paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Pro Axis / Proto Pro Axis / Proto Pro Axis

Proto Pro Axis Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Pro Axis

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Pro Axis
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Switch™ Axis™ Pro Goggle system is the premier goggle in the Switch™ line. Boasting soft compression formed earpieces, resulting in a lighter goggle. The patent pending 1/4 turn snap lock system is fast and secure, making lens changing simple. The outer frame holds the lens in place with no extruding edge or protruding tabs; just clean looking style. The inner frame structure provides a secure platform for the lens and frame to compress together, giving stability under the most severe of impacts. The split frame and lens is secured in place by right and left locking tabs. Once assembled, the split frame system holds your lens securely into place while providing comfort and style. The patent pending locking tabs allow you to change lenses in seconds. The Switch™ Axis™ Pro Goggle System comes standard with a clear tirodial thermal lens and a co-molded combination density mask for flex under play. The multi-ported earpiece allows unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrificing any ear protection and provides total comfort with two-layer foam. MAKE THE SWITCH™



01 silicone woven rubber goggle strap Designed to be adjusted to fit your head and remain fitted. Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custom fit and will bite down to secure the strap. Just set it and forget it. 02 compression formed soft Ear pieces Compression formed soft ear pieces with adjustable positioning allows you to customize the goggle for a lower profile fit. Makes the mask 20% lighter and also increase audible quality. 03 incredibly simple Patented 1/4 turn Switch™ Buckle Makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens and drop in a new one. 04 The Switch™ lens is a tirodial lens Gives the player the ultimate in vertical and horizontal peripheral vision. All Switch™ lenses have perfect optical clarity, setting the standard in visual performance. 05 multi-directional venting Drastically reduces any re-ventilated fogging, this will also throw your voice farther and clearer than any other vented mask on the field. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy. The tested, proven and patented venting configuration will make communicating with your teammates effortless, as if there were no vocal obstructions. 06 DUAL-molded goggle system Designed to keep a rigid mount for the frame and lens while providing the softest face mask available. Paired with our multi-directional venting system, the dual-molded combination adds up to two levels of pliability. Designed with a professional-level low profile fit to allow for a forgiving face mask, while still providing the safest eye protection system available. The Proto Game Timer (not included) and Proto Turbine Fan (not included) can be used with the Axis™ PRO Goggle System
Product Availability 
The Proto Pro Axis are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
D3ATHS H3AD Monday, August 29th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT's
Vforce
Proto Switch FS and EL
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
Folding stock
Response trigger
Exp. chamber
Flatline barrel
88/4500 tank w/ remote line
Strengths: comfortable
light
easy lens change
interchangeable lens with the Axis,the Switch FS and EL
Weaknesses: Cant think of any thing I would change.
Review: The Axis Pro is smaller and covers less than the older Axis but seems a lot lighter.The soft ears are a plus over the older model. This is a great mask.I used the older axis for years and it was great , I'm sure the pro will not let me down. Proto makes several different lens for these also...I'm partial to the smoke and half tinted....mirror looks great too.
Conclusion: Seems like the Axis Pro will be just as comfortable and durable as the old Axis.This is a great mask.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

peteralexander7 Tuesday, May 3rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye, Vforce, Proto, Events, JTs
Marker Setup: AGD Emag valve,ULE body, RPG sub zero feed neck, Level X, AGD Intelli fang double trigger frame with dye sticky grips, Custom Products direct mount on/off , 12in Freak barrel kit, Empire Reloader I, Pure Energy 88ci /3000psi with Dye cover.

Back up marker: Smart Parts Vision Impulse, Tape worm, CP LPR Reg, Freak barrel, CP Unimount. 48/3000 Pure Energy steely.
Strengths: Easy to clean
Good field of vision
Nice flex jaw
Weaknesses: Small profile
Vent holes on the sides are covered
Review: Well I bought the mask off of ebay before I tried it on, picked up the camo version, and I love the way it looks. The only real issue I have is with how small of a profile it is. I dont have a giant head, or even a large head, but my ears arent even fully covered and my jaw shows some. The point of a mask is to cover your face, be comfortable (which it is), and let you have good field of vision (which it does). I am just upset that they made the Axis Pro smaller than the Axis or the FS. The other down side is that they have all the side vents covered up by the soft fabric jaw piece. It defeats the purpose of them. It is a great mask but beware of how it fits.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask in a heart beat. Proto makes a great mask what ever model you get. I have them all and love them, I just wish companies would stop making them cover less.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EmeryZ Saturday, December 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Shield, JT Spectra
Marker Setup: 98 custom with mods
Strengths: Low profile. Doesn't fog. Looks great. Nice lens. Very Comfortable. Lens change is easy.
Weaknesses: See below
Review: I bought a JT Spectra after my vforce as it was too heavy and didn't sit properly. The spectra is a great mask but I tried my brother in laws proto pro axis on and the feel of it was great! So comfortable, fitted and molded to my face perfectly. Its has a reasonable weight also.
It doesn't fog either. You can buy custom face plates for it too to change the look.

Weaknesses? Well I would put that down to how close the masks comes to your mouth, me and my brother in law find them a little hard to breath in once you get running around as its so close it restricts the airflow a little. I guess cutting out some vent pieces would improve the intake of air.

But yeah you get use to it.


Conclusion: In all I would highly recommend this mask! It was a tossup between this and the Dye i4, then after reading about the i3 being better for people over the i4 then I had to choose between this and the i3, but I choose this as the price was better and had already tried it on and loved it.


Go get one!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaveZ Monday, June 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra Thermal
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom; 12" J&J Ceramic Barrel; GTA Expansion Chamber; Blew power tube; Delrin Hexadecagon bolt. I use a NXe 4+1 harness with remote.
Strengths: Fog resistance, comfort, looks, quality
Weaknesses: Price, small profile
Review: This is a great mask. It looks great, is very comfortable to wear and has great anti-fog characteristics. With any mask, my main concern is fogging. I sweat a lot, so I need a mask that will not fog. I believe this is one of them. I played in 90+ degree heat and high humidity and had no fog issues at all. I would rather be able to see the enemy then have excess protection. One of the very few cons of this mask is that it has a small profile. I'm a bigger guy, I'm 6'3", 205, so with this mask, my neck is exposed. However, the benefit to this is less of a target and a lighter mask. If you are a smaller person, you may not encounter this issue, but I did want to mention it. Knowing this though, I would still purchase this mask again. Unlike some other masks I've had, this one has some soft padding on the outside instead of all rigid plastic. Not only do they make the mask look nicer in my opinion, but can aid in helping to avoid ball breaks on the mask. I had no issues with breathing and fogging the mask and I could speak clearly and be heard easily. This is the first mask I've bought in a long time, so the price kind of took me back a little. I spent $80 for the camo version. It's mush less then some other masks, but more then some other masks as well. I did my research though before buying and choose this mask, and glad I did. One thing I almost forgot to mention is the ability to easily remove, clean and replace the lens. I was never able to remove the lens on my JT mask. On this one it's very easy. You can change out the lens easily in under a minute.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this mask to anybody looking for a new one. it looks great, has great functionality and does not fog. Instead of spending $120 for other masks, look into this one. Proto is made by Dye, just less expensive.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phrostbyte Wednesday, June 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Scott mask, v force profiler
Marker Setup: 2004 autococker prostock, Jackhammer II, STO ram, Delrin Bolt, macro line, Ricochet-2k Hopper, 3000 psi pure energy tank.
Strengths: Light,comfortable, Easy Cleaning, Lens changes, adjustable foam, mountable fan, Double lens, SOFT EARS.
Weaknesses: The plastic tabs... read more in review
Review: Bought this mask and tested it once so far. This mask really is Very light and Very comfortable!!!! I got hit in the mask a lot. 1 of the 6 tabs popped out of the "soft face mask" when I got hit in the mask. I needed to take it apart to get it back in place. Taking it apart is VERY easy! Nice placement for the fan upgrade. Snaps right in! didn't fog at all. The soft ears are awesome!! For the $57.00 including shipping I paid for this mask it was totally worth it! Really is an awesome mask for the money! Compares well to the more expensive masks. If you got the money to spend on this mask GET IT FOR THE 50.00 WHILE YOU CAN!!! It's already being sold for $80.00!!

bad part
The little plastic circle logo attached to the head strap came out after one use. It is now loose after I put it back in. Blue mask is much darker than in the stock photo. I have a smaller head and if I don't wear other head protection it does not get tight enough.

Still awesome mask!
Conclusion: Awesome mask for the money. Totally worth it! Buy this mask!! You wont be unhappy with it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kidwithdahat Wednesday, March 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott Vectra-Not comparable
JT Radar-Not comparable
Proto Switch EL-Same lens system, just older and bigger
Proto Axis-Very similar but it has hard ears and a visor
Vforce Grills-About the same build quality, but I like the proto better
Marker Setup: King Cobra Pump-co2-gravity loader
Strengths: Great Protection
Great Looks
Won't Fog
Comfortable
Lightweight
Great Visibility
Soft Chin
Weaknesses: The lens change isn't as fast as other masks but It's very easy.
Review: I was going to buy another proto mask because mine was wearing out. I was considering the EL switch or a proflex but I didn't like how the flex's didn't cover my ears. I was about to buy a switch but then these went down to $50 so I picked up a blue one. Fits great! No complaints whatsoever! This is a High end mask at half the price. It's great for woodsball or speedball. I use it for both. It's got a good selection of lenses and they are easily installed. The rubber used on the mask is like on the pro i3's and it's really flexible. The soft chin is also very comfortable. I suggest you get one at the $50 price while you can. Great for rec or tournament play.
Conclusion: Get one at $50 while you can!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GryphisOne Monday, March 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT mask.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with a OPSGEAR UMP.45 bodykit, 12 inch BT Apex barrel, Ricochet R5 hopper, Response Trigger and a remote line to a 3000psi Pure Energy HPA tank.

2002 WGP Autococker Outkast

2005 Bob Long Timmy Russian Legion Edition
Strengths: Very light.
Great field of vision.
Soft ears.
Ventilation.
Weaknesses: Bit of a pain to take apart.
Different color lenses must be ordered separately.
Review: Plain and simple, this is one of, if not the best masks ever made. I heard about it though TechPB's own, Mike Phillips. It's his mask of choice and many of the other TechPB staff use this mask. It's very lightweight and fits great on the head, but the best part is the field of vision. When you put the mask on, it's like you're not even wearing a mask. It doesn't restrict your peripheral vision at all, which is great. Another great thing is the fact that it won't fog up the first few uses. There's some sort of spray on the lens that will keep it from fogging up to bad, unless you're playing in some crazy humidity.



It's not one of those masks you can just whipe down and say "it's clean" with. Because of all the ventilation holes on the front and side, you have to take it all appart to clean. Kinda sucks when you get goggled and you have to do it there on the field.

Swapping out the lenses are a pain as well. While it sounds easy on paper (move a few tabs), it's not. Most of the parts don't like getting put back together and you often end up putting a scratch in your lens just trying to get the damn thing in.


Conclusion: This is an awesome mask for anyone who plays paintball. From airball to woodsball, this should be your next mask of choice. Great lense, great body, and while it can be hard to take appart, it's well worth it. When you see that rogue enemy player at your far nine ( a place you can't see with many masks), you'll know what I'm talking about.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 29th, 2010 at 10:37 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Loki33 Saturday, November 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 8 Full Spectrum
V-Force Grills
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7
JCS Powertube
J&J 14" Ceramic
Tech T squishy paddles
Strengths: Very lightweight
Superior Visibility
Low Profile
Easy to Clean
Weaknesses: To much foam used in manufacturing
No visor option
Can get uncomfortable around the forehead
Review: This was my second mask I have ever purchased. It's a great mask and so far has the greatest level of visibility of any I have tried. Protects well against direct hits. Never had any issue with it fogging or getting very warm inside. The one problem I do have with this mask is the amount of foam used in it's construction. I play quite often so my equipment takes a great deal of punishment. The back half of the mask is foam covered with material. In just the first 3 months the fabric had already started to separate from foam. I have used crazy glue to keep things together, but I don't think that will last long. If you play as much as I do (3 times a month) this might not be the mask for you. The V-Force grill offers most of the same bonuses as the proto in a much stronger package.
Conclusion: I would recomend this mask to anyone. Just be aware that it's not as durable as other options. If you play once a month it would be perfect for you. No other mask offers as great a level of visibility as the Proto.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrok1331 Saturday, April 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only some jt masks
dye i3
Marker Setup: invert mini
dye rotor
pure energy 48/4500 eclipse tank cover
proto pro axis

(everything blue and black cause of team colors)
Strengths: Comfy
Appearance
Quick change(30 sec - 1 min)
Good view
Light
Soft chin
Adjustable profile
Weaknesses: A little hard to adjust
Hard to put lens carrier back iin
Review: After doing tons and tons of research I decided to go down to a pro shop and look at and try on all the different masks. I tried the events and the i4 and the i3 and the profiler and the grillz and all the other high end masks. The guy behind the counter finally pulls out this one and says try this one. i go alright try it. the first thing i notice is i dont really even feel like i have a mask on.
SOFT EARS/CHIN
its super light and the soft chin is really nice also. what proto did was instead of soft ears they extended it down to include a soft chin. and they made it adjustable(for lower profile and easier head rolls).
LENS:
another nice thing is the quick change system with just an easy quarter turn of the proto symbol on the sides the lens carrier comes out and with it the lens.
ADJUSTABLE PROFILE:
On the inside of the mask there are two screws to adjust the height of the soft chin. makes for better head rolls and lower profile. a little hard to adjust
Conclusion: Overall this is a very comfy mask and well worth the 80 bucks
also since i was in arizona at the time and had sunglasses on i noticed that you could wear it with glasses and didnt need to by lenses
but i did anyways cause i live in oregon and never remember to grab sunglasses :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media