paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2

Sheridan PGP2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP2

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP2
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 67
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sheridan PGP2 has proven its value in tournament after tournament and has built a rugged reputation at paintball fields across the country. With its solid brass construction, dual fiberoptic sights and heavyweight feel, there's no mystery to the PGP2's popularity. Known to many as the most reliable back-up marker ever issued, this is one tough performer.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
firekillex Tuesday, July 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom

Bt 16 Barrel
Car stock
sight with rail and remote coil
cyclone feed

PGP2K sidearm
Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Holster
- Custom a ball detent
Strengths: Durable
Intimidating
Accurate
Efficient
Compact
Weaknesses: No Ball Detent
Review: Out Of the Box: I was immediately impressed by the looks and handling of the marker. It's contruction is almost all brass which makes it heavy for it's size, but I feel that it balances very well. The pump stroke isn't very hard and the action is sure. The holster that I bought fit the PGP nicely at my side, it carrys about 4 12 gram CO2 and 2 cigar tubes
On the Field: I wasn't really planning to use the marker as a primary, but I was having a bad day and figured I had nothing to lose, so I pulled it out and used it for my primary. Impressed is not the proper way to describe the way the marker preforms on the field. It's small profile makes it ideal for tucking into small bunkers. I was playing woodsball with semi's and ther marker types and got at least 15 kills. The next thing that impressed me was its accuracy, point, shoot, the ball goes where you want. I like it very much, it is a challenge to use against semis and is especailly useful on a day where there are lots of first timers at the field.
Performance: I already mentioned it's accuracy. It gets a fairly consistent 30 shots per 12gram. The velocity is easily adjustable and you should be able to get it around 270-280fps with out much trouble at all.
Gripes: Their is no ball detent so if you point it down for a long period of time the ball will roll out.

Conclusion: If you want a good stock class marker that can serve as both back up and main this is it, mine is worth every penny I paid for it. It does have its flaws though, I'll give it a 9 out of ten
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MacWhorter Monday, November 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP 1, nelspot 007, splatmaster
Marker Setup: PGP2 with homemade wood grips, aluminum pump handle, and a pgp1 feed tube cap
Recommended
Upgrades:
New grips(personal preference)
Polish out the barrel (highly recommended)
speedgate
Strengths: Accuracy
Efficiency
durability
Built in speed changer
velocity adjuster
fiber optic sights
Weaknesses: Rear feed cover is damaged easily
Range
Factory black overspray in barrel (easily fixed)
Review: This was my first pistol, I noticed right away that it had a nice heft to it, I knew this was a nice gun in terms of quality. I thought the fiber optic sights were awsome, it gave a nice, clear sight picture. I have to say I was very impressed with the accuracy, this thing is dead accurate out to 75 ft or so after you polish out the barrel. It will also get a good 30 good shots on one 12gram. This gun is the "improved" version of the early pgps, it comes with a few features the old ones didn't have, like a fast changer, longer barrel, two stage bolt, and a velocity adjuster. For the most part, I would call this an improvement over the older models, but there are a few shortcomings: a few parts that were metal on the early pgps have been replaced with plastic parts, they should hold up ok but the plastic rear sliding cover is prone to breaking. There have also been rumers about the air hole alignment being off, causing frequent breaks in some guns (mine doesn't have this problem).
Conclusion: Overall this is a great sidearm that should last you many years, it comes with critical upgrades that pgp1 owners had to buy seperately, and this guns disadvantages are all fixable if you are handy enough. If you can find one I highly recommend picking it up as the are becoming harder to find every day! Since the problems are fixable, I give it an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tuckas Monday, April 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon Overlord : too breakable, too heavy and lacks the PG's accuracy as far as I'm concerned.
Zeus G2: Only used as a loaner when aforementioned Overlord died, but more favorable.
Delta 68: Don't bother.
SL-68 Pump: Rugged and reliable like the PGP, but not as accurate, and the ancient 40 round hopper is a pain in the butt to reload.
Marker Setup: Tippman Pro Carbine with an 18 inch barrel and an expansion chamber. Ariakon Overlord in a custom cross draw holster.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, unless you would like a lanyard ring for the back of the feeder tube.
Strengths: Accuracy, Reliability, Manueverability, Draw Speed, Balance, C02 efficiency, I could go on...
Weaknesses: The highwaymen that run the Crossman repair shop.
Review: The PGP2 was my first stock/pistol marker, and I bought mine for 100 bucks from the now closed Splatz paintball in Bangor Maine. I snagged myself a 20 dollar tac holster to wear it in, and a box of CO2 cartridges and headed for a pickup game the day after I bought it. The game was 3 on 4, in a semi flooded gravel pit, with spruce forest and muddy moose wallows. I had been practicing and chornographed my PGP on cans and my .22 pistol target the day before, and was hoping for the extreme accuracy it showed during practice. The PGP payed off with taking out an electric auto wielding player with the first ball out of it, and I fell in love with this awesome little pistol.
Over the next few years of paintball and woods capture the flag tournaments, the PGP became more and more my primary gun. It really was the ticket in games with small numbers of people, especially when stealth and woodscraft was a part of the game. I became so comfortable with this gun that I found myself tossing my always chopping Diablo Mongoose and charging into situations with the PGP in hand.
The major strength of this little marker, is that it just shoots straight. The ball flies out of the barrel in a straight line ,especially if you use larger bore paint. This lends the gun to many long distance shots, as with a little experience you can quickly elevate you're aim and become a terror from quite a distance. A memorable moment was knocking out a player harassing our group with a flatline A-5 with one ball from the PGP.
Unfortunately, all good things must come to an end. This was sadly true with my little PGP. After four years of playing hard, in all sorts of weather, arena's and games, somEthing I can't figure out just quit inside the little gun. I attempted to revive it by sending it to the Crossman repair shop, but that was the biggest mistake I made. These guys are a bunch of pirates, my gun was gone for four months, I was out 80 bucks, not counting shipping and handling, and the marker I got returned to me just was still not operable. My problem had been a broken CO2 piercing knob, but what they had done was somehow hammer in a cartridge till it took, and then they wrapped up and shipped back my PGP, (gassed up and loaded mind you) through the mail. When I recieved it, I went out to test fire it, only to discover the gun was already gassed up. It took 2 shots, before the CO2 inside expired, and I could not get another one to take for the life of me. So now my PGP is relegated to it's box in the top of my closet. But I do plan on getting another soon!
Conclusion: If you play woods, scenario or pickup ball, this pistol can be your most trusted marker, primary or otherwise. I will step up on a soapbox and say that it is the best production paintball pistol made. Compared to this relic from the time when paintball was PAINTBALL, most modern pistol designs are poorly balanced, gaudy, accessories.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tony #1 BUCS Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelspot 007
Marker Setup: pmi marker with bob long reg evil bolt,
Spyder , Tl+ , evil reg , acs bolt , evil valve ,spring kit , xsf board ,dye sticky grips
Spyder E99- total custom only body stock
Maverick with 12 inch Taso barrle
Palmers Typhoon = :)
Custom Palmers SuperStocker- Blazer 45 grip bottam line.. ported barrle, reg,
05 Ego- Upgraded
Bob Long Defiant2 - Upgraded
Sheridian-Semi auto
ULE-Automag- Leavle 10 / X Valve
And a Couple diffrent other Pumps
Recommended
Upgrades:
Polish inside the Barrle - Detant or nail polish - Bolt mod when I got my pgp2 brand new . The balls were exploding in barrle a lot!!!
New paint job / upgrade the ball feed gate to some type of fast feed.
Trigger shoe
Strengths: Small-Light-Reliable-durabul-shoots straight-looks sick
Weaknesses: Paint job weres out
12grams onlystock
Feedgate brecks
Paint inside barrle end.
Trigger shoe
Review: I leave this marker in my locker at my home field were I use it during the week agenst renters . I love the thing but if u do not have good paint some times it will not shoot the straightest u would want but on the norm it will shoot striaght anywere from 50-100feet and this is indoor. I had to make some mod's on the marker like poslishing inside of the barrle to get rid of extra paint that was sprayed inside of barrle / putting a indent on side of marker to stop ball rollouts / A bolt mod because balls were exploding inside the barrle at first all the time aparently the bolt would push a paintball right on top of hole were air would enter barrle and ball would shoot straight up in barrle and breck the ball before it shot out. Note after I did the mod it never happened agian. Getting a new feed gate would be nice also mine broke not long after I had my marker in reguler us ( I did some upgrades on my pgp2 theres a pic of it in the pgp2 pics name is BigT. I have also upgraded the feedgate but it's not on the pic on pbreview
Conclusion: I would recomend this marker to any player looking for a good reliable stock-class marker for under $150 u cant go wrong I cant remember what I paid for mine but it was on sale when I brought it and I love useing the thing its not my main marker but whenever I play with it I have a blast ...
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 25th, 2010 at 9:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder_013 Sunday, June 10th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP - This is the updated version
Phantom - More expensive, I would give both these markers the same rating, Id liketo have both in my collection
USP - Its o.k. but its not a pump and not as accurate
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine 03', Lapco Feed Neck, J&J Ceramic Barrel 14", 20oz. A/S Co2 Tank, VL eVLution II w/ Z-Board, Pure Energy Regulator, PMI Flame Drop, Shocktech Superfly Bolt, 32 Degrees LCD Frame, 32* Front Block and LPC, 32* On/ Off

Spyder Imagine 04', Mechanical Frame, 32* X-Chamber

PGP2K1, Bone Stock, Used as a Primary
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a new speed gate if the stock one breaks.
Strengths: Pistol/ Pump
Runs on 12g
10ball capacity
Very consistent
Accurate
Weaknesses: No wedgits/ detents, not a huge problem
Review: I love this little marker. Right now im using it as a primary gun. It is very accurate and is very consistent, mine gets around 35 shots consistently to a 12g, + 5 drop off shots. Its a true stock class marker, and its fairly priced. The quick strip bolt is cool too, much better than other quick strips (like spyders) it is very fast and simple.

I have heard people have choping problems with the bolt, I havent broken a single ball due to the bolt, I have also heard that the speed gate breaks, which can be easily replaced, but I actually use the sights it has.

Its much better that the PGP1 becuase it has the speed gate, quick change co2, velocity adjuster and longer barrel... The longer barrel does nothing to help accuracy, but I remember with the Original that people would shoot their own finger because they would put it in front of the barrel on their pump stroke, Its pretty hard to do on this model.

It has no wedgits/ detents, but that is very easy to solve. all you do is put a small dab of nail polish where the ball sits and then try to roll the tye of paintballs you usually use down the barrel, if they get stuck, but still push out, it is perfect, if they get stuck and go through hard, you need to take a little off, If they keep rolling you need more nail polish... It is a quick fix to a problem... have it noted you will need to raise your velocity.
Conclusion: Very good marker for a fair price, If you want to get into SC playing but dont want to blow a lot of money this is the marker for you, I would even recomend it to serious SC players
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

WithoutRemorse Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI USP
WGP Sniper II
Marker Setup: Green WGP '03 Autococker
-CCM pump kit
-BE 40 round hopper
-Evil Detonator
-Crossfire 47/3000 air tank

Sheridan PGP2
Tippmann A5
Tippmann 68 Carbine
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster
Clean out the inside of the barrel with a bore brush
Sand off that nasty paint and let the brass shine!
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Strengths:
-Extremely accurate at close-medium range
-Very light. I can easily sprint to key positions before the enemy is even 3/4 the way there.
-12 gram efficiency is decent. 25-30 shots on a good day
-No more pod packs to lug around
-Loud and intimidating
-It's a pump

Weaknesses:
-The plastic feed gate will break eventually, no matter how careful you are.
-Pump stroke is somewhat hard. It's not really a big deal, though


Well, I picked up this tough little marker last fall to get a taste of stock class play. I have not had one regret prior to doing so. Thanks to my PGP, I now have two pumps, and play pump on a regular basis.

The first couple of games I played, the paint shot randomly left and right. After sanding down the barrel with a bore brush, my PGP's accuracy matches my 'Cocker's. Can you say, "one shot, one kill"?

Conclusion: Buy this marker. Now. It makes a great backup and an awesome primary if you're brave enough.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 23rd, 2007 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dartheo Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: DM3
Reloader B
Tadao 5.0
Evolve Bolt
CP Blade Trigger
ST Feedneck
Trinity On/Off
68/4500 Crossfire CF LP
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Sturdy
Light
Accurate
Weaknesses: Out of the box(see review)

Edit: CO2 Puncture
Review: Well I had originally picked this up to help with my accuracy and ammo conservation(as you can only shoot as fast as you can pump with only 10 balls in the loader). It did just that.

Strenths

Sturdy - This thing is a tank, mine has taken a good amount of beating and still shoots great.

Light - Fairly light, I haven't compaired it to any other pistols, but I can run around all day with it and not have a problem.

Accurate - It's damn accurate. Anything withing 50 feet I can hit dead on with this.

Weaknesses

Out of the box - When I just got it, I took it out to play, wasnt too impressed with it. When I played with it next, I completely took it apart, oiling every moving part and cleaning it out. All I have to say is DAMN. I played against my cousin with his Spyder Electra, first round I got owned (I'm lazy, usually a back player), second round, got him right in the face.

Edit: CO2 Puncture - Out of the box, it's pretty hard to change out the CO2, once I put a little oil in the threads, it punched with ease.
Conclusion: This is an awesome marker and I would recommend it to anyone that wants to work on their accuracy and ammo conservation. Or even just for fun, playing with this thing is a blast.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 8th, 2006 at 10:26 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Surge69 Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP
Marker Setup: Milled Tippmann 98 Custom
Palmer Male Stab
Redz ASA on/off
Dye 03 Stickys
Rocket Cock 2
double trigger
Cyclone w/ QEV
Super R/T
Maddmann spring kit
R-5 Hopper
12" J&J barrel
PGP2
20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Excellent back up gun
Accurate
Easy to use
Weaknesses: The 12 gram can get stuck.
Review: Deffinetly better than its older brother(PGP). This one has dual fiberoptic sights, volocity ajduster, and about a 1 1/2 turns to get the 12 gram out. It also comes with a pull back sleeve to put the paintballs in. Quick feild strip, if you know what your doing.
Conclusion: An excellent backup gun! Great Price! GO BUY ONE!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RobVsWorld Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster
Crosman 3357 .50 cal
Marker Setup: Black Ego 06 w/ BlackHaloB w/rip drive, soon to have blue accents, Dye UL barrel, Crosfire 45-45ci tank.

Crosman 3357 .50 cal
Sheridan PGP2
NSG Splatmaster
Recommended
Upgrades:
I haven't come across any, so I can't really say what to put on it as of now.
Strengths: \/See Review\/
Weaknesses: \/See Review\/
Review: Key Strengths:

Accurate/Quiet: The PGP2 is by far one of the most accurate, let alone quiet markers I have ever used.

Ease of use: The PGP2 is very easy to use, I have'nt had any difficulties at all with it yet.

Lightweight: The PGP2 is a very lightweight gun, and very compact, none of it feels cheap, its a very solid marker.

Key Weaknesses:

12 gram puncture Pin: It seems kind of weak, but probably because I got it used, it isnt much of a problem though...
Conclusion: A great pump marker, I would highly recommend this to anyone entering the pump world.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericfreakyv Sunday, March 19th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other cheap pumps
Marker Setup: ION , NDZ fire body, CP barrel, QEV, CCM no-rise feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cant really do anything
Strengths: Durable, cheap.
Weaknesses: Accuracy, Speed.
Review: The PGP is a very durable gun. I picked one up about a year ago so I could play pump and stock. this gun is also great when you want to play games were one person is supposed to have worse or no equipmant. it can also be used for pistol duels. This gun has proiven to be a competitor through the ages. If you want to play sock or pump for cheap, this all metal gun is were you want to go.
Conclusion: Great duarable gun for under 100$.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media