paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick

ACI Maverick Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI Maverick

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI Maverick
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 108
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It incorporates the patented Tru-Flow™ valve which improves durability and gas efficiency. It features a steel reinforced trigger, an anti-double cocking and double feeding device, factory auto trigger, slotted field strip screws, 12" interchangeable precision honed barrel and a full one-year warranty.
Product Availability 
The ACI Maverick is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, April 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the samuri and tiger shark and tiger shark is nice but samuri sucks
Marker Setup: Maverick deluxe with a 45 round hopper and 12 gram CO2 and 4 ounce tanks which get alot of shots off when using a pump.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is an great gun out of the box you can go to airconcepts.com and you can get an upgraded hammer but the gun works great without it
Strengths: The smooth cocking is nice

You can change springs for higher velocity

The gun can shoot very far at a max velocity of 320 that is more than alotof guns.

Easy to take apart to switch or upgrade parts.

I have not had bad experiece with breaking balls except for in cold weather the balls break but not because of the gun.

Accurate and light good for sniping
Weaknesses: There isn't really anthing wrong with it some say the barrel is loud but only when your not shooting a ball I don't mined a loud gun as long as you hit them
Conclusion: Aci is the best brand out there they make great guns that don't break paintballs
the gun is accurate, consistant, reliable, and looks nice all black and not able to be seen very easy. The Maverick is the best gun for a great price
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 2:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pumps.... been limited to Brass Eagle products of friends
Semi's Etc.... everything from Spyders to Tippman Carbine
Marker Setup: Out of the box
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the tank off the back of the marker with either a remote or an expansion chamber(if you can find one).
Strengths: Good Range
Accurate
Easy to Field Strip
Looks cool
Action Trigger if things get desperate
Price
Weaknesses: Hard to find parts
Rear Mount for tank makes aiming down the rails hard... yeah I like to aim, I'm a freak
I've only found one brand of balls that don't chop (severe)
All accuracy goes out the window once a ball chops, which will screw you over heavily with a pump
It has a very distinct sound with the barrel out of the box... not necessarily a bad thing, but if you want to blend in with the rest of noise, buy a ported barrel (armson makes 2 that I know of)
Conclusion: The Maverick is a solid dependable marker, that once you get used to the style of play that a pump requires, holds it's own beautifully against markers that cost 2 & 3x the maverick.

I would recommend it to anyone.... I would explain to them that it is a pump and what that entails, but I would recommend it without hesitation. A great marker and a steal at the MSRP around $70.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alman/AJ/Alex Saturday, April 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No pump markers. I think I may of shot a blade once but that couldn't compare. Use good paint.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with 14" CP barrel and Phsyco Ballistics Drop Forward.

I used a stock Maverick with a rusty 9 ounce Co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel. shoulder stock. scope.
with these you are set to snipe.
Strengths: This was the first marker I ever used playing paintball. I don't think it was maintained that well.
* with good paint it should shoot accurately.
* the pump is pretty smooth and not to hard.
* dosn't look bad.
* you could make this a really awesome sniper marker.
Weaknesses: When I used it the field that I was at gave us BE paint :-(. Not good. I kept breaking balls and I had to unscrew the barrel like 50 times to run a squeegee through it! The good thing is that all of the people I was playing against had them too.
*with bad paint it sucks.
*when not properly maintained it sucks.
Conclusion: I didn't have a good experience with this marker but I'm sure it would of preformed much better with better paint. I was amazed that it got any accuracy out of the BE paint. A good pump for I good price just make sure you use good paint.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
hornet
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new valve
Strengths: This gun is pretty good for the first year or so. After that 1 year warranty is up it tends to break. It's accurate and very co2 effecient. It fires fairly fast for a pump.
Weaknesses: Like i said after the one year warranty be prepared to fix your gun. Right now the problem with it is that air is leaking out of the valve, I think. It's coming from somewhere. If you know how to fix this write me a e-mail. The grips are a hard plastic and the screws connected to the pump tend to fall out.
Conclusion: This is a nice gun if you're planning on selling it to some one else before one year is up.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Riptide Sunday, March 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used Tiger Shark, Talon, Phantom and those are really the only pump guns i have used. For actual playing i use my Automag system, and i've used spyders, tippmanns.
Marker Setup: Deluxe version w/ velocity adjuster.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Slim 45 round hopper to keep the profile small. You arent going to bneed mor than 45 rounds.
Strengths: This is probably the Best pump gun you can buy, short of the phantom which is rather expensive. Accuracy is excellent and the light low profile fram e is great for sniping which is always fun to do every once in while. The Anti Double Cock is great. Broken only a few balls.
Weaknesses: Not good for close quarters fighting because that isnt what it was designed for. Best for distance shooting. Larger hoppers set the balance of the gun off.
Review: This is probably the Best pump gun you can buy, short of the phantom which is rather expensive. Accuracy is excellent and the light low profile fram e is great for sniping which is always fun to do every once in while. The Anti Double Cock is great. Broken only a few balls.

Not good for close quarters fighting because that isnt what it was designed for. Best for distance shooting. Larger hoppers set the balance of the gun off.

Excellent gun for distance shooting and sniping. VERY reliable and accurate. High Quality gun.
Conclusion: Excellent gun for distance shooting and sniping. VERY reliable and accurate. High Quality gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 11th, 2003 at 1:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used spiders, automags and pirahnas of my friends. Of course a pump can not match up to semi autos when it comes to fire power. If you enjoy a challenge and want a really efficient gun when it comes to co2 usage then get
a maverick/tracer(they are the same gun)
Marker Setup: I have the maverick, with an expansion chamber going to a bottomline with a slip on grip (goes on over the existing eurogrip) and a smart parts progressive barrel. I also have hopper cammo, tank cammo and a butt plate(if you are a sniper you need this). I only use a 9 oz co2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
All of the above and, if you have as much stuff as i do you may want to onsider buying a new gun if you want to put more moey into the sport. There is a 45 triggerframe out there that will fit the gun and you can get a longer barrel if you really want a rifle. a venturi bolt for more accuracy would be a worth while investment.
Strengths: This gun has good range and if you have a progressive type barrel along with it, it shoots accuratly at long range. This was my first gun and i still have it three years later, it is durable(i even bought it used so its really like 5 years old). A sight is unecesary, once you get the feelfor it you can just look down the barrel.
I have played for five hours with it on one 9 oz co2 tank but keep a spare one.(the nine is good to cut down weight.) please do not buy a red dot sight or sight rail, they just ad weight and for the price you can buy a case of paintballs or a bottom line setup.
Weaknesses: The only problem i have fount with this gun is, the tiny spring that keeps two paintballs from coming into the chamber will most likely get lost, but thats no problem, i almost never have a double cocking problem. The stock bolt inside of the gun will wear down eventually(where the trigger part realeases it) so after you have te gun a few years you may want to get a venturi bolt. Do your teamates and yourself a favor, dont buy brass eagle paintballs, even in a topp of the line gun they break.
Conclusion: it was and is still a great gun, defenatly worth the like 70 bucks that you can find it for. for a medium grade pump, this gun is top notch. a good all around reliable PUMP gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 22nd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom- Although this marker is great, it has no comparison to the Phantom. The range and accuracy are decent, shoots pretty consistantly, and is really good for the money.
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom with .45 grip, 14" barrel, and modified barrel extension.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, barrel extension (e-mail me and I'll tell ya), bottem line, and new bolt.
Strengths: Its pretty accurate and cheap. Its a pump, so it doesn't match up in firepower to the semi's and auto's that you'll find out there, but it makes up for it by improving the player and saving a ton of money. The grip is comfortable and the pump action is smoother than most pump guns, but still doesn't compare to a sniper II or phantom. All in all, its a good marker for the money, but if you wanna go to tournament or more serious senario games, get the phantom. Trust me.
Weaknesses: It's loud. There isn't much difference between the 270 that I own and the Maverick I have shot when it comes to noise level. This is easily fixed with a "barrel extension." The pump is smooth, but inconsistant. The one that I have shot had a problem with the bolt not locking with the trigger. With a pump, you are already at a firing disadvantage, it really isn't a good thing for the gun not to shoot at all.
Conclusion: Its good for the money and it's tough. For entry level pumpers, this is a great buy. If you are just starting to play paintball and thinking about buying a gun, it would be better to go with a semi unless you have a deathwish or are fasinated with one shot one kill. Pumps are not for everyone and especially not newbies. They are for players that want to increase their accuracy and sharpen their game. All in all, the Maverick is good if you are looking for the benefits that playing pump will add to your game. If you only plan to play pump and nothing else, get a Phantom and a PT Extreme pistol for backup.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 23rd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a Talon, a Blade, an Avenger, a Tippman, and a Pirhana
Marker Setup: I use it right out of the box. Its accurate enough and has a lot of range, but I've just ordered the Diamond Lab Maverick Bolt and I will be ordering a 16" armson stealth barrel for it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and bolt- if you want also, a bottomline setup but I've found that aiming isn't a poroblem for me.
Strengths: This marker is extremely accurate and has more range than any low-end semi that I've used. It ain't bad. I use this marker exclusively and last time we went paintballing, I had 8/8 kills. Doesn't that say something? It's a sweet rig that no one would be disappointed with.
Weaknesses: This gun can be LOUD. This can be fixed by buying a ported barrel. When I went paintballing once, it sounded like a rifle and my friends got scared b/c it was deer-hunting season. So I would suggest a ported 14"-16" barrel and that problem is fixed.
Conclusion: This product is very good. I'm not a big fan of semi auto's, so I bought a pump. I didn't expect it to be that great b/c I hadn't had very good memories with the talon or blade. I was pleasantly surprised when I get almost all of the tags when using this gun. I use sniper tactics, and this gun works well with them. It is good for long range battle, and semi's don't have that much range. That's the advantage that this gun has over any semi-auto.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, November 17th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used any other pumps, but it matches up to low end semi's easily
Marker Setup: Maverick with stock barrel, 150 rd loader, 9 oz. tank with diablo midnights
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel coundn't hurt, bottomline conversion
Strengths: -light
-short pump stroke
-VERY accurate with decent paint-barrel match
-auto trigger
-price
Weaknesses: -I hate the stock grip
-has no anti-doublefeed feature so be careful not to pump twice
-loud with stock barrel
Conclusion: I like the maverick overall. With some basic tactics, its ROF won't be a problem. With the auto trigger, you can bunker people easily (and scare the crap out of people trying for an easy bunker against a "pumper"). I played with a semi first, so remembering to pump sometimes was a problem, but after a game or two you get used to it. It can be accurate with a good paint match. You can play speedball with it, but not as a front player. Just stay back and pop people making a move. If you've never played, or want a new experiance, this is the perfect pump gun out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballPimp01 Friday, November 16th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Talon, Tiger Shark & Saber.
Marker Setup: ACI Maverick Deluxe, *32 Terminator Barrel, Pure Energy Vertical Regulator, APP 45 Grip Frame Adaptor. Bottom-line setup (Regulator in rear ASA connected to bottomline adaptor at bottom of grip frame) . APP Sight Feeder II, 9 oz. CO2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (stock one is very loud, not ported)
Regulator of sorts mounted in the rear to act as a velocity adjuster.
Strengths: Cheap, light, accurate. Three words than can easily describe the Maverick. The particular model I own is the ACI Maverick Deluxe. Before going any further, I want it to be known that ACI makes the Trracer & Tagmaster (Maverick & Hornet) for PMI, this should solve a few peoples problems with finding upgrades. Pump guns (unless we are talking about cheap Brass Eagle crap) are by their very nature are more accurate than the majority of SA's, due to their closed bolt operation (exception = Autococker, Soveriegn, Shocker, etc.)
Weaknesses: Well im not too fond of the pump arms being plastic, but they dont look like they'll brake easy, so we'll let it slide. The plastic Euro grip frame however has to go! You can get an aluminum 45 grip frame adaptor from APP, this has been tapped for bottomlines too! The gun is a pain in the butt to adjust the velocity, and ONLY the Deluxe model has an adjustable bolt. I don't think that is too effective, so I use a regulator mounted in the rear as my adjuster. Works great too!
Conclusion: Overall a great pump gun. I got it for the pump/stock games up at the annual Castle Conquest @ EMR Paintball in PA. It worked great up there. I even got to play with Bob "Digger" Butler of the Paintball Marshalls (see him and his sweetazz rifle on page 32 of APG Jan. 2002), his gang was great! If you want a great pump, taht is easy to upgrade and won't kill your wallet, the Maverick is the one for you!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media