paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2

Sheridan PGP2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP2

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP2
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 67
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sheridan PGP2 has proven its value in tournament after tournament and has built a rugged reputation at paintball fields across the country. With its solid brass construction, dual fiberoptic sights and heavyweight feel, there's no mystery to the PGP2's popularity. Known to many as the most reliable back-up marker ever issued, this is one tough performer.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
GrimreaperII Thursday, March 24th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: I use a Tippman A-5 with a Flatline Barrell, Egrip, 4 position collapsable carbine stock, and a 20oz Co2.
I have a PGP2 for back-up
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't really need any, except you might want to polish the barrell.
Strengths: Accurate
INCREDIBLE Co2 efficiency
Ammo
Reload speed
Quick Co2 change
Size
Weaknesses: Can break balls in unpolished barrell
Review: This is a truly awesome pistol. It's Accurate, has a very nice barrell size for a pistol. It has a very easy pump and trigger pull. The Co2 change is much faster than the original PGP (Only 3 full turns), and you get much more shots per 12g (I can get about 50-55 without losing velocity, 60-65 total indoors with the power at it's max). It says it can hold 10 rounds, but you can actually fit 12-13. The fiber-optice sights are also a very nice built-in freebie. The gun IS heavy, but this works to it's advantage, helping you stabalize it while aiming at full arm's length or while running. The grip is also very well designed and comfortable. Only notable flaws are the small trigger shoe, and that fact that you might not pull the pump back all the way because the pump stops/resists motion at 3 places (uncocked, half-cocked, fully cocked). So basically, it's near perfect right out of the box.
Some people may say because its a stock-class pistol, it's for back-up emergencies ONLY. I say that's a load of ****. For one day, a whole good 5-6 hours of playing, I used only my PGP2. In one game, there were 4 kids behind one bunker. Two had Spyders, One had an Autococker, and I didn't see the other's... I surrendered all four with just the PGP2. That's a true story. The gun's size makes it PERFECT for running jumping dodging sliding, or ANYHTING else you need to do.
Conclusion: If you need a cheap, efficient, reliable pistol; go out and buy one of these. It's got all the good things you loved in the PGP, plus a few new ones.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 22nd, 2005 at 5:23 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

S/C Splinter Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom Micro VSC45
02 WGP PumpCocker
Marker Setup: Custom VSC Mini Phantom
8" carbon fiber barrel
Various feed tubes
12gram / 4oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
- cooper t bolt (pushes the ball a little further down the barrel)
- anything you want from palmers pursuit shop
Strengths: Brass is nice
it is stock class
Upgraded it is a very good marker
Weaknesses: Failure in its design
Quality is hit or miss.
Plastic, bad air port design.
Review: Look,
i waited 2 years to review this marker and i am amazed at the wide variety of opinions expressed here. first and foremost this is NOT a "back up" sidearm. i see people all the time who carry a 20lb. armotech, 8-140rd. tubes, large remote bottles and a PGP for "backup"? yet i have never seen ANYONE set down there gear and pull there pgp. it just does not make sense and it would be better to just carry an extra 10paintballs(jeez that is a lot of paint). also i have seen reviews complaining that the marker was not as accurate as "everyone" says. or "my friend can hit something with his marker and the pgp cant. the problem is the USER and not the marker.
ok,
so now we are talking about a stock class pistol. and as a stock pistol it is not very good. the pgp2 was made to fix the problems of the original (velocity adjuster, speed-loader for co2, and speedloader for paintballs). and it DID fix those problems. but when the pgp2 was made they overlooked a HUGE problem:
the co2 shoots up into the barrel in the exact same place the ball rests. so the chance of a paintball being slammed straight up and exploding is very good. there is a few fixes to this:
1 - cooper t makes a bolt that pushes the ball forward.
2 - "brush cutter" balls like Blue Streak seem to take the abuse (but they hurt!)
3 - (and i think this is why some people don't have breaking problems) SMALLER PAINT will be loose enough to roll forward (and maybe out of the barrel).

2-4-06 The little PGP that could.

After a long relationship with my phantom that dang pgp started coming around again. Reminded of all my failures with it in the past I decided to take it out to a speedball game in WI. The changes I made to the pgp seemed to make a workd of differance.
- I removed most of the feedtube and replaced it with 3/4" thinwall copper pipe, with a phantom feedgate on the buisness end. With that done I had no complaint's about slow reloads.
-I removed the pump. Since the pgp bolt has ball bearings to keep it in place while firing I saw no real use for it. I simply grab the bolt with my left hand, pull & push.
-I also added a small piece of velcro to the bolt face (fuzzy side). This along with not holding the pump forward stopped all of my breaking issues.

The PGP worked like a champ and I found myself racking up the eliminations.
Since then I side tubed it and it & replaced the triggerframe with a mod'd WGP 'Cocker frame. This little fist full of brass has become my main and helped cure me of a long overlooked problem I have...

Left eye dominate, right handed.

What that means is, I tend to sight with mt left eye (even with both eyes open) and shoot with my right hand. This makes pistols the best choice for me since I can hold them directly in front of me. It also helped give me a new outlook on the game & busted the myth that there is a right or wrong way to hold a paintball gun.
Conclusion: In conclusion this marker is out of production. so if that tells me anything it says crossman realized design flaws. I tried to love this marker for 2 years but in the end i just cant trust it to work when i need it. I suggest a mini phantom if you want a pump pistol. Or wait for the "new" pgp rumored to be in production.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 at 7:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jorge G Friday, December 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, Nelson 007 stock
Marker Setup: Basic with Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster
Strengths: Reliable and accurate at short to medium range.
Weaknesses: Feed requires tilt
CO 2 screw can work loose
Review: Great reliable marker. This is a backup and not to be used against modern paintpower.
While the marker does not have a co2 in it the screw in to puncher the co2 can fall out. This is not a problem if you leave the spent cartridge in the chamber. I recommend this marker to anyone who would like a reliable backup marker.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a fast hitting backup this is not it. The pump is slow but the gun is reliable and accurate. I carry it as a last chance backup and has worked very well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 17th, 2004 at 2:16 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pnda_express Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost all pumps except for the deuce.
Marker Setup: Combat Connections Enforcer running a 10 oz and a 50 round hopper. Also use 2 kp-2's, 2 kp-3's, 3pgp's, P-68, PMI-II, Piranha SB, and lots and lots more pumps.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lots of replacemtn magazine caps or make your own. Nickel plating, battle grips, trigger shoe, and milled body slots
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Magazine plugs are plastic
Review: There good guns and easy to mid and tinker with. Shoot well. Only thing youll need is to either make your own or get replacment magazine feed plugs. Shoots same as the older pgp really. Can hit the balls of a flea from 50 feet. Very accurate, have a cartridge valve, built like a tank, never chopped a ball, easy to strip once youve been working on them as long as I have, co2 efficient.
Conclusion: Sweet stock class gun. There dirt cheap nowadays and the possibiliteis are endless.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 26th, 2005 at 6:18 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crispydude429 Monday, November 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I dont quite think a blade counts since they're like $25 but, yeah ive tried those
Marker Setup: PGP, old school style, nothin' but
Recommended
Upgrades:
if a holster counts as an upgrade then yeah pick up one of those, they come in handy
same deal as above for tubes, you dont wanna look like a retard loading paint by hand or with a hopper, and you'd probably get shot alot too
Strengths: Reliability: never breaks
Accuracy
Cost: like $100CDN
Weight: well balanced
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great gun for beginners, and advanced players who dont need 25 BPS to be a useful player.
Let me emphesize one thing here: this is a stock class marker, and as such, should be used for stock play. It probably shouldnt be used as a sidearm because some of you semi players might forget to rock and cock (i sincerely hope not). The 2001 PGP has corrected pretty much all of the disadvantages that the previous ones had, like the comment about the spring between the 2 steel balls somewhere on this page, its been corrected (quite cleverly i might add) and unless you shortstroke it (you'll do it a couple times before you get used to the gun, but it only takes a game or 2) or your FPS is too high, its tough to break a ball with this gun (as far as i know the bolt doesnt even slam into the ball, which eliminates the possability of breaking it)
Conclusion: Good for beginners or tourney players who shot their money by shooting a case every other game away but still want to play paintball


GO PAG! (you're welcome Dale)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 1st, 2004 at 9:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballer240 Friday, October 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle pump
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Stock PGP 2001
Recommended
Upgrades:
None at all
Strengths: Size, weight, air and paintball usage, compact, great for woods ball.
Weaknesses: A little hard to pump, but nothing no one could not handle.
Review: I have been wanting to break into stock playing for a long while. So my marker of choice was the new PGP. This marker is great. I have only used it once but it is so awesome I had to post a reveiw. I have played for 3 years with a 98 custom with a flat line. I love that marker, but moving from a long semi-automatic to a small pump was like a dream. The PGP is compact and I get around 3 or 4 tubes every co2 so thats around 30 to 40 rounds. It is just as acurate if not more than my 98 custom. The weight is perfect and the wood grips give it a old school feel. The fiber optic sights are awesome. You really never think about aiming when playing with semi's but with a pump you want every shot to count and the fiber optics are a great help. All in all, this marker rocks! If I knew what I know about paintball now this would have been my first choice for a marker. I can't say enough good things about this marker. This marker will make anyone an all around better player!
Conclusion: I give this marker a 20 out of 10 rating if that is all possible. Great feel, very acurate and you will save so much money on paint and air in one day you won't belive it. I could play for days on one box of paint and co2's. If you want to play stock, I recomend this marker to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aphidman Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, PGP2 is the first and only pistol ill ever need
Marker Setup: Impulse with freak, jackhammer2, horizontal max flo with tank, smartparts sticky grips, smart parts emblem pull pin, rat hole hammer, delrin bolt, stickers galore.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not too many upgrades needed. if you really need to i suggest palmerize it.
Strengths: GREAT accuracy, very small, very reliable.
Weaknesses: At first it might break balls, but not after its broken in.
Review: First off, this is by far THE best pistol on the market! this could easily be used as your primary gun in stock or if your daring, speedball.

The Pgp2 is just like a baseball mit, you HAVE to break it in before you get the most out of it. It will probably break balls when you first get it, but after a good amount of use, say 150 shots? it will not break. (well it might, but chances are it wont)

its extremely easy to load, thats why its my favorite! It holds comfortably 10 shots, and uses 12 gram c02 (duh). The crosshairs are so cool, and a big help. This gun is extremely accurate.

If you find the balls curving, clean out the barrel, make sure nothing is nicked, or there is no debris.
Conclusion: Definitley worth getting
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BOBO Saturday, July 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelspot
Marker Setup: HRPF Classic mag
All Black ULE RT custom
Use different barrels & HPA ACI tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
None , maybe metal rear portion to the feed tube.
Strengths: Low maintenance
External vel adj
Built like a tank, see below
Weaknesses: Plastic external parts (sites)
Review: Gun worked good, not as good as my old style pgp, but was a decent replacement. At first I was jacked about the new plastic slide / site end piece made it easy to reload etc. The optic sites were also great, untill my kids broke them. I figured no problem I'LL call crossman & get replacements. Sadly their customer service wasnt the best & what hurt worse was the fact that they had no replacements & per the service rep had no plans on producing any more parts whats so ever for the markers.
Conclusion: Good gun overall, out of production so replacment parts will become a premium. Giving it a 7 due to the plasticky bits breaking & not being able to get it fixed.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rob Ryan Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: used to be a tricked out 98 custom
Stock PGP
soon to be a VL maxis
Recommended
Upgrades:
palmerized
cooper t bolt
Strengths: Durable easy to field strip and simple
Weaknesses: Sheridan got some overspray in both ends of the body details below
Review: Purchased this gun for $74.99 from actionvillage when i got I was amazed it was a beautiful little gun took outside fired it chopped cleaned up decicded to sand off the overspray (take some fine grit sandpaper put it on a coat hanger sand the inside) after i did that had hardly any chops overall great little gun fun to play with as primary gun
Conclusion: Buy it like i said its awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kanludar Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field Rentals/ blah blah, lots of guns... even an angel... well I didnt get to shoot it, but i held it!!!
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
PGP II
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really, I don't buy a gun to spend another 200 dollars upgrading. Try to find one that basically has what you want.
Strengths: Built like a tank
Easy to field strip
Easy to reload
Weaknesses: Its not semi auto!!!!
Sights snap easy or snag on holster
Review: I read almost every review on this sight, and honestly feel most people don't tell you what you seriously need to consider. I bought this gun because it was supposedly soooo accurate and you could compete with semi's. Wrong.

This gun is really not that accurate at all, its very average as far as markers go. A friend just purchased a Spyder Victor II, and firing them both at a range of roughly 40 feet his was just as accurate as my PGP, maybe a little more accuate... now maybe im wrong but I generally dont equate Spyder Victor with "accurate".

The biggest problem however is that it is not semi auto. So if you miss your first shot your going to get penned behind a bunker. Now that wouldn't be all that bad, if the gun was accurate, but like I said it is just average. The worst part about it being a pump though, is that you actually have to pump it. Every time you pump you loose your aim, so its impossible to just adjust a little bit and hit your target, which is especially bad if it is even a little bit windy.

The last problem is that I always had trouble with the first few shots. So if it's your backup you can't just pop a 12 gram in and expect it to shoot fine on the first shot. Expect to shoot it a few times to get it working. I want a sidearm that I can just whip out of the holster and lay some paint down.

And yes there is paint overspray... and yes it is extremely hard to get off, I tried using brillo and metal scrubbing pads to no avail.

However if you are determined to get a pgp, get the pgp II, its extra features are all really nice. Actually I plan on putting mine on ebay in a few weeks...
Conclusion: Definatly don't buy it if you plan on playing against Semi's and it is your main gun. It is not an incredibly bad deal though, after all PGP's do tend to give you warm fuzzies. But in my opinion most people would be better off spending another 20 bucks and getting a semi pistol.

It gets a 5 because that is exactly what it is! Average, nothing spectacular
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 24th, 2004 at 7:06 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media