paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2

Sheridan PGP2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP2

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP2
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 67
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sheridan PGP2 has proven its value in tournament after tournament and has built a rugged reputation at paintball fields across the country. With its solid brass construction, dual fiberoptic sights and heavyweight feel, there's no mystery to the PGP2's popularity. Known to many as the most reliable back-up marker ever issued, this is one tough performer.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
pawdude Thursday, May 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 2k3 sts, 2003 aa barrel
PGP stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: sights are cool
nice strong feeling
basically all brass, some plastic
nice and simple
Weaknesses: field stripping, easy but for the rod
Review: The marker when i got it.... WOW! Nice and cool.
there were alot of complaints about paint over spray but i had none.
I had some gooey green stuff in it though, it was either a thick lashing of lube or a paintball tested at the factory. Anyway the field stripping is super simple, but removing the initial rod i had trouble with. But i eventually got it. I like how the c02 cartrige is dispersed also.
The sights are amazing red, to green. AMAZING.
The pump mechanism isn't that hard either, not too soft, but not to hard.
Highly durable, i love it, pwn the pros and make yourself feel good:)

Amazingly accurate, a bit loud but same as all markers.

I had no paint breaks yet, and by the reviews it sounds as if the paintbreaks came from paint over spray. So if you buy it (BUY IT!!) make sure to squeegee your barrel, with a jerk squeegeee, by removing the internals first.
:) buy buy buy
Conclusion: BUY IT! Though they are getting harder to find now, the place i ordered from paintballgear.ca had to look for other supplyers to get it, causing a month long wait.
Buy it before it's alll gone!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chinesebugrepel Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
talon, tigrshark, sniper II, VSC Phantom, Mavrick, SL68
Marker Setup: pgp2 w/ palmers performance tune and centerfire bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
polish the barrel, get a new bolt, send it to palmers
Strengths: Very compact, solid construction, accurate, stock class, no tube loading.
Weaknesses: Not great stock efficiency, small pump handle, paint overspray, crappy bolt
Review: At first this gun wasn't half as good as I'd hoped. It broke most every ball at first due to paint overspray, and still had breakage after polishing the barrel. The stock efficiency wasn't very good, and the pump action was pretty stiff.

I sent my pgp to palmers for a performance tune and now it's simply great. The pump is twice as smooth, the polishing job on the barrel gives mildly improved accuracy, and efficiency is great. I easily get 25 more shots of a cartridge. I also got a centerfire bolt which has almost eliminated breakage.

As for the feel of the gun, after getting used to using 3 fingers on the pump handle I have never been more comfortable. This pistol is great for snap shooting and without pods I can run, dive and roll so much easier. It feels much more solid than a phantom, and I like the reloading method much better (no messing around with those tubes)

Conclusion: I didn't much like this gun stock. For the price it is the only noteable stock class option, but I think it definitely needs some work to be competative. If you have the money for palmers work, DO IT, the improvement is absolutely amazing and will bring your pgp up to the level of any phantom or sniper.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 17th, 2004 at 9:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ccfrontman15 Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
no other stock guns
Marker Setup: 98 custom w/ folding stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: accurate, small and lightweight.
Weaknesses: none
Review: i got this marker as a birthday present and frankly i have never had a better one. this gun is super light because it doesn't have a humongous hopper and c02 tank. since it is so light whenever i play games against semis, i always take the 50 because i can beat everyone there. it is also very accurate. it isn't as accurate as a phantom but it can put them in pretty tight. this gun is good over all. also it is just a fun gun to play with. for those of you tourney ballers who think winning is tough with only 500 rounds try this. i guarantee it will be a nice change of pace. the only problem is you rock the gun back instead of forward but that is really just preference
Conclusion: get this marker its fun to play with simple as that
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike31c Friday, April 9th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Older PGP's
Marker Setup: Stock, out of the box
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster, new bolt, new cupseals, new valve
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Defective out of the BOX!
Review: This is a very sad state of what was once a "Name" in paintball. I've used this PGP for two game days and maybe shot 70rds through it and it started to leak down the barrel!

There is nothing worse then having to go to a shop to fix a "new" paintball marker.

Compared to the older PGP's, with it's built-in velocity adjuster, fiber optic sites, and speed-loader, it could of been one of the better lower end stock class markers had it been built with better parts that didn't fail so quickly.

Normally, I would recommend Sheridan Products because I have quite a few of them and I've always found them reliable. This is the exception.

Conclusion: Stay away from this PGP. Crosman really needs to put some effort into it's Sheridan Division before I would recommend this to anyone.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Shmavistime Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster
Marker Setup: 98 c
team factory drop
12v revvy
14 inch agressor
68/3000 pure energy
ACDO sight
double trigger
RT
Recommended
Upgrades:
MAKE NEW END CAPS
Strengths: Small,Very accurate, cool looking.
Weaknesses: A 12 gram got stuck a few times but its fixed now.
Review: Great gun. Very accurate. The only other downside to it is that changing the 12 grams can be a bia. I can run full blast and kill my friend with it if youre looking for another good pistol try a splatmaster. I dont have any upgrades and dont want them. Fine the way it is. I highly recomened it for any person who wants a sidearm or a stock gun.
Conclusion: Very good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 2:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PNTBOL FREAK Friday, March 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that I can think of
Marker Setup: Sheridan PGP2, Spyder Victor, aaaaaa....... CO2 and a Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Easier loading system
Strengths: EXETREMELY Accurate, Affordable (for most People)
Weaknesses: Loading system, & I guess the loading the CO2 cartridge is a pain
Review: Well, Mainly this gun is excellent for scenario play, even though I havin't had the chance to use it in a game,YET. I've been using the gun since I got it on my birthday, and mine hasen't busted any of my balls. loading the CO2 cartridges into the gun is a hassle and so is the ball loading, but I am
trying to prove that wrong (Owners, you might want to try this out!) Practice loading & unloading the cartridges as fast as you can, kinda pretend like you're out playing on the field, and you're under HEAVY fire, while bunkering, and also try loading balls in the same way. One thing that will help you load balls faster is to get those clear 10 rd. tubes and I rccommend a lot of 'em like 30 they don't cost a fist & a leg, and get like a shotgun belt so you can carry 'em, I've been meaning to get some of them but never got the chance, I'll go this weekend. Another vital thing you'll need is a holster (to carry the gun) I don't think they cost much.
Conclusion: My reccommendation?, lets see, aaaaa BUY IT! if you feel the need that you have to have it as a backup or your primary choice, then yes.I'm gonna give this product , uummmmmm let me see, since I have it,..............and I think its great,..........UH, Hello, is anyone there!?,..................DUH!.......10 OUT OF 10!<echo,echo,echo,echo, fading echo>
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coenen Sunday, January 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original PGP...didn't use it enough to get a real good gauge, I was mostly on the wrong end of it.
Marker Setup: A Tippmann 98 Custom with some stuff doesn't really matter here.
I've done some polishing on the PGP's barrel if that counts for much.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Most of the stuff you do to it has to be custom work so the sky's pretty much the limit. Really except for honing out the paint overspray in the barrel there's nothing it NEEDs, but still some stuff you can do.
Strengths: Durable
Intimidating
Gets respect
Accurate
Efficient
Weaknesses: ROF lacking(duh)
Finish is lacking
Overspray in barrel
Complete stripping
Review: I've finally used this thing enough that I feel up to writing a review.
I wanted a accurate reliable gun for Stock Class play and as a back up, I got exactly what I wanted.
Out Of the Box: I was immediately impressed by the looks and handling of the marker. It's contruction is almost all brass which makes it heavy for it's size, but I feel that it balances very well. The pump stroke isn't very hard and the action is sure. I did however have some paint overspray in the muzzle(it's the rough black stuff), on advice from users at the PGP owners group and this site I set out to hone this out. I did it with a "Nail Genie manicure tool by alternating the finest grit sand paper and buffing heads until the muzzle was a smooth and shiny gold color. This IMO made a difference.
On the Field: I wasn't really planning to use the marker as a primary, but I was having a bad day and figured I had nothing to lose, so I pulled it out and used it for my primary. Impressed is not the proper way to describe my pleasure with the way the marker preforms on the field. It's small profile makes it ideal for tucking into small bunkers and snap shooting, it offer inceased mobility over a semi. The next thing that impressed me was its accuracy, point, shoot, the ball goes where you want. I like it very much, it is a challenge to use against semis and is especailly useful on a day where there are lots of first timers at the field.
Performance: I already mentioned it's accuracy. On a warm day(high 60'sF) it gets a fairly consistent 30 shots per 12gram. The velocity is easily adjustable and you should be able to get it around 270-280fps with out much trouble at all. It's loud as a mother and coupled with its sleek looks it really impresses other people, be ready to answer lots of questions about it when you pull it out at the field. It is also very easy to field strip, it takes me about 30 seconds with my eyes closed.
Gripes: Firstly the black finish is wearing off of mine, you can see the brassen finish under the black around the pump arm and CO2 changer. When you take the grip frame off do it CAREFULLY, there is a TINY, I mean TINY spring and ball bearing that works the safety, they will fly out, and if you aren't careful you WILL lose them. Then when you take the Hammer/Velocity adjuster cap off, you are NOT supposed to screw it all the way back in, if you do the marker will not cock properly, if you have problems with the gun not cocking properly turn that cap out 1 turn and it should probably fix you problem.

I believe that about covers it, check out the pump/stock forum here or the PGP owner's group at pgpog.org for even more info.
Conclusion: If you want a good stock class marker that can serve as both back up and main(if you're brave) this is it, mine is worth every penny I paid for it. It does have its flaws though, I'll give it a solid 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 11th, 2004 at 10:36 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sdlm Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Sniper- much better but more $
BE tigershark- breaks more often
pt extreme- far worse even if it is semi
Marker Setup: Black ICD 2k3 Bushmaster BKO
12" Lapco bigshot
32 degress 42" steel remote
gas-thru-stock
VL eVLution II
BE Tigershark with 9.5" eagle works barrel
BE Blade 1 with tape holding it together

WGP Sniper 2k3/WGP Autococker 2k3-
stock reg from a pre 2k cocker
shochtech bomb 3-way
lapco bigshot 12" SS
gas thru stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, it is good the way it is
Strengths: size, cost, reliability
Weaknesses: only weaknesses inherit to all 12-gram markers
Review: this is pretty much what you expect from the 2nd most popular stock class marker, while not as accurate as most new pumps it makes up for it with size, this gun is highly manuvable. the stock class feed system is plenty fast, there seems to be no need for a spring. the 12 gram power is much worse than I expected, you tend to only get about 10-15 shots, a blade or talon will give 30-50, even at the same velocity. the gun is definitly sutible as a main arm provided you have a stock class harness, we recently played a semi turneny where one of our team used one, and we placed 5th, so it isn't impossible to play stock against semi.
Conclusion: by far the best pistol, and the best stock gun for the price, it's ineffecentcy is forgiven by anyone that has a harness and the QC is the fastest legal in stock.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SplaterPaintbal Thursday, November 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: dont know a guy let me use it
Strengths: light
Weaknesses: none i cant think of
Review: Some guy last summer let me use this gun because mine was breaking balls, when i took this gun out, i did very good with it, it was light, easy to load paintballs and co2 (12gram). What sucked is when i was one on one with a other person (me and him were the only ones left on speedball) and we where at a bunker, in front of me, i shot him in the head and he didnt feel it, co2 was low, so the ref called game because time was out and i saw a broken ball on his head.

this a a good gun for speedball if u know what ur doing.
Conclusion: geget this gun its great, and great backup, buy it and u wont be disappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hoppysmag Thursday, October 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantoms, Marvericks, palmers, mag pump.
Marker Setup: Stock PGP2001
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a wedge stock from palmer, get a ASA too just to have.
Strengths: Reliable, small, lite wieght, Fun to do a draw on people.
Weaknesses: Hard to clean if you break a ball.
Review: Great little marker. i love mine and is my stock class marker ( true stock too, no autotrigger) i suggest everyone atleast play a game with one. even though its slow loading ( compared to the phantoms feed gate) and a harder pump ( well mine is atleast) everyone should try stock class, who knows you might be good. but you will have fun if you play it right.
Conclusion: Great little marker. pick one up if you can. you wont be disapointed and i hate this word limit thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media