paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2

Sheridan PGP2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP2

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP2
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 67
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sheridan PGP2 has proven its value in tournament after tournament and has built a rugged reputation at paintball fields across the country. With its solid brass construction, dual fiberoptic sights and heavyweight feel, there's no mystery to the PGP2's popularity. Known to many as the most reliable back-up marker ever issued, this is one tough performer.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Gozer Friday, November 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Old PGP (see my comments below)
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom
R/T Trigger
X-Chamber
Richochet AK hopper
J & J 14" Ceramic
PS Rocketcock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A holster, maybe?
Strengths: - Strong brass construction, looks nice and businesslike.
- Reliable and durable.
- Accurate
- Good CO2 efficiency, and easy to change powerlets
- Good sights
- Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: In comparison to the older PGP, I don't like the barrel extension of the PGP2 - it just looks strange and the effect on accuracy seems to be negligible, compared to the old one.
I'm not big on the plastic sliding loader piece in the back, the little metal tab holding it in is prone to flying off (I taped mine in place). I liked the metal plug on the old PGP better, even though it was prone to being dropped.
A pretty heavy gun to have as a sidearm, you really feel it on your belt.
As you can imagine, pretty limited upgrades.
Conclusion: A great stock pistol, this was the first gun I bought and I really enjoyed playing with it.
Every once in a while I'll pull it out and use it for a round, against the guys with semis. You'd be surprised how well it performs, gotten a few kills by sneaking up on people and putting a single round in their grille.
I like the older PGP better just for asthetic reasons, either one is a great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tplyons Sunday, October 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme
Marker Setup: 2001 Sheridan PGP with Cops911 Tactical Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much you can do to a PGP, but its great right out of the box.

Use 32 Degrees Team Colors paint!
Strengths: Great right out of the box, shoots more accurately than stock barrels on most guns! 12 gram CO2 cartridges are quick and easy to reload, and as long as you have 10 round tubes, reloading isn't too difficult either.
Weaknesses: While holstered, the rear sight/loader tends to slide back, meaning when you unholster it, you need to slide it forward in order to load the paintball into the barrel when cocking. Also, there is nothing to keep the ball from rolling out of the barrel when pointed down.
Conclusion: it fired faster and straighter than my brand new Tippmann Model 98 Custom. I took it out with me, paintballing and it saved my ass a number of times, the first earning me the nickname of Commando: my 98 ran out of CO2 and I threw it down while it was still spitting the last remaining air from the tank and I drew my PGP from my holster, cocked it, and ran thirty feet up the field and dove behind a bunker, only to bunker an amateur player with an Impulse. After that game, he was embarrassed to find out he was shot and taken out of the game by a pump pistol. The next game, I used the PGP as a primary and lit up two more amateurs like Christmas trees. From then on, I was using my 98 from the back and leaving it behind to charge with the PGP.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Flouf Monday, September 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other pump markers, maverk etc, sidearms, pt pro, in comparison with a maverik or a spyder, the pgp definatly lacks range because of the shorter barrel, but is an equal in range of the pt pro. however the accuracy of the pgp as well as reliablity blows away any of these markers.
Marker Setup: custom grips (black sticky) by PMI
Recommended
Upgrades:
none unless you want fatter grips, the standard wooden are great too.
Strengths: this is an awsome product because it will never break, (at least not for me yet) and i have shot it consistantly for the period i owned it, and i bought it about 6 months old usued from another person.
The other phanomal thing is the accuracy of this marker, it hits the target every time.
its kinda heavy, i think this is a plus tho, i find it easier to keep it steady
great for stock play, which might i add in my humble opinion is alot more fun then semi play
shoots about as fast as you want it to, it can break 300fps on a warm day
Weaknesses: you need to oil the gun alot for it to work in peak condition
the range is not that of a regular marker, but that is to be expected because of the fact its a sidearm
Conclusion: This Marker is an all around great product, you cant go wrong with a pgp weither for stock play, or as a sidearm at the feild if you are considering buying one, i suggest it you wont regret it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

naton Saturday, September 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pgp original
Marker Setup: -aci griffen:rear cocking venturi bolt
low pressure chamber
6 stage x-chamber
drop-forward stock
12 inch aci zero-gravity combo barrel
-pgp 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing for the pgp 2
Strengths: i just got this gun and ive only shot it twice but from what i can tell so far it is great. pump action is smooth, not too heavy, looks cool, easy too clean, and very accurite. i love the fiber optics. oh...and it doesnt cost a fortune.
Weaknesses: the only problem i see is that if you get a double feed it is certain to break...but its a pump so you wont get double feeds if you dont double pump it.(my little brother did...); and i dont like the fact that you kinda have to almost bend the cocking rod to get it out...but it doesnt bother me too bad at all so its ok...other that its a great gun.
Conclusion: great gun. get one if you have the money...its not very expensive so it shouldnt be a problem.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL-68 2
Marker Setup: Purly stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You may want to get the holster because it just looks cool.
Strengths: Very accurate gun. Fairly effecent on 12 grams. It makes an awsome stock class gun or sidearm. It will definatly prove handy when you run low on paint. Plus it is very tough. You dont have to worry about breaking this baby.
Weaknesses: It breaks a ton of balls at first. You have to soak it in oil. Plus you have to pull back all the way when you pump. Or you'll have a break.
Conclusion: Overall a good stock or side arm gun. I wouldn't reccomend it for a primary gun unless your playing others pumps only. Yet in a squeeze it can still save you from a fancy elctro.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have also used te Sheridan PGP.
Marker Setup: The marker I use is of course the angel! I also use the sheridan marker for my hopper and to get the cleaning objects!
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend an electris hopper and otha then that nothing! This gun does not need to be upgraded for how good it is!
Strengths: What is good about this gun. Its scope is built in and this gun is as accurate as any gun can be.Nothing is better then the PGP2. When I go paintballing i must be hitting people from 6o feet away right on target! the head! lol When playing wit this gun i reccomend u use a regular gun outside of the arena because this gun is just to good.
Weaknesses: For me there is nothing bad about this gun but cleaning it is a pain! If beginners get this gun u should be ready to go to the tournaments otherwise if u just use this gun for mischief your dumb!
Conclusion: My cocnclusion is that this gun is accurate and for all the people who are veterans ao pros at paintballing they should get this but no rookies!lol When using this gun u should get two so you can almost shoott people better and this guns barrel is very good at not busting the balls With this gun u must be specific with the paintballs.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nicetipps Saturday, April 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
talon (if that even counts as a paintball gun)
Marker Setup: Spyder compact 2000 java edition with a 15" winforce barrel an expansion chamber and rear cocking
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really if there even is anything you could do to it anyway
Strengths: it is very accurate i actually hit someone running from about 50 feet it was a sweet shot the gun performs very well and i have had no trouble from it at all plus it even proved itself by taking out at least 5 or more people with semis any time that i point to hit something it is there with no problems at all personally i think it is the best stock class low priced gun i have ever used and i would even trust it with no other gun with me out on the field if you are looking for a great back-up gun with many capabilities i would highly recomend the sheridan pgp2 without a doubt
Weaknesses: i have had very little trouble from the pgp2 but it is sort of picky on types of paint that you use in it pretty muh if you didnt buy the paint in a store that sells only paintball stuff then the balls will probably bust in the barrel. clening out the magazine is sorta challenging too
Conclusion: it is a great gun that with the right person behind the trigger could take just about anybody out with no problems just be sure of whether or not you will hit them because it is not the gun you want against someone with a full auto but don't get me wrong it rules the field if you are good at sneaking up on people
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raptomatic Sunday, March 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade (Does this constitute as a paintball gun?)
Marker Setup: Raptor SE, custom wood 45 grips, CMI tru-flight, custom foregrip, red-dot sight, rifle sling

PGP2
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think it would be really cool to have a holster for it.
Strengths: It looks extremely cool
It's pretty small
It's accurate. Scratch that, it is almost disgustingly accurate. It simply shoots into the exact spot you point it at.
It is good on CO2
Stock legal
Weaknesses: If you understand what it means to have a PGP, you will notice there is really nothing that goes wrong with them. They have been perfected over years and years of use. Inherently, they will break a ball here and there for the first two times you use it, but after that it never does it again. I don't understand it but I'm not complaining!
Conclusion: Oil it. Keep it clean. Follow the directions in the instruction pamphlet. Sleep with it under your pillow. Get to know your PGP2 as it will become one of the closest companions you will have on the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Interceptor911 Sunday, March 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original PGP, just about every paintball gun known to exist
Marker Setup: Currently a Tippmann Prolite with a 12" Lapco Barrel, but used to own Cockers, Mags, AT85s, ect.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster, trigger shoe, PMI rubber grips
Strengths: Although the original PGP was an exellent gun, this new version is far superior. The addition of a velocity adjuster, speed loader, longer barrel, and actual sights, makes for a fantastic shooting pistol. Sheridan swaped out the old bolt with a cut down version that was found on the old Piranha pump guns. It has a lock on it so that the pump doesn't kick back when you fire it. ANother nice feature of this new bolt is that when you take it apart, you don't shoot bearings all over the place. The quick strip feature is nice. I had to send my old piranha to palmer to have that done to it, and this comes with it now. I played a friend 1 on 1 with pistols, he used a semi Side Kick, and I used the PGP2. We only used what the guns could carry, and we were playing in an old building. Ranges were around 20-40 feet from each other, and I shot him 3 times. I'm not saying that the gun turned me into a paintball madman, but the fact that it is so comfortable and accurate allowed for me to make the shots that I would not have been able to make with an older PGP. Those day glow sights actually work.
Weaknesses: There was over spray in the barrel. This is easily fixed buy having the barrel honed out by a shop or an airsmith.

The speed load seems to catch balls, so instead of being like the older PGP of pumping and rocking back for a ball to fall into the breech, its now more like a rock back, then forward for the ball to drop. Not really bad, just different. I will have to get used to that, or look at correcting the problem somehow.
Conclusion: This is an excellent back up piece, Sheridan really did their homework on this and it shows. I wish there was a place to play stock with it. Until then, I will be alot happier knowing that it is riding in my holster and is there if I need it. (or if I can talk my buddys into using only pistols) :-)

If you are looking for a reliable back up or a gun for stock play, this is it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SynTek Wednesday, March 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original PGP
PT Extreme
Marker Setup: Off the shelf PGP2
Supressor
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you play rec ball or are a scenario game fan, try building a supressor (e-mail me and I will tell you how I made mine)
Strengths: To start with this gun is very reliable. Just about any abuse you give the gun it will still work first shot every time. Secondly the thing is as accurate as you can hope for from a pistol (more accurate than an off the shelf spider and most stock retail guns even). Its extended barrel seems to give it an accuracy advantage over the original PGP. The new PGP is also extremely easy to reload. It comes stock with a quick change for your 12 gram and reloding paint is simply a matter of pulling on the back section of the feed tube, tilding the gun foreward, and dumping in the 12 gram. Field stripping is easier now too and requires no tools (simply pop out the cocking rod pull the bolt back, twist, and pull some more). The sights on the gun are also a plus as they are a fairly surefire way to make an accurate "snipe" shot.
Weaknesses: I only have one real complaint about the gun and it is the back section of the feed tube is made out of plastic and really makes the gun feel cheap. Aside from that I can't really say anything abad about this gun.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a reliable backup marker, or just want to experience the thrill of playing with a stock gun, go and buy a PGP2. Its accurate, quick to reload, and very dependable. It did lose a point because of the plastic back section but I have yet to break it so it seems rugged enough
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media