that with a Maverick ( ! ) The others always look at me weirdly when they see me enter the field, putting down my mask, verify my speedloaders, and then swing up my gun, walking to my position " WTF! this guy has a maverick! " like they say ... but they rapidly change opinion when they see me play with it. I only won a couple of times, but these guys really respect me since I can compete with my gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder, spyder AMG, tippmann 98 custom with barrel upgrade, Tippmann pump (don't remember the name, shocker. Their good guns but with very cheap mods the maveric will stand up with the best of them
Marker Setup: 32 degrees terminator 14" barrel (waiting on my venturi bolt, bottom line and new impact seal because after 4 years it's time to replace something besides a tank o-ring)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel is a must for great accuracy with almost any paint even Brass Eagle CRAP!! Venturi bolt and a bottom-line are also recommended upgrades
Strengths: first off the gun is extremely accurate for a pump. When I'm at my friends place I always take a little bit of target practice on the center flag before we start a game. and with the stock barrel I hit it 8/10 times with most paint from about 40-60 feet away. Today after getting my new barrel I went and shot at the wind shield of an old dead car in one of our fields I shot about 90 balls at it and missed 5 times from anywhere from 40 to about 130 feet away. when I was done the windshield was completely covered. then I shot some small er targets ranging from 2" in diameter to about 30" and I hit every target and didn't use more than 2 balls per target. So for a year old gun this is still kicking some @$$
Also it field strips extremely easily I can strip it almost as fast as I can unhook a womans bra and honestly I think a bra is more complecated that that gun.
Weaknesses: The Maveric is LOUD (solution: New barrel cuts the sound level down to that of the average semi.)
My first day paint balling with my gun I lost the stinking sight rail. :'( *sniff but who needed it anyway you I don't't use it. (DUH)
Parts are hard to find it took me a while to find a new barrel and I think I payed too much for it.
Parts are not very cheap! I absolutely hate that!!
Well i can't think of anything else that I don't like about it I can take out most of my friends and that's all I care about
Conclusion: This is definitely a gun for a beginner or a seasoned pro. once you learn the game it doesn't matter who you are. You can take some people out with that gun. I would definitely recommend the Maverick and I have on several occasion's. A lot of people make fun of me for it but when my friends are there they all back me up and none of them use it They've just all been shot by it ;-) he he.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Bottom Line Setup
Strengths: I thought it was good and fast, and the pump action was nice and smooth. It was also fairly accurate with the stock barrel.
Weaknesses: I had a really bad time with the paint I was using (Zap). Every round I chopped a ball, we were only playing with 20 balls a round. Very first shot that I took with this gun chopped. The paint was alright because my friends $50 semi-auto didn't chop a single ball.

The velocity may have been the reason for the chopping, but I only borrowed this gun from a friend and with the end of the barrel adjustment I couldn't change it on the field easy.

First thing you should do if you buy this gun is buy a new 14/20" 1" bolt(50 cents) for the handle. The stock 14/20" 3/4" bolt isn't long enough it only goes into the gun about two threads. I tripped on barb-wire fence and the gun fell apart. A longer bolt fixed this no problem.
Conclusion: I had a bad experience with it, but with the right paint, new bolt described above and proper velocity set, it could be a nice gun. Nice feel and easy to get used to playing with. I would recommend this product, but with the above cautions of course.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jackoob Wednesday, April 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon
Marker Setup: ACI Maverick, 12oz tank, 22rifle scope, 200 round hopper, 12" Stock Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel
Strengths: This is a great gun for snipers. I have picked off so many opponents with this gun even though it only has the stock barrel. This gun is very accurate and quite reliable. It is also quite power full when you up the velocity on it. It comes with a long stock barrel witch is good. Its also very easily field stripable and easy to replace seals if needed.
Weaknesses: This gun is quite loud for a sniper gun, so you can only shoot once or twice per hide before being found out, and then you have to move, because some players dont like snipers. There is no velocity adjuster, instead you have to strech the hammer spring to boost the velocity. WARNING! If you do strech your spring dont strech it too much other wise your air tank will emty out in the first shot and your gun will no longer work, and you will end up ordering a new spring from the ACI home page.
Conclusion: This is a good gun, its fair priced, and quite reliable, Good accuracy, and easy to field strip
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media